Author Topic: 2016 200 series vx tyre/wheel swap  (Read 5224 times)

Offline prado2004

2016 200 series vx tyre/wheel swap
« on: April 26, 2017, 01:48:26 PM »
Hey guys, old man is buying a new 200 series vx. they come with the 18" rims and tyres. he wants to change tyres to something a bit bigger and more aggressive straight up.

who on brissy northside has done this? is he better asking toyota to rebate the tyres and buy 285/65/18's or is he better to sell rims and tyres and buy new 17" rims with tyres cost wise or ask a tyre shop to swap them? guessing 285/70/17s would be much cheaper. probably leaning towards BFG A/Ts.

thanks your help is much appreciated!
2012 4dr JK wrangler, 3.5" AEV lift, AEV mags, 35" muddies, front/rear arb bars, tjm sliders, pioneer platform and some other goodies
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=47825.0

Custom Camper with solar, gas hot water & fully self sufficient 
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35159.0

Offline paull

Re: 2016 200 series vx tyre/wheel swap
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2017, 02:04:39 PM »
I doubt getting the dealer to rebate the OE wheels & tyres will work out the most cost effective way of doing it.

I had a local tyre place swap the OE tyres off my 200 and put AT's on when mine was new. He bought back the tyres. As long as you take it straight to them then they'll be OK with that. I might have been able to get more for them selling privately but this was far easier. Couldn't say what tyre size is best to get as I stayed with stock size as I'm intending to do a bit of towing and didn't want to throw the drive ratios out.

As far as I know the OE wheels themselves sell for reasonable money privately (unlike my old JK where you could barely give the standard wheels away). Should certainly get enough to pay for the new wheels anyway. Been meaning to swap mine out and sell them but just never had the time. Just be careful getting 17" wheels for the VX/Sahara 200's. They have bigger brake callipers so very few 17" wheels fit. There are some, but not many. The new callipers came in on the MY16 models I think so if it says they fit MY16 then he should be OK. If it just says suitable for 2007 upwards then I'd be careful and try before you buy.
2020 Ford Ranger Wildtrak
2016 MR22BE Van

"I thought I could see the light at the end of the tunnel but it was only some bugger with a torch bringing me some more work."

Offline VAGRANT

« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2017, 02:16:38 PM »
The few sets of 18s' that I have seen for sale on facebook groups and forums have all started out way over the top price wise and then dropped and dropped until selling for around the $1000 mark for 4 and 5 wheels with tyres, I have changed mine but kept the wheels to put back on when the time comes to sell, just tell him not to count on getting too much for them unfortunately.

The BFG KO2's in 18's are under $400 if you shop around, as Paull stated ROH make some 17's fit the new VX and Sahara and are legal sizes if he is concerned.

Grant.
Toyota 200 Series
AOR

Offline prado2004

« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2017, 02:41:21 PM »
I doubt getting the dealer to rebate the OE wheels & tyres will work out the most cost effective way of doing it.

I had a local tyre place swap the OE tyres off my 200 and put AT's on when mine was new. He bought back the tyres. As long as you take it straight to them then they'll be OK with that. I might have been able to get more for them selling privately but this was far easier. Couldn't say what tyre size is best to get as I stayed with stock size as I'm intending to do a bit of towing and didn't want to throw the drive ratios out.

As far as I know the OE wheels themselves sell for reasonable money privately (unlike my old JK where you could barely give the standard wheels away). Should certainly get enough to pay for the new wheels anyway. Been meaning to swap mine out and sell them but just never had the time. Just be careful getting 17" wheels for the VX/Sahara 200's. They have bigger brake callipers so very few 17" wheels fit. There are some, but not many. The new callipers came in on the MY16 models I think so if it says they fit MY16 then he should be OK. If it just says suitable for 2007 upwards then I'd be careful and try before you buy.

Thanks mate, yes the JKs are a little different beauty with land cruiser stud pattern is they fit a lot of vehicles unlike toyota.
2012 4dr JK wrangler, 3.5" AEV lift, AEV mags, 35" muddies, front/rear arb bars, tjm sliders, pioneer platform and some other goodies

Offline prado2004

« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2017, 03:21:03 PM »
rang 3 tyre shops and they all only want to give $50 a tyre for brand new 285/60/18s. seems crazy. might tell him to swap them and sell them on gumtree. i would imagine a set of 5 brand new should fetch 1k or so for the right person.

either that or keep them and wear them out then upgrade.

BFG's range from $440 a tyre to $490 a tyre in 285/65/18s. wowsers.

Offline paull

« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2017, 03:56:26 PM »
Think I got $125 a tyre back when I swapped mine.
2016 MR22BE Van

"I thought I could see the light at the end of the tunnel but it was only some bugger with a torch bringing me some more work."

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2017, 10:46:28 PM »
I recently had a tyre shop give me $100 per tyre for 245/65R17 tyres so I'd be expecting at least that or maybe $125 per tyre for 'brand new' 200 series tyres.

Offline prado2004

« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2017, 10:16:32 AM »
I recently had a tyre shop give me $100 per tyre for 245/65R17 tyres so I'd be expecting at least that or maybe $125 per tyre for 'brand new' 200 series tyres.

drama is standard is a 285/60/18 and they all keep telling me they sit on the shelf forever. 4 people i have called have said only $50. bob jane wont buy them back at all as they cannot offer the new purchaser any warranty. think i will tell him to either wear out the stock ones or just take them off and try and sell all 5 for $1000 on gumtree. cheap set of brand new ones for someone sticking with standard size. there are enough 200 series on the road i reckon they would sell

Offline paull

« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2017, 11:29:36 AM »
bob jane wont buy them back at all as they cannot offer the new purchaser any warranty.

It was Bob Jane who bought mine back. They offered to buy them back as well. It wasn't me pushing them.
2016 MR22BE Van

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2017, 01:01:48 PM »
I'm sure you'd get a bit for them via this and other 4wd forums.  285/60R18 is a good (fairly mild) upgrade for most of the larger dual-cab utes and many 4wds (eg. prado).
Working against you would be the HT (or are they very mild AT?) style.  Not many owners looking to upgrade to larger HTs.

Offline prado2004

« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2017, 02:31:49 PM »
I'm sure you'd get a bit for them via this and other 4wd forums.  285/60R18 is a good (fairly mild) upgrade for most of the larger dual-cab utes and many 4wds (eg. prado).
Working against you would be the HT (or are they very mild AT?) style.  Not many owners looking to upgrade to larger HTs.

I would say H/T's given they're the stock ones but not sure. he gets the car mid june so might throw them up here for someone and see if anyone wants them

« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2017, 09:52:41 PM »
When I got my new VX in late 2014, I got my Toyota dealer to change the standard OE tyres & got them to put on 275/70/18 Cooper ST Maxx. Yes, there was a bit of a changeover price but at the same time, got $100 per tyre trade in for the standard 285/60/18's & drove out with new 33's. Was easier than trying to sell the OE tyres myself.

« Reply #12 on: April 30, 2017, 08:47:29 AM »
Bob  Jane traded mine for $150 a tyre but the choice is wider now so probs not as good a value. The rims fetch less too even 17" genuines I have seen go on fleabay for $600 a set. I would have gone 17"s but couldn't get the tyres I wanted in 17"s so stuck with 18"s and have no regret. Just remember you loose the ability to get into 6th automatically under close to 130kmh once you change eom size..

« Reply #13 on: April 30, 2017, 07:21:30 PM »
If you have the place to store them I would keep them and sell them off individually. People get battle scars or hole a sidewall and damage a rim soon search ebay / gumtree and facebook after looking at the price from Toyota. When I was recently searching for Prado rims for the new trailer the full sets were cheap i.e less than $1k. But individually they were all priced around $350 to $450 depending on the rim, because most people don't want to have four spare rims sitting in their garage.

Just a thought.