Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1744766 times)

Offline Ragman

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4075 on: February 14, 2018, 11:39:30 PM »
that's a great idea...  :cup:

so the 12v strip just plugs into a power point?

got a photo of the switch setup and the mounting of the strip?

yes a $3 limit switch from altronics and adhesive strip lights from ebay about $10 for 5m length. the 240 to 12V DC trannie was in the shed.

The following users thanked this post: paceman

Offline Raym

« Reply #4076 on: February 15, 2018, 06:00:37 PM »
Working on this. It is a half size rocking horse out of a pallet for this event. There has been a reasonable investment of swear words to get to this stage & not looking forward to trying to hand carve the body. I think there may be some mechanical carving/sanding going on.

https://events.toowoombahospitalfoundation.org.au/event/pop-up-pallets

Plenty of time to get involved if you are around Toowoomba.

Almost done. Only just in time the event occurs in June  ;D

« Reply #4077 on: February 15, 2018, 06:08:06 PM »
Looks stunning. Great job. I wish I had enough skill to put a straight cut into a sheet of plywood.
 :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

« Reply #4078 on: February 15, 2018, 06:29:11 PM »
Almost done. Only just in time the event occurs in June  ;D
Looking really good, well done.

Offline Raym

« Reply #4079 on: February 15, 2018, 06:42:22 PM »
Looks stunning. Great job. I wish I had enough skill to put a straight cut into a sheet of plywood.
 :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Thanks mate.

No straight lines here that is why I do it. If I need a straight line I outsource it or live with a not so straight line 8)

Heaps of time for anyone to get involved. All the money raised is used for the hospital. The admin costs are sourced elsewhere.

« Reply #4080 on: February 15, 2018, 06:54:22 PM »
Looks great!!!
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #4081 on: February 15, 2018, 07:51:05 PM »
Love to watch the working of wood in any form              :cup:                   :cheers:

« Reply #4082 on: February 15, 2018, 07:53:39 PM »
WOW!! Ray..... :cup: :cup:

« Reply #4083 on: February 15, 2018, 08:56:01 PM »
Sweet looking horse mate.

« Reply #4084 on: February 15, 2018, 09:05:33 PM »
Mate that is a Ripper, Someone is going to be very happy to receive that . :cup:
« Last Edit: February 15, 2018, 09:45:33 PM by edz »

Offline Raym

« Reply #4085 on: February 15, 2018, 10:20:12 PM »
Thanks guys I think the photo is a bit kind compared to seeing it in the flesh. It will be auctioned for the hospital foundation so hope it draws some good bidding.

Offline Ragman

« Reply #4086 on: February 16, 2018, 09:24:43 PM »
Thanks guys I think the photo is a bit kind compared to seeing it in the flesh. It will be auctioned for the hospital foundation so hope it draws some good bidding.

it is a sensational piece of art, well done.

Offline Raym

« Reply #4087 on: February 17, 2018, 07:10:50 PM »
Ok I should have waited for the eyes but started dressing the horse because I am an impatient so & so. Now I will have to wait. I hope this camera goes for ever. It just seems to obscure all the bits I don't like.  8)

« Reply #4088 on: February 17, 2018, 08:16:56 PM »
This Arvo l set up the  " Real Racing  Horses  " for the Nagambie On Water Festival .
Google it to see what you missing on 3 March   , if you not there    >:D Be There    :cup:

« Reply #4089 on: February 17, 2018, 09:02:32 PM »
Yep, it's lookin better an better Ray.
Should draw real attention, come time of the Auction.

« Reply #4090 on: February 18, 2018, 11:28:32 AM »
I couldn’t find a TV cabinet with the dimensions I wanted so made one myself with materials bought from the big green shed.

« Reply #4091 on: February 18, 2018, 11:30:19 AM »
Nice job Rockrat. :D

« Reply #4092 on: February 18, 2018, 12:41:58 PM »
Nice job Rockrat. :D
I was a bit worried about getting everything lined up, so got the timber cut to size at Bunnings and used a jig to ensure the dowels lined up. In the end it was much easier than I expected.

Offline Raym

« Reply #4093 on: February 18, 2018, 02:14:31 PM »
Very stylish Rockrat.

« Reply #4094 on: February 18, 2018, 07:28:00 PM »
Gave the new genny a service and bit of a freshen up.

When I bought it on Friday morning.

And now.

Already had to test it out when energex cut the power for most of Saturday morning to finish off their storm damage repairs in our area.
It had no worries running the water pumps, fridge, chest freezer and all the stuff on the big fish tank.
Very happy to finally have our emergency power sorted. ;D

« Reply #4095 on: February 18, 2018, 08:45:18 PM »
Good move there Pete79, makes life on the 'farm' so much more enjoyable having a genie to run the pump. Usually when the power is out means that you will be out cleaning up storm debris and it is nice to return inside for a shower after the work.

« Reply #4096 on: February 27, 2018, 06:04:09 PM »
I just looked in my shed today
Does that count?

« Reply #4097 on: February 27, 2018, 07:23:58 PM »
I just looked in my shed today
Does that count?

Get anything cold out 🤔

« Reply #4098 on: February 27, 2018, 07:49:35 PM »
Get anything cold out 🤔

Sure did 😂

« Reply #4099 on: February 27, 2018, 08:02:36 PM »
Sure did 😂
That's a Good Start         ;D                   :cup:                          :cheers: