Author Topic: Ice Box - Advice Needed  (Read 7115 times)

Offline chrisroche

Ice Box - Advice Needed
« on: August 24, 2011, 10:26:27 PM »
I am looking at buying an ice box as I will run the engel as a freezer and then an ice box when needed.  We have a lifestyle and the opening at the tailgate is 435mm (440mm very tight).  So far I have looked at;
- tropical ice box: downunder 50ltr - fibreglass (unsure of price)
- evakool: 60ltr - fibreglass $359

qstns:
- fibreglass v plastic
- other brands to look at
- experience with the above

All advice welcomed.

Chris
Are we there yet?

2011 Pathfinder...Lifestyle Camper

Re: Ice Box - Advice Needed
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2011, 10:32:34 PM »
Techni ice?
I know engel do one  that mate uses in his TBlue Explorer...

Had a wild country one from Rays, and it was fairly crap.

Have you thought about a second Engel?

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2011, 10:42:06 PM »
From everything i've read, you couldn't go too wrong with any Evakool product.......... i do love the ruggedness of the moulded poly/plastic eskies..... however i reckon the ice keeping qualities of  insulated fibreglass would be hard to beat......

« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2011, 10:42:35 PM »
We have a Weaco Ice Cool 55L, it's 430mm high . So far so good, seems to keep ice OK.  IMO the best iceboxes are the EvaKool fibre glass units. :cheers:

Offline BigDougie

• Enjoy Today for who knows what the future holds!
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2011, 10:47:25 PM »
Hi Chris, don't want to open a can of worms with the big brand debate,
but we purchased a Waeco cool ice esky back in March and have to admit am rapped in it's performance :cup:.
Ice lasted nearly seven days on our easter trip and on our 3-4 day trips it's great.
Anyhow just my opinion of one brand.

:cheers: Doug
Our Maverick and New to us Trackabout Overlander RF

"Smile and Wave boy's, Smile and Wave"

« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2011, 10:52:01 PM »
Gday Doug,
What size did you get??  The only negative I can find with our 55L is the catches could be stronger , a bit thin for my liking. Otherwise, good performance & value. :cheers:

Offline BigDougie

• Enjoy Today for who knows what the future holds!
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2011, 10:57:09 PM »
Pretty sure ours is the 55 as well, yep catches a little dicky but esky pretty robust.
And it keeps the beer and woobler cold so al is good.
Our Maverick and New to us Trackabout Overlander RF

"Smile and Wave boy's, Smile and Wave"

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2011, 08:54:39 AM »
Ive had an evakool (47 Ltr) for the last 8 odd years and love it, always keeps ice for long periods, and is pretty rugged, lived in the CT many times full of drinks with no dramas.

I also have a mate who has a coleman extreme (50 Ltr), although an esky, as appossed to an ice box, but is also a good thing.

Swanny

Offline poidda

« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2011, 09:04:57 AM »
I've also got an Evakool 47L and have had it for 15 years.  Well it was called Supakool back then.  All my mates chipped in and bought each other one for their 21st's and they have all been excellent eskies.  I now also have a 70L Frdigemate by the same company and would highly recommend them.

In saying that, I also have a 100L Technic Ice which has been excellent for the price.

« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2011, 09:25:17 AM »
I would be checking out Big W, in there catalogue is a 62 litre marine icebox $98.00  which is $50 off.
Quote: Super strong construction.
Can be used as a seat.
Ideal for fishing or camping adventures.
Keeps ice cool for up to 4 days.

From the pic it has stainless latches and a good size drain.
Looks like it could be a good buy.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2011, 09:43:11 AM by dno »

Offline morcon

« Reply #10 on: August 25, 2011, 09:37:49 AM »
I've got a fibreglass Down under ice box (123 Litre) and it is sensational. I've had it keep ice for 5 days and that is with restocking it with hot cartons; also the design is good as the lid closes around the outside of the box which means you don't lose any internal space. Have seen the Evakool boxes in action and they seem to be equal - if I was deciding between the 2 I'd probably just pick the cheaper one. Just one thing with the fibreglass boxes - they need a little more care than the plastic ones.

« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2011, 09:53:31 AM »
About 4 years ago we bought off eBay a 72lt blown plastic ice box, cost about 85 bucks delivered at the time. Brand 'Big Chilli'.
I would freeze down for a fortnight before hand 4-5 4lt ice cream containers to make ice Blocks. these were placed on the bottom and would last well over a week, if camped for a fortnight of more a bag of ice needed to be placed in it every second or third day depending on how often it got opened. Used it for my beer and the kids drinks. I also drained the water off every morning.
Here is a link to some eBay Ice Boxes

« Reply #12 on: August 25, 2011, 10:06:30 AM »
Wondered the same myself a while ago, so went through all the posts (at the time) on the subject I could find (on myswag)

Members owned...

• Techni Ice x 8
  • Evakool x 7
  • Ice Kool x 3
  • Tropical Ice Box x 2
  • Ice Mate x 2
  • Engel x 2
  • Coleman Extreme x 2
  • Waeco x 1

The conclusion I came to was the Evakool was a great box, but Techni was just as good, but cheaper :)
Still haven't gotten 'round to getting 1 yet  ::)  So can't give a 'real world' opinion.

Offline schmik

« Reply #13 on: August 25, 2011, 10:22:41 AM »
Check the techni ice website, they do a low profile 70L. I have one... not sure if it is under 44cm.

ps... looked it up : http://www.techniice.com/2011/iceboxes/iceboxes_classic_70l.asp
It is 43 cm high.  ;D

mike
« Last Edit: August 25, 2011, 10:32:11 AM by schmik »

Offline Prado BB

« Reply #14 on: August 25, 2011, 10:35:30 AM »
About 4 years ago we bought off eBay a 72lt blown plastic ice box, cost about 85 bucks delivered at the time. Brand 'Big Chilli'.
I would freeze down for a fortnight before hand 4-5 4lt ice cream containers to make ice Blocks. these were placed on the bottom and would last well over a week, if camped for a fortnight of more a bag of ice needed to be placed in it every second or third day depending on how often it got opened. Used it for my beer and the kids drinks. I also drained the water off every morning.
Here is a link to some eBay Ice Boxes

some good ideas there :cup:
Cheers Andy

A diplomat is someone who can tell you to go to hell in such a way, that you look forward to the journey.

« Reply #15 on: August 25, 2011, 03:34:10 PM »
I have a 100L IceKool  www.icekool.com.au Same company as Evakool but these are the blue polyethylene version.

I went IceKool because when I compared similar sized eskies, Icekool had thicker side walls and lid giving better insulation. In the 7 years I’ve had it I’ve been extremely happy on both it’s performance and toughness.

Also with any esky, putting some ice in the night before does wonders making the esky perform better.

Offline making tracks

• Whats around the corner
« Reply #16 on: August 25, 2011, 04:49:44 PM »
We have a down under 70L and its been excellent,5ys old with small hair line cracks on lid and this thing gets knocked about like you would not believe.On our 5 day trips away we fill with goodies and then ice(4 bags),drain every morning and still have ice left when we get home. That's with a constant 30 deg day temp

« Reply #17 on: August 25, 2011, 08:17:52 PM »
Bang for buck, Techni Ice.

Offline chrisroche

« Reply #18 on: August 25, 2011, 08:56:09 PM »
thanks to all that have assisted.  Chris.
Are we there yet?

2011 Pathfinder...Lifestyle Camper