Author Topic: I'm just home from a 350 day, 43000 klm around Aus trip - Ask Me Anything  (Read 26746 times)

Offline trevc

Hi Swaggers

Having been home for a few days I thought I'd throw a few stats up from our journey. I can't believe we were gone for 12 months it only seems like last week we departed on our trip of a lifetime. Australia is a large and beautiful country and we feel like we only scratched the surface.

I did heaps of research from the info swaggers have posted over the years and would like to give a little back, so if you have any questions about our experience that could help you, ask away!

We departed Brisbane 7/1/14 in a 150VX V6 Prado and 'bitsa' 9 ft soft floor off road CT.

Days on the road: 350
Total Klm's: 43,000
Number of separate camps: 129

Days in:
QLD: 17
NSW: 43
ACT: 4
VIC: 38
TAS: 30
SA: 46
NT: 47
WA: 120

Accommodation type:

Commercial Caravan Parks: 90
Private Camp Grounds: 45
Council Parks: 37
National/State Parks: 100
Free Camps: 59
Family and Friends: 20

Budget:

Average daily cost of:

Grocery Food and Booze: $55.63
Fuel: $39.54
Accom: $18.67
Entertainment: $5.26
Takeaway / Counter Meals and Drinks: $17.02
Camp Items (Gas refills, Laundry etc): $4.58
Total Daily Average: $140.70 (Budgeted $135)

Vehicle Repairs:

4 x Prado Tyres (new)
2 x Prado Tyres (2nd hand)
3 x Trailer Tyres (2nd hand)
4 x UHF Aerials
3 x Trailer wiring plugs

Favorite Places:

Trev: The Olgas NT, Cape Range WA, Cape Leveque WA
Bec: Karajini NP WA, Tunnel Creek NP WA, Great Ocean Rd VIC
Sam: El Questro Resort WA, Bell Gorge WA, Grampians NP VIC
Olivia: Windjana Gorge WA, Litchfield NP NT, Adelaide Zoo SA

Trev

Re: I'm just home from a 350 day, 43000 klm around Aus trip - Ask Me Anything
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2014, 08:34:23 PM »
Welcome back :worthles:

Offline trevc

« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2014, 08:40:02 PM »
We have about 14000 pics so can't even begin to fathom choosing them.
We had a travel blog on FB, Cummings & Goings - that's were the daily pics and travel reports live.

However if you have any questions, ask away!

Offline jmorgan1981

• It was that last beer!!!!
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2014, 08:46:13 PM »
Guys outstanding.

Wish I was you.
2017 Mazda BT-50 XT
2014 Kimberley Kamper LE

Offline vicandug

• Get ready. Get set.......
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2014, 08:50:04 PM »
Welcome home.

I followed you on Facebook. 

The dream - to travel like a snail with my home behind me, seeing every inch of Australia.

Life is a gift and too short to waste.

« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2014, 09:07:04 PM »
My back yards not on your list of favourite places  :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

Offline trevc

« Reply #7 on: December 27, 2014, 09:09:45 PM »
My back yards not on your list of favourite places  :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

Keithy

We wanted to keep your and Bronnys fabulous hospitality our own little secret.
Definitely best roast chicken in Australia, without question!!!

Merry Xmas from me, Bec and the kids

« Reply #8 on: December 27, 2014, 09:16:05 PM »
Hey Trev, interesting reading your stats, I read somewhere months ago that a budget of $1-20 per/klm gives a pretty accurate overall figure, looks like it's true for you  :cup: :cup:

Offline trevc

« Reply #9 on: December 27, 2014, 09:24:57 PM »
Keith

We kept track of every dollar spent, sounds a bit anal but we didn't have a bottomless bucket of cash and it wasn't hard to keep receipts and whack them into the spreadsheet every few days. We don't feel we missed out on anything and in fact was a great to live within a tight budget.

« Reply #10 on: December 27, 2014, 09:30:14 PM »
I think you've done very well with 2 small carnivore/bottomless pits along on the food and entertainment side  :cup:

« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2014, 09:36:14 PM »
Do you like naked midget jelly wrestling?  ;D You said ask you anything.....

Seriously though, I was just ready your stats on Facebook, I am very envious  :worthles:

Offline firefox

• Young Nomad, Travelling
    • Tripigy
« Reply #12 on: December 27, 2014, 09:38:30 PM »
Hey Trev
Glad to see you guys got back. Sounds like you've had lots of fun.
2015 LC200 - Snowy - Sahara with all the mods.
Custom built Off-road Caravan.

Offline trevc

« Reply #13 on: December 27, 2014, 09:40:48 PM »
Danny, indeed I do - did you see my search history?
FF - we had a ball and could of just kept on driving past Brissie and gone around again if we could.

Offline jeeps

• The Aussie Storm Shop
« Reply #14 on: December 27, 2014, 10:29:16 PM »
Was it for four people?
www.aussiestormshop.com.au | www.aussieberkeyshop.com.au
Offroad Camper Trailer with an Austrack top & Drifta kitchen, mostly assembled by me :)

Offline trevc

« Reply #15 on: December 27, 2014, 10:53:46 PM »
Yes Jeeps

Myself, wife Bec, Sam 12 and Olivia 9.
Numbers had no affect on fuel but obviously everything else.
CP's charge anywhere between 3 and 10 bucks/per kid per day and NP's vary but usually around 2 to 5 per kid.
The 12 year old eats as an adult so all in all we did pretty well $$$ wise

« Reply #16 on: December 28, 2014, 06:21:03 AM »
So which was the Best Camp fire you attended at a Swaggers Catch up     ???      :cheers:

Offline Moggy

« Reply #17 on: December 28, 2014, 07:02:39 AM »
Can you post a link for the blogs. I dont have a fb (took awhile to work that out) account

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #18 on: December 28, 2014, 07:12:59 AM »
Welcome home.  Sounds like you had a great adventure.

Those stats are pretty impressive.  Calculated the total cost, wow!!  Quickly adds up  :D

I too would appreciate a link to your FB blog as I'm a bit of a numby with FB

Offline terravista

« Reply #19 on: December 28, 2014, 08:21:31 AM »
Hi Guys and thanks for the info.
You had a pretty low ratio of free camps. Was that by choice?

Offline trevc

« Reply #20 on: December 28, 2014, 09:27:31 AM »
Can you post a link for the blogs. I dont have a fb (took awhile to work that out) account

Not sure how to post a link, try this: https://www.facebook.com/cummings.vagabonds

The blog was primarily for family, friends and interested strangers so we thought Facebook was the best medium for that.

Offline trevc

« Reply #21 on: December 28, 2014, 09:33:59 AM »
So which was the Best Camp fire you attended at a Swaggers Catch up     ???      :cheers:

Jamie you know you Mexicans put on the best campfire not just in Australia but the world. The Eildon fires made all the rest look small.
The kids still talk about our Nagambie adventure and the firetruck.
Looking forward to catching up with the Vic swaggers again.

Trev

« Reply #22 on: December 28, 2014, 09:38:08 AM »
Not sure how to post a link, try this: https://www.facebook.com/cummings.vagabonds

The blog was primarily for family, friends and interested strangers so we thought Facebook was the best medium for that.

That worked.  Thanks

Offline vicandug

• Get ready. Get set.......
« Reply #23 on: December 28, 2014, 09:46:21 AM »
I just calculated how much the total cost was.
I had better start saving more $$$$$ >:(
The dream - to travel like a snail with my home behind me, seeing every inch of Australia.

Life is a gift and too short to waste.

Offline trevc

« Reply #24 on: December 28, 2014, 10:02:18 AM »
Hi Guys and thanks for the info.
You had a pretty low ratio of free camps. Was that by choice?

Good question TV. Before we left I thought about 1/3rd each in Free, NP CP's, and did budget for an overall daily cost of $20 so even though we had a lot less free camps than projected our daily spend was less than forecast. Also the numbers are a little skewed as I included all nights spent in National and State Parks although out of those 100 we didn't pay for 28 of them.

Some places, like Tassie and SA, there seemed to be heaps of free camps whereas the NT and WA were less so. If we were in a caravan and wanted to spend nights in roadside stops that would be a lot different but that wasn't the type of travelling we were after.
Some areas were there is little free camping around the 'attraction' like the gorges on the Gibb River road you can camp some klm's away but it can be a false economy if you have to drive 40k's each way to save $20. Particularly if you want to spend a few days in the area.

We preferred not to use Caravan Parks but sometimes they do serve a purpose, particularly in southern WA where the weather was unsettled and having games rooms and camp kitchens took some pressure off the 4 of us living in a 3x3 meter space.
Also you need to access washing machines and 240v to recharge batteries from time to time, and we stayed in heaps that were only $20'ish a night so it's not a bad compromise.

But all in all most of my favorite camps were free; on the banks of the Gibb River just past the Kalumburu turnoff from the GRR, Boat Harbour Beach in the north of Tassie, Ophir just out of Orange, and my all time favorite was Quongdong Point on the Dampier Peninsula north of Broome where we had our own private headland and beach for a week.

Trev