Author Topic: Why is there everything for sale in Vic?  (Read 3881 times)

Why is there everything for sale in Vic?
« on: August 27, 2011, 06:09:38 PM »
Over the past few years, when it comes to Campers, caravans and their accessories, it would seem the numbers stack towards them being in Victoria, why is this so?
A few years ago, we were looking at buying a camper trailer, 12' tent. Any that took our fancy were in Vic. We modified a trailer that we already had with a top and enjoyed a couple of years with it. We went to upgrade to a Swan, every one that we thought was any good, it was advertized in Vic. I found, the Swan that we have now in Qld. not perfect, far from it. But it does the job. The canvas needs to be replace before Chrissy, showing her age, we would like to get newer bed end flies for her as well. Everything that we have found is in Victoria.
Now it's not just us, a few people that we know, when they have found what they like or afford online, the camper, the caravan, it has nearly always been for sale in Vic, which makes purchasing costly and so rules it out.
Why is this so? is it cheaper to rego them there? or is it just a numbers games?
It's something that has bugged me for sometime now.

Re: Why is there everything for sale in Vic?
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2011, 06:25:41 PM »
Might be that it's too bloody cold in Mexico to camp  >:D >:D :cheers:

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2011, 06:52:39 PM »
I had thought about that mate.
But our southern friends would be a wake up to this  :D
Or maybe not  ;D
When we sold our previous camper, it was to a family in Cairns. I asked them why they would buy a camper 1900k's away, They told me that camping weather was good all year round up there, so campers were hard to come by.
Hmmm,
Same as a few will buy from the West(Perth) and need to get their camper shipped over somehow.
Like I mentioned mate, it's something that has bugged me for a while.

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2011, 06:57:18 PM »
Here's a good buy buy up your way (Qld)
I think it just looks like there all down here, down here they all seem to be up there  ;D

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2011, 07:00:23 PM »
Over the past few years, when it comes to Campers, caravans and their accessories, it would seem the numbers stack towards them being in Victoria, why is this so?
A few years ago, we were looking at buying a camper trailer, 12' tent. Any that took our fancy were in Vic. We modified a trailer that we already had with a top and enjoyed a couple of years with it. We went to upgrade to a Swan, every one that we thought was any good, it was advertized in Vic. I found, the Swan that we have now in Qld. not perfect, far from it. But it does the job. The canvas needs to be replace before Chrissy, showing her age, we would like to get newer bed end flies for her as well. Everything that we have found is in Victoria.
Now it's not just us, a few people that we know, when they have found what they like or afford online, the camper, the caravan, it has nearly always been for sale in Vic, which makes purchasing costly and so rules it out.
Why is this so? is it cheaper to rego them there? or is it just a numbers games?
It's something that has bugged me for sometime now.

Maybe thats where i'm going wrong selling my jayco, It's not in Victoria!

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2011, 07:08:43 PM »
Maybe thats where i'm going wrong selling my jayco, It's not in Victoria!
:D  :D Could be mate, I've seen you have had yours advertized for a while without any luck.
I even tried to get some friends here to buy yours, but another bun in the oven has seen their circumstances change again  8)

DNO, that looks to be a good buy.

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2011, 07:33:23 PM »
A stir has been added to my for sale thread just for a laugh. Hell if it works I'll buy a new swag for the trip home.

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2011, 07:59:55 PM »
A stir has been added

Pure Gold  8)

I work on commission btw  ;D

Offline chrisroche

« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2011, 09:03:59 PM »
victoria - the place to be : it says so on the number plates!
Are we there yet?

2011 Pathfinder...Lifestyle Camper

Offline jpak

« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2011, 09:27:24 PM »
Hi Hairs
We are in South East of Melb and have the opposite issue.... all the good campers we like are either in NSW or Qld... we thought it might be because of the warmer weather up there leading to more people wanting campers and more for resale....

Offline harvs

• Shootme productions
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2011, 04:42:48 AM »
The grass is always greener in Vic

« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2011, 07:14:11 AM »
The grass is always greener in Vic

At the moment it is from lots of rain :)

« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2011, 08:45:12 AM »
Hi jpak,
Could be that it coincidence that when we need to purchase something it appears that the majority of stuff is in Vic, I don't know.
I'm not having a whinge about it, just frustrated as I'm sure others are, like yourself that the gear or item is so far away, Find something we need or want and as sure a bat S&^t, it's in Vic. 
Anyway, It's Sunday morning, Better go get into it, only a few more things(20 days, Tic, Tic  ;D) to sort out before we head off for a month.

« Reply #13 on: August 28, 2011, 09:18:47 AM »
victoria - the place to be : it says so on the number plates!

Why are they all up here in Queensland then ?  ;D ;D

Offline Draggin

« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2011, 09:37:13 AM »
Well, that's news to me, I thought all the Mexicans were moving to Qld anyway !!!!!!!!!!!!

Oops meant Kiwis, or was that Mexican or - arghhhh - just can't keep up >:D
"Beneath the radiant Southern Cross"