Author Topic: Boutique Beer, who drinks what?  (Read 21409 times)

Offline tanz

Re: Boutique Beer, who drinks what?
« Reply #50 on: August 08, 2013, 07:21:08 PM »
Blue Sky Brewery in Cairns do "Reef Blonde", a Passionfruit flavoured beer I enjoyed!

Offline wambesi

• My blog
« Reply #51 on: August 08, 2013, 07:31:42 PM »
Being new to this forum and most of what is talked about here this is a topic I can comment on with ease.

Most of the beer I drink is my own but I regularly enjoy everything which is on offer here at our local at the Wig n Pen.  Unfortunately it's not in bottles but when any of you visit by Canberra name sure you visit - then message me and stop by my bar...

Back to nice craft beers and I'm really enjoying Coopers,  Thomas Coopers Selection Celebration Ale.

Another nice drop is Young's Double Chocolate Stout,  very nice.

« Reply #52 on: August 08, 2013, 08:38:08 PM »
stop by my bar...

You own your own bar?

WELCOME to myswag. You've just made a lot more instant friends no doubt..........    I'm sure theres some myswaggers that would come visit.

Join in and enjoy the forum.

Offline wambesi

• My blog
Re: Re: Boutique Beer, who drinks what?
« Reply #53 on: August 08, 2013, 08:43:52 PM »
You own your own bar?

Perhaps I should have worded that better.  My own home bar. :)

Five kegs on tap and always ready to share, if this past time is anything like my others then I'm always willing to meet others and have them share my beers over a chat!

« Reply #54 on: August 08, 2013, 09:02:00 PM »
  My own home bar.

Good enough. It'll do.

At least theres no till register in that bar !!!!

Ha ha.     Shame I'm justa  bit far away to drop in for a chat.

Offline hoytshooter

« Reply #55 on: August 08, 2013, 10:06:34 PM »
Yep ya got to love having beer on tap at home ..... or camping with kegs in your camper trailer
It ain't camping if theres not beer and pizza involved.....

Offline Strider

« Reply #56 on: August 09, 2013, 10:49:10 AM »
Hi Hoytshooter, just noticed your keg setup on the camper, looks great.

Offline Squalo

• "Two Wheels Good"
« Reply #57 on: August 09, 2013, 11:57:53 AM »
Most of the beer I drink is my own but I regularly enjoy everything which is on offer here at our local at the Wig n Pen.

Love the Wig n Pen. A mate of mine was a brewer there for a while.
2007 Jimboomba Maddison Staircase
1995 GQ DX Patrol TD42

Offline ozbogwam

Boutique Beer, who drinks what?
« Reply #58 on: August 09, 2013, 09:02:48 PM »
Take a cruise in Belle up to Holgates brewery in Woodend @ Keatings hotel, try a few samplers and take a six pack home, don't mind a pale ale or pilsner. If you need someone to support you in the process of trying them out, pick me up on the way through :)

Good choice he's a mate of mine

« Reply #59 on: August 09, 2013, 09:11:03 PM »
A hint I picked up tonight to chill down warm beer or wine bottles quickly was to wrap them in a wet towel or dish cloth and then put them in the freezer, worked fine for me.

Offline corynmelnkids

« Reply #60 on: August 09, 2013, 09:33:19 PM »
I have just knocked to top off 2 Sail & Anchor Cat's Shank Kolsch not a bad drop for $9 a 4 pack might have to go and get another one from the fridge.
2003 Toyota Prado Turbo dsl
Cub Supamatic Escape Offroad
Stacer 349 Cartopper with a Suzuki 5hp 4 stroke
All set now for a big trip just need the money
and time off work.

Offline GanG

• NEDSA
« Reply #61 on: August 09, 2013, 10:02:52 PM »
Coopers red and pale ale are both good
I like squires
Fat Yak is ok........not a huge fan
Blue tongue is ok
My first choice is one of the extra dry variety either carlton or tooheys by choice
Light travels faster than sound............that's why some folks may appear bright until they speak

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
Boutique Beer, who drinks what?
« Reply #62 on: August 09, 2013, 10:06:39 PM »
I have just knocked to top off 2 Sail & Anchor Cat's Shank Kolsch not a bad drop for $9 a 4 pack might have to go and get another one from the fridge.

The local had Sail and Anchor Dry Dock at $39 a carton so I grabbed one this arvo, not a bad drop.

I remember going to the sail and anchor pub/micro brewery in Freemantle many years ago and trying a few (a lot) of their brews, the chilli beer pulled me up though!
How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

Offline Hefty

« Reply #63 on: August 10, 2013, 09:28:06 AM »
Only just found this thread. I'm partial to british style amber ales and I really like Mountain Goat Hightail Ale.
But then, I'm partial to any beer that isn't "megaswill". I love Blue Sky Brewery's Pilsner for an esy session beer (and it's pretty cheap for a craftbeer), Signha with Asian, Youngs double choc stout, most of the Aussie up and coming draft brewers etc.

My brewing aim is to reproduce a reasonable Irish cream ale like Kilkenny.  Have got the taste right, still working on head and carbonation issues.
Mace, do you brew all grain or extract beers and do you bottle or keg?
For head, try adding up to 500g of wheat malt to an all grain grist or about 250g of wheat malt extract to a kit or extract beer.
For carbonation, with bottles you probably won't get quite as close to the real thing but you can "cheat" with a "pocket sparkler". A guy on aussiehomebrewer.com uses a 10mL syringe, sucks up some of the beer and shoots it back into the glass to make a big thick head.
With kegs, use a carbon dioxide and nitrogen blend and viola!

Cheers!
Jono.
"Roads?!...Where we're going we don't need roads!"

Offline 03GV

« Reply #64 on: August 11, 2013, 04:50:16 PM »
There are some very nice beers coming out of the South Australian wine districts. Vale, Knappstein, Pepperjack are three I can recall.

Also had a drop at the Boags Brewery when in Tassie a few years ago called Wizard Smith. Incredible but have never been able to find it on the mainland.

Its good living 10mins away from Mclaren vale 8) Yes Vale ale is good, there is also http://swellbeer.com.au/ which ain't bad and are all 500ml bottles.

http://www.goodiesonbrewery.com.au/ I'm rather partial to their Pale ale, and they usually have a stall at the farmers market at Willunga on a saturday morning which is handy when grabbing your vegatables Hehe. :cheers:

Have heard these are good, haven't tried yet though. http://ekhidnawines.com.au/ekhidna-mclaren-vale-beer/
2010 DDIS Grand vitara
Lumberjack  Buckley  Campertrailer

Offline 03GV

« Reply #65 on: August 11, 2013, 05:37:59 PM »
I am loving Feral Hop Hog IPA all the way from WA, also Bridge Road Brewers Bling IPA is amazing, if you are a beer nut and are in Sydney give these guys a go www.beercartel.com.au i hope this link works (still a newby!)

Stu.

Sipping on the Feral hop hog now, liking it! :cheers:
2010 DDIS Grand vitara
Lumberjack  Buckley  Campertrailer

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #66 on: August 11, 2013, 05:43:18 PM »
A hint I picked up tonight to chill down warm beer or wine bottles quickly was to wrap them in a wet towel or dish cloth and then put them in the freezer, worked fine for me.

Yep this is my fallback for quick chilling if the co2 fire extinguisher isn't handy. Actually went camping with no ice but just big co2 extinguisher for beer, and just ate fresh fish and crabs

Was in Sydney for work the other week and found a pub which had free house beer before 7.  Ws quite nice beer as well
« Last Edit: August 11, 2013, 05:46:50 PM by Garfish »

Offline SambOz

« Reply #67 on: November 10, 2013, 08:44:37 AM »
This morning I was in luck and was able to buy two cartons of Victoria Bitter beer cheap at the local supermarket.

I placed the boxes on the front seat and headed back home.  I stopped at a service station for fuel where a drop-dead gorgeous blonde in a short skirt was filling up her car at the next pump.

She glanced at the two boxes of ammo, bent over and leaned in my passenger window, and said in a sexy voice:

"I'm a big believer in barter, old fella. Would you be interested in trading sex for beer?"

I thought for a few seconds and asked:
"What kind of beer 'ya got?"

« Reply #68 on: November 10, 2013, 09:52:11 AM »
ln the back streets of Abbotsford Melb there is a small boutigue producer that kocks out a fine brew for the refined consumer
 Victorian Bitter in stubbies & can for both kinds of drinkers  :cheers: Matter of fact l will get 1 now  :cup: :cheers:

« Reply #69 on: November 10, 2013, 01:41:54 PM »
This morning I was in luck and was able to buy two cartons of Victoria Bitter beer cheap at the local supermarket.

I placed the boxes on the front seat and headed back home.  I stopped at a service station for fuel where a drop-dead gorgeous blonde in a short skirt was filling up her car at the next pump.

She glanced at the two boxes of ammo, bent over and leaned in my passenger window, and said in a sexy voice:

"I'm a big believer in barter, old fella. Would you be interested in trading sex for beer?"

I thought for a few seconds and asked:
"What kind of beer 'ya got?"

   GOLD :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #70 on: November 10, 2013, 01:53:04 PM »
I'm drinking Big Head. Made by the burleigh brewing co.

Offline broncos11

« Reply #71 on: November 10, 2013, 01:55:54 PM »
Coopers Green Pale Ale
2003 IFS V8 100 series

Offline Moggy

« Reply #72 on: November 10, 2013, 04:28:29 PM »
Not really boutique but Boags Classic Blonde. Just love it which can be a problem.
Castlemaine used to do a "Dry" years ago, but it had to be ice cold.

Is it 5 o'clock yet......close enough  :cheers:
All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

Offline Doweymex

« Reply #73 on: November 10, 2013, 04:36:24 PM »
Another good Burleigh heads one is "My Wife's Bitter"  bought it for the name and the beer was up to it.

« Reply #74 on: November 10, 2013, 04:53:50 PM »
Yeah doweymex, that is good too