Author Topic: Crossing Nolan's Creek !!  (Read 28701 times)

Offline hen

Re: Crossing Nolan's Creek !!
« Reply #50 on: July 26, 2012, 07:14:15 PM »
Never done the tele track before. but I was so happy that we had someone who would back us up.  This includes the recovery team who I think did their best in the conditions but also all of the other people who were not the recovery team.  I felt that everyone who did the trip would have help us out within a blink of an eye and we would have done the same thing. We knew that we were not on a tag a long trip but with a group of people who like us, love 4 wheel driving and would help as we would.  I would not hesitate to travel with any of the people on the cape trip as they were reliable and helpful
Jayne and Peter (Hen)

« Reply #51 on: July 30, 2012, 05:49:23 PM »
Thats a real shame ...just like all the cars drowned there this year, but everyone is saying it's impassable and it's to deep etc.

But really it's only catching out the people who have no plan , no idea or are to cocky.

that car lost momentum at the 0.15sec mark  the strap was connected at the 1.18sec mark .that is far to long to have a strap connected. from time of lost momentum in water to recovery should be a max of .20sec in total.

Every water crossing recovery plan should be based on this .20sec timeframe. I saw people get stuck and start to spool winches out ??? far to long.

having the recovery team filming  ??? far to long

Going looking for a spare strap in the event of failure  ??? takes to long.

No car should ever spend longer than .20sec in the water awaiting recovery. if you do not have the equipment in position or know how to effect this then do not attempt the crossing.

very sad for all those people including this one, that have lost a car this year, 

Jet ;D ;D

100% agree with all of this, I think their biggest mistake was assuming the Prado would do it easy because it had done everything else before it easy, basically they were not prepared for the worst.

Rule number one, treat every crossing as if your going to have a problem.

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #52 on: August 03, 2012, 08:46:30 AM »
Here's our guys crossing Nolans.

One or two of you Myswaggers having a starring role as well  ::)

Nolans Brook Cape York 2012.mov
Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

Offline white Knuckles

Crossing Nolan's Creek !!
« Reply #53 on: August 03, 2012, 08:55:04 AM »
Do land rover doors  not seal to well?????
2010 GXL Prado and old Jayco OB Hawk

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #54 on: August 03, 2012, 10:39:52 AM »
Not just the doors ::)
Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

« Reply #55 on: August 03, 2012, 07:11:22 PM »
Do land rover doors  not seal to well?????
was thinking the same thing myself  ??? ???

« Reply #56 on: August 03, 2012, 07:52:46 PM »
Their engines leak so why not the doors :)

Offline Paulp

• CT user
« Reply #57 on: August 03, 2012, 07:54:22 PM »
Captain Mauri says no leaks in his door

Offline grafy82

« Reply #58 on: August 03, 2012, 10:30:42 PM »
My good mate just killed his D40 navara in Nolan's about 2 weeks ago. He drove in and the back started floating. By the time he got traction again the water had filled up inside and fried all the electrics. End of holiday's right there.

Wes
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

« Reply #59 on: August 04, 2012, 06:43:13 AM »
One or two of you Myswaggers having a starring role as well

And what a fine looking fella he is to....

« Reply #60 on: August 04, 2012, 08:08:58 AM »
a mate has just been up the Cape (currently driving back to Brisbane right now from Cooktown) and he got stuck in Nolans on the run North and had water in the fourby, just had to dry the vehicle out no real damage done..... but on the run South he accidentally drove Nolans in 2wd as he'd forgotten to lock his hubs in. he has made mention that he probably didn't deflate his tyres enough before crossing when heading North, the fact he drove South in 2wd makes me think he running a much lower pressure the 2nd time around (aswell as the obvious ground terrain differance heading in a different direction).

Offline TroyE

• you can't buy experience
« Reply #61 on: August 05, 2012, 01:20:55 PM »
I did it but I took up an offer to have the strap already attached and ready to go(just incase it went pair shaped) 
http://s1017.photobucket.com/albums/af294/TroyAE/?action=view&current=DSCN0409.mp4 Small | Large

troy
you can't polish a turd, BUT you can roll it in glitter...

Offline Dirty rock star

« Reply #62 on: August 27, 2012, 01:38:00 PM »
Hey myswaggers,
watching the videos about cape york got me wondering...
How does everyonen with a caravan or jayco style camper waterproof the door?

I have an old Viscount and the door doesnt look at all water tight and has air vents built into the door.

i thought before i go and hack up some rubber to line the door i'd ask the Q.
plus Surely cape york travellers have already crossed this bridge well and truely.

Offline Davepatrol

• 4.2 Patrol with a lot of extras
« Reply #63 on: September 04, 2012, 03:04:14 PM »
This is us a few weeks ago, Only car out of eight to not get stuck.
Hope this vid works :-[
][URL=http://s37.photobucket.com/albums/e68/DG1818/videos/?action=view&current=011.mp4][/url]

« Reply #64 on: September 04, 2012, 03:26:59 PM »
Try this
http://s37.photobucket.com/albums/e68/DG1818/videos/?action=view&current=011.mp4 Small | Large

Offline Davepatrol

• 4.2 Patrol with a lot of extras
« Reply #65 on: September 04, 2012, 04:50:16 PM »
Thanks for that,
 Buggered if I could get it to work.
Cheers Dave

Offline blackmav

« Reply #66 on: September 10, 2012, 07:55:20 PM »
A mate of mine went through Nolans during the week.
4.2 Gu patrol pretty well loaded up, MTZ Mickey Thompsons down to 11psi, bra, winch rope out, strap connected, drove straight through.
He had walked it for a fair while and went ,from the south, though the main way to the left hugging the bank then turn towards the exit but still angled to the right of the exit. So a fair zig zag. He said he could feel it start to shudder a bit but just kept the same power on and popped out no worries.
He has done nothing like this sort of crossing before the tele and with some common sense ate it up ;D

He had heard that only 1 in 8 were driving it, 22 cars on the dock at Seisia  ,all written off ready to be shipped including 
 a new 200 series drowned at nolans, Hilux ute rolled at Ducie creek.

« Reply #67 on: September 12, 2012, 06:01:47 AM »
Hey myswaggers,
watching the videos about cape york got me wondering...
How does everyonen with a caravan or jayco style camper waterproof the door?

I have an old Viscount and the door doesnt look at all water tight and has air vents built into the door.

i thought before i go and hack up some rubber to line the door i'd ask the Q.
plus Surely cape york travellers have already crossed this bridge well and truely.

There is some youtube footage of a guy taking an old Jayco up the OTL.  The problem with campers of that style is the width, the track does get very narrow in places, back in 2011 we were quite entertained by a guy trying to get his Jayco across Canal Creek and having it wedged between the banks halfway up the exit.

Offline themissus

« Reply #68 on: September 13, 2012, 07:52:33 PM »
We went through Nolans on 27th August, 2x 100 series IFS TD cruisers with 2" lift. did it easy, no wheel spin, no dramas....but we made sure we went first....each successive car after us made the crossing harder for the next. There were a couple of cars waiting to go when we arrived but no one wanted to go first so we said we would do it and stay over the other side to help the next one through if needed. We used my water blind and strapped up before going (another of our group had gone the long way around to watch us go through from the northern side). I reckon the crossing before Nolans is deeper and longer, yet it seems to have no name or reputation.
Showing the grey nomads how it's done :-D

« Reply #69 on: September 13, 2012, 10:41:23 PM »
And just to annoy Mark... It's Nolans Brook.

Yea I know. It's a quiet night in my brain. Nothing better to do Mark.Too many XXXX Golds. Ha Ha

« Reply #70 on: September 14, 2012, 05:26:55 AM »
I reckon the crossing before Nolans is deeper and longer, yet it seems to have no name or reputation.

It is commonly known as Lagoon Creek, or to some Logan's Creek.  I did look it up on Google maps one day and it is actually a gully that drains into Bridge Creek further down from Nolan's Brook (which is actually Bridge Creek according to HEMA maps).

While it is deep the bottom is quite hard so most people have no issues crossing it, I'm guessing that is why it doesn't get talked about as much as Nolan's.

« Reply #71 on: September 14, 2012, 06:24:07 AM »
And just to annoy Mark... It's Nolans Brook.

Yea I know. It's a quiet night in my brain. Nothing better to do Mark.Too many XXXX Golds. Ha Ha

Steve you know when you stop taking those pills what happens!! :D

I realized a while ago and no one picked it up.

Offline Paulp

• CT user
« Reply #72 on: September 14, 2012, 06:29:29 PM »
It is commonly known as Lagoon Creek, or to some Logan's Creek.  I did look it up on Google maps one day and it is actually a gully that drains into Bridge Creek further down from Nolan's Brook (which is actually Bridge Creek according to HEMA maps).

While it is deep the bottom is quite hard so most people have no issues crossing it, I'm guessing that is why it doesn't get talked about as much as Nolan's.

Most people but not all lol

« Reply #73 on: September 14, 2012, 09:40:16 PM »
You cannot help bad luck Paulp.

Offline themissus

« Reply #74 on: September 15, 2012, 04:38:35 PM »
Managed to upload a vid of our crossing.

Nolans Brook August 2012
Showing the grey nomads how it's done :-D