Author Topic: We all clear on the roundabout rules in Oz?  (Read 29511 times)

We all clear on the roundabout rules in Oz?
« on: July 25, 2017, 10:04:31 AM »
Should be interesting for the programmers of the driverless cars-
https://www.carsguide.com.au/car-advice/simple-guide-to-roundabout-rules-51541
I guess we'll have to tell the car where we're going each time we get in so it knows what it's doing  ???
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

Re: We all clear on the roundabout rules in Oz?
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2017, 11:25:26 AM »
I think they couldn't have written that article any more confusing if they tried. They try and bounce from state to state to make it look overly complex.

In reality some states must indicate when leaving Qld, WA and NT,

Others where practical, this isn't "driver's choice", but on the circumstances such as size and shape of roundabout how many lanes, roads etc.

Then they throw in the half way around for ACT to make it sound like something unique, which actually is how then national road rules were written.

NSW only has 1 sign.  The yellow is only advisory, like most yellow/black ones and has no legal obligation.

They did however forget to mention you must give way to trams!

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2017, 12:01:15 PM »
Giving way to any vehicle that has already entered the roundabout, regardless of it's position, is one that I'm sure pretty much no-one knows about.
I saw it pop up on the TV while at QLD transport waiting room and realized that this had never been made clear to me before. But it does make sense.

I told a mate (who hates roundabouts) about it a few days later and he lost his mind.....
Apparently that semi trailer that entered the round about before him and is still making it's way around has to magically disappear once he gets there.

Actually I'm sure there are a few people that do know about that rule, they just think it says; "everyone must give way to ME when I'm on a roundabout, regardless of when I choose to enter it". ;D
The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2017, 12:40:49 PM »
Yeah....   I see plenty of #@×% barreling into a roundabout entry (to the right of where I am seconds away from entering myself)...

Effectively cutting me off via evoking the   ## I'm (now) in the roundabout. ...   give way to me ##..... rule...

Only works for them though; if the others downstream are aware that they now must give way. ..

BaseCamp

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2017, 01:09:57 PM »
We don't have roundabouts where I live, or traffic lights or drivers that give a crap.

It does prove interesting however, when we go down to Brisbane.....

Offline scblack

« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2017, 01:17:12 PM »
Yeah....   I see plenty of #@×% barreling into a roundabout entry (to the right of where I am seconds away from entering myself)...

Effectively cutting me off via evoking the   ## I'm (now) in the roundabout. ...   give way to me ##..... rule...

Only works for them though; if the others downstream are aware that they now must give way. ..

BaseCamp

If they are in the roundabout before you, YOU must give way to them, that's the road rule. This is the rule mentioned in the post above yours.
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015

A man must believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer.

Offline Merts

« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2017, 01:39:24 PM »

NSW only has 1 sign.  The yellow is only advisory, like most yellow/black ones and has no legal obligation.

I liked the "The second is the white upside-down triangle" comment. A triangle is just a 3 sided shape. There is no 'up side' so how can it be upside down?
Towing a a National Campers 'Hermit 10' hybrid with an MQ Triton. Previously towed an Outback Campers 'Sturt' softfloor. (PM me if you want to buy the Sturt!)

Offline Merts

« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2017, 01:47:20 PM »
Giving way to any vehicle that has already entered the roundabout, regardless of it's position, is one that I'm sure pretty much no-one knows about.

I told a mate (who hates roundabouts) about it a few days later and he lost his mind.....

I've had similar conversations with a couple of people. I generally try to explain that roundabouts are actually designed with that rule in mind, and regardless of whether any individual driver thinks the rule makes sense or not (and it does), it is the law. We don't actually get to pick and choose which road rules we comply with, and which we ignore.
Towing a a National Campers 'Hermit 10' hybrid with an MQ Triton. Previously towed an Outback Campers 'Sturt' softfloor. (PM me if you want to buy the Sturt!)

« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2017, 01:57:09 PM »
the whole indicating to exit a roundabout even when going straight through is bloody stupid..

How the hell can I hold a stubby, light a smoke and text me mate that I'm on my way over, and indicate as well?

Offline Beepa

« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2017, 03:53:26 PM »
And the bloody idiots who turn right from the left hand lane of a roundabout...in 30 years of driving it's the only accident I've ever had....Grrrrr......Yes some roundabouts you can, but we put huge green signs before each entry showing what you can do, and 3 meter long white arrows on the road for those too dumb to read signs.....and the clowns still get it wrong.....
Humping a Camel Beachcomber Plus.

« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2017, 03:58:42 PM »
Rule,
Giveway to any other vehicle already on the roundabout.
Why does the red car have to give way to the green car? When the green car is not using the outside lane?
This defeats whole purpose of a roundabout.
To keep traffic flowing.

« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2017, 04:04:28 PM »
Rule,
Giveway to any other vehicle already on the roundabout.
Why does the red car have to give way to the green car? When the green car is not using the outside lane?
This defeats whole purpose of a roundabout.
To keep traffic flowing.

Umm cause according to the markings the red car can either go left or straight

« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2017, 04:06:42 PM »
If the red car is turning left, Why?
Edit,
In that video, the red car is turning left.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2017, 04:08:49 PM by Hairs »

« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2017, 04:10:07 PM »
If the green car is indicating to exit the roundabout, how do you know it is not also indicating to change lanes????

Offline Beepa

« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2017, 04:22:51 PM »
Because only an idiot changes lanes on a roundabout......unless it's a roundabout that has lines instructing you to.
Humping a Camel Beachcomber Plus.

« Reply #15 on: July 25, 2017, 04:36:12 PM »
That is were it gets merky, google it, there are several different videos on this.
Some say you must exit in the same lane as what you entered.
Others say that you can change lanes in a roundabout.

« Reply #16 on: July 25, 2017, 04:48:06 PM »
I was reading a booklet on road rules (NSW) late last week and was shocked to learn you can change lanes in a roundabout as long as you indicate. Now I think that is a dumb rule.

« Reply #17 on: July 25, 2017, 04:52:18 PM »
I was reading a booklet on road rules (NSW) late last week and was shocked to learn you can change lanes in a roundabout as long as you indicate. Now I think that is a dumb rule.

The broken  white line in the roundabout  (above pic)  would indicate that the line can be crossed.  If a solid line, no.

I dont think its really smart to change lanes in a roundabout either.  There is enough free for all on roundabouts down here as there is :)

« Reply #18 on: July 25, 2017, 04:59:57 PM »
There is one at brisbane airport with a servo on it that requires a lane change depending on how you approach it, to get to the servo. Not fun with tourists and hire cars everywhere.

« Reply #19 on: July 25, 2017, 05:32:48 PM »
There is one at brisbane airport with a servo on it that requires a lane change depending on how you approach it, to get to the servo. Not fun with tourists and hire cars everywhere.
Or there would be a shopping centre entry, Yep, town planners need to be shot for doing this.  >:D
The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #20 on: July 25, 2017, 06:39:17 PM »
I like them the work pretty well in reality. Because of them we only have one set of traffic lights in town and thats mainly for a school crossing.

Flame suit on  ;D

« Reply #21 on: July 25, 2017, 06:50:48 PM »
I agree Nomad,
When used as they were intended to they are great.
It's the brain dead numpties that stuff it up.
All they are is a giant silent Copper  :police:
Remember the steel yellow things in the middle of intersections before signs?
They were good at popping hub caps of rims if the driver missed the turn properly.  :laugh:

« Reply #22 on: July 25, 2017, 07:06:17 PM »
The only probem with this thread is that the heading should have begun with "Queenslanders Take Note"  >:D
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #23 on: July 25, 2017, 07:07:59 PM »
Townsville town planners love them, saved a fortune on traffic lights, just chuck a roundabout at every new intersection (didn't matter if it was justified or not).

But that big one they built at the old Brisbane airport intersection was an absolute disaster. The theory was a roundabout would allow 500 more cars per hour to pass through the intersection then the existing traffic lights would allow.
Only one problem, the reality was it let a whole s...tload of cars turn towards the city, but no one could enter to go to the airport.

The transport minister defended it like his career depended on it. Right up until the day he got stuck at said roundabout on the way to the airport and missed his flight.....

Soon after major works where approved and that whole mess of an intersection was bypassed (with another awesome piece of civil engineering that merges 6 lanes of traffic into 2 lanes in less then 1km, but that's a rant for another day).

« Reply #24 on: July 25, 2017, 08:10:52 PM »
the whole indicating to exit a roundabout even when going straight through is bloody stupid..

You don't have to ...in NSW anyway !!