Author Topic: The firewood thread  (Read 234552 times)

ScarpsD40

Re: The firewood thread
« Reply #725 on: April 04, 2017, 03:45:24 PM »
I am sure I will be topping up the home supply of offcuts soon. But if anyone wanted some all I need is some notice. There are some bulk bags of offcuts (probably with a bit od saw dust as well) in the back yard at work I am sure they would love to get rid of. Could even assist in loading (and maybe delivery) if needed.
Mansfield Showground?

Sent from a Galaxy far far away
The following users thanked this post: Bad Scott

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #726 on: April 04, 2017, 03:58:26 PM »
Mansfield Showground?

I could have if we had a store over there. The GPS trackers in our vehicles make it hard to "sneak" stuff anywhere out of the ordinary these days. Could crane some up onto some vehicle roof baskets if anyone is game to try!! Could fit 3 bags full on the back of SJI's cruiser, Shepp is on the way to Mansfield isn't it??  ;D
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

ScarpsD40

The firewood thread
« Reply #727 on: April 04, 2017, 04:49:45 PM »
I could have if we had a store over there. The GPS trackers in our vehicles make it hard to "sneak" stuff anywhere out of the ordinary these days. Could crane some up onto some vehicle roof baskets if anyone is game to try!! Could fit 3 bags full on the back of SJI's cruiser, Shepp is on the way to Mansfield isn't it??  ;D
So, we need a swag mail for a tonne of pine framing offcuts from Shepparton to Mansfield?
Wonder how much speewa could fit into his concubine harvester?

« Last Edit: April 04, 2017, 04:51:27 PM by ScarpsD40 »

« Reply #728 on: April 04, 2017, 06:19:07 PM »
Not a lot as its  stuffed full of   VB cans .   Reckon l might crack 1 Now     :cup:  :cheers:  :laugh:

Offline Mattsglxr

The firewood thread
« Reply #729 on: April 05, 2017, 08:23:04 PM »

Today I went out to Clunes for some nice boxwood.

« Last Edit: April 05, 2017, 08:35:59 PM by Mattsglxr »

ScarpsD40

« Reply #730 on: April 05, 2017, 08:26:30 PM »
Looks great Matt

Offline peter01

• live the -
    • http://ourezytrail.blogspot.com.au/
« Reply #731 on: April 05, 2017, 08:30:25 PM »
Looks great Matt

agree with Scarps, but your photos are LARGE !!!
2014 GLXR Triton
2015 Blue Water - FF Darling camper

Our blog:     http://ourezytrail.blogspot.com.au/

ScarpsD40

« Reply #732 on: April 05, 2017, 08:32:33 PM »
Well,it is a large trailer and big tree Peter

Offline Mattsglxr

« Reply #733 on: April 05, 2017, 08:32:53 PM »
They were fine on the phone but looked on the iPad and they are big mate. I will resize them mate

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #734 on: April 09, 2017, 11:17:55 AM »
Seems that the electric motor on my saw bench has done a fuji and retired...... Will have to remove it and see if I can get it re-motivated or if it is time to replace with a younger motor.
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)
The following users thanked this post: Gandalf the White

« Reply #735 on: April 09, 2017, 10:28:00 PM »
Wood shed got improved yesterday:

More modifications tomorrow (if I get left the car) as the star pickets will get bashed in further and inside the end pallets to give it a bit more structural rigidity.

Next weekend it'll get loaded up with more wood from some lying trees, so that should see us right for abit; we've got a few days forecast with lows in the 4/5 degree range overnight, but at the moment no need for the fire (unless we have people from QLD or the Coast visiting - they find the 7-10 too cold, and want a fire then...)

We've still got the window open in the bedroom at the moment, so it's not that cold here...
« Last Edit: April 09, 2017, 10:40:33 PM by Paddler Ed »

ScarpsD40

« Reply #736 on: April 09, 2017, 10:31:53 PM »
Wood shed got improved yesterday:
https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/17799071_10155213127904771_8821213273067298882_n.jpg?oh=3e7294e450833f28866e2f9ea03b66d4&oe=59942587

More modifications tomorrow (if I get left the car) as the star pickets will get bashed in further and inside the end pallets to give it a bit more structural rigidity.

Next weekend it'll get loaded up with more wood from some lying trees, so that should see us right for abit; we've got a few days forecast with lows in the 4/5 degree range overnight, but at the moment no need for the fire (unless we have people from QLD or the Coast visiting - they find the 7-10 too cold, and want a fire then...)

We've still got the window open in the bedroom at the moment, so it's not that cold here...
Noice

Offline pinarelloman

« Reply #737 on: April 16, 2017, 01:08:31 PM »
I took my old Stihl 009 down to the local Stihl dealer with thoughts about upgrading while their sale was on.
He asked what was wrong, hard starting and continuous oil drip of bar lubricant I told him.

It turns out, updating was going to cost around $700 to get a similar quality saw with the 009 power output. New cheap saws have nylon pistons and don't like to be run hot all day.

I the end, he fixed the starting issue and modified the chain lubrication system.

The saw is great, doesn't leak oil and starts great.
Just thought I'd post for those with old leaky Stihl saws.
Landcruiser HDJ100 5spd auto.
Australian Off Road camper 2009 Oddyssey export signature.

« Reply #738 on: April 20, 2017, 11:57:51 AM »
I got me some WOOD

« Reply #739 on: April 27, 2017, 01:27:59 PM »
Just saw this for $249! 8)

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/special-buys/special-buys-sat-29-april/saturday-detail-wk17/ps/p/2200w-log-splitter/

God only knows how well it would go but they say 6.5 tonne ???

« Reply #740 on: April 27, 2017, 10:25:57 PM »
Our little wood shed is now just about full, and as the wife was crook the other day, the fire was lit at 530pm, and kept going until about 10am the next morning. Total wood used? 8 logs... hottest my weather station recorded inside? 27*... which was a bit warm...

However, from the last lot of wood I seem to have pissed some ants off, and they decided my leg made an interesting feed. 3 days later I still have bites that are itchy as anything (worse than mozzis) and antihistamines aren't knocking them out.

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #741 on: May 10, 2017, 11:53:07 AM »
Finally got my electric motor issues sorted and the saw bench is back together. Might get to give the bench a run in the coming days. Have also lashed out and tot a new chain for the chainsaw. Now all I need is some wood to cut.

Some farmer friends may be hooking us up with some dead trees to clean up so hopefully I'm all good to go.

My FIL has also just purchased a 40t log splitter so might exchange some wood for the use of the splitter. Once I get the wood shed filled up again SWMBO should be her happy little pyro self again!!!

Offline Gandalf the White

• Wise Wandering Wizard
  • Feelin great with a 2.8
« Reply #742 on: May 10, 2017, 11:57:32 AM »
Finally got my electric motor issues sorted and the saw bench is back together. Might get to give the bench a run in the coming days. Have also lashed out and tot a new chain for the chainsaw. Now all I need is some wood to cut.

Some farmer friends may be hooking us up with some dead trees to clean up so hopefully I'm all good to go.

My FIL has also just purchased a 40t log splitter so might exchange some wood for the use of the splitter. Once I get the wood shed filled up again SWMBO should be her happy little pyro self again!!!
great to hear, I sensed in some of your posts that a linoman without a benchsaw is not the happiest man.
Also good to hear you now have access to a woodsplitter. I'm a bit reversed to you. I have a guy that's old enough to be my FIL, around my place all the time to use my woodsplitter. If only he could start his chainsaw.
How to fall asleep in a chair
1 - sit in a chair
2 - be old
The following users thanked this post: fuji, Bad Scott

« Reply #743 on: May 10, 2017, 12:06:46 PM »

Gezzzzzzzz....Don't you guys have whale oil done there ???...... ??? ???

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #744 on: May 10, 2017, 12:10:22 PM »

Gezzzzzzzz....Don't you guys have whale oil done there ???...... ??? ???

Well oil beef hooked......!

« Reply #745 on: May 10, 2017, 08:27:47 PM »
Down in  Seymour there is a saw bench with a Honda 8hp motor to power it along . lf that's any help to some . lf l recall it about $800 or so . Looks handy  :cheers:

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #746 on: May 11, 2017, 07:31:24 AM »
Down in  Seymour there is a saw bench with a Honda 8hp motor to power it along . lf that's any help to some . lf l recall it about $800 or so . Looks handy  :cheers:

I had contemplated putting a petrol motor on my saw bench, but stuck with electric as they are easier to pull start.....

I tried out the bench yesterday arvo and the old girl has never run that good! Maybe the old motor was a bit tired for a while. Got half a tandem cut last night and will hopefully empty the rest in preparation for the big wood heist coming up.

Seems now I need to get my bench blade sharpened.

« Reply #747 on: May 12, 2017, 06:59:21 AM »
Lets not be to rash , sharpen the blade ,,,, its only cut enough wood to remake the Ark     >:D >:D

« Reply #748 on: May 13, 2017, 07:13:03 PM »
great to hear, I sensed in some of your posts that a linoman without a benchsaw is not the happiest man.
Also good to hear you now have access to a woodsplitter. I'm a bit reversed to you. I have a guy that's old enough to be my FIL, around my place all the time to use my woodsplitter. If only he could start his chainsaw.

He must be very old then as you are no spring chicken.

Offline Gandalf the White

• Wise Wandering Wizard
  • Feelin great with a 2.8
« Reply #749 on: May 13, 2017, 07:23:15 PM »

He must be very old then as you are no spring chicken.
he is😁
How to fall asleep in a chair
1 - sit in a chair
2 - be old