Author Topic: Kodi Set Top Box's  (Read 3187 times)

Kodi Set Top Box's
« on: April 25, 2017, 01:26:26 PM »
So who's got a Kodi set top box ?

There's heaps of them on Ebay and Gumtree, and of course they all claim theirs is the best

Is yours  ok and where did you get it ?

cheers Keith  :cheers:

Re: Kodi Set Top Box's
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2017, 01:29:50 PM »
The software is free I believe, and can be installed to a multitude of devices.
http://www.overtheairdigitaltv.com/using-kodi-xbmc-watch-stream-live-tv/

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2017, 02:34:47 PM »
Mine runs on a Raspberry Pi... Total cost, about $100

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2017, 07:00:16 PM »
I use an Aldi sourced cocoon and it works OK apart from the Shitty remote , Logitech harmony fixed that.

Sent from my K4000_PRO using Tapatalk

MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline idc1970

« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2017, 07:00:45 AM »
I've got the Minix Neo U1 with the A2 Airlite remote from eBay for $169, Australian seller. Previously I had the Q Box $100 and it didn't work, but a mate of mine has the same one and had no issues for almost 18 months now.

You have to have a good strong internet connection to be able to stream without interruptions, and depending on how many devices are connected to your wifi you may have upgrade your router. We had the standard issue Telstra router connected to NBN fixed wireless (satellite NBN for regional area) with two iPhones, iPads and an iMac, add the Kodi box and it couldn't cope. We upgraded to a dual band wifi router which fixed it. Although on Friday or Saturday nights it still gets interrupted streaming occasionally which I put down to internet traffic.

It's a whole new world of technology that I never knew existed 6 months ago, good luck!

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2017, 12:51:35 PM »
The important question for mine is what add-ons are people running?

I have all the Freeview ones, plus Exodus... Curious as to what others guys use

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

Offline me217

• datebest.net - visit website and win smartphone!
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2017, 01:06:06 PM »
i run mine on a dedicated pc, bit more expensive then other options, but doesnt break a sweat when streaming hd from my server. also it can function as many other things as well. netflix? no worries. emulation? sure why not. i've tried low power kodi machines and they always had issues in my experience with heat or lack of power.
https://t.me/pump_upp

Offline Slug

« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2017, 01:18:31 PM »
The brother in law set Kodi up on a media PC for us just last week.  Havnt used it in anger yet but have had a look through Exodus and was amazed by it all. 

Anyone run anything other than Exodus or see a need to?

« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2017, 10:28:43 PM »
Update I bought a cheap $100-00 kodi box from evilbay. It had all the bells and whistles, but it certainly WAS NOT a plug'n'play if you didn't know anything about setting Kodi up you were up ship creek  :'(
Got it running and added a couple of app stations and it;s running pretty good, no stuttering or freezing, watched "the godfather" right through without a slightest hiccup.  :cup:
Running Kodi on my main machine to fine tune it , then copy the setting over to the box.
cheers Keith  :cheers: :cheers:

Offline corndog

« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2017, 05:48:52 PM »
For addons just google best kodi addons. Plenty of lists and youtube videos.

Offline jmorgan1981

• It was that last beer!!!!
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2017, 09:07:16 AM »
Guys. Not to hijack the thread. But how does kodi work? so do you download apps that have online movie and TV show libraries? Plus can you run freeview, netflix, stan, amazon prime etc through it. I understand the hardware side (so a andriod box fire stick pc etc) just no the software.
2017 Mazda BT-50 XT
2014 Kimberley Kamper LE

« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2017, 09:08:12 AM »
Guys. Not to hijack the thread. But how does kodi work? so do you download apps that have online movie and TV show libraries? Plus can you run freeview, netflix, stan, amazon prime etc through it. I understand the hardware side (so a andriod box fire stick pc etc) just no the software.
http://www.wirelesshack.org/a-guide-to-kodi-and-watching-free-movies-and-tv-shows.html

The following users thanked this post: jmorgan1981

Offline jmorgan1981

• It was that last beer!!!!
2017 Mazda BT-50 XT
2014 Kimberley Kamper LE