General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2014 Simpson Crossing => Topic started by: DannyG on June 28, 2014, 09:49:09 AM

Title: Brokeback Tassie Crossing RUNNING REPORT
Post by: DannyG on June 28, 2014, 09:49:09 AM
My male wife (Marcus73) and myself and maybe some other taswegiens are still doing this crossing.

We have a fairly strict time frame we need to stick to so we are putting together a trip leaving Adelaide (leaving from Adelaide because Marcus has some business to attend to there so Ill fly up to meet him) on the 7th of October and returning on the 17th.

We are open to anyone who wants to tag along with us for the trip or part thereof but again we have strict time constraints so we will be pretty military about how we go about it......up by 10am and first drinks for the day at camp no later than 3pm for instance ;D

So if your interested let us know.

Marcus wasn't keen to put up a thread about the trip because he reckons your all a pack of arse holes, but i think everyone is great so lets see if we can get some interest in this again ;)
Title: Brokeback Tassie Crossing is taking place......
Post by: Marcus73 on June 28, 2014, 09:54:36 AM

Marcus wasn't keen to put up a thread about the trip because he reckons your all a pack of arse holes, but i think everyone is great so lets see if we can get some interest in this again ;)

Yeah good on ya!!
A very tempting sales pitch which I'm sure would be hard for anyone to say no too.

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!
Title: Re: Brokeback Tassie Crossing is taking place......
Post by: DannyG on June 28, 2014, 10:00:06 AM
Yeah good on ya!!

What'd I say? ;)

Tourism needs people like me promoting trips, I know how to gather a crowd............
Post by: Rumpig on June 28, 2014, 10:14:20 AM
What'd I say? ;)

Tourism needs people like me promoting trips, I know how to gather a crowd............
;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Alan Loy on June 28, 2014, 10:24:10 AM
Sorry to say the dates don't fit :'(
Post by: DannyG on June 28, 2014, 11:20:14 AM
Oh and we are going west to east because we are in a prado. ;D
Post by: DannyG on June 28, 2014, 11:37:37 AM
We were just discussing photo opportunities and we want to get a photo of us from behind, holding hands at camp naked, as you do.
So the first person to put their hand up to join us can be the lucky one to take the pics for us.

Now if that isn't enough to entice a few takers I don't know what will? ;D
Post by: Marcus73 on June 28, 2014, 11:39:07 AM
Oh dear.......

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy
Post by: DannyG on June 28, 2014, 11:42:37 AM
I did not write that ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ LOL
Post by: oldmate on June 28, 2014, 12:21:19 PM
Love to join you, but you know,  the 3rd wheel thing, don't want to get in the way of your tassie bromance. :)
Post by: DannyG on June 29, 2014, 09:33:48 PM
I'm at a loss as to why we can't get any takers to come with us?   >:D

I don't suppose there's any givers interested?
Post by: Marcus73 on June 29, 2014, 09:37:50 PM
Surely there's someone else that wants to go.......... Please :)

Post by: areyonga on June 29, 2014, 10:47:42 PM
From the 6th to the 17th Oct I have a commitment, outside those dates I would be there in a heartbeat, especially going west to east.

Post by: DannyG on June 30, 2014, 01:38:12 PM
Probably time to get a little bit serious. We have booked the boat and put together a rough Itinerary so its definitely a goer.

The actual crossing will be happening from the 10th to the 14th obviously assuming everything goes to plan. As stated earlier it is a west to east crossing doing the only route the Toyota will be able to handle and thats the french line and qaa line so it will be a nice easy trip.

It would be nice to meet some other swaggers and even have some join us for the crossing so we are not so scared on our own ;)

Yes, Marcus73 is a little odd but if you can get past that Im sure you would have a great time.
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2014, 02:28:33 PM
We were just discussing photo opportunities and we want to get a photo of us from behind, holding hands at camp naked, as you do.
So the first person to put their hand up to join us can be the lucky one to take the pics for us.

Now if that isn't enough to entice a few takers I don't know what will? ;D

(http://fronttowardsgamer.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/ss3-613x327.png)
Post by: Marcus73 on September 11, 2014, 04:31:57 PM
Only a few more weeks and this is happening.... I'm surprised no ones jumped on board. Pardon the pun ;)

Post by: DannyG on September 11, 2014, 06:08:42 PM

Only a few more weeks and this is happening.... I'm surprised no ones jumped on board. Pardon the pun ;)

Do you think changing the topic title and it's contents may have helped?
Post by: MrCruza on September 11, 2014, 07:35:40 PM

The actual crossing will be happening from the 10th to the 14th obviously assuming everything goes to plan. As stated earlier it is a west to east crossing doing the only route the Toyota will be able to handle and thats the french line and qaa line so it will be a nice easy trip.

Mate, having recently done a crossing I'd say the Rig Rd is the best route. Not as rough or as busy as the French Line.

See part 3 of Our Blog (http://mrbitchi.com/?page_id=6)
Post by: DannyG on September 14, 2014, 12:13:13 PM

Mate, having recently done a crossing I'd say the Rig Rd is the best route. Not as rough or as busy as the French Line.

Thanks for that we have had a few people tell us the same thing so we are considering it
Title: Re: Brokeback Tassie Crossing RUNNING REPORT
Post by: DannyG on October 01, 2014, 12:32:42 PM
Our trip unofficially starts tomorrow so I have renamed the title as we will try our best to pop the odd photo in here during the trip and we will definitely do a proper report when we return.

So to start it off here we are last weekend doing the final pack of the car all ready to go :)

Even though there is only two of us, it is surprising how much crap we are taking. The car is full and we have a few items on the rack as well. Mind you the swags and fridge are taking up probably 70% of the space in the car. But we are pretty happy that we have it packed in a way that will see us setting up camp pretty easily each day. 

And yes before someone mentions the obvious we are in a Prado so there is good chance we won't even make it and I am sorry he has the white writing on the outside of his tyres but it is the 'brokeback' crossing after all!
Post by: DannyG on October 01, 2014, 01:38:24 PM
I started fixing the Prado
Post by: trevc on October 01, 2014, 04:30:35 PM
How are you fellas getting up to Dalhousie, via Oodnadatta / Hamilton Stn / Perderka or Kulgera/Finke/Mt Dare?
I was on both roads a few months ago and a 2nd spare certainly wouldn't go astray. Maybe you have one just couldn't spot it in the photo.

Trev
Post by: DannyG on October 01, 2014, 04:52:31 PM
We are going oodnadatta trev. Marcus just put 5 new BFG's on so with the right pressures and one steady driving we will hopefully be ok ;)
Post by: GeoffA on October 01, 2014, 05:02:21 PM
I picked "all of the above" in the poll..... ;D ;D

Danny, you'll be travelling in a silver Prado, and you're worried about the white lettering showing..... ::) ::) ::)

Have fun boys. :cup: :cup:
Post by: trevc on October 01, 2014, 05:09:16 PM
We are going oodnadatta trev. Marcus just put 5 new BFG's on so with the right pressures and one steady driving we will hopefully be ok ;)

Yeah the BFG's should see you right. I've done 32k so far this trip and have done 3 sidewalls ( rooted) and two treads (plugged), BUT run 18" Mickey T's couldn't get LT's in the size I need.

If I had my time again would've put 17" LT's on all round.
Have an awesome time and take some flynets- you'll look like dorks but will save your sanity,

Trev
Post by: DannyG on October 01, 2014, 06:50:51 PM

I picked "all of the above" in the poll..... ;D ;D

Danny, you'll be travelling in a silver Prado, and you're worried about the white lettering showing..... ::) ::) ::)

Have fun boys. :cup: :cup:

That's a point!
Post by: DannyG on October 01, 2014, 06:52:37 PM

BUT run 18" Mickey T's

I see the problem ;)

Thanks gents I'm sure we will have a great time
Post by: 2010banditsa on October 01, 2014, 08:18:57 PM

I beg to differ, ive been back a week now and I found the rig rd the dullest part of the trip but it was sure easier. My vote for best part was waa.
Post by: Qld Camper on October 01, 2014, 10:29:36 PM
Yeah, definitely the WAA all the way.  Rig road is for the wimps  :D
Post by: fishfinder on October 02, 2014, 04:21:25 PM
I know these to blokes ( well I heard they were born that way ) and the silver  Prado is just a random photo they grabbed off the net - seriously keep a look out for a pink prado with   "priscilla 2" tassie plates but the stand out would be the white lettering on the outside of the tyres

Have a good trip Marcus as I have known for a month or 2 that Danny is not going it was just a ploy to get you off the island for a couple of weeks  ;D ;D
Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 05:10:35 AM
.....anyone playing hard to get??..... ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2014, 09:38:00 AM
.....anyone playing hard to get??..... ;D ;D
it has gone quiet
Post by: Marcus73 on October 12, 2014, 12:50:20 PM
I've got him gagged.......

Post by: DannyG on October 12, 2014, 02:30:55 PM
We are at Birdsville watching Bathurst. No decent pics on my phone and I can't get them off the camera until we get home but so far it's been all good.
The crossing was very hot and rough, more on that when we get home as well.
Go the fords :)

(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/10/11/7107439f1c1717d72888eb6d163e247e.jpg)

(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/10/11/f8dbb5074ca6c478c60de8958f3c4900.jpg)

Post by: GeoffA on October 12, 2014, 06:30:46 PM
Go the fords :)

Blue oval 1st....
Nissan 2nd.....

;D ;D ;D
Post by: Black-Pig on October 12, 2014, 07:42:19 PM
The crossing was very hot and rough, more on that when we get home as well.

I thought this was a family friendly site...  >:D...

I will have to come out to Westbury and say hi one day.
Post by: DannyG on October 12, 2014, 07:51:33 PM

Blue oval 1st....
Nissan 2nd.....

;D ;D ;D

I am hardly mentioning it to my travel partner on this trip who is a holden/Toyota man ;) lol
Post by: DannyG on October 12, 2014, 07:53:06 PM

I thought this was a family friendly site...  >:D...

I will have to come out to Westbury and say hi one day.

Lol considering the topic title I probably haven't chosen my words very well!
Your welcome out at Westbury anytime :)
Post by: MrCruza on October 13, 2014, 06:27:36 PM
Which track did you end up taking?
Post by: 2010banditsa on October 13, 2014, 07:10:21 PM
Yeah thats  what im wondering
Post by: Bird on October 13, 2014, 07:20:55 PM
Which track did you end up taking?
judging by the thread title, I'd say they took 'the ol' dirt track' LMAO
Post by: Qld Camper on October 13, 2014, 07:27:32 PM
Hope they didn't whimp out and take the Rig  ;D. WAA is so much better
Post by: DannyG on October 13, 2014, 08:13:21 PM
We took the French line and qaa. It's a difficult decision to know which way is the best.

We have quite a lot of video from the gopro showing how bad or good it was but I need to edit out our dribble from it when we get home.
There is no way id take a camper the way we went. It may be better early on the season but it was just too punishing on the approach to some of the dunes to be towing something.
Post by: Marcus73 on October 13, 2014, 08:17:40 PM
Definately not somewhere I'd be taking a camper unless you're into continuous recoveries

Post by: MrCruza on October 13, 2014, 09:01:09 PM
We took our Aussie Swag across the Rig Road/Knolls/French/Qaa. Reqiured snatching twice. Both times I reckon a second go would have got over but it was a bit easier and caused less damage to the dunes just to snatch it over.
Post by: Marcus73 on October 13, 2014, 09:32:19 PM
I can't comment on what it was like but only on what it is like now. When Danny gets a chance to post videos I think you'll get what I mean.

Post by: MrCruza on October 13, 2014, 10:06:55 PM
We crossed in July so not too different, but we avoided the French line as much as possible. Too busy, too rough. Just about had the Rig Road to ourselves for 2 days  ;D
Post by: Marcus73 on October 13, 2014, 10:17:15 PM
Ok yeah, we did the French line and only saw one car in 2 days. Might have had something to do with it being 45 degrees. Averaged 17kph to give an indication on how rough it was

Post by: Bird on October 14, 2014, 07:21:11 AM
Quote from: Marcus73
it being 45 degrees. Averaged 17kph to give an indication on how rough it was

Bumholes to that for "fun"...
Post by: fishfinder on October 14, 2014, 11:19:27 AM
there are 2 words in the above comment that i reckon was used quite regularly on this trip
Post by: Marcus73 on October 14, 2014, 09:19:59 PM

Yeah, can't say that day was exactly a highlight but certainly glad I've done it. It's one more off the bucket list. Currently in Broken Hill where it's bloody freezing. I've been here many times and never known it to be so cold at this time of year. Heading in the Menindie direction tomorrow and by the look of things it won't be getting any warmer

Post by: DannyG on October 15, 2014, 06:22:36 PM
Doing it tough tonight ;)

(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/10/15/f0d9a1af8e6793269b689603f4516e2e.jpg)
Post by: Marcus73 on October 15, 2014, 06:37:59 PM
Yep hating life.... (http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/10/15/78494c93b0dd8737d222a9a7670adbe5.jpg)

Post by: Bird on October 15, 2014, 06:52:04 PM
Yep hating life.... (http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/10/15/78494c93b0dd8737d222a9a7670adbe5.jpg)
I would too... not much fire wood left.. and its still daylight!!!
Post by: DannyG on October 15, 2014, 07:18:38 PM

Lol and 100's of tonnes of wood across the road I think we will be sitting around a fire until we drop tonight ;)

(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/10/15/d6f82b41556553a0e0779c2939a99f2d.jpg)
Post by: Marcus73 on October 15, 2014, 07:25:14 PM

What are you doing? ;)

Post by: Bird on October 15, 2014, 07:25:36 PM
Lol and 100's of tonnes of wood across the road I think we will be sitting around a fire until we drop tonight ;)

(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/10/15/d6f82b41556553a0e0779c2939a99f2d.jpg)
so... wheres this fire??? I see someone lighting a ciggy...
Post by: DannyG on October 15, 2014, 07:58:19 PM

so... wheres this fire??? I see someone lighting a ciggy...

Yeh it's not a Tassie bonfire but the wood here burns hot and it's not really that cold so it's just a bush Telly. ;)
I'm happy here and I'm not working tomorrow so no complaints from me! 
Post by: Bird on October 15, 2014, 08:02:51 PM
Yeh it's not a Tassie bonfire but the wood here burns hot and it's not really that cold so it's just a bush Telly. ;)
I'm happy here and I'm not working tomorrow so no complaints from me!
yea rub it in wont ya!!!
Post by: Marcus73 on October 15, 2014, 08:02:56 PM
Better?
(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/10/15/6d7c58e0d8928e44d59f495e471f0750.jpg)

Post by: DannyG on October 16, 2014, 05:52:50 AM
Fires out, there's wood left for the next campers...... This is an easy way to wake up of a morning lol(http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/10/15/e008cebb21f98f8fa69157ea6c6eae53.jpg)
Post by: scarps on October 16, 2014, 06:08:32 AM
Post by: Bird on October 16, 2014, 07:10:19 AM
Quote from: DannyG
... there's wood left for the next campers...

Nnnnoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!! You broke rule #1
Post by: DannyG on October 16, 2014, 07:29:23 AM

Nnnnoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!! You broke rule #1

Lol
Post by: Bird on October 16, 2014, 07:39:46 AM
Lol
where ya heading today
Post by: DannyG on October 16, 2014, 07:45:48 AM

where ya heading today

Not sure yet, atm we are heading towards swan hill so see how the day unfolds
Post by: Bird on October 16, 2014, 07:57:54 AM
Quote from: DannyG
sweeeeeet
Post by: fishfinder on October 16, 2014, 10:59:40 AM
old trotting grounds :)
Post by: fishfinder on October 16, 2014, 11:01:47 AM
oh yeah Michelle needs to practice cooking the eggs for breakfast so by the time your back I should have her trained to cook them perfect  ;D
Post by: DannyG on October 16, 2014, 11:22:09 AM

old trotting grounds :)

Wrong state ;)

And just as long as she is trained to cook the man his eggs will do ;D
Post by: fishfinder on October 16, 2014, 12:21:00 PM
Wrong state ;)

Na the right state - spent a lot of time in my early years nearly 1/2 century ago around Swan Hill, Nyah West, Kerang and  Pakenham - the old man was born in Nyah West - see I dont tell the full story around the camp fire  8)
Post by: Marcus73 on October 17, 2014, 08:41:49 PM
11 days, approximately 5000kms and it's all over. Let the depression begin :(

Post by: oldmate on October 17, 2014, 08:45:15 PM
11 days, approximately 5000kms and it's all over. Let the depression begin :(

Yep, you'll miss him, but maybe if the stars align again he can be all yours again. Chin up son.  ;D
Post by: D4D on October 17, 2014, 08:46:03 PM
Sorry I missed you guys this arvo, it was all planned until I had a last minute 4-5 meeting :(
Post by: Marcus73 on October 17, 2014, 08:54:19 PM
No worries mate. Next time

Post by: DannyG on October 17, 2014, 08:55:31 PM

Sorry I missed you guys this arvo, it was all planned until I had a last minute 4-5 meeting :(

No problems GeoffA had the pleasure of joining the brokeback boys ;)
Post by: GeoffA on October 17, 2014, 09:30:07 PM
No problems GeoffA had the pleasure of joining the brokeback boys ;)

Was good......but I felt like the third wheel....... ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on October 17, 2014, 09:34:25 PM
Quote from: GeoffA
Was good......but I felt like the third wheel....... ;D ;D
3rd leg?
Post by: Black-Pig on October 17, 2014, 09:35:28 PM
One last night on the romantic cruise south? What happens on the boat stays on the boat?
Post by: Marcus73 on October 18, 2014, 05:19:51 AM

One last night on the romantic cruise south? What happens on the boat stays on the boat?

Not when you've got a GoPro :)

Post by: DannyG on October 19, 2014, 09:02:54 AM
We are home and settling into the post holiday depression and realisation that its back to work tomorrow!

Everything went really well as we expected. The actual crossing took a day or so to meet our expectations but whilst neither of us will do it the same way again we are both stoked that we have finally done it.
The French Line and QAA Line is very rough which is fine but the entry to the majority of the dunes is very rough making it extremely hard on the equiptment if the dune required any sort of run up or momentum.
Obviously being so late in the season meant it was well used and it was very hot and we only saw one other 4wd during our crossing. It took us 3 days to get across which was quite quick really but because of the heat and flies we chose to put in a couple of big days in the car and Bathurst being on was also a motivation to keep the show on the road and be at Birdsville by the Sunday to watch it ;)
We met Woodsie and his gang at Dalhousie who had just come over in the opposite direction. Disappointingly we couldn't stay with them for too long as it was getting late in the arvo and we wanted to get into it to avoid the Dalhousie mozzies but it was nice to meet them all.
I am happy to announce even though Marcus tried his hardest, I am still happily married to my wife............ LOL We laughed all the way up and all the way back and even though he drives a Toyota I couldn't have picked a better brokeback partner to have done this trip with ;)

Here is a very small collection of pics of the trip up to the Simpson. The rest will follow.

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09589_zps0a106b81.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09589_zps0a106b81.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09590_zps11acd9bd.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09590_zps11acd9bd.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09608_zps98a472e5.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09608_zps98a472e5.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09623_zpsee6969eb.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09623_zpsee6969eb.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09652_zps75d6f4b2.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09652_zps75d6f4b2.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09664_zpsa36a0dba.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09664_zpsa36a0dba.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09667_zps6cf7ac21.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09667_zps6cf7ac21.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09711_zpsc5a44615.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09711_zpsc5a44615.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09717_zpsa33a50e5.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09717_zpsa33a50e5.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09732_zps79682161.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09732_zps79682161.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09738_zps76b622b7.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09738_zps76b622b7.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09744_zps5d18e206.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09744_zps5d18e206.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09805_zps78cf24c6.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09805_zps78cf24c6.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09820_zpsc684f561.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09820_zpsc684f561.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09829_zps51558054.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09829_zps51558054.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09882_zps2f63c815.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09882_zps2f63c815.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09905_zps269c4468.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09905_zps269c4468.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09907_zps3823baf8.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09907_zps3823baf8.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1613_zps55425f7a.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1613_zps55425f7a.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09958_zpsffa74275.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09958_zpsffa74275.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09962_zpsed974541.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09962_zpsed974541.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09968_zps18dce5e5.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09968_zps18dce5e5.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09981_zps76cf9174.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09981_zps76cf9174.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09996_zpsaf088d24.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC09996_zpsaf088d24.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00011_zps9d7fabb0.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00011_zps9d7fabb0.jpg.html)

The crossing pics to follow..........
Post by: DannyG on October 19, 2014, 09:20:57 AM
So the actual crossing as I have already said was not what we were expecting. We probably shouldn't have had any preconceived ideas but most do i suppose.

The combination of the 45 degree days, the fact that we averaged less than 17 kph and the sand being silly hot meant the underside of the car way in extreme heat conditions. Our only real issue we had the whole trip, besides Marcus' farting in public was the fuel tank didn't seem to be able to vent properly under this heat and we could smell petrol inside the car. As it turned out we depressurised the tank every hour or two and that solved that issue but I admit the heat coming out of the fuel filler was to hot to hold your hand over!

So after around 3 days the crossing didn't disappoint in the end. There were a few dunes we had to have a second crack at, mainly due to the entry not allowing us the momentum required to get over them the first time. We learnt a bit about the benefits of traction control when the tyres can find a solid base and we learnt a bit about the benefit of air conditioning ;)

So anyway here a small collection of the crossing pics.........
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2014, 09:22:41 AM
So the actual crossing as I have already said was not what we were expecting. We probably shouldn't have had any preconceived ideas but most do i suppose.

The combination of the 45 degree days, the fact that we averaged less than 17 kph and the sand being silly hot meant the underside of the car way in extreme heat conditions. Our only real issue we had the whole trip, besides Marcus' farting in public was the fuel tank didn't seem to be able to vent properly under this heat and we could smell petrol inside the car. As it turned out we depressurised the tank every hour or two and that solved that issue but I admit the heat coming out of the fuel filler was to hot to hold your hand over!

So after around 3 days the crossing didn't disappoint in the end. There were a few dunes we had to have a second crack at, mainly due to the entry not allowing us the momentum required to get over them the first time. We learnt a bit about the benefits of traction control when the tyres can find a solid base and we learnt a bit about the benefit of air conditioning ;)

So anyway here a small collection of the crossing pics.........
blocked tank breather?? or kinked?

Post by: DannyG on October 19, 2014, 09:24:38 AM
blocked tank breather?? or kinked?

Not 100% sure yet, Marcus will chime in at some stage but I suspect the venting systems just couldn't cope with the silly amount of pressure the tank was instantly creating as soon as we put the cap back on but I could be wrong.
Post by: DannyG on October 19, 2014, 09:35:00 AM
Whoops better add the crossing pics........

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00023_zps2365f63b.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00023_zps2365f63b.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00028_zps99c99bea.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00028_zps99c99bea.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00029_zpsaece07ba.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00029_zpsaece07ba.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00030_zpseed160e0.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00030_zpseed160e0.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00031_zps23bdef3a.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00031_zps23bdef3a.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00032_zps023ac58e.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00032_zps023ac58e.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00033_zps350d5138.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00033_zps350d5138.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00034_zpse082b0f8.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00034_zpse082b0f8.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00038_zps98615155.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00038_zps98615155.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00041_zpsb2c191a9.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00041_zpsb2c191a9.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00049_zps291efdd1.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00049_zps291efdd1.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00065_zps1dfd6dd2.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00065_zps1dfd6dd2.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00077_zps1b57c4d9.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00077_zps1b57c4d9.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00079_zpsf4fde7aa.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00079_zpsf4fde7aa.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00081_zpsa6a8dec9.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00081_zpsa6a8dec9.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00090_zps2e33a1d5.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00090_zps2e33a1d5.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00104_zps932e669a.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00104_zps932e669a.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00105_zps3e55e395.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00105_zps3e55e395.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00122_zps9a8cf36a.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00122_zps9a8cf36a.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00129_zps6a3e8980.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00129_zps6a3e8980.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00132_zpsd9467e83.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00132_zpsd9467e83.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00133_zpsfbf4d238.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00133_zpsfbf4d238.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00164_zpsf74afc11.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00164_zpsf74afc11.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00174_zps530ac261.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00174_zps530ac261.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00176_zps4cb4ec04.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00176_zps4cb4ec04.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00178_zpscdb016a2.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00178_zpscdb016a2.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00189_zpsd348bd32.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00189_zpsd348bd32.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00191_zpsa4534f5d.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00191_zpsa4534f5d.jpg.html)

The trip home to follow.......
Post by: oldmate on October 19, 2014, 09:36:53 AM
Great pics Danny.
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2014, 09:50:11 AM
noice fotoz
Post by: DannyG on October 19, 2014, 02:53:35 PM
We had mixed feeling after driving over Big Red and heading towards Birdsville. On one hand we were happy to be over the very rough, hot and slow going that was the Simpson, although the last day was far better than the first two but it was also the end of the whole purpose of the trip.
However we were still on holidays and had planned to get a cabin at the caravan park and watch Bathurst which we did. From there is was pretty much the drive back down to the boat via Broken Hill, Tiboorurra, Mildura and Swan Hill.
We caught up with GeoffA at Port Melbourne for a coffee which is becoming a regular gig anytime we are returning from holidays and always good to catch up. We boarded the boat and had an uneventful ride home.
Time to start planning the next adventure :)

Some of the pics of the trip home........

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00193_zpsa492f55b.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00193_zpsa492f55b.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1646_zps1b015509.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1646_zps1b015509.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1651_zps56950d80.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1651_zps56950d80.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00199_zps44c21c40.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00199_zps44c21c40.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1656_zpsc06d96df.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1656_zpsc06d96df.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00228_zps404c0838.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00228_zps404c0838.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00231_zps27c2e083.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00231_zps27c2e083.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00232_zpsd1a65b98.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00232_zpsd1a65b98.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00238_zps8ed39824.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00238_zps8ed39824.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00246_zpsf0bc1596.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00246_zpsf0bc1596.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00260_zps88d078e3.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00260_zps88d078e3.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1659_zps89cc0bca.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1659_zps89cc0bca.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00281_zps84555c66.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00281_zps84555c66.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00285_zps9dd68506.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00285_zps9dd68506.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00310_zps0e0c9bdb.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00310_zps0e0c9bdb.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00321_zps80cb805a.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00321_zps80cb805a.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1672_zpsf4c3f05d.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1672_zpsf4c3f05d.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00338_zps609db0c4.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00338_zps609db0c4.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00369_zps747d0009.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00369_zps747d0009.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00384_zps93d84a2e.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00384_zps93d84a2e.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00398_zps97a85205.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00398_zps97a85205.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00410_zpsf00c8306.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00410_zpsf00c8306.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00450_zps5eed2029.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00450_zps5eed2029.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00451_zps66327cb4.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00451_zps66327cb4.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00455_zps76152f2d.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00455_zps76152f2d.jpg.html)

Marcus gets all the women ;)
(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1706_zps36279957.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1706_zps36279957.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00495_zps6b8fd96e.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/DSC00495_zps6b8fd96e.jpg.html)

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1716_zps7c8c5165.jpg) (http://s134.photobucket.com/user/DannyG13_photos/media/Simpson%20Crossing%202014/IMG_1716_zps7c8c5165.jpg.html)

Ill get some videos organised as soon as I can
Post by: GeoffA on October 19, 2014, 03:03:27 PM
Marcus gets all the women ;)

...... :P
Post by: DannyG on October 19, 2014, 07:25:58 PM
Fuel pressurising issue...sorry about the goose giving commentary ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFqqn1hLDTA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFqqn1hLDTA)
Post by: oldmate on October 19, 2014, 08:12:24 PM
Lol,, nice one mate, that's some serious pressure built up
Post by: GeoffA on October 19, 2014, 08:21:31 PM
Shoulda taken the mighty GU.......oh, hang on a minute.......
Post by: DannyG on October 19, 2014, 08:48:19 PM
Thanks gents

Shoulda taken the mighty GU.......oh, hang on a minute.......

He didn't tell the full story......I still have a GU ;) we just ran out of time to talk about it!