Author Topic: New Jayco Owner from Tasmania  (Read 3692 times)

Offline mccrlc

New Jayco Owner from Tasmania
« on: February 12, 2011, 04:20:03 PM »
I've been a curious onlooker for sometime; only reading posts and looking at photos.  There's lots of good ideas for me to use now we have purchased our New 2010 Jayco Eagle Outback from Melbourne last week.
We arrived back in Tassie on Wednesday, and since then have spent the days playing with our new toy, filling it up with stuff ready for our first trip in March.

I've had the fridge running on 240V (works well keeping the beer cold), then decided yesterday I would try out the gas.  It kept cold but by mid afternoon the vent on the bench was too hot to hold my hand on.  Has anyone had this issue?  I've since turned it back to 240V and will be speaking with the Dealer on Monday.

I'm sure this will be the start of many posts to come.  Look forward to reading more.

mccrlc
« Last Edit: February 12, 2011, 04:21:47 PM by mccrlc »
2010 Jayco Eagle Outback
2010 Mitsubishi Challenger LS Auto

Offline tonyw

• Tonys Travel Blogs
Re: New Jayco Owner from Tasmania
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2011, 04:53:56 PM »
Hi Mate and welcome

will be down in Tassie in 3 weeks, hopefully its the last of our last tent camping.

Offline Yoda42

• Beagle kisses don't grow hair
    • Travels With Beagles Blog
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2011, 05:22:19 PM »
Gday mccrlc & welcome along

can't help with the fridge, but have to say you live in a beaut part of Oz, we were there 2 years ago and loved it and will defiantly be back( in fact if we win lotto we'll buy a place there for our summer retreat from the top end buildup)  ;D
i'm sure some one here will be able to help with the fridge

good luck Yoda
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, 2 beagles & an Lifestyle Reconn
http://travelswithbeagles.blogspot.com

« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2011, 05:37:11 PM »
Welcome to myjayco aka myswag. I was told not to turn the 3 way fridge above 4, what setting did you have it on?

« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2011, 05:39:13 PM »
Welcome to My Swag. Good to see more Tassie people joining, your not to far from me.
Good looking unit.

Offline mccrlc

« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2011, 05:54:08 PM »
Trevor,
Have you just moved in round the corner...

mccrlc
2010 Jayco Eagle Outback

Offline mccrlc

« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2011, 05:56:14 PM »
D4D,
Fridge was set on 4 as per owners manual, I did turn it down once I noticed a problem, didn't make any difference though.

mccrlc
2010 Jayco Eagle Outback

« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2011, 06:18:35 PM »
Hi mccrlc and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2011, 02:17:37 AM »
MCCRIC. no havn't just moved in. Live a bit out of town in Evandale.

« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2011, 07:16:02 AM »
Welcome to the Forum

« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2011, 08:46:47 AM »
Mccric  Welcome to Myswag . Iooks as though you have worked out the way to learn around here is ask . Enjoy  :cheers:

Offline Compass

« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2011, 11:11:27 AM »
Welcome mccrlc.  This forum is a great place to get answers. :cheers:
2015 Toyota Prado
2012 Kimberley Kamper Platinum

« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2011, 12:34:16 PM »
Welcome to MyJayco  eeeerrrr MySwag   ;D 

As for the fridge, remove the top external vent cover and ensure the flue tubing from the gas burner hasn't come off, ours did on the Swan as it wasn't secured in place. 
one of the first things I checked when we picked up the Expanda.

Offline mccrlc

« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2011, 01:51:04 PM »
Welcome to MyJayco  eeeerrrr MySwag   ;D 

As for the fridge, remove the top external vent cover and ensure the flue tubing from the gas burner hasn't come off, ours did on the Swan as it wasn't secured in place. 
one of the first things I checked when we picked up the Expanda.

Thanks Bushman I will have a look at that.

2010 Jayco Eagle Outback