Author Topic: Tide Times  (Read 5385 times)

Offline Ketsi

• Going Nowhere - and can't wait to get there!!!
Tide Times
« on: February 26, 2010, 02:36:21 PM »
There has been a bit discussed about arrival times etc and 'depending on the tides' so here is a link to the tides starting the saturday we are arriving http://www.bom.gov.au/oceanography/tides/MAPS/bundaberg.shtml#map

For those discussing plans heading up from brisbane and catching an early barge across from inskip it seems the earlier we can be on the beach the better as low tide is around 5:20am and coming in until around 10:45am ish... so perhaps we would be best getting up the island asap in the morning and having a look around near "the campground" for some reasonable beach camps and then wait for the group coming from River Heads to arrive and make a decision on confirmed campsite locations for the beach goers? Any thoughts positive or negative on this?

Cheers,  :cheers:
Ketsi
« Last Edit: March 01, 2010, 10:56:56 AM by Ketsi »

Offline seqfisho

• So much Australia, Never enough Holidays
Re: Tide Times
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2010, 08:38:41 AM »
Ketsi,

That idea is great but your link sux ;D

How early do the barges start?

I suppose the other option is an afternoon run on the later low but I don't think I could wait that long plus what a magic sight travelling up the eastern beach with the rising sun :cup:
2007 Rodeo VCDi DCab, Reasonably stock no longer ;-)
Now Camperless

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2010, 11:08:11 AM »
Ketsi,

That idea is great but your link sux ;D

How early do the barges start?

I suppose the other option is an afternoon run on the later low but I don't think I could wait that long plus what a magic sight travelling up the eastern beach with the rising sun :cup:

Glen,

Thx for heads up on my sucking link  :-[ Tried to link to the results page but guess it doesn't like that. Have edited the link now and you will have to do the hard work and put in the dates etc and get results to show tide times....

Not sure on the barge start times so perhaps someone on here knows or I can make a call to them a bit closer and confirm when first barge is.

I agree I couldn't wait for the arvo run unless absoloutely necessary so will be attempting a sunrise run up the beach until mother nature beats us....  ;D

Cheers,  :cheers:
Ketsi

Offline seqfisho

« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2010, 01:49:59 PM »
As per the BOM site,

Sat 1     
Time    Ht    
0403    0.74    
0930    1.42    
1459    0.63    
2212    2.08

looks like we will need to get a wriggle on in the morning as we will only have a couple of hours at best to get up the beach before the high starts rolling in I hope you can keep up Ketsi :P
Now Camperless

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2010, 02:33:46 PM »
As per the BOM site,

Sat 1     
Time    Ht    
0403    0.74    
0930    1.42    
1459    0.63    
2212    2.08

looks like we will need to get a wriggle on in the morning as we will only have a couple of hours at best to get up the beach before the high starts rolling in I hope you can keep up Ketsi :P

Interesting Glen that your times are for Waddy Point but for Sat 1 May 2010 using Bundaberg tide times (with Elbow point being the bottom western side of Fraser at 2 minutes after Bundy times) I get the following results:
Sat 1
Time Ht
0430  0.83   
1013  2.42   
1604  0.70   
2243  2.96 

So there is about a half hour difference down the island by this account. Still doesn't buy us much time but I think we should be able to at least get up to Cathedral if there is an early start time for the Manta Ray Barge. Just might mean making that bacon and egg roll even more rare cooked....  ;D perhaps not even time to unwrap or crack the egg.... :o

As for keeping up I should be no worries with appropriately attached tow strap to unsuspecting lifestyle camper.... 8) Might need to recalc your fuel consumption tho.... ;D

Ketsi

Offline seqfisho

« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2010, 06:18:15 PM »
Manta Ray

* First Barge Departs Inskip Point 6:30 am Daily
* Last Barge Departs Fraser Island 5:30 pm Daily

You may be able to whip up bacon and eggs yet Ketsi :cheers:
Now Camperless

« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2010, 06:40:32 PM »
I have been to Fraser and driven all the way to Indian Head at 100k on a high tide and I have been to Fraser on a low tide and only been able to get up to 35K all the way up to Indian Head !!!! I will still be on the fisrt barge at 6:30 and see what mother nature has install for me 8)

Offline Berg

« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2010, 08:10:35 AM »
remember to take care on the beach, especially if you drive a .... ;D

« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2010, 09:18:53 AM »
Hey Berg ........... Only a poor tradesman blames his tools  8) 8) 8)

Offline Berg

« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2010, 09:29:27 AM »
So true  :cheers:

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2010, 10:26:30 AM »
Manta Ray

* First Barge Departs Inskip Point 6:30 am Daily
* Last Barge Departs Fraser Island 5:30 pm Daily

You may be able to whip up bacon and eggs yet Ketsi :cheers:

Excellent work fisho...

Looks like it's a 6:00am gathering at the carpark at the end of the road at inskip ready for a dash across the sand and loading for departure on the 6:30am Manta Ray.

If you're there we'll convoy.... if your sleeping in we'll see you at Cathedral...  ;D Feel free to register your interest or discuss your plans.

Will work on the bacon and eggs for ya fisho....  >:D

Ketsi

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2010, 11:04:54 AM »
Glen,

Just checked out this link that Karen posted in the Barge info thread - http://www.fraserislandbarge.com.au/ and it says the Manta ray runs 2 barges starting at 6:00am....??? Where did you source your info from?

Ketsi

Offline seqfisho

« Reply #12 on: March 02, 2010, 11:10:58 AM »
It was from the Manta Ray site when the trip was first announced, we did up a file with all the associated costs etc and that was the times they had, maybe they were for winter or something or have decided to start earlier, which for us is good as it will give us an extra 1/2 hour to run up the beach.

Dont worry about us, we will be there at the point waiting for the first barges ramp to drop, aint no way I'm waiting till the afternoon, think of the drinking time that would be lost :cheers:
Now Camperless

Offline Ketsi

« Reply #13 on: March 02, 2010, 11:17:46 AM »
he he he... back to the hot box or leftovers for you now mate... will bring the gathering time forward half hour and post on the convoy coordination thread.

Agree with you on the valuable drinking time issue. Shouldn't have any trouble getting up the beach unless that tow line to the lifestyle comes unstuck...  ;D  8)

Ketsi

Offline seqfisho

« Reply #14 on: March 02, 2010, 11:20:42 AM »
Might just have to have a drovers breakfast (smoke and a look around ;D) on the Saturday morning so we dont miss the kick off :cup:
Now Camperless

Offline MnMs

• 'Specialist Trip Stirrer'
« Reply #15 on: March 02, 2010, 03:56:43 PM »
Definately 6am first barge lads.  8)

We are actually heading up to Cathedral on Friday arvo now. The boss (one elova top bloke!) at work has given an extra days leave for us, so we'll be off early. Tides will be great to cruise the beach and we'll be settled and comfy ready for everyones arrival on Saturday morning.  :cheers:
How about the Serenity!!!!!!!

2010 Land Cruiser Twin Turbo Diesel V8 with mods.
Jayco Outback Expanda 18.57-6.