Author Topic: Who still uses Paper maps  (Read 4622 times)

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
Who still uses Paper maps
« on: August 05, 2017, 09:49:00 AM »
I'm just trying to workout if many people still use paper maps & how they carry them/store them.

The reason why I'm asking.

Is I'm thinking about making up some map bags as a Father's Day special on my canvas thread & having them ready but wanted to see if they would be needed or not.

Sarah

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

Offline Homerj

Re: Who still uses Paper maps
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2017, 09:55:05 AM »
I always have paper maps as a backup to the tablet.  You never know when an electrical device will play up or stop working completely.  I have a map case from MSA for them but I'd be interested in a canvas bag if you do make some.
2005 Pajero with a few bits and pieces.
The following users thanked this post: Tim - Stratford

Offline Paulyg

« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2017, 10:02:12 AM »
Never go on a trip without paper maps, as well as the GPS device. I keep mine in a plastic map case.

« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2017, 10:56:42 AM »
use something like this with the clear front, so the map stays in the bag and can still see it

also like the old dutch army ones
« Last Edit: August 05, 2017, 10:58:52 AM by Bird »

Offline topcat

« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2017, 12:25:54 PM »
Yeah I do - prefer them to the Hema. Would be interested.
Tony
Prado 150 GXL 6M + 2016 TVAN Murranji

2008 Trackabout 4x4 Deluxe Tourer - Sold (first love xox)

"If all ya got's a hammer, every problem is a nail"

« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2017, 03:21:20 PM »
Nearly everyone I know who travels has paper maps. I mainly have Topo maps but that's just me.
To me, travelling without maps is like boating without hard copy charts.

« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2017, 03:25:46 PM »
I tend to have a cloth shopping bag full of various maps... these range from an elderly NSW Street directory, to an old Camps and a more recent Hema road book. I also tend to have a load of the Cartoscope maps, depending on where we are going. Locally, I have a door pocket full of information I got from the Visitor Information Centre, and in some cases they're copies of copies where the original has been lost long ago.

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2017, 04:08:16 PM »
Yup , been staring at maps today !

I have a Land Rover map flap pocket thingy in the style of  Birds - but without the clear front .

Got it when i worked at Land Rover 20plus years ago - its never got me lost, Been lots of places .

And doesnt leak oil !

Just getting in early ........
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

Offline Wunderlust

• NoSetPlan.com.au
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2017, 06:25:14 PM »
Not really paper maps but have them in the iPad, iPhone and incar gps. Could you make a sturdy canvas iPad holder - perhaps with reinforced corners and a pocket on the back for a pen and ear phones etc?
No Set Plan - Our Aussie Adventurehttp://www.nosetplan.com.au

Offline CorzaDry

« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2017, 06:27:13 PM »
I love a good paper map! Feels good to ditch technology when going away.

Offline Tim - Stratford

« Reply #10 on: August 05, 2017, 06:31:00 PM »
Not really paper maps but have them in the iPad, iPhone and incar gps. Could you make a sturdy canvas iPad holder - perhaps with reinforced corners and a pocket on the back for a pen and ear phones etc?

I will have to have a think about that one.

Sarah

« Reply #11 on: August 05, 2017, 06:58:53 PM »
Sarah, if you can make the map packet big enough to fit a Hema book of maps(Spiral bound) open flat.
I would imagine that would help lots of people.
They can be used with the books open to the page needed and folded to put away.
It would protect those precious Camps books and Hema maps / Atlas's that people carry with them.
Just a thought, I personally have one from ADP in Kilsyth, obtained before I ever knew of your existence.

Hope your idea works out.

Offline Champin

« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2017, 08:51:05 PM »
I use a mix of Rooftop maps and the VMS. I carry the paper maps in a canvas bag that holds enough maps to pretty well cover Moe to Buchan and Cooriong to Wilsons Prom. That bag lives in the rear door pocket permanently.
 I would be literally and metaphorically lost without them.
 Cann't remember where I scored the bag from but is an envelope type with 2 compartments. Around the camp fire we sort where we are going the next day and bring the relevant maps forward to the front pocket for easy retrieval.
 Works for me being CDO and that.
CDO .....like OCD but the letters are in alphabetical order as they should be. :laugh:

« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2017, 09:32:56 PM »
We don't have electronic maps, just paper maps here. We use an A4 document holder pouch thingy that is clear and seals like a zip lock sandwich bag. We also keep a pen or 2 in there with stuff I have printed out on the internet like places of interest etc. Also keep receipts in it and accomodation booking confirmations etc.

Offline Tim - Stratford

« Reply #14 on: August 08, 2017, 03:44:46 PM »
Thanks for all the replies so far.

I have updated my thread in the showroom floor (trader) section with a special on 2 map bag types.

Sarah
« Last Edit: August 08, 2017, 04:23:28 PM by Tim - Stratford »

« Reply #15 on: August 08, 2017, 03:59:21 PM »
I always have paper maps as a back up. But I often don't use them. And I don't respect them... only because I usually get the free ones from the visitor info centres! LOL!

I think the bags are a great idea for those who use them regularly.

« Reply #16 on: August 08, 2017, 08:16:55 PM »
Love the old paper maps.  The older the better.  All to often the new digital maps are all too up-to-date and the older maps occasionally still have the old and forgotten secret spots the new maps don't have. 

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #17 on: August 08, 2017, 08:27:55 PM »
I use both.
I have scanned all my paper maps into my HN7, but I still get them out when I want to see a bigger picture of where we're travelling.
I've worded up my girls for father's day...... ;D ;D

« Reply #18 on: August 08, 2017, 08:38:09 PM »
Love the old paper maps.  The older the better.  All to often the new digital maps are all too up-to-date and the older maps occasionally still have the old and forgotten secret spots the new maps don't have.

Had that this weekend at work - someone went into a campsite following their satnav and it wasn't a great outcome... The old paper maps I had showed the tracks and trails in, and they could see exactly where they'd gone wrong. Also one of the maps was a photocopy of a photocopy, and that had a lot of relevant information on it as well as old names for a couple of the locations. I wish I had the time to take them out there, but one of the tow vehicles was out of use for a while.

Offline moeite

« Reply #19 on: August 14, 2017, 12:14:44 PM »
Always take paper maps with us. The relevant WAC's (World Aeronautical Chart) 1:1,000,000 and topo 1:250,000. My maps are old and have all sorts of notes pencilled on them. I keep them in a plastic box in the car and the one(s) I'm currently using in an ancient map case. We also have the HEMA book as well as a VMS GPS.
First thing I do with maps is to tape the folds so they don't fall apart too quickly.
Mark F...
VK3KW
2002 Discovery 2 Td5 auto
2004 Outback Sturt rear fold soft floor
Http://jandmf.com

« Reply #20 on: August 14, 2017, 12:52:03 PM »
I use Paper Maps when necessary, but I find that the scales of 1:100k is the vaguest/least info I rely on.
The smaller scales of 1:25K or even better 1:10k from NATMAP show heaps more info.
The 1:250k is just too lacking in info. 
The bigger the number on the scale ratio, the less info there is for a given 25mm of map.
It's like getting out a Forestry map and comparing it to an old Petrol Co. touring Map for the same area.
But that's just me.

« Reply #21 on: August 14, 2017, 01:00:51 PM »
The biggest issue I have with paper maps in any scale is the data is so old.... Like nobody has mapped these areas in decades.

Before my first trip to Robe/Beachport years ago, went to Melb map center and bought couple of maps (not that you need them I found out later), got home and found out that the dates were something like 15yrs old.

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #22 on: August 15, 2017, 02:00:14 PM »
The biggest issue I have with paper maps in any scale is the data is so old.... Like nobody has mapped these areas in decades.

Before my first trip to Robe/Beachport years ago, went to Melb map center and bought couple of maps (not that you need them I found out later), got home and found out that the dates were something like 15yrs old.

True but then most of the places you want to go camping generally haven't changed since year dot, i like having paper maps for planning but Ozi on a 7" tablet works well when on the go.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline Tim - Stratford

« Reply #23 on: August 15, 2017, 02:37:43 PM »
It's great to hear that a lot of people still use paper maps. Some while out & about & others during the planning stage.

Thanks for all the replies so far.

If you would like to place an order for a map bag please go to my thread on the showroom floor (trader section)

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.msg468860#msg468860

Sarah

« Reply #24 on: August 15, 2017, 04:31:30 PM »
It's like getting out a Forestry map and comparing it to an old Petrol Co. touring Map for the same area.
But that's just me.

C'mon mate. I use these and never been lost :cheers: :cheers:

p.s. check out the stylish people in the café on the last map. Anyone here connect with that ;D