Author Topic: forward fold campers in high winds  (Read 4679 times)

Online paceman

forward fold campers in high winds
« on: April 26, 2017, 07:57:43 AM »
hi all,

we recently did a trip to rollingstone (near townsville) and while it was a beautiful spot, we experienced high winds for much of the stay (up to 40 knots, in some cases)...

as our next camper is planned to be a forward fold (specifically a modcon quattro), i was wondering how owners of forward folds in general find them when the wind gets up in speed?

any stability issues, problems with poles, etc... ?

any thoughts would be appreciated.

Offline db

Re: forward fold campers in high winds
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2017, 08:39:17 AM »
We have a Quattro and in strong winds have found it to be no worse than our previous campers. It flaps and rocks a bit with strong wind gusts, but I can't see that being any different with any canvas camper. With respect to awnings and poles, the same answer. The main awning is very tall, but with all the poles secured with the velcro tabs and well roped down its been no different to our soft floor former campers. I don't have any fears for it in strong wind, only the lack of sleep from a night of noise :)
Modcon Quattro
NW Pajero GLX-R
The following users thanked this post: paceman

Online paceman

« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2017, 08:52:34 AM »
We have a Quattro and in strong winds have found it to be no worse than our previous campers. It flaps and rocks a bit with strong wind gusts, but I can't see that being any different with any canvas camper. With respect to awnings and poles, the same answer. The main awning is very tall, but with all the poles secured with the velcro tabs and well roped down its been no different to our soft floor former campers. I don't have any fears for it in strong wind, only the lack of sleep from a night of noise :)

thanks, mate... exactly the feedback i was after...

i didn't think it would actually fall over, but being tall, i wasn't sure how it handled the higher winds...

« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2017, 09:28:39 AM »
I have had a couple of storms hit us in our trailer, all have been fast moving and have not lasted that long.
Our trailer has handled them no problems

Offline silverfox1111

« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2017, 11:05:07 AM »
Gday paceman
I've got a modcon ff1 & I'm not keen on it in strong winds.
Compared to our previous soft floor, the ff1 has to be nearly a Metre taller & has a lot of side area with only the 3 poles holding the canvas walls.
This makes it into a far bigger sail with less bracing than a soft floor.
Had a couple of trips where the wind has hit us square into the drivers side & there was a fair bit of movement in the camper & tent poles. We now have a dedicated set of ropes to attach to the drivers side (up high) to to stabilise & strengthen the camper & poles.
I'd think all forward folds woukd behave yhe same though.
Silverfox
Toyota hilux
Modcon ff1(no more)
Jayco swan outback

Offline RonnieQ

« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2017, 10:43:26 PM »
We have a Modcon Imperial FF (aussie made) and have had it in high winds plenty of times as we often camp on the coast, they move around a bit, but I have never been concerned about it being damaged or collapsing.

Never seemed to bother it at all, and there was one time down in Tassie the wind was that strong it blew a dog off his chain and they couldn't find him for the dust.

But seriously make sure all the internal poles keep the canvas tight to reduce the sail effect, always try to set up with a natural wind break or park your car in an appropriate position to form a wind break.

I hope you love your new Modcon as much as we love ours.

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

{IMG}{IMG}

Offline Fathom

« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2017, 05:58:54 AM »
We've been through a storm or three with our FF.
Lots of wind etc.  Two worth mentioning was one up at Fraser once that damaged  an awful lot of gazebos/tents etc.
Saw lots in the bin area that year.
One in Northern NSW that knocked down one or twenty trees.

We have had no dramas.
Always give 100%... Unless you are giving blood.. then it may not go so well...

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2017, 08:41:36 AM »
I think the key for any tent is making sure that the canvas can't flap or get lifted off poles in a big wind.

We've had ours out in some horrific winds, including the remnants of Cyclone Debbie that hit Fraser, and no issues.

We have the Supapeg poles with the threaded spigots, which we highly recommend.  We rarely guy down our annex because it holds so will with the threaded posts

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

Online paceman

« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2017, 08:45:07 AM »
I think the key for any tent is making sure that the canvas can't flap or get lifted off poles in a big wind.

We've had ours out in some horrific winds, including the remnants of Cyclone Debbie that hit Fraser, and no issues.

We have the Supapeg poles with the threaded spigots, which we highly recommend.  We rarely guy down our annex because it holds so will with the threaded posts

so , what do you put on the thread?  a wingnut?

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2017, 08:48:19 AM »
so , what do you put on the thread?  a wingnut?

Yep...

Like this

http://supapeg.com.au/threaded-spigot/

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2017, 11:37:35 AM »
We had an Modcon Elyssium, got stuck in some serious winds... The tropical roof was a problem as it was only Velcro holding the ends.

If caught in a cross wind, we used the eyelets on the top of the frame to attach a ratchet strap & peg it down.

Awnings are always a problem in strong winds...

Online Bird

« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2017, 12:09:37 PM »
Quote from: DrewXT

I run the guy rope off the top of the pole, down to the bottom of canvas then round the pole, rope over itself  and down to ground
this stops it flapping. you can sorta see it here

The following users thanked this post: db, paceman

Online paceman

« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2017, 12:21:45 PM »
I run the guy rope off the top of the pole, down to the bottom of canvas then round the pole, rope over itself  and down to ground
this stops it flapping. you can sorta see it here

i do something similar... worked a treat in our high wind spot with the tarp...

shown in this video...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wa_6QLo089g
« Last Edit: April 28, 2017, 12:23:57 PM by paceman »

Offline GanG

• NEDSA
« Reply #13 on: April 28, 2017, 11:39:06 PM »
Never a problem in our forward fold........been in a couple of wild storms
Light travels faster than sound............that's why some folks may appear bright until they speak