Author Topic: New /old laptop  (Read 10016 times)

Re: New /old laptop
« Reply #25 on: December 03, 2017, 08:05:55 PM »
Thanks.....I'll see tomorrow if my laptop has the guts to download it.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #26 on: December 03, 2017, 10:40:13 PM »
That laptop will run Windows 10 just fine, and the code from Windows 7 Pro will still activate it.

Much better option than Windows 7

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

Offline bkim

« Reply #27 on: December 04, 2017, 12:44:28 AM »
As Drewxt said, the laptop should run windows 10 OK, I have just set up win 10 on a laptop for a friend of mine, she bought it in Sept 11, the link I've posted will let you download win 10 ISO file, since you are probably downloading on another system, use the option to create install media for installation to a different system

https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/software-download/windows10
If the dvd works OK in the laptop you are going to install Win10 too, you may be better off creating the media to a DVD as sometimes the USB option can cause problems on older units, you won't be required to provide the key (numbers) from the win 7 sticker until you start installing win 10, the link provided is to the latest version of  Win 10, a secondary benefit of burning the ISO file to a DVD is that it can be used for other Win 10 installs to other systems
« Last Edit: December 04, 2017, 12:55:49 AM by bkim »

« Reply #28 on: December 04, 2017, 05:44:53 AM »
Thanks again, if my present laptop has the room and capacity (its 5yrs old as well ) I'll be onto it...

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #29 on: December 04, 2017, 07:54:31 AM »
Thanks again, if my present laptop has the room and capacity (its 5yrs old as well ) I'll be onto it...
I run windows 10 on that model of laptop... Runs fine :)

USB install works as well fwiw

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #30 on: December 04, 2017, 09:20:58 AM »
using Gronks CD key

Error
The product key you entered appears to be for software pre-installed by the device manufacturer. Please contact the device manufacturer for software recovery options

« Reply #31 on: December 04, 2017, 09:27:17 AM »
using Gronks CD key

Error
The product key you entered appears to be for software pre-installed by the device manufacturer. Please contact the device manufacturer for software recovery options

might be able to perform a recovery/reinstall, without the need for HP-specific recovery discs:

https://support.hp.com/au-en/document/bph07143

under the heading:  "Recovering your computer without an HP recovery kit"

if the recovery partition is still available, that is...

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #32 on: December 04, 2017, 11:10:40 AM »
I'd be installing Windows 10 this way

https://www.cnet.com/au/how-to/microsoft-windows-10-free-upgrade-offer-assistive-features/

Works like a charm

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #33 on: December 04, 2017, 03:58:18 PM »
I'd be installing Windows 10 this way

https://www.cnet.com/au/how-to/microsoft-windows-10-free-upgrade-offer-assistive-features/

Works like a charm

Only one problem mate....how do I upgrade when I can't open the laptop ??
The laptop I'm on now ( 5yr old Toshiba Satellite ) had the death screen after trying a win10 install, so it stays on win7 until a new laptop comes along ( not the HP I'm trying to get going )

« Reply #34 on: December 04, 2017, 04:17:28 PM »
Go buy windows 10 from Hardly normal and you'll have a disk you can use for years :D

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #35 on: December 04, 2017, 05:19:44 PM »
Only one problem mate....how do I upgrade when I can't open the laptop ??
The laptop I'm on now ( 5yr old Toshiba Satellite ) had the death screen after trying a win10 install, so it stays on win7 until a new laptop comes along ( not the HP I'm trying to get going )
You can use the Toshiba to create a bootable Windows 10 installer

I'll see if I can find a blank DVD and burn it, and mail it to you if you would like?

« Last Edit: December 04, 2017, 05:21:22 PM by DrewXT »
2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #36 on: December 04, 2017, 05:30:29 PM »
Go buy windows 10 from Hardly normal and you'll have a disk you can use for years :D

Did you say BUY ????       $175........that's about $100 more than I would like to pay.. ;D  I've got long arms, but they still don't reach to the bottom of my pockets very often !!   ;D

I reckon the local computer repair bloke could throw win10 on for less than that ??

« Reply #37 on: December 04, 2017, 05:48:09 PM »
You can use the Toshiba to create a bootable Windows 10 installer

I'll see if I can find a blank DVD and burn it, and mail it to you if you would like?

If the bootable installer is the same as bkim's link above, I'd have to check if my Toshiba has the room to download it.

A DVD would be great if you want to go to the trouble !!

Offline bkim

« Reply #38 on: December 05, 2017, 12:56:00 AM »
using Gronks CD key

Error

As Bird has stated, the laptop apparently has an OEM windows version installed so the key may not activate a new install of windows 10, an oem version is not transferable to a different computer where a retail version is, but it MAY allow the oem install to be replaced with a later version of windows.

I haven't as yet, been required to do a new install over an oem version of windows 7 to win 10, I have successfully reinstalled win 8.1 to my cousin's Sony oem windows laptop after her hard drive died, using a win 8.1 ISO file downloaded from Microsoft and burnt to a DVD.

The download from the link I provided is around the 4 GB size (didn't actually check) but will burn to a standard DVD, some of the early downloads of win 10 wouldn't fit and required a dual layer DVD or 16GB USB.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #39 on: December 05, 2017, 11:58:31 AM »
PM sent Gronk, I've burnt you a DVD, but need your address

2013 Amarok Highline
The following users thanked this post: rastus

« Reply #40 on: December 14, 2017, 06:22:51 PM »
A big thanks to DrewXT......the old HP elitebook is up and running with win10 installed.

Also a big thanks to Aus Post......I think it took 8 days to get a small envelope from Victoria to NSW...top job boys !!   ;D ;D

« Reply #41 on: December 14, 2017, 06:30:44 PM »
A big thanks to DrewXT......the old HP elitebook is up and running with win10 installed.

:cup: :cup: :cup:

« Reply #42 on: December 14, 2017, 06:32:29 PM »

Also a big thanks to Aus Post......I think it took 8 days to get a small envelope from Victoria to NSW...top job boys !!   ;D ;D
he probably paid priority post

« Reply #43 on: December 14, 2017, 07:13:30 PM »
he probably paid priority post

Daughter in law bought a small thing from Harrods last week......took 3 days to get here !!

Couple of yrs ago I bought a Fiskars from Amazon USA....East coast......on a Thursday evening, arrived Monday arvo !!

So, 8 days from Victoria isn't so bad ...is it ??????    ??? ???

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #44 on: December 14, 2017, 07:45:52 PM »
You're very welcome mate, glad to help :)

Aussie post are terrible at the moment.  Been waiting 11 days for 2 birthday cards for the kids to come from their grandparents in NSW.

Would usually be 2-3 days

2013 Amarok Highline