Author Topic: Shopping for 2nd hand 4wd in 2018 - Scratched the Y61 Patrol off the list  (Read 48270 times)

Offline vern

While the IHZ is slow it’s not the main reason for looking to change. For me the main reason for upgrading my 4WD’s is potential rust.
Just the other week I needed to attend to a spot around the windscreen and know in years to come it’s going to turn into a battle I won’t win.

Most of my 4WDing/Camping is on the beach, so all up I would estimate my car is on the beach an easy 6 weeks per year times 9 years I’ve owned it. While I’m pedantic about giving it multiple cleans after extended trips, just know after 7-14 days camping on the beach with a couple of kids/dog salt/sand gets into places I just can’t clean. 

I personally would by a 76/79 series cruiser as the power upfront cancels any suspension/rear diff length concerns. But my Wife who rarely comments on 4WDs did let me know these aren’t an option.
I spent a bit over a month in a very well kitted out 79 series on a central Australia trip including the canning stock route, my highlight of the road trip was spending 2 hours in a mates basically bog stock 100 series, so much leg room, so much more comfort, a much more capable vehicle!

Re: Shopping for 2nd hand 4wd in 2018 - liked the Prado
« Reply #201 on: June 15, 2017, 01:52:24 PM »
Quote from: Bird
As I said finding someone of quality to do the work is the hard part.
3 Sherriff cars, police, forklift, Electricians, Large Semi were at a Duramax "Specialist" Lilydale and confiscated goods from the Factory, they had a warrant.
now my 2 mates with cars in there Pakenham office have no idea where too from here.

« Reply #202 on: June 15, 2017, 07:58:19 PM »
3 Sherriff cars, police, forklift, Electricians, Large Semi were at a Duramax "Specialist" Lilydale and confiscated goods from the Factory, they had a warrant.
now my 2 mates with cars in there Pakenham office have no idea where too from here.
Huh... Bird, I am Lost  ???

« Reply #203 on: June 15, 2017, 08:03:16 PM »

« Reply #204 on: June 15, 2017, 08:19:34 PM »
;D ;D
Hug  You Lost ,,,,,,,,,, stick with me & we will never be Lost .
                    There will always be somebody telling me where to go & you can bring  :cheers: for the journey    :cup:                    :cheers:

« Reply #205 on: June 16, 2017, 11:27:24 AM »
Quote from: muzza01
Huh... Bird, I am Lost  ???
just on the engine conversion discussion earlier. FWIW I'm both :D

I spent a bit over a month in a very well kitted out 79 series on a central Australia trip including the canning stock route, my highlight of the road trip was spending 2 hours in a mates basically bog stock 100 series, so much leg room, so much more comfort, a much more capable vehicle!

my old 105 series was a much more comfortable vehicle to drive then my new 79 is, but the 79 suits my needs better as a work vehicle first and foremost and the rear canopy storage kills the old wagon set up hands down. If I didn't need the 79 as a daily tow rig for work, I wouldn't choose it as a touring vehicle to own....the vehicle suits my current needs perfectly, but comfort isn't their strong point by a long shot.

So what would you choose if you didn't need the 79 for work?

My guess is that Rumpig would pick either Landcruiser 100, 200 or the Y62 Patrol just like me.  I reckon he too is a little young for A Prado.   Then again I could be wrong  ;D

took a mates day old 200 series for a drive on Saturday night  8) 8) the downside is I would struggle with the lack of storage in a wagon over my canopy I have now...guess you can't have it all though, and I used to manage with the old wagon I owned. I'd look at the new Patrol also, but having driven my sister inlaws 4.2 wagon they owned, the comfort factor had better have changed dramatically over what the old rigs were like to have me buy one.
The following users thanked this post: plusnq

My guess is that Rumpig would pick either Landcruiser 100, 200 or the Y62 Patrol just like me.  I reckon he too is a little young for A Prado.   Then again I could be wrong  ;D
beat me the it....you are on the right track, my brother has a Prado, it's a nice vehicle but a touch small for my liking. If it was just me and the Mrs I'd consider owning one, but then if it was only the 2 of us, i'd also consider a few other vehicles probably

Offline vern

took a mates day old 200 series for a drive on Saturday night  8) 8) the downside is I would struggle with the lack of storage in a wagon over my canopy I have now...guess you can't have it all though, and I used to manage with the old wagon I owned. I'd look at the new Patrol also, but having driven my sister inlaws 4.2 wagon they owned, the comfort factor had better have changed dramatically over what the old rigs were like to have me buy one.
Can't beat that rear canopy for offroad touring, can be setup so well. Pity the cabs not as comfy as a 100/200

Yes. It's difficult if you want carrying capacity and comfort. Modern vehicles are getting less and less payload. It makes it harder to choose a good family outback  tourer. I know with the missus and the three kids we bump up against GVM, let alone space constraints.

Bahahahahahahaha.  Work.   Your a pissa.

Lowered with low profile tyres, so might pass on it.
I'd have one.

•320kw
•Torque improvement over 70% rev-range (be nice to have a graph or #'s)
•NISMO 22? RAYS forged-alloy wheels
•NISMO tuned suspension using ‘Bilstein’ shock absorbers for improved handling and ride comfort
•Takumi tuned Engine
•Customized body reinforcements for precision steering & quick response
•Segment first Zero-Lift aerodynamic body kit
•NISMO signature designed body kit
•NISMO Sport tuned Power Steering
•NISMO Bespoke designed interiors

Offline petrolburner

I love my Y62 but personally I don't get that Nismo version????

I would take mine over that any day if the week 😁

If you want more torque than the stock engine across the rev range a supercharger isn't  that expensive.
Complete Campsite Fraser XTE

2013 Nissan Patrol Y62 ST-L

Re: Shopping for 2nd hand 4wd in 2018 - Scratched the Y61 Patrol off the list
« Reply #218 on: February 01, 2018, 01:13:44 PM »
That's mainly because, for reasons known only to itself, Nissan no longer has a diesel Patrol. The only choice of propulsion is a 5.6-litre petrol V8 with claimed combined fuel consumption of 14.4 litres/100km - 20.2 litres in the traffic.
That's not a lot less than a Lamborghini Aventador and frankly the Nissan claim is a bit fanciful. We saw 30 litres/100km on our first commute. Thankfully it has a huge 140-litre tank.

No wonder 99 per cent of LandCruiser buyers choose a diesel and no wonder the big Toyota outsells the Patrol by more than 10 to one.

There's a good chance this generation of the Patrol will be the last we see - it appears headed the way of the V8 Commo-Dodo.

https://www.bigrigs.com.au/news/nissans-patrol-is-a-pain-in-the-city-but-awesome-i/3322866/

Offline callmejoe

« Reply #219 on: February 01, 2018, 08:50:29 PM »
Me'll bite. :laugh:
Mr bird.
 Stop reading weird article. You can find anything you want on the net.  Alot an't true...
Just  (sorry editing from my original post  as you are quoting from a article ) the fuel usage quoted are "little off" ....  well alot...
« Last Edit: February 01, 2018, 09:03:11 PM by callmejoe »
Life's wasn't meant to be fair.
Well so I've been told. ..

« Reply #220 on: February 02, 2018, 04:46:22 AM »
I see this thread has come up again. At this stage we are keeping the Cruza for another couple of years and seeing if our choices are a bit cheaper.

We have test driven pretty much all of the twin cab Utes and in my opinion, most of them are a pile of Shit compared to Patrol and Cruza and the Utes are just plain ugly.  I know most of this forum would disagree but it is my opinion :)

The best 4bs ever made were either the Patrol or the Landcruiser, quite simply all the others are not even comparable. It's a shame the 200 series is so damn expensive and the Y62 didn't come with a diesel option.  I can only hope the 300s comes out soon and the 200s drop in price by a lot.

Thanks to everyone who commented on this thread, I may did it up again next year. 

Cheers Muz

Offline Hookie

« Reply #221 on: February 04, 2018, 05:54:10 AM »
The best 4bs ever made were either the Patrol or the Landcruiser, quite simply all the others are not even comparable. It's a shame the 200 series is so damn expensive and the Y62 didn't come with a diesel option.  I can only hope the 300s comes out soon and the 200s drop in price by a lot.

Agree 100%. The reason I bought a Y61 is because I could never afford a cruiser of similar age and km. I know I have a vehicle that can go anywhere I have the balls to take it.

Offline MadMarv

« Reply #222 on: February 04, 2018, 09:31:06 AM »
I begin to wonder why some people upgrade there cars regulary , yes i know comfort milage etc ... but many ppl just use them for daily commuting to work ... so keeping that thought in mind , couldnt you say buy a new small 4cl car which gets say 7 lp100 and change that over just as often and keep your 4x4 for just trips/weekend work .... i only pose this question as i used to have a work vehicle so my Patrol just sat there most weeks , but being as it didnt get used for daily commuting the insurance was only $650 full comp agreed value 25k .... sure still had rego but it ment overall running costs were much lower ..... .... just a thought .... and also if its say over 20 years old and your in a club that has a historic reg thingy couldnt you just run it on historic reg , therefore lowering costs further .... i only say this as all the extra costs ontop off buying a vehicle to make it go where you want would be a fair bit off coin that you don't get back when you sell it ..... or am i just missing something

Marv

« Reply #223 on: February 04, 2018, 09:55:48 AM »
I begin to wonder why some people upgrade there cars regulary , yes i know comfort milage etc ... but many ppl just use them for daily commuting to work ... so keeping that thought in mind , couldnt you say buy a new small 4cl car which gets say 7 lp100 and change that over just as often and keep your 4x4 for just trips/weekend work .... i only pose this question as i used to have a work vehicle so my Patrol just sat there most weeks , but being as it didnt get used for daily commuting the insurance was only $650 full comp agreed value 25k .... sure still had rego but it ment overall running costs were much lower ..... .... just a thought .... and also if its say over 20 years old and your in a club that has a historic reg thingy couldnt you just run it on historic reg , therefore lowering costs further .... i only say this as all the extra costs ontop off buying a vehicle to make it go where you want would be a fair bit off coin that you don't get back when you sell it ..... or am i just missing something

It has been what I do, after having a company car for 18years with the 4WD parked in the shed I'm now in a job with no car so I still leave the 4WD in shed and now commute in a Suzuki Swift.
If we head out anywhere we take the wife's car and the Prado is purely for our travelling and van towing duties.