Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1756855 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #3775 on: July 11, 2017, 10:20:15 AM »
Those coal washing baskets are pretty popular up this way. But you need a friend in the industry to get one usually.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #3776 on: July 11, 2017, 07:30:25 PM »
While searching for different wood finishing techniques to use on my next project, I came across this. Might be of interest to some.
https://youtu.be/zFYLHHHdoF4
Building a burner is on the cards.
Is there a wood working thread as such? Did a search and didnt find anything.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

UIZ733

« Reply #3777 on: July 11, 2017, 08:48:08 PM »
While searching for different wood finishing techniques to use on my next project, I came across this. Might be of interest to some.
https://youtu.be/zFYLHHHdoF4
Building a burner is on the cards.
Is there a wood working thread as such? Did a search and didnt find anything.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk
Yes the pyromaniacs!  ;D

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #3778 on: July 12, 2017, 01:30:46 PM »
Since the school started this ipad for every student thing i have replaced about 6 screens due to the usual dropping of them onto hard surfaces, wifes friends kid has had the screen replaced 3 times by me already.
 Not a difficult job but the quality of the adhesive on screens from various sources leaves a lot to be desired.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline SEADOO

« Reply #3779 on: July 12, 2017, 10:20:22 PM »
Since the school started this ipad for every student thing i have replaced about 6 screens due to the usual dropping of them onto hard surfaces, wifes friends kid has had the screen replaced 3 times by me already.
 Not a difficult job but the quality of the adhesive on screens from various sources leaves a lot to be desired.

Why don't you get one of those tough combat covers. My daughter has one for her school IPad. It has bounced of the trampoline, dropped off the kitchen bench and not a mark on it.

« Reply #3780 on: July 13, 2017, 11:34:27 AM »

If they're being broken that frequently, it's probably a good idea that they're easy to get off!

Maybe just velcro them in place from here on in :D >:D

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #3781 on: July 13, 2017, 01:40:06 PM »
Why don't you get one of those tough combat covers. My daughter has one for her school IPad. It has bounced of the trampoline, dropped off the kitchen bench and not a mark on it.

Not my kids, friends kids and one is handicapped so she goes thru a few. I need to start charging, crapple charge $200 and the screens are only $30 off ebay.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

« Reply #3782 on: July 13, 2017, 02:15:08 PM »
Not my kids, friends kids and one is handicapped so she goes thru a few. I need to start charging, crapple charge $200 and the screens are only $30 off ebay.

have a look at a Gecko Rugged protector.  They make a variety for various gear, and are very good.

http://geckogear.com/shop-by-category/cases/ipad/?sort=featured&page=2

http://geckogear.com.au/gecko-rugged-classic-case-for-ipad-air-1-black-black/

« Last Edit: July 13, 2017, 02:16:47 PM by Mace »

« Reply #3783 on: July 13, 2017, 08:01:00 PM »
Well not in the shed, but on the kitchen table. I got this old beast cleaned up and working today. Needs a couple of minor tweeks, but it works well. 1976 vintage Technics Tuner Amp SA-5150.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #3784 on: July 13, 2017, 08:12:47 PM »
Wednesday was the Grand Opening of the Nagambie Lakes Mens Shed  .
All the pollies involved or trying to be involved & there hangerons rocked up  . Did the BlAr bLaR  thanking everybody for the usual BS  ate sanger & cake , drank coffee & shot through .
We now have our sahed in our own right   ,  so on we go  :cup:    :cheers:

« Reply #3785 on: July 13, 2017, 09:02:00 PM »
Well not in the shed, but on the kitchen table. I got this old beast cleaned up and working today. Needs a couple of minor tweeks, but it works well. 1976 vintage Technics Tuner Amp SA-5150.
Bloody hell, that's brought back some memories  :cheers:

Offline Rob Mac

• My Father learning to drive 1950
« Reply #3786 on: July 13, 2017, 09:38:57 PM »
Bloody hell, that's brought back some memories  :cheers:
Yea I reckon Jon, early 70's Dad had a Technics Quadraphonic record player, and I bought Deep Purple in Rock Quad record. When Mum and Dad were away I put it on , real loud!!! and walked around the house, beautiful.
Potatoes go with anything

« Reply #3787 on: July 13, 2017, 09:39:20 PM »
X2    family had one almost the same....   

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #3788 on: July 13, 2017, 09:54:37 PM »
l have a Pioneer unit that really pumps the C&W  ( that's both kinds of music Country & Western  )  :cheers:

Sadly l listen alone mostly   , till the neighbours rock to tell me to  " tURN THAT s1hT oFF  '    ,     PESANTS                    :cheers:

« Reply #3789 on: July 14, 2017, 01:14:05 AM »
If you think that one is old, here is a Pioneer SM-Q300 Valve job that I picked up a few months back, that I hope to restore sometime. Note the date on the paper clipping.
The last pic is what it will end up looking like.......... hopefully... lol

« Reply #3790 on: July 14, 2017, 06:33:38 AM »
What is Old is New Again     8)                       :cheers:
The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

« Reply #3791 on: July 14, 2017, 02:11:23 PM »
Packed the car for Mt Skene trip.
Got me permit, 2xthermos 1 for coffee, 1 for hotdogs for lunch, rolls, coffee, blankets, spare dry clothes...

stayin at the pub tonight should be warm, I hope. :) :) :)

« Reply #3792 on: July 14, 2017, 02:39:55 PM »
Packed the car for Mt Skene trip.
Got me permit, 2xthermos 1 for coffee, 1 for hotdogs for lunch, rolls, coffee, blankets, spare dry clothes...

stayin at the pub tonight should be warm, I hope. :) :) :)
You need a third thermos full of vodka

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Offline MadMarv

« Reply #3793 on: July 16, 2017, 03:28:41 PM »
You need a third thermos full of vodka

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Nah not vodka ... bourbon .... some nice yummie Elijah Craig ... mmmmmm

Marv

« Reply #3794 on: July 16, 2017, 05:28:45 PM »
Looked at the tangled jumbled mass of gear on the floor [ From pre and post trip ] then the sand covered / filled truck, shook head and walked away with ice cold beer from the trucks fridge ... Tomorrow job [ Sigh ]  ;D

« Reply #3795 on: July 16, 2017, 06:12:51 PM »
Getting ready for a swag run this Friday arvo, in the VHC. Bring on the snow  :cheers:
Grog sorted  :cheers:, Swag ready, Nissan recovery box ready  ;D, Food tub ready, chainsaw ready.

« Reply #3796 on: July 16, 2017, 06:17:39 PM »
....Nissan recovery box ready  ;D, ....

It's on the front of the Cruiser, isn't it??.... ;D ;D

« Reply #3797 on: July 16, 2017, 06:20:32 PM »
It's on the front of the Cruiser, isn't it??.... ;D ;D
Yep, but its cause we send em in first, but then have to pull em back out 2 secs later  >:D >:D >:D

« Reply #3798 on: July 16, 2017, 06:25:15 PM »
Looked at the tangled jumbled mass of gear on the floor [ From pre and post trip ] then the sand covered / filled truck, shook head and walked away with ice cold beer from the trucks fridge ... Tomorrow job [ Sigh ]  ;D
one thing wrong with going to the beach in Winter.... it's bloody cold getting under the vehicle to hose all that sand and salt out when you get home. I needed to stand in the sun for about 20 minutes the other weekend trying to warm my feet back up after doing my fourby, they were freezing cold...lol...it doesn't seem as bad a job to do in Summer.

« Reply #3799 on: July 16, 2017, 06:26:07 PM »
Yep, but its cause we send em in first, but then have to pull em back out 2 secs later  >:D >:D >:D so they can drag us through...

:P :P