Author Topic: Lucky Last?  (Read 6461 times)

Lucky Last?
« on: November 04, 2011, 07:17:53 AM »
Well, after 39 days, over 8,000 ks through 3 states [and many more fruit fly exclusion zones] we have found our way back home. Over that time we averaged 14.07L/00 which I think was acceptable and the most expensive diesel was 159.9 at, wait for it…..Apollo Bay!! Obviously the yuppies from Melbourne can afford to pay such high prices!

There have been some fantastic reports so far & I can't imagine writing things in so much detail or having so many photos as some of the others, so I will just give an overview of where we went.

In summary we completed a “Darling River” run that took us from home, stopping at Yarrie Lake [via Wee Waa & Duchess], Tilpa, Menindee, Mungo NP, Wentworth before heading to Murray Bridge and the national meet @ Wilmington.

With the general idea of heading home from the meet over the remaining 4 or so weeks of Kate's leave, there were never any hard & fast destinations in mind. Just drive until we found somewhere interesting to stay. Rain in the north of SA put paid to that area a destination so we will have to do that next time!

So we caught up with some friends [plus Snow & Pam as it turned out] in Hawker & decided to head south with them to Renmark. We had hoped to get a service done on the BT50 there but no luck so it was on to Mildura for a couple of days before Horsham & Mt Gambia for a look See. As it had been 10 years since we had seen the Great Ocean Road we decided to do a Coastal run from Port MacDonald [SA] all the way along the Victorian coast to Cann River [via the Queenscliffe-Portsea Ferry] then finally heading north via Queanbeyan, Bathurst & Styx River before getting home.

Unfortunately the weather was not the kindest [cold, windy & cloudy on most days with some rain] during our time away so we spent more time chasing powered sites [yep Snow, even some Big 4’s] than we wanted as both Kate & I got the flu after the meet. Reluctantly we drove past many spots because of the conditions but as Arnie said “I’ll be back”   

That said, it was still a great trip and it was fantastic to catch up with everybody at Wilmington and put faces to user names, even Jamie!!

We have sorted through the photos & have included some that people might find interesting but nothing as flash as Rosalind’s & Parry’s efforts but had a bit of fun with the panorama's. 

Thanks again for everybody who attended the meet and maybe we will catch up again some time soon.

Mark & Kate

Amazing that that a few blokes & some machinery did this - wouldn't happen today!

Killara on the Darling near Tilpa

Menindee Lake at sunset

Mungo Lake & Great Wall of China

Murray Darling junction

Murray from Wentworth C/van park

Hunting carp!

Hancock's Lookout

One of Parry's friends!!

4WD drive at Bartagunyah

Boys will be boys!

Nooooo, not Manly!!!

Another budding 4wder.

Wilpeana Pound

Bunarroo Gorge

Snowmobile at Morgan

Not sure of the significance of this pic!

Valley Lake - Mt Gambia

After a 4.2k walk and 377 steps, this lookout provided some great views

Blue Lake is right beside Valley Lake - fantastic area

Great Ocean Road

Wilsons Prom

Lakes Entrance

Metung

Queanbeyan at night

Bathurst  - note the 2nd class accommodation in the background

Little Styx River free camp

Re: Lucky Last?
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2011, 07:29:53 AM »
Great report and pictures mate :cup: :cup:
Love your panorama shots.
I hope we catch up again soon.

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2011, 07:36:10 AM »
Nice snaps mate.

I know what it felt like coming back to real life after 3 weeks but can't imagine how tough it must be after nearly 6 weeks.

« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2011, 07:42:07 AM »
Great report and pictures mate :cup: :cup:
Love your panorama shots.
I hope we catch up again soon.

Thanks mate, looking forward to more travelling once Kate's arm is better. The specialist says it could be another 5-6 months but so far so good.

Nice snaps mate.

I know what it felt like coming back to real life after 3 weeks but can't imagine how tough it must be after nearly 6 weeks.

Just trying to sort out my golf game is hard enough Laith. One of our friend passed away while we were tripping around, so real life is fine for me for a while.

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2011, 07:53:18 AM »
Sorry to hear about your friend Mark. That would have brought you back to real life real quick. All the best mate.

« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2011, 09:27:52 AM »
That's a great pic of Jasper and his monstor truck!!

« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2011, 10:02:25 AM »
Hemi & Kate,
Good to have ya back. Looks like you had an awesome trip guys.
Have you got your next one planned? We had, as we left Dubbo on our way to Manilla. LOL
We'll have to catch up and share our yarns.
Thanks for sharing the pictures.

« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2011, 04:57:56 PM »
Great pics, thanks for sharing. You done alright on the fuel, 14.07 per 100    ;D

« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2011, 04:58:19 PM »
Welcome back mate, was good to see ya at Pete's the other arvo. Great set of pics too  :cup: :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2011, 05:43:03 PM »
Great to see you and Kate home and safe. Thanks for sharing some of your trip with Pam and I and for sharing the great pics. It was a great time, even in the Big4.  ;D  :cheers:

Offline Janbo

• Jayco Eagle - Jeep Cherokee KK
« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2011, 05:56:32 PM »
Fabulous pics!!
We are all in the gutter....... But some of us are looking at the stars!!

« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2011, 06:24:35 PM »
Great report and photo's looks like you had an awesome trip. :cup:

« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2011, 06:47:02 PM »
Looks like you had a good trip. Great photos as well.
It was good to meet you both and hope to catch up again some time.

Trevor & Roma

Offline barneys

• vegetarian old indian word meaning bad hunter
« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2011, 07:10:00 PM »
love the   pics  got to love  that hill  to the castle

Offline Duchess

• "Its not as hard as you think, you know."
« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2011, 10:12:15 PM »
Great pictures, Hem...not sure what you have to be ashamed about there! Your photos stand up quite well to the quality of all that get put up on Myswag! Thanks for sharing!  :cup:

Here is hoping for a speedier recovery for Kate's arm too... :cheers:

"I've got one job on this ship. It's stupid but I'm going to do it!"

www.duchessandthedukeontour.blogspot.com.au

« Reply #15 on: November 07, 2011, 02:50:35 PM »
That's a great pic of Jasper and his monstor truck!!

Thanks John, have a couple more - send me a pm if you want me to send them to you - Not sure if Oscar is in any but could also check.
Hemi & Kate,
Good to have ya back. Looks like you had an awesome trip guys.
Have you got your next one planned? We had, as we left Dubbo on our way to Manilla. LOL
We'll have to catch up and share our yarns.
Thanks for sharing the pictures.

Nothing planned yet but would love to do the south coast of NSW then back into Vic to check out more of the Gippsland & even the Mornington Peninsula - there are some great camps on Port Phillip & down in DNO's area.

Great pics, thanks for sharing. You done alright on the fuel, 14.07 per 100    ;D

You have a fantastic area there mate, next time I would love the camp right on the beach in those bush camps.

Fabulous pics!!

Thanks Janbo, some of the panorama's turned out better than others.

Looks like you had a good trip. Great photos as well.
It was good to meet you both and hope to catch up again some time.

Trevor & Roma

Thanks Trevor, great to catch up with you both, going back to Tassie is on our list of things to do

love the   pics  got to love  that hill  to the castle

Well worth the effort, although Kate might not think so.

Great pictures, Hem...not sure what you have to be ashamed about there! Your photos stand up quite well to the quality of all that get put up on Myswag! Thanks for sharing!  :cup:

Here is hoping for a speedier recovery for Kate's arm too... :cheers:

Thanks Tam, looks like Kate's recovery will be longer than we [she] hoped but the specialist is happy with the progress so far.