Author Topic: Trip Report with Lots of Pic's  (Read 14364 times)

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
Trip Report with Lots of Pic's
« on: May 11, 2010, 01:35:28 PM »
What a week!  Spending time with Myswaggers camping in one of the best locations in the world has to be rated up there when you think of the word – Awesome.

It all started Saturday morning just over a week ago when we departed River Heads on the barge to Fraser Island.  This is where the first fiasco unfolded.  Brett and I roll into the office to collect our tickets for the barge.  No Mr Alloway I do not have a booking for Brett, Alloway, Myswag, blah, blah, blah!  I tell you now Brett was one cool customer.  So was I because I had my ticket!!  And of course the next available spot is late that afternoon.  Cut a long story short it was decided to hang around to see if there were any no-shows which unfortunately there were not.  As JK and we prepared to wave goodbye to Brett and Deb a tourist bus driver recognizes them and pulls a few strings, moves a bus or two and what do you know, the Landcruiser and Lifestyle were heading to Fraser.

It was an easy run up to Cathedral to find out where our place of residence would be for the next 7 days.  Big congratulations and thanks to Johnny Trackabout (aka Jenny) for choosing the best spot on the east side of the island.  :cup:  With a rumoured excess of 800 people in attendance for a cleanup Fraser weekend it wouldn’t have been an easy job trying to find somewhere suitable.  We had a campsite with the lot – grass, space, ocean view, running fresh water lagoon and our own private posse of dingoes.  Arriving at Kamp Karaoke we met up with JT, Ketsi, Yogi and Seqfisho.  Later in the day we were joined by a gatecrashing Myswagger.  That story can be left for another day due to my embarrassment but welcome Nick08 and Jesse!  8)

Our very own lagoon.

Camp O, Nick08, JK

First day, Ketsi being told by the Ranger to put a shirt on.

Watty & Karen's Trackabout

Seqfisho's Lifestyle

JT's Rear Vision Trackabout Safari on the left, Watty's Trackabout and Brett's borrowed Lifestyle

Down the road approximately 500m our friends Berg, LesnJules and a newcomer Chinman were arriving at Kamp Knit to join in the festivities with MnM’s.  They had a great shady spot and some very, very nice showers and toilets.

Berg's and Chinman in the background

LesnJules

MnM's

Late afternoon on our first day we were all together on the beach for welcomes and a few beers and a few more beers.

Day 2, Sunday we began with some optional activities including fishing, sand worming, eating, drinking, chatting and slingshoting.  Then we followed that up with a drive up to Waddy Point for some exercise and lunch.  

Julie on left, Ketsi on slingshot, Marc (MnM), Brett and Nick

Brett, Meagan & Marc (MnM's), Julie (JK), Les and Berg.

Berg's attempt at Myswag in the sand dune.

Watty & Ketsi doing the dishes after a yummy roast lamb in the Cobb.

Monday we planned a quiet day in order to prepare for the next fiasco, the Myswag 3rd Birthday Hawaiian Party.  A few of us headed down to Eli Creek for a look and a test of the water.  It was a tad chilly but some of us didn’t have a choice in getting wet or not.  Thanks Brett it was fun!  It was a bit of a bleak day, the winds had started so we headed home in time for a freak afternoon storm which hit both camps not once but twice.  We all had to batten down the hatches so up came all the walls for awnings.  There were bodies running madly trying to close windows and zip on walls all in the driving rain.  No photo’s from me as it was raining that hard I wasn’t going to the car for the camera.  Kamp Karaoke settled in for the night with early dinners, bed and listening to the drizzling rain.  The party animals down the road I hear gave up knitting for the night and gave the cards a workout.  Today we said goodbye to Nick and Jess after their 2 days with us tacked onto their own week’s holidays.   We also said see you in a few days to Yogi and Craig (aka Etchasketchman) as they were heading to Sandy Cape for some fishing.

Nick 08 and Jess

Camp Yogi and Craig (aka Etcha......)

Getting up Tuesday morning we were all very unsure of what the day would bring for our big celebration.  The last shower of rain was very early in the morning and we arose to a day good enough to party or should I say PARTAE!  Preparations started from mid morning with gazebo’s being erected, tables being set up, food being organized and some very strange pieces of clothing being displayed.  All in all it was a ripper day with everyone (I hope) having a ball, getting dressed up, playing cricket, eating, drinking again and just enjoying each others company.  There were a few shenanigans but that’s to be expected anywhere there are myswaggers present.  We all lined up for a mega sausage sizzle and a chocolate birthday cake to follow.  Our day was made memorable by a visiting camera guy who was on Fraser with a few mates shooting stuff for the latest BCF ad.  Be they shonky or not we had fun hamming it up in our outfits, showing off cars, sharing a drink and Ketsi even put on a lifesaving display.  After a long day of excitement we still managed to kick on into the night!

Raewyn and the beautiful JT

Julie and the lovely Ketsi our resident lifesaver.

Glenda (aka Glen or Seqfisho)

The beautiful Brett and JT

Our lifesaver - don't ask.

seqfisho and JT with the crew for BCF?!

The Berg family arriving.

Watty and JT thoroughly not enjoying themselves.

Watty and Karen

Wednesday we had arranged a day trip to Kingfisher Bay Resort for some lunch and a leisurely drive.  Departing at 9.30am we took a last minute detour thanks to Brett and ended up at Kingfisher some 3hrs later.  It did provide some interesting tracks for a couple of the ladies who thought they’d like to take over the wheel.  Following lunch, a swim, some souvenirs, fresh bread and icecreams the group decided to move on and take a look at some of the Lakes further south.  We decided to head for home with a couple of others knowing that the day would get late.  It did, and we stood on our sand dune with drinks in hand watching for headlights coming up the beach taking bets if it was the crew or not.  They arrived back safely in time for a late happy hour!

Reece, Ketsi, Julie, Watty, Marc, Berg and Kirk at Lake Garawongera.

Our plan for Thursday was to take a drive up to Indian Head and onto the Champagne Pools for a swim.  We were joined by Team JK while a few others decided to go across to Wathumba for a look around.  A good couple of hours were spent lazing around before heading back to camp for some more relaxation time on the beach.  Kamp Knitting Kneedles or should I call them Kamp Kard Sharks hosted a few of us for afternoon drinks and nibbles and showed us the complex game of ‘spoon cards’.  All I can say is that it is fast, loud and very dangerous when belted on the hand with a teaspoon.  Unfortunately the days are short and we headed home for dinner before it got too dark.

It's a hard life here on Fraser Island.

Happy hour at Kamp Knitting Kneedles.

Chill, this is what Friday was all about.  We were all getting sad knowing that we would have to be packing up the next day and that this would be our last night together.  The weather had turned a bit bleak with quite strong winds and it wasn’t really a day for swimming.  So we all just did our own thing, some going for drives seeking additional alcohol, some just doing nothing.  We welcomed back Yogi and Craig after they had spent the previous 4 days up at Sandy Cape.  In Kamp Karaoke we thought we would go out with a bang starting with afternoon gourmet nibbles and drinks followed by a last minute feast where everyone cooked up what they had left and we all shared it around.  Of course it wouldn’t have been Kamp Karaoke without the Karaoke and for our last fiasco a few songbirds thought they’d show us their stuff!  Well some didn’t do so well and some did worse but it was fun and we had a laugh.

Glen, JT, Ketsi, Julie and Brett.

Ketsi's ready for feast time.

Lining up for dinner - Deb, Brett, JT, Yogi, Craig and Raewyn.

Fisho and Watty at the bar discussing the pro's and con's of Trackabout V Lifestyle!

The Banquet

Seqfisho's attempt at Karaoke.

Saturday was pack up day for all but the Ketsi’s who stayed on a day longer for some special ‘them’ time.  Lucky buggers.  So the morning was spent pulling down what had been our homes for the last week and packing it all away.  The enthusiasm levels were not what I experienced 7 days prior.  With goodbyes said we all departed for various barges with stops for lunch and sightseeing along the way.  We had one last unforeseen stop which turned out to be the bogging of the week with Brett getting a little too comfortable in the soft sand with trailer in tow.  And no, V8 power alone will not drive you out without assistance.  Out with the Maxtraks, a bit of digging, some more V8 power and we were on our way again.  I can tell you now that I’m glad he had them on board because my poor little Nissan was having heart failures thinking about what could have been a much worse scenario.  

After a large feed of pies, sausage rolls and jam donuts at Eurong we headed for Wanggoolba Creek to catch the 3pm barge home along with the Berg’s, Les & Jules and Kirk & Jenny. We were followed closely behind by JK and Brett who were to wait for the 5pm.  Somehow I think Brett and Deb have a barge thing happening because what do you know, we are all loaded on and there’s space for 1 more!  Rumour has it that they would take the shortest vehicle and trailer.  How that was worked out I’m not sure but I reckon I would have got the tape measure out!!  Sadly we all waved goodbye to JK with Crownie in hand standing on the bank.  :'(  You’re a good man JK, Brett owes you one.  :cheers:  A short drive north for us we were home by 5.30pm unloaded the necessities, showered, ate and hit the sack, only to look forward to the following day of removing a tonne of sand from the car, the trailer, and a weeks worth of washing.  But it was all worth it.

There is so much more to a Myswag trip that you can only experience by getting out there to one.  Our kids had a great time playing with other kids, we even had a Kids Kraft Klass happening most days which was always supervised by our very wonderful junior JK, Reece.  We had the Ozpig fired up almost every night thanks to Ketsi.  There was hijinx going on with some members having an indisposable supply of alfoil and clingwrap.  I learnt that I should have been a DJ!  O0  And if you haven’t had time to prepare anything for dinner then you’ll be fed by every other camp.  Dingoes do open food containers by themselves and they will leap tall Cape York trailers for a loaf of bread.  

We'd like to thank everyone that came on this trip for their help in the lead-up, for your friendship and for making it all possible.

Karen, Watty, Georgia & Samantha   :cheers:

« Last Edit: May 11, 2010, 04:13:57 PM by Karen »

Re: Trip Report with Lots of Pic's
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2010, 01:56:46 PM »
Great report, great photos, and a great place to visit, wish we were there.

Offline Johnny Trackabout

• GIDDY UP...WHOO BACK
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2010, 04:16:52 PM »
Great job Karen, "you da gal" and thank you very much for bringing this whole week away together "can't wait for the next one !! :cheers: :cheers:

JT aka Jenny

Offline MnMs

• 'Specialist Trip Stirrer'
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2010, 04:34:43 PM »
This was an awesome week for the MnMs too. We had a great time as per usual with a bunch of MySwaggers. We met some new Swaggers and caught up with the usual Qld and Cape Capers Swaggers again too.

Fraser Island is a magic place and to be able to have a holiday over there with great company makes it even better.

There was plenty of shinanigans (some very late night ones) >:D, but the highlight of the week would have to be the 3rd birthday party. Cricket, drinks, eats, swimming, chatting, etc made for a great day in paradise. :cup:

For those that have not attended a MySwag gathering yet, we recommend you get involved. All like minded people who want the same as you.......to get outdoors, enjoy Camping, and have fun doing it!

Definately another successful Swag meet up. Glad that we could be part of yet another one. Well done Kazza aka NASTY!

Marc, Meagan, Mia, and Murphy.
How about the Serenity!!!!!!!

2010 Land Cruiser Twin Turbo Diesel V8 with mods.
Jayco Outback Expanda 18.57-6.

Offline idlegossip

« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2010, 05:12:47 PM »
Thanks Karen for a great report and some inspiring photos.

Theo

« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2010, 05:26:53 PM »
Great report Karen (as usual).  :cup:

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2010, 05:39:23 PM »

There was plenty of shinanigans (some very late night ones) >:D,

So was it too dark to notice that you got more than you bargained for?

Offline blackstump

• ''LIFES TO SHORT TO BE SMALL''
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2010, 05:45:55 PM »
Top report, and awesome pics. Well done all

IS THERE A PROBLEM OFFICER

Offline Pauly

• Whats This?
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2010, 06:59:23 PM »
Great report, well done ;D :cup:

Cheers Pauly

New ride 2005 Landcruiser Sahara, Mickey T,s, dual batts Arb Sahara Bar, HID lights :)

Self made camper

« Reply #9 on: May 11, 2010, 09:28:40 PM »
Excellent report and great pics.

I really enjoyed reading it.

« Reply #10 on: May 11, 2010, 09:33:36 PM »
An excellent TR there Karen :cup: top stuff :cheers:
thanks for sharing!

« Reply #11 on: May 11, 2010, 09:39:07 PM »
Ripper report Karen. :cup: :cheers:

« Reply #12 on: May 11, 2010, 09:42:06 PM »
This was an awesome week for the MnMs too. We had a great time as per usual with a bunch of MySwaggers. We met some new Swaggers and caught up with the usual Qld and Cape Capers Swaggers again too.

Fraser Island is a magic place and to be able to have a holiday over there with great company makes it even better.

There was plenty of shinanigans (some very late night ones) >:D, but the highlight of the week would have to be the 3rd birthday party. Cricket, drinks, eats, swimming, chatting, etc made for a great day in paradise. :cup:

For those that have not attended a MySwag gathering yet, we recommend you get involved. All like minded people who want the same as you.......to get outdoors, enjoy Camping, and have fun doing it!

Definately another successful Swag meet up. Glad that we could be part of yet another one. Well done Kazza aka NASTY!

Marc, Meagan, Mia, and Murphy.

Well bloody well come to Broome then  ;D

Offline MnMs

• 'Specialist Trip Stirrer'
« Reply #13 on: May 11, 2010, 10:10:45 PM »
So was it too dark to notice that you got more than you bargained for?

Hmmmm, what are you implying here Kazza??? ???
How about the Serenity!!!!!!!

2010 Land Cruiser Twin Turbo Diesel V8 with mods.
Jayco Outback Expanda 18.57-6.

Offline OffRoadDave

• If I think I can build it I will!
« Reply #14 on: May 11, 2010, 10:29:49 PM »
Great report and pics Karen.  :cup:

Offline Andrea

« Reply #15 on: May 12, 2010, 05:45:43 AM »
Thank you for the fantastic trip report Karen, you really nailed it.

But dont forget about the low flying F1 11 which gave everyone a hell of a fright, thrill, and topic of conversation for a few hours ;D just wish we got a pic of it. What a memorable sight.

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2010, 07:01:59 AM »
Thank you for the fantastic trip report Karen, you really nailed it.

But dont forget about the low flying F1 11 which gave everyone a hell of a fright, thrill, and topic of conversation for a few hours ;D just wish we got a pic of it. What a memorable sight.

There were heaps more things that I could have included and gone on for pages but yes you are right Andrea, that low flying F1-11 that buzzed the coastline and sent everyone through the roof with fright was definately a highlight that I should have included.

Thanks for reminding me of the thought of falling off my chair!!

Karen

Offline Dion

« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2010, 12:27:02 PM »
Great report and photos - very jealous  8)
2017 Y62 Patrol
2009 Lifestyle Extenda

« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2010, 12:40:05 PM »
I hear you Karen, when the f111 flew over the water line we were in the camper chilling out, the sound of an f111 about 30feet above the sand doing what sounded like mach 1 almost made poop come out  :-[ , JT said that from where he was standing on the dune in front of camp the plane was level with his line of sight and was stirring up sand on the beach as it thundered past.
It certainly livened up the afternoon  ;D .
We would like to thank all of the Myswag group for a fantastic week of friendship and fun, if there are any members of the Swag that have not been to one of the get togethers do not hesitate to get your self along, you will meet an awesome bunch of people and have a ball doing it.
Thanks every one  :cheers:  :cup:  :cheers:   :cup:

Offline Camping Grant

• The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new lands but seeing with new eyes
  • Such Is Life
    • Grant & Kerryn's Camping Adventures
« Reply #19 on: May 12, 2010, 01:22:36 PM »
Thanks Karen, great report and great pics.  :cup:

Camping Grant

« Reply #20 on: May 12, 2010, 01:34:41 PM »
What a fantastic report, bloody brilliant :cup:

Offline Ketsi

• Going Nowhere - and can't wait to get there!!!
« Reply #21 on: May 12, 2010, 01:58:37 PM »
Exceptional trip wrap up report there Kazza... We managed to drag ourselves away from the life of luxury on fraser and home by late sunday arvo. Enough daylight to unpack the car and camper and drag it all out for cleaning all day monday. The return to work was a sudden jolt and busy enough to be grateful you have comprehensively covered the details so that I can just add a few pics and captions to pad out the report...  ;D

Here goes....

With everybody at the beach camp zone for the day there was a hive of activity around the campers and along the beach with fishers, socialites, drinkers, kids at play and all sorts of excitement to be had.

A view from the sand blow we climbed looking across Waddy Point. Julie and I elected to park up next to the big salt water lagoon for our lunch stop while most others headed for the picnic grounds at the ranger station.

After lunch we decided to head further north and check out the action across Nkgala Rocks. A bit of flexin and we were able to pass across the rocks and onto the beach again for a run north to Sandy Cape. Didn't do the drive all the way up to the cape tho.

Stopped in to look at Ocean Lake while we were there.

Always good to meet new swaggers and this lovely couple dropped by for a few days. Excellent to meet Nick and Jesse and hope to catch up again sometime.

The birthday party day was a hoot and I cannot stop chuckling at the fun and frivolity that went on. The pics speak louder tho...

Welcome Brenda (Brett)

Girl on girl action

Jenny (JT), Raewyn and little fisho (Sam)

That's not livin' fellas..... this is livin'  >:D

Team Berg

The Birthday speeches...

Every beach cricket match should have an onside fielding lagoon...  ;D

A stopover on our way back from our group lunch at Kingfisher resort to check out the view from Stone Tools lookout.

A few of us spent a morning cruising across to check out Wathumba Creek. Not at it's prettiest best on this occasion but happy to have the adventure and say I've checked it out.

On the way back from Wathumba Creek we planned a casual lunch and drinks at Champagne Pools.

While everyone was choosing a chill day on the friday, Julie and I decided to check out the Lakes we didn't opt to see with some of the group after our Kingfisher lunch. Down to Dilli Village and inland we stopped at Lake Boomanjin for Breaky/morning tea.

Then on to Lake Birrabeen to be the highlight as the favourite Lake Mackenzie was closed for redevelopment works. We lazed for an hour or so and headed back to camp via Eurong and a lunch stop.

So our chill day came on saturday as we continued to fly the campo flag as others packed up and made their way home. The weather was intermittent showers and windy but we didn't mind as we relaxed around camp and finished off some more of our oversupplies of snacks, nibblies and drinks. A quiet night around the fire that night revisiting the memories of the week with the myswag group.

Alas, it had to end some time and we packed up at a casual pace on sunday and headed off home with a camera and mind full of memories and a camper and car full of fraser's finest top dressing...

A big thanks to Karen for throwing open the invite to this trip and to all those who came along and made it the absolute pleasure it was. A mixed bag of weather paled into insignificance when you stroll back through the fun and relaxed times we had with the other campers along on this trip. Can't wait for the next myswag trip we can join in on.

Cheers,  :cheers:
Ketsi

Offline Karen

• 'Myswag Trip Queen'
« Reply #22 on: May 12, 2010, 02:51:31 PM »
Thanks Ketsi.  Great to read someone else's perspective on the trip and to see photo's from a different angle.  Love the one of the group at birthday speech time, it's a cracker!

Kazza  :cheers:

Offline Johnny Trackabout

• GIDDY UP...WHOO BACK
« Reply #23 on: May 12, 2010, 04:04:11 PM »
Its a beauty Ketsi great words & pics.....better get started on my trip report ???

Here we go....
Rae and me traveled up with Marc and family in convoy....looking the part with our matching 200 series and Trackabouts in toe.

We arrived on the island around 1pm and I was told there were going to be around 800 people up there for a Fraser clean up weekend. I messed in my pants at the thought of not finding the perfect spot for everyone to enjoy...and was especially worried at what Karen would say if I failed. After breaking the convoy with Marc & family, Raewyn and me drove for around er um about 500 metres and there she was our haven in paradise. I turned to Raewyn and said anyone with a problem with this spot will get a little knuckle from me !!! >:D (joking)
We set up camp straight away and spent the 1st night on our own which was pretty cool. I woke in the morning around 4am for a nature call, it was absolutey beautiful at this time of the morning so after lighting up a ciggie and flicking the lid on a can of beer I decided to do a naked walk up the beach (something everyone should do at least once) as I knew I would not get another chance at it ;D ...sorry did not get any pic's of this one ;D
I can't remember a lot from there on in as it was beer on time and all I know next year I am taking more beers as 6 ctns in 8 days of 30 pacs "just does not cut it" And I can say anyone who has thought about coming to one of these trips and has not done it as yet "JUST DO IT" these are great people and you won't regret it.
Anyone got any pic's of the glad wrap incidents of 2010 ?

JT aka Jenny

Oh yeah while we were there we met some of the cast out of Pricilla Queen of the desert musical...or at least thats what they told me ???

Rae having a fish

Trying to look good (I failed)

Our humble abode

« Reply #24 on: May 12, 2010, 08:49:13 PM »
Top job on the reviews guy's / gal's ......... It would be nice to still be there adding to the advenure we have already had  8)