General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Jeepers Creepers on January 01, 2020, 03:32:03 AM

Title: edited.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 01, 2020, 03:32:03 AM
.edited
Title: Re: edited.
Post by: Robbo on January 01, 2020, 02:12:34 PM
.edited

What happened Kev, Did Astrid catch you trying to post naughty pics of her on Myswag??
 ;D ;D :angel: :angel:
Post by: Hairs on January 01, 2020, 02:19:32 PM
KRAFT,
Has set in.
He forgot what he was going to type.
Post by: Bird on January 01, 2020, 02:21:40 PM
More shocked he figured out how to edit it... :P
Post by: KathyL on January 01, 2020, 02:22:16 PM
KRAFT,
Has set in.
He forgot what he was going to type.
Reckon it's because you can't delete your own topics/posts ...
Post by: Hairs on January 01, 2020, 02:24:34 PM
More shocked he figured out how to edit it...
Ehehehe
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 01, 2020, 02:48:28 PM
More shocked he figured out how to edit it... :P
It was a mild surprise to me as well.  ;D

Well boys and girls, i'm off for a while.
I might come back on later on, but a bit unlikely i'm afraid.

To keep it civil, i'm just over the bitching and arguing on here.
This site has been a cracker for many years, but not so much now and its been going down hill for a while.

So, see ya's on the flip side.

Don't worry about sending me a PM, as I won't see it anyway.

Cheers...  :cheers:
Post by: Marcus73 on January 01, 2020, 03:05:48 PM
It was a mild surprise to me as well.  ;D

Well boys and girls, i'm off for a while.
I might come back on later on, but a bit unlikely i'm afraid.

To keep it civil, i'm just over the bitching and arguing on here.
This site has been a cracker for many years, but not so much now and its been going down hill for a while.

So, see ya's on the flip side.

Don't worry about sending me a PM, as I won't see it anyway.

Cheers...  :cheers:

I’m hearing ya

Post by: GeoffA on January 01, 2020, 03:30:09 PM
If I see a thread going in a direction I don't like, I will ignore it.
If I see a member regularly posting in a manner I don't like, I will ignore him/her.
It's just a little camping forum. No need to get too worked up over any of it.
Too many good people on here to let a few others get in the way.

My 2c.....

Post by: Hairs on January 01, 2020, 03:46:00 PM
If I see a member regularly posting in a manner I don't like, I will ignore him/her.

My 2c.....

Spot on.
Post by: edz on January 01, 2020, 04:13:10 PM
 8) :( :cheers:
Post by: Foo on January 01, 2020, 06:04:43 PM

My 2c.....

Yep.  :cheers:

Post by: DannyG on January 01, 2020, 06:13:28 PM
Have I missed something? Can someone point me in the direction of the bitching and arguing thread, I like reading them ;D
Post by: Bird on January 01, 2020, 06:16:18 PM
Quote from: DannyG
Have I missed something? Can someone point me in the direction of the bitching and arguing thread, I like reading them ;D

Hit the electrical section, or search for climate LMAO
Post by: JD-120 on January 01, 2020, 07:01:51 PM
I don't disagree jeepers. Was just saying to sixpac the other day what a bitch fest it is at the moment. Not sure anyone had time to go camping by the sounds of thiey posts

I just ignore it all however.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: GeoffA on January 01, 2020, 07:50:23 PM

Maybe start your own Danny?? ;D ;D
Post by: #jonesy on January 01, 2020, 09:13:23 PM

Hit the electrical section, or search for climate LMAO
I regret starting that one.
It did it to get an idea of percentages either way as it was constantly being mentioned in the fire threads.

Not to start a bitch fight of who was right.
Post by: sharkcaver on January 01, 2020, 10:04:14 PM
It did it to get an idea of percentages either way as it was constantly being mentioned in the fire threads.

Well I thank you for starting it. You had no control over the numpties destroying it. The final poll result was interesting.

My advice to jeepers (with respect) is to harden up. Seems a shame to spit the plug on all when you can just elect to not read the drivel. You have choice. I hope you hang around.
Post by: BaseCamp on January 01, 2020, 11:22:38 PM
Its one thing to decide not to read the crap being posted up here in occasions...

But what started out many years ago kinda like a digital mens shed - devolved over time to where many of the longer term members have just simply pulled the plug and walked away...   

Jeeps is just one of a long line of these members...   And he was such a believer in MySwag once upon a time - that he even volunteered to lead and organise a successful National Meet a few years ago...

Look at any slab of posts from say 3 to 6 years ago, and you will see heaps of ghosts of names - that were once active and enthusiastic contributors and members....   No all but gone...

The problem at the base of it all is that the trolls had little or nill moderation; and freely tore down the goodwill and camaraderie of this place....   

The exception being to some extent, boys who had met up at National Meets etc and had got to know each other in the real world...    This group was not so readily trolled....

But because the forum felt unsafe, (from being dumped on by troll attacks getting dished out from total strangers behind a keyboard); the forum only had very few regular contributors; (maybe about 30+/-?).

Whilst some of the "thousands of members" signed up - had either walked away, or may have become occasional lurkers from a distance...   "too afraid" to contribute (any more).... 

Then the other "phenomenon" about this place ...  was that time and time and time again; any contributor's posts; (who was outside the above mentioned clique); well there contributors and posts were often routinely completely ignored...

So now to this post that I have made - will it be immediately attacked and trolled and get flamed; or will the issues I have raised be thought about; considered; and debated in an open minded and respectful way?

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: rockrat on January 02, 2020, 07:13:14 AM

I actually thought it was good you started it as like you said, it gave people somewhere to post their views rather than ‘spamming’ other threads.

And if you don’t like it, don’t read or post to it.

I read MySwag multiple times a day and have done for some time. It is hands down the best forum I’m on. I can quite easily see past the few trolls and actually enjoy hearing other people’s opinion.

Post by: DannyG on January 02, 2020, 07:40:32 AM

I have managed to start the odd thread that turns into a sh!t fight ;)
Post by: CTL on January 02, 2020, 07:58:28 AM
That climate change post was a classic example of the mentality of some on this forum.

The first couple of replies were just trolling.

A new member, who is obviously passionate about the subject, posts a sensible response but made the rookie error of using the word “idiots”.  It wasn’t a personal attack on anybody as he would not have known who voted they way they did.  The word idiot was used to describe a group of of anon. voters.  Straight away he is attacked.  Why that member took it personally I have no idea.

Two replies later the new member apologies for using the word idiot and goes on to make another valid statement to support his opinion.

Well, what happens then, three pages of the “old guard” smashing him.  Relentless bullying of a new member with an opinion different to theirs.  Sad and childish behaviour.
Post by: GeoffA on January 02, 2020, 08:02:39 AM
I have managed to start the odd thread that turns into a sh!t fight ;)

;D ;D
Post by: Fizzie on January 02, 2020, 08:11:43 AM

Look at any slab of posts from say 3 to 6 years ago, and you will see heaps of ghosts of names - that were once active and enthusiastic contributors and members....   No all but gone...

Have thought about them, & missed their comments & point of view, a number of times :'(

The problem at the base of it all is that the trolls had little or nill moderation; and freely tore down the goodwill and camaraderie of this place....   

I'm also a member on Whirlpool, which has very active moderation ;D Quite a few people complain that it's too strict, but if you're obviously trolling, or make a personal attack on another member, be assured that your post won't stay for long - in some cases, they're gone in minutes! >:D

That level on moderation may be too strict for (what should be) a fairly happy-go-lucky place like MySwag ;D, but I'd personally like to see more.

& Jeepers, if you are still reading this - Come back, mate!!!
Post by: rossm on January 02, 2020, 09:15:20 AM
I have always thought this place pretty friendly compared to some. Most actually.

But I treat it like I treat conversation around the campfire. Easier to let people talk rubbish than have a fight.

And quietly head off to bed.
Post by: gronk on January 02, 2020, 09:15:37 AM
That climate change post was a classic example of the mentality of some on this forum.

Well, what happens then, three pages of the “old guard” smashing him.  Relentless bullying of a new member with an opinion different to theirs.  Sad and childish behaviour.

While I have been on this forum a long time, I don't reply to anyone any different, no matter how long they have been a member.
Like religion, climate change seems to have divided the public into either one side or the other, with no middle ground.
When someone on one side of the debate implies that if you don't agree with the obvious "right" side, you are mentally deficient , then people are going to reply to that..
I didn't reply in that thread ( I don't think ), but in any thread, I don't mind getting "stuck in ", but I try to never make it personal. But I will reply if it's personal back though.
Like all forums, try to stick to the topic and most of all, have a thick hide..
Post by: alnjan on January 02, 2020, 10:32:22 AM
While I have been on this forum a long time, I don't reply to anyone any different, no matter how long they have been a member.
Like religion, climate change seems to have divided the public into either one side or the other, with no middle ground.
When someone on one side of the debate implies that if you don't agree with the obvious "right" side, you are mentally deficient , then people are going to reply to that..
I didn't reply in that thread ( I don't think ), but in any thread, I don't mind getting "stuck in ", but I try to never make it personal. But I will reply if it's personal back though.
Like all forums, try to stick to the topic and most of all, have a thick hide..

That's about the way I see it.  I did comment in the Climate Change thread and did wonder where it would go.  Like a lot of forums or social media if it doesn't interest me I keep scrolling. 
Post by: Snow on January 02, 2020, 02:35:50 PM
This forum has always had three levels of moderation. First, the membership, who are essentially the heart of the forum. They set for themselves a level of behaviour that they will tolerate before referring a matter to the Moderators via ’the report a post’. Second, the Moderators, who can’t be online all the time and have dwindled in active members. We will respond to reported posts and adjudicate as required. Third, there is the Admin team who have the final say, but who have the Moderator’s backs.

So, to reiterate, this is your forum. If you are not happy with the way the forum is going or have had enough of the ‘mens shed’ monopoly then report post or message and the Mod team will respond.

Post by: krisandkev on January 02, 2020, 03:15:47 PM
I think a forum like this is still pretty unique and the people who run it do a brilliant job. Remember it is free! I pay $50 a year to be on a Bushtracker's forum and it is so far removed from this one. Exploroz is also different and there is a lot more abuse on it. I keep up to date on it and use to be a visitor and help where I could but pulled out when I was personally subjected to abuse. Why, because I was not a paid member. I was going to join but not after that. I have seen this forum change over the years and still love it. And I am sure if any of us needed help in our travels the members would go out of their way to help. So I am looking forward to more travels this year and more interesting conversations on Myswag. Kevin

Post by: raider on January 02, 2020, 03:26:41 PM
I'll miss Kev's input into the "Old cars are cool" thread....... and some of his adventures. :'(
Post by: Marcus73 on January 02, 2020, 04:15:33 PM

I’d be happy to start one about Danny

Post by: GeoffA on January 02, 2020, 04:29:09 PM
I’d be happy to start one about Danny

:cup: :cup:
Post by: Hairs on January 02, 2020, 04:40:34 PM
This forum has always had three levels of moderation. First, the membership, who are essentially the heart of the forum. They set for themselves a level of behaviour that they will tolerate before referring a matter to the Moderators via ’the report a post’. Second, the Moderators, who can’t be online all the time and have dwindled in active members. We will respond to reported posts and adjudicate as required. Third, there is the Admin team who have the final say, but who have the Moderator’s backs.

So, to reiterate, this is your forum. If you are not happy with the way the forum is going or have had enough of the ‘mens shed’ monopoly then report post or message and the Mod team will respond.
Love ya work mate/guys.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on January 03, 2020, 08:42:19 AM
I like this  forum but was just about to pull the pin the other day to, but then i go on FB and its just a free for all with abuse, and this one has some nice people on here on there day, I am far from perfect and said some things I regret, as I can post something and quite a few of you just do not answer so I know I am on the ice hole list to them thats fine, But I find out some great info on here and hope I put some good info on in return, Craig
Post by: edz on January 03, 2020, 09:30:47 AM
This place isnt any different to family,  close and extended  ..
Some you are close to,  some you get along with ok,  others you grind with a bit and then theres ones you just dont have much or anything to do with ..
But as the saying goes " Thats life Jim " at the end of the day its what "  YOU "  make of it ..   No one will ever like every one .. Thats just nature ..
Stick around CT !  you got too much stuff to tell us and help to give,  to leave yet.  ..
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on January 03, 2020, 11:19:58 AM
No worries Mr edz, but you are spot on, Craig 
Post by: wakychapmans on January 03, 2020, 12:39:39 PM
yeh Craig... stay around mate. You've given me honest and helpful information in the past and I do my best to offer the same when i feel that I'm informed enough to be of any help.

But plenty of people here have offered their help and advice in the past to me and I really do appreciate it. And i I try to remember to offer thanks to them when they so generously offer their help.

A couple of you have gone above and beyond with PMs, emails and even phone calls offering help.

I have no idea if my political, religious, personal or social views match anyone here. :angel:

and I don't care.  >:D

It's not important to the important tasks of talking about camping and being ridiculed for buying a poptop van (ok... we deserved that).  :cup:

Post by: Craig Tomkinson on January 03, 2020, 04:53:12 PM
Thanks Wayne I try to be help full most times, Yes I like reading your threads and learning from your post to, Craig
Post by: Fizzie on January 03, 2020, 05:21:41 PM
I have no idea if my political, religious, personal or social views match anyone here. :angel:

& that's good, because it doesn't matter! :cup:

Post by: nab on January 03, 2020, 05:27:28 PM
I don’t take anything personally on here and if I don’t like something I just go to the next post.
BUT the old adage “if you’ve got nothing nice to say, don’t say it” seems to be long forgotten. It seems people find it more important to get their opinion across than worry about others. Yes it’s only an Internet forum, doesn’t mean you have to be a knob. If no one was an arse in the first place it would a nicer place for everyone.

Plus the trips and camper builds on here are awesome, I follow them all but try to only comment when I think I can be helpful. Hopefully the reports and pics keep coming!!
Post by: Bird on January 03, 2020, 05:46:14 PM
It can be hard sometimes to know if someone is joking or serious too if they don't chuck a smiley ;D ;D :D ;D 8) 8) or a  >:( >:( >:( >:( on the thread too...
Post by: Hairs on January 03, 2020, 06:11:34 PM
It can be hard sometimes to know if someone is joking or serious too if they don't chuck a smiley ;D ;D :D ;D 8) 8) or a  >:( >:( >:( >:( on the thread too...
True dat.
:)
Post by: topcat on January 04, 2020, 08:02:01 AM
yeh Craig... stay around mate. You've given me honest and helpful information in the past and I do my best to offer the same when i feel that I'm informed enough to be of any help.

But plenty of people here have offered their help and advice in the past to me and I really do appreciate it. And i I try to remember to offer thanks to them when they so generously offer their help.

A couple of you have gone above and beyond with PMs, emails and even phone calls offering help.

It's not important to the important tasks of talking about camping and being ridiculed for buying a poptop van (ok... we deserved that).  :cup:

Wot e said ^^^
This is a great forum and a mine of information.
Likewise, I contribute if I can add value, read a lot of the posts but agree with the “if I’ve nothing positive to say, say nothing”.
I hope a lot of the “old timers” don’t leave - about camping, you’ve taught me all I know not all you know 😉
Tony
Post by: Pete79 on January 04, 2020, 01:56:41 PM
There has been a more negative tone on a number of threads in here lately, but it would be a shame to see any more of the great contributors (yes Craig, you’re most definitely included in that group) that have commented above leave this fantastic forum.

For me personally I agree with the earlier comment about Myswag being a “digital men’s shed” of sorts, well that’s the way I’ve always seen it anyway.
I’m way too young to know what actually goes on in a real men’s shed, but I always envisioned it is much like this place; lots of skilled, handy and knowledgeable blokes building all sorts of really cool things and giving out experienced advise to help those less skilled blokes to improve and achieve something for themselves to be proud of.
But also (just as importantly) I think of men’s sheds as providing a safe place for old guys to have a general grumble about things they see going wrong with the world and have some sympathetic ears around for when they’re a bit down on life or struggling with personal things.
I often see that sort of support happening here in Myswag.

Myself, I enjoy sharing progress on my little projects and I try to put up heaps of photos on here because I know lots of people enjoy reading and seeing that sort of stuff. I also try to do a trip report whenever I can, because that’s what brought me to this great forum in the first place.
But unfortunately, there’s only about 3 active build threads going on now and trip reports are few and far between these days.
So with that side of our “men’s shed” not doing much, the focus lately seams to be on the other “grumpy old man” side of things.

Perhaps it’s a sign of the world at the moment, where everyone is getting forced into picking a side, then taking a hard stance on the far extreme ends of the topic and shouting at each other from the fringes.
The peaceful middle ground is a pretty empty space in today’s society, and this seams to be getting reflected in Myswag lately as well.

Looking back on older threads there was always lots of banter between members and it generally had a lighter feeling to most of the posts.

I think Snow has nailed it, we need to moderate our selves a little better then we have been.

I know I have been guilty of starting or getting involved in a few heated discussions over the years, some of which I do regret.
Some time ago I made a conscious decision to not comment on any more religious posts, it was actually getting depressing to see the same couple of valuable members being attacked time and time again for choosing to stand up for their beliefs, so I stopped being part of the problem.
I’m seeing the same thing happening again with the power/climate topics, now I’m trying my best to moderate myself with those threads as well. I still intend to add to those conversations, but will be trying not to post in a way that can be taken as aggressive or inciting an argument.

Hopefully we can agree to disagree on these heated topics of the moment, or at least keep the conversations civil and stop with the personal attacks.

And finally,
I also agree with the earlier posts about new or not very active members being ignored.
Yes, we’re (myself included) all guilty of letting a post sit with no replies at all or a new member’s introduction post gets only one welcoming reply. If new members don’t feel welcomed how can we expect them to want to contribute further and help to grow the forum?

Sorry for the long post, but as I am someone totally apposed to social media, forums are pretty much my only outlet for sharing my thoughts and crazy creations with others.
I’d hate to see a great forum like this one die.

Besides, if it wasn’t for Myswag I wouldn’t get to see Craig’s posts about Pennefather River to keep me fired up for another serious fishing trip to the cape every year.... ;D
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on January 04, 2020, 05:10:48 PM
Spot on Pete, well said, Yes life is to short to get up set, Thanks, Craig
Post by: rags on January 04, 2020, 11:37:53 PM
There has been a more negative tone on a number of threads in here lately, but it would be a shame to see any more of the great contributors (yes Craig, you’re most definitely included in that group) that have commented above leave this fantastic forum.

For me personally I agree with the earlier comment about Myswag being a “digital men’s shed” of sorts, well that’s the way I’ve always seen it anyway.
I’m way too young to know what actually goes on in a real men’s shed, but I always envisioned it is much like this place; lots of skilled, handy and knowledgeable blokes building all sorts of really cool things and giving out experienced advise to help those less skilled blokes to improve and achieve something for themselves to be proud of.
But also (just as importantly) I think of men’s sheds as providing a safe place for old guys to have a general grumble about things they see going wrong with the world and have some sympathetic ears around for when they’re a bit down on life or struggling with personal things.
I often see that sort of support happening here in Myswag.

Myself, I enjoy sharing progress on my little projects and I try to put up heaps of photos on here because I know lots of people enjoy reading and seeing that sort of stuff. I also try to do a trip report whenever I can, because that’s what brought me to this great forum in the first place.
But unfortunately, there’s only about 3 active build threads going on now and trip reports are few and far between these days.
So with that side of our “men’s shed” not doing much, the focus lately seams to be on the other “grumpy old man” side of things.

Perhaps it’s a sign of the world at the moment, where everyone is getting forced into picking a side, then taking a hard stance on the far extreme ends of the topic and shouting at each other from the fringes.
The peaceful middle ground is a pretty empty space in today’s society, and this seams to be getting reflected in Myswag lately as well.

Looking back on older threads there was always lots of banter between members and it generally had a lighter feeling to most of the posts.

I think Snow has nailed it, we need to moderate our selves a little better then we have been.

I know I have been guilty of starting or getting involved in a few heated discussions over the years, some of which I do regret.
Some time ago I made a conscious decision to not comment on any more religious posts, it was actually getting depressing to see the same couple of valuable members being attacked time and time again for choosing to stand up for their beliefs, so I stopped being part of the problem.
I’m seeing the same thing happening again with the power/climate topics, now I’m trying my best to moderate myself with those threads as well. I still intend to add to those conversations, but will be trying not to post in a way that can be taken as aggressive or inciting an argument.

Hopefully we can agree to disagree on these heated topics of the moment, or at least keep the conversations civil and stop with the personal attacks.

And finally,
I also agree with the earlier posts about new or not very active members being ignored.
Yes, we’re (myself included) all guilty of letting a post sit with no replies at all or a new member’s introduction post gets only one welcoming reply. If new members don’t feel welcomed how can we expect them to want to contribute further and help to grow the forum?

Sorry for the long post, but as I am someone totally apposed to social media, forums are pretty much my only outlet for sharing my thoughts and crazy creations with others.
I’d hate to see a great forum like this one die.

Besides, if it wasn’t for Myswag I wouldn’t get to see Craig’s posts about Pennefather River to keep me fired up for another serious fishing trip to the cape every year.... ;D

Pete, like Jeepers I too have been considering removing myself from this once great forum, for similar reasons as other contributors have stated but I couldn’t let your above post go without offering some feedback.

One term you seemed to have phrased  in some of your posts is the “Wobbly Box”  now this may have caused some offence to others. Your turn will come when wife says “darling I think we need a caravan and it needs a toilet”  and you to will be towing a wobbly box along at a steady pace of 90 km.

You need to be more considerate of your fellow Myswag wobbly box owners  😀😀 oh and don’t forget daylight saving 😎

Post by: edz on January 05, 2020, 12:05:18 AM
But Rags, Pete does own a Wobbly Box of sorts .......... Just ask him how the little Jayco goes during a decent bit of wind when it finaly goes out camping .. ..
It'd be rocking and banging more than a Sin Bin  at the drive in on a Saturday night ..   ;D ;D
Post by: xcvator on January 05, 2020, 12:41:22 AM
But Rags, Pete does own a Wobbly Box of sorts .......... Just ask him how the little Junko goes during a decent bit of wind when it finaly goes out camping .. ..
It'd be rocking and banging more than a Sin Bin  at the drive in on a Saturday night ..   ;D ;D

Fixed it for you Edz   >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D :angel:
Post by: duggie on January 05, 2020, 08:49:27 AM

I very seldom go into the introduction post section , but when I do I will not open a post without a member stating in their introduction where they are from . Unlike some members I do not need to add to my post count by saying G'day to every new member , but I will respond to new members if they state their location is somewhere in North Queensland .
Post by: CTL on January 05, 2020, 09:13:08 AM
Unlike some members I do not need to add to my post count by saying G'day to every new member

And that is something that appears unique to this forum, an obsession with post counts.  Why?
Post by: Fizzie on January 05, 2020, 09:54:34 AM
And that is something that appears unique to this forum, an obsession with post counts.  Why?

Definitely not unique to here!

& it seems to be a theory of some sort that if you've got lots of posts then you must be more knowledgeable or something ???

Others will say that those people with lot's of posts just waffle on more at every opportunity! ;D
Post by: Bailey on January 05, 2020, 11:05:32 AM
I think it's because we (the members) seem to tolerate off topic and non sense posts within topics.. Rather then requesting the moderators remove the posts we just ignore them.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: edz on January 05, 2020, 11:36:08 AM
Dont give a rats about post counts, To me they are meaningless ....   guess its an issue for some : Fore and Against ..
For me and most likely others,  its a join in the conversation and shoot the Shit back and forth thing and be part  of it or help out to add info, with friends . Some close Some not so.
 No different than a group of mates having a chat over a beer / what ever ... Only difference is there can be a little bit of delay in replies and the circle of associates for the multiple conversations  spans potentialy the globe .
One thing to take into account ....
 For some this Forum might be the only circle of like minded people they know / feel comfortable with .. The  Brothers / Sisters / Uncles / Aunts / grand parents they DONT  have in some ways ..
 The BEST  LIVING  ENCYLOPEDIA personalised reference of Wisdom and INFORMATION  you could ever hope to get access to ..
Just my .02 C worth
Post by: austastar on January 05, 2020, 11:55:42 AM
Ping,

Just my 2c hitting the floor as well.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on January 05, 2020, 12:10:33 PM
Dont give a rats about post counts, To me they are meaningless ....   guess its an issue for some : Fore and Against ..
For me and most likely others,  its a join in the conversation and shoot the Shit back and forth thing and be part  of it or help out to add info, with friends . Some close Some not so.
 No different than a group of mates having a chat over a beer / what ever ...
I reckon that hits it on head..
Post by: CTL on January 05, 2020, 12:17:32 PM
Definitely not unique to here!

Perhaps, but certainly unique to the other 4 or 5 forums I am on.  One particular forum removed all visibility of post numbers and boy did some of the SA comments, or perhaps more correctly, SA commentators, disappear quickly.

Don’t get me wrong, I like this forum and get a great deal of enjoyment from it but sometimes the continual off-topic comments, for no reason other than to comment for the sake of it, gets a little boring.

Oh well, enjoy your Sunday folks and I hope you are all safe.
Post by: Kangaron on January 05, 2020, 12:50:54 PM

No different than a group of mates having a chat over a beer

Your shout.  :cheers:
Post by: gronk on January 05, 2020, 01:44:37 PM
Until it was mentioned , I'm not sure if I've ever looked at a post count ?
And on a reply, you can't see it displayed, but at a guess, I reckon  Bird  has the record ?
How did I go ?
Post by: GeoffA on January 05, 2020, 01:49:48 PM
Perhaps, but certainly unique to the other 4 or 5 forums I am on.  One particular forum removed all visibility of post numbers and boy did some of the SA comments, or perhaps more correctly, SA commentators, disappear quickly.

Don’t get me wrong, I like this forum and get a great deal of enjoyment from it but sometimes the continual off-topic comments, for no reason other than to comment for the sake of it, gets a little boring.

Oh well, enjoy your Sunday folks and I hope you are all safe.

To each, his own, but I hope we never get to the point where SA commentators and their comments are discouraged.
I'd hate to see this place end up like LCOOL.....
Post by: duggie on January 05, 2020, 01:51:40 PM
Status   Username    Email   Website   ICQ   AIM   YIM   MSN                              Position                   Date Registered                    Posts

Bird                                                                                Hard Top Camper User          2009-04-27                    20743
Post by: Hairs on January 05, 2020, 02:18:05 PM

To each, his own, but I hope we never get to the point where SA commentators and their comments are discouraged.
Or that other website/forum.
Sheeeesh
Post by: gronk on January 05, 2020, 02:30:16 PM

I got kicked off Lcool because I got stuck into an administrator, after he tried to take the pi** out of me..   >:(

Was a good site for info on the 200 series, but double standards is not on for me.
Post by: Fizzie on January 05, 2020, 02:49:39 PM
And on a reply, you can't see it displayed, but at a guess, I reckon  Bird  has the record ?
How did I go ?

Only by about 4000 or so though! ;D

& if you can't see somebody's post count on an individual post, you can find it under the Members tab up top ^
Post by: Bird on January 05, 2020, 02:52:11 PM
Quote from: Fizzie
Only by about 4000 or so though! ;D

& if you can't see somebody's post count on an individual post, you can find it under the Members tab up top ^

with the assistance of GG who 'tickled' the numbers years ago, several people actually LMAO! Some didnt take it well
Post by: Snow on January 05, 2020, 02:55:17 PM
The post count is useful. You can see who the dribblers are.  ;D

Seriously though, that’s ok on the General Discussion board but really should be kept a minimum everywhere else to help keep threads on track.
Post by: GeoffA on January 05, 2020, 02:59:34 PM

with the assistance of GG who 'tickled' the numbers years ago.......

....tickled the count down, IIRC..... ;D
Post by: GeoffA on January 05, 2020, 03:10:26 PM
.....that’s ok on the General Discussion board but really should be kept a minimum everywhere else to help keep threads on track.

Threads will usually find their way back OT, but some do take a little longer than others.

Some threads need an off track comment or two to liven them up....

Post by: Black Diamond on January 05, 2020, 03:26:35 PM
I’ve said it here before and I’ll say it again. I’ve met a lot of people through this forum who have become great mates and life long family friends. Need to take some stuff with a grain of salt, once things are taken onboard  personally things can turn south quickly for some which is evident.
This is a fantastic community and although I don’t post a lot these days I’m always in the background and is my go to forum.
My observation over the years is the negative stuff has become a bit of a cycle and it’s testament to this great forum, mods and owners that it overcomes it and it’s still going strong.

Lots of love to you all
BD and family  :-* :-* :-*

Post by: DandyD on January 05, 2020, 07:55:23 PM

It isn't unique to this forum. I'm a member of several forums and they all seem to have their post count obsessees. On particular forum, Pirate4x4, for years only counted posts in the technical sections and not posts in the general chit chat section (equivalent to this one, I suppose). It made it easy to see the posters who had contributed the most technical input. The policy seems to have changed now though. Perhaps a reflection of the fact general chit chat and talking bollocks does make a forum a more interesting place to visit.

Post by: xcvator on January 05, 2020, 08:09:35 PM
Here we go then, my opinion, fwiw.

1 member that has done a bit of dishing out the crap has now had a dummy spit and taken his bat and ball.  3 pages, and 68 replies and everybody is wearing sack cloth and ashes ffs, he is a grown man and has made his decision, thousands  of others are still here, get over itMy flame suit is already on
Post by: GeoffA on January 05, 2020, 08:12:19 PM
1 member that has done a bit of dishing out the crap has now had a dummy spit and taken his bat and ball.  3 pages, and 68 replies and everybody is wearing sack cloth and ashes ffs, he is a grown man and has made his decision, thousands  of others

only 2 pages on my 'puter Keefy.....but give it time..... ;D ;D
Post by: xcvator on January 05, 2020, 08:15:37 PM
only 2 pages on my 'puter Keefy.....but give it time..... ;D ;D

internets a bit slow in the western burbs mate  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on January 05, 2020, 08:17:33 PM
internets a bit slow in the western burbs mate  :cheers:

Not at home ATM, but we have man-sized pages out my way.... ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on January 05, 2020, 08:18:10 PM
Im still trying to find out who cares about post counts... ???
Post by: paceman on January 05, 2020, 08:19:15 PM
like others, i have strongly considered leaving this forum, but have decided to take a sizable step back.

it's been pretty obvious of late on this forum (which is a sad reflection of the rest of the country), that if you are a 'member' of a particular group (climate skeptic, person with religious beliefs, particular side of politics), your opinion is largely ignored or openly ridiculed as being obviously wrong.

it's sad.

i try to be as tolerant is i can, and have my fair share of strong posts on some topics, but have tried not to descend into personal attacks or open hostility towards others beliefs or thought processes.

some posts (mostly unprompted and scathing), particularly with regards to religious beliefs, can be extremely hurtful and are left with little to no moderation, and because of this, it's not surprising that some members are taking steps back.

when hurtful posts (on any topic) from some members are left with no moderation, the inference can be made that they are a protected species, which has been mentioned in previous posts.

i'm also of the opinion that post count does not equate to worthwhile input.  that's not to say that those with high post counts should not be respected, but those with little to no posts should also be respected equally as those with post counts into the thousands.

i think a sad example of the direction of the forum is the little to no activity in the 'giveaway thread' over the last 6 months or so, and this, IMO, speaks to bigger issues.

in the end, i've said my piece.  take it as you will.  i hope everyone on the forum has a peaceful and blessed 2020.

Post by: GeoffA on January 05, 2020, 08:19:43 PM

I think it's important to CTL.... ;D
Post by: paceman on January 05, 2020, 08:20:30 PM

1 member that has done a bit of dishing out the crap has now had a dummy spit and taken his bat and ball.  3 pages, and 68 replies and everybody is wearing sack cloth and ashes ffs, he is a grown man and has made his decision, thousands  of others are still here, get over itMy flame suit is already on

the fact that this thread is gathering pages may testify to the fact that more than one member feels the same way?
Post by: xcvator on January 05, 2020, 08:40:39 PM
like others, i have strongly considered leaving this forum, but have decided to take a sizable step back.

it's been pretty obvious of late on this forum (which is a sad reflection of the rest of the country), that if you are a 'member' of a particular group (climate skeptic, person with religious beliefs, particular side of politics), your opinion is largely ignored or openly ridiculed as being obviously wrong.

it's sad.

i try to be as tolerant is i can, and have my fair share of strong posts on some topics, but have tried not to descend into personal attacks or open hostility towards others beliefs or thought processes.

some posts (mostly unprompted and scathing), particularly with regards to religious beliefs, can be extremely hurtful and are left with little to no moderation, and because of this, it's not surprising that some members are taking steps back.

when hurtful posts (on any topic) from some members are left with no moderation, the inference can be made that they are a protected species, which has been mentioned in previous posts.

i'm also of the opinion that post count does not equate to worthwhile input.  that's not to say that those with high post counts should not be respected, but those with little to no posts should also be respected equally as those with post counts into the thousands.

i think a sad example of the direction of the forum is the little to no activity in the 'giveaway thread' over the last 6 months or so, and this, IMO, speaks to bigger issues.

in the end, i've said my piece.  take it as you will.  i hope everyone on the forum has a peaceful and blessed 2020.

We should just stick to the camp fire rule.

No Religious discussion

No Political discussion

There are dedicated forums for these discussions, GO THERE with them
Post by: GeoffA on January 05, 2020, 08:44:21 PM

That's not isolated to this forum Paceman (as you correctly point out).
The same attitudes and reactions can be encountered wherever you go, online or in person...

Post by: xcvator on January 05, 2020, 08:46:08 PM
Not at home ATM, but we have man-sized pages out my way.... ;D ;D

Centrefold ?   >:D >:D ;D
Title: edited.
Post by: rockrat on January 05, 2020, 08:46:56 PM
You’ve just got to look at the recent Server Donation Raffle to see there are a lot of people willing to put their hand in their pocket to support this forum. Not to mention those that donated the prizes and also donated earlier in the year.

IMHO this is a great forum and I plan to stick around. I encourage others to do the same but at the end of the day it is an individual choice and I have no doubt this forum is bigger than any single member.

Post by: GeoffA on January 05, 2020, 08:48:25 PM
Centrefold ?   >:D >:D ;D

If only.....CentreVic....

Post by: Bird on January 05, 2020, 09:01:34 PM
Quote from: xcvator

No Religious discussion

No Political discussion

I think Snow has already pointed that one out :)
I'd forgotten campfire rules till few weekends ago...
Post by: paceman on January 05, 2020, 09:52:22 PM

No Religious discussion

No Political discussion

Happy with that, but when the ridicule in relation to these subjects comes out of the blue (which it often does with both topics), then what?

Members get disillusioned, as is obviously happening now, and take a step back, which is also happening now.

Post by: tryagain on January 05, 2020, 09:58:11 PM

No Religious discussion

No Political discussion

Two of my favourite topics to discuss 😆

I think an even better option is to not make it personal, and not take it personally, if old mate hadn't opened up with calling people idiots, this thread wouldn't exist, if Jeepers had thought I don't give a flying @#$& what some random off of the internet thinks about me, this thread wouldn't exist. It's when it gets personal that the proverbial hits the fan.
Post by: Kangaron on January 05, 2020, 10:31:47 PM

How did I go ?

C'mon Bruce, Lost + Bird = ?
Post by: RebsWA on January 06, 2020, 12:59:08 AM
While I still visit the forum daily I rarely find a topic of interest to open. It seems like the camper trailer, camping, technical stuff associated with the outdoor lifestyle, etc, that made this such an interesting forum back when I joined it has morphed into a anything but a camping forum. It would be nice IMO if it got back on track (pardon the pun) and less of the the uninteresting stuff. :)
Post by: Troopy_03 on January 06, 2020, 06:41:24 AM

it's sad.

Whilst I largely agree with your post here mate, this forum is a kiddies party compared to some other forums. There are probably a couple of members here that are also members of a particular AUStralian TECHnical forum that would agree with that.

That doesn't mean I think it's OK to make personal attacks, when you are losing in the civil discussion. But sometimes it's just easier to recognise when you're beating your head against a brick wall, and give it a miss. Or if you do think something that said is outside of the rules, use the "Report to Moderator" link.
Post by: krisandkev on January 06, 2020, 06:46:52 AM

Well said. Some of the replies actually have made me rethink and maybe it is time to give it a rest. Oh well things change and apparently change is good.  Kevin
Post by: edz on January 06, 2020, 07:57:40 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=98T3PVaRrHU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=98T3PVaRrHU)   Could be the thread into      ;D ;D ..
 If some feel they need to move on for what ever reason, they will ..     
 So thanks for the your past imput / friendship and company .... Good health / Safe travels ... "  G,Day New guy and welcome to the forum "

At the end of the day, Not being nasty, thats all there is to it .
Post by: gronk on January 06, 2020, 08:04:39 AM

No Religious discussion

No Political discussion

I thought those topics WERE being avoided ?
This new topic....CC....probably needs to be added.
Post by: xcvator on January 06, 2020, 08:24:41 AM
I thought those topics WERE being avoided ?
This new topic....CC....probably needs to be added.

And therein is another problem  CC  IS political
Post by: Foo on January 06, 2020, 08:31:07 AM

Well for your information I umm.....................what was the question again?  :angel:

Post by: gronk on January 06, 2020, 08:33:14 AM
And therein is another problem  CC  IS political

I think it's being blamed for everything happening in the world atm....I suppose politics is just one of them.
Post by: Foo on January 06, 2020, 08:38:15 AM
If I think a post is a load of crap or someone is being a knob, I just skip over it. I don't understand why people get upset, well, unless they were being personally attacked but then I just give it back and move on.  ???

Post by: Traveller on January 06, 2020, 08:59:52 AM
If I think a post is a load of crap or someone is being a knob, I just skip over it. I don't understand why people get upset, well, unless they were being personally attacked but then I just give it back and move on.  ???

I agree with Foo, surely there is more important things in your life than what is said on a forum. If I get an individual who has to be negative to one of my posts then I might try to explain what I was about, but if the attack persists then I just move on. If I get disillusioned about this forum for some reason, I just give it a miss for a few days and usually put more time into projects in the shed.

Having said that though, I find this forum a great resource with valuable input into one of the worlds that I enjoy immensely, camping and touring. Members will come and go for all sorts of reasons, but I think the person who said that if you can't say something nice (or at least informative), move along and kick the cat instead of venting your frustrations out on someone who is just trying to explain their views of the world (and that is their right to hold).

Just my opinion.
Post by: noel_w on January 06, 2020, 09:03:34 AM
Just a thought, it's a new year, maybe leave this whole discussion in the old year and we all move forward.
A new year and a new attitude. Works for me.

Post by: Foo on January 06, 2020, 09:18:14 AM
Just a thought, it's a new year, maybe leave this whole discussion in the old year and we all move forward.
A new year and a new attitude. Works for me.

Get stuffed!  ;D ;D :angel: :cheers:

Post by: noel_w on January 06, 2020, 09:21:25 AM
Get stuffed!  ;D ;D :angel: :cheers:

If you could see my belly after all the xmas ham you would probably see I am already  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: Bird on January 06, 2020, 09:23:17 AM
Well for your information I umm.....................what was the question again?  :angel:

(https://i.imgflip.com/zffl6.jpg)
Post by: Foo on January 06, 2020, 09:30:06 AM
If you could see my belly after all the xmas ham you would probably see I am already  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Post by: Foo on January 06, 2020, 09:31:42 AM
(https://i.imgflip.com/zffl6.jpg)

And a good thing that is, cause it's friggin summer time!  :P  :laugh:

Post by: Bird on January 06, 2020, 09:31:48 AM

Would this help? (https://www.healthjourney.net.au/)
Post by: Jon Burrell - Tentworld on January 06, 2020, 10:35:32 AM
Before we sponsored this forum, I was a active member of MySwag for many years prior.  Learning & observing for both my personal camping needs & business.

It was my personal involvement in this forum that was why I ended up sponsoring it. 

I do believe in this forum & its value to the camping community.  I havent found another that I prefer. 

I am sorry to hear you're needing to take a break Jeepers.

Having spoken to you on the phone and in multiple threads, I have always found you  to be a valued member of this forum.

As a new father I'm finding I have less spare time to keep involved in all the threads - so I stick to reading only the camping ones currently (and I'm still way behind) & so I mostly leave the general discussions to others.   

So I havent been able to see where things have snow balled out of control for you Jeepers, but I'm sorry to hear that you're needing to take a break.

However, like all hobbies - peoples interest can sometimes go elsewhere. Hopefully we'll see your return when the forum is again of interest to you. 

I for one remain positive about the forum & I mostly read positive posts & see people who are supportive of one another & the different stages of camping that they're at.

I think it is healthy for us to discuss things other than camping.

The wonder of camping is that it's often a hobby that you do, whilst doing another hobby. Often times you go camping to do something else.  Whether it's to discover the country, ride mountain bikes, fly model air planes, quality family time, surfing or simply digital de-tox - it's usually part of your process of de-stressing & relaxing. 

Having the general discussion also keeps people returning to the forum.  Afterall, it's not all the time that you need help from the Electrical Thread. 

Keep up the good work all & stay positive.  I hope to see you back here Jeepers when you're feeling refreshed.  Look after yourself.

:cheers: :cup:
Post by: CTL on January 06, 2020, 11:40:03 AM
I think it's important to CTL.... ;D

I made a simple observation, nothing more, nothing less.  Yet you have replied twice quoting me.  Hmmm, insecure that I have an opinion different to yours?

Sorry, forgot to add the smiley face  ;D ;D so you know it is not personal.

Have a nice day  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on January 06, 2020, 11:44:54 AM
I made a simple observation, nothing more, nothing less.  Yet you have replied twice quoting me.  Hmmm, insecure that I have an opinion different to yours?

Hardly.....just a couple of simple observations.... ;D ;D

I am having a nice day, thanks.
Same to you....

Post by: Hairs on January 06, 2020, 05:49:10 PM

I’ve said it here before and I’ll say it again. I’ve met a lot of people through this forum who have become great mates and life long family friends. Need to take some stuff with a grain of salt

Lots of love to you all
BD and family  :-* :-* :-*

Right back at ya John.
Travel Safe.