General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2014 Red Centre Trip => Topic started by: Mandrake on June 14, 2014, 05:28:04 PM

Title: Mandrake's Red CentreSafari
Post by: Mandrake on June 14, 2014, 05:28:04 PM
Well left early for the run to Mildura..Forgot the shovel...
Got to Teddington (Kara Kara N P now..) Big changes
Since we were there last....
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/14/peja7aje.jpg)
Tables...fireplaces...reservoir is empty and fenced off ..Looks good though..Thank heavens no bollards !!!
Title: Re: Mandrake's Red CentreSafari
Post by: Isuzumu on June 14, 2014, 06:47:17 PM
Have a great trip Guys.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 14, 2014, 06:54:06 PM
Keep us updated Steve, need to see heaps of aerial footage please

Title: Mandrake's Red CentreSafari
Post by: AdrianLR on June 14, 2014, 08:30:31 PM
Have a great trip.

Teddington's a very nice spot. We were there between Xmas & New Years. Only shared the place with six other camps. Reservoir still had water.

Adrian

Post by: Mongoose on June 14, 2014, 08:38:29 PM
Have yourselves a ball, Mandrakes.

Don't let that oversized, oversexed camera- carrying mosquito get too close to Pine Gap. :police:

Rohan.
Post by: brickiematt on June 14, 2014, 08:41:42 PM
Have fun and safe travels Steve.
See you in Cullulleraine in a weeks time ;D
Post by: Glenno on June 15, 2014, 06:34:03 AM
Enjoy the trip Steve. Some fantastic country you'll be going through.
Post by: KingBilly on June 15, 2014, 07:14:32 AM
Safe travels Steve and Nadia.  Catch you for a coldie in Alice

Post by: speewa158 on June 15, 2014, 08:09:21 AM
Good Seasons Good Miles , till we have  :cheers: again  :laugh:
Post by: GeoffA on June 15, 2014, 08:24:00 AM
Hey Steve,

I think the fence, tables and fireplaces have been there a fair while.

Have fun.....

Geoff
Post by: Mandrake on June 15, 2014, 03:13:59 PM
Perry Sandhills..took some vids but was blowing a gale..

From the thing that is also a phone
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/15/be3edyse.jpg)
Post by: Terry W4 on June 15, 2014, 05:19:38 PM
Hope you enjoy the trip - your pics seem to have a pinkish tinge to them.
Post by: Mandrake on June 15, 2014, 06:32:39 PM
Yep Motorola phone . Very red .
Here's another of Perry ..Seems the boys have been playing in the sandbox..

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/15/age5ujam.jpg)
Post by: Mandrake on June 16, 2014, 03:33:35 PM
Afternoon at the Botanical Gardens..

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/16/ajy9eze5.jpg)
Post by: Mandrake on June 20, 2014, 06:57:36 PM
Last day in Resort at Mildura . Off to get Brickiematt tomorrow and then an overnighter in Renmark  .
Spent most of today at Kings Billabong .. around Ducks foot Lagoon..
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/20/u4yqateh.jpg)
Post by: Jacko on June 20, 2014, 09:52:55 PM
Looks like you're enjoying yourself Mandrake, we're heading off early in the morning,so will catch up with you guys at Renmark  :cheers:
Post by: Mandrake on June 22, 2014, 05:43:59 PM
Sunset Hawker C P style...

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/22/bezu4yga.jpg)
Post by: JCAT on June 22, 2014, 07:59:56 PM
Living the dream Mandrake!
Post by: Mandrake on June 26, 2014, 05:04:48 PM
Made it into Marla to meet up with Jacko Lindamc and brickiematt.On to Alice tomorrow...Pics below of Muloorina and the portable fire..
Diesel $2.25 at Pink Roadhouse !!! Ripoff merchants...
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/26/eraje3yp.jpg)
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/26/aqymasum.jpg)
Post by: Bad Scott on June 26, 2014, 08:36:34 PM
2.25 that's cheap. Try Cameron's corner 4 years ago.
Sent from my RM-821_apac_australia_new_zealand_218 using Tapatalk
Post by: Mandrake on June 27, 2014, 08:54:22 PM
Looks like we are all here at the Macdonnell Ranges C P. Let the fum begin....
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/28/ugudygy2.jpg)
Post by: Darren253 on June 27, 2014, 10:07:38 PM
I think I was the last in... I've got a smashed fitting on my rear tank, a trailer full of bull dust so everything needs washing, oh and a 6" tear in the tent...

They say things happen in 3's so hopefully that's it for me! A day of chores tomorrow... Roll on the actual trip and some good luck!

Forgot I've also got to change the fuel filter and tighten up the ARB bar bottom plates. Corrugation for the last 300km was shocking.
Post by: Glenno on June 29, 2014, 09:41:29 AM

Looks like we are all here at the Macdonnell Ranges C P. Let the fum begin....
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/28/ugudygy2.jpg)

Was thinking of that joint this morning as I was laying in bed. Had to get up and have pancakes like they do on a Sunday morning there!  Yummo
Post by: marvellous_matt on June 29, 2014, 10:10:34 AM

Diesel $2.25 at Pink Roadhouse !!! Ripoff merchants...

true that, but thats what you will pay down Yulara way, and Kings Canyon. Welcome to my life.....
Post by: Mandrake on June 29, 2014, 04:22:33 PM
Went to see a couple of Gaps today .. fuelled up for the run to Chambers Pillar tomorrow...
This one is Emily Gap..
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/06/29/yrube7e7.jpg)
Post by: Mandrake on July 01, 2014, 04:38:35 PM
Got into Chambers Pillar without too much mishap..But the Penguin is losing lots of screws and cable ties so we have left the convoy as they travel down the old ghan track ..we have headed to Erldunda via the Hugh River Stock route..
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/01/6y3ahymu.jpg)
Firewood stop.
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/01/hytu4yza.jpg)
View from Penguin.
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/01/ju7uqava.jpg)
Chambers Pillar.

Post by: speewa158 on July 01, 2014, 10:45:23 PM
We send you our Best Wishes & hope you enjoy it as much as we did  . Has Nadia taken pics of all the wild flowers  ???
Did you get to Lamberts   ,   it out that way  :cup:   :cheers:
How did you go on " the hill " on the way in  ???
Post by: Mandrake on July 02, 2014, 08:14:33 AM
Lots of photos... Nadia just loved that hill especially when I stopped to select low range !!!
See you later in the year for some
Post by: Mandrake on July 02, 2014, 05:20:58 PM
Now at Yulara .. pretty uneventful drive in .. no eagles . No roadkill..only highlight was some bush burn off happening just this side of the rock...
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/02/azeja8e3.jpg)
Post by: speewa158 on July 02, 2014, 06:29:20 PM
Do the late arvo sunset  camel ride  its really great  :cheers:
Post by: ehsc on July 02, 2014, 07:46:48 PM
Hey Mandrake

Have a good trip, when you find the screws just put them back in with some pvc glue that seems to stop them coming back out, well mine haven't and its turning 10 next year . Safe travels and have a great trip.

:cheers: Troy

Post by: Mandrake on July 02, 2014, 07:59:24 PM
Hey Mandrake

Have a good trip, when you find the screws just put them back in with some pvc glue that seems to stop them coming back out, well mine haven't and its turning 10 next year . Safe travels and have a great trip.

Troy,
Thanks for the tip ... I was thinking of glueing the board to the angle and then fastening with screws ...
Can you remember what glue you used ??
Mandrake
Post by: ehsc on July 02, 2014, 09:19:15 PM
Hey Mandrake

I think it was just white pvc wood working glue,I only ever had trouble with the screws working loose from hinges and were the door latch fastens to the door.

There is a thread on here about the aluminum angle around the base and floor to give extra strength I think posted by Tw for memory, I would probably do the same if I knew I was going to do a lot of rough stuff for a long period ,but since the national meet it hasn't left the yard but not to worry that won't last forever, don't worry the penguin wont let you down .

Post by: Mandrake on July 03, 2014, 09:30:52 AM
Cheers Troy.. I think that's PVA glue for bonding wood to wood usually .. I will give it a try first if it doesn't hold then it will be drilling and using Nylocs on countersunk bolts..

Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 03, 2014, 09:40:22 AM
Cheers Troy.. I think that's PVA glue for bonding wood to wood usually .. I will give it a try first if it doesn't hold then it will be drilling and using Nylocs on countersunk bolts..

Steve, if you can get it try this stuff, its a little stronger than PVA and really grips well

Post by: ehsc on July 03, 2014, 07:51:10 PM
Sorry mate I meant PVA glue not PVC I am getting old  and the memory is failing  ;D troy
Post by: Mandrake on July 03, 2014, 09:21:12 PM
Yeah I know how ya feel !!

Post by: Mandrake on July 03, 2014, 09:23:16 PM
Went for a coupla walks today .. Valley of the Winds up to the first lookout and then Walpa Gorge.. Sunset on the side of the road to Valley of the Winds.
Tut tut tut....LOL
Walpa Gorge near the end.
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/03/ata9emyv.jpg)
Kara Tjuta at least part of it...
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/03/5ujyrenu.jpg)
Post by: Mandrake on July 04, 2014, 01:51:33 PM
Uluru this morning bumped into Jack and Brickiematt.. Can't wait to get the community fire going at Kings Creek and catch up with everyone..
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/04/mu7a8yjy.jpg)
Round the back somewhere...
Post by: noel_w on July 04, 2014, 04:14:08 PM
Great photos Mandrake. Glad all is going well with your trip.
I have been to the Valley of the Winds twice now and both times felt as if someone was watching me, eery feeling
Safe travels mate.
Post by: Mandrake on July 04, 2014, 08:00:37 PM
Sunset shot tonight....
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/04/ysemu8uj.jpg)
Post by: GeoffA on July 06, 2014, 07:34:35 AM
Steve,

The sunset chopper flight over the Olgas and the rock is well worth it.
Post by: Isuzumu on July 06, 2014, 02:14:13 PM
Looking good Steve.
Post by: oldmate on July 06, 2014, 04:33:10 PM
Awesome photo of the rock mate
Post by: Mandrake on July 09, 2014, 05:52:32 PM
Well we are back at Alice to do some repairs..Stayed 2 nights at Palm Valley and didn't take any phone photos sorry ...
But here's two I prepared earlier at KingsCanyon...
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/09/u6y6eta2.jpg)
The Gorge base walk.
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/09/aze9yma5.jpg)
The Canyon walls from below..
We will stay here for a cupladays then meet up with the tour at The Gemtree..
Post by: Terry W4 on July 09, 2014, 06:18:31 PM
Repairs - What have you done?  BTW is there a reason why your phone takes pics with a red drift? Most phone cameras nowadays are about as good as my DSLR.

Post by: Mandrake on July 09, 2014, 08:47:28 PM
Both brake cables have smashed connectors and cable ties destroyed by rocks..Screws holding the Penguins drawer rollers , seat backs and a lot of other plywood stuff have all
pulled away.. There are holes in the boot and camper floor for cables and pipes that were not covered or filled ... I have a bit of upgrading cabinet work to do and a tube of expanding foam stuff to block some holes with...

Post by: speewa158 on July 10, 2014, 12:37:03 PM
Will you be shovelling out the dust to lighten the load    ???      :cheers:
Post by: Kangaron on July 10, 2014, 01:23:42 PM
Just as well it is a Jayco Steve, if it was Chinese this thread would be 10 pages long by now.
Hope you get it sorted.
Post by: Mandrake on July 10, 2014, 05:02:59 PM
Well cleaned up today.. plugged 4 pipe entry holes 50mm !!. Shifted the stone guard back close to boot and got my winder extended 400mm and a hole in stone guard to put it through.. Now I can reach in the boot and not scrape my knuckles when winding...Got more screws from Bunnings and fixed the drawer rails with 6 x18mm screws per side instead of 3x 10mm ..
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/10/e3u5ysub.jpg)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 10, 2014, 08:39:25 PM
Good work Steve, might have to move the rego sticker as it will cop a pounding from stones now

Post by: lino6 on July 10, 2014, 08:50:36 PM
Shoulda got a cordless rattle gun and long socket extension! That would make winding easy! ;D
Post by: Topender on July 10, 2014, 09:13:20 PM
The holes on the bottom of the boot I believe, but don't quote me, are to allow gas to escape in the event of a bottle leak and I'm pretty sure they are a legal requirement. May be worth a bit of research.

Post by: speewa158 on July 13, 2014, 07:34:06 AM
Don't worry about the rego sticker you don't need them anymore  :cheers:
Post by: Mandrake on July 13, 2014, 01:19:59 PM
Said goodbye to all the tour swaggers at Gemtree and made our way slowly back to Alice.. It started raining late last night and hasn't stopped yet.. So we will hole up here for 2 nights then go to Glen Helen for a couple of nights...Here's a pic from our window....
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/13/7uda2ema.jpg)

Gotta say a huge thank you to John and Catie for all their hard work putting this tour together..even though missed a few things it has been a fantastic trip...
M
Post by: Mandrake on July 14, 2014, 11:39:42 PM
OK here's something novel.. We were out at Ormiston Gorge today .. Britz camper van parked next to us . 2 seater  with 4 people 2 blokes up front and 2 girls in the back ( no seatbelts ) but wait there's more !!! The 2 girls had a 20 litre red plastic petrol canister for company !!!!!... Some folks like to live on the edge !!
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/14/rysynaby.jpg)
See the little white dot on the waters edge at left...That's a Pacific Heron .. I took about 40 photos of it while it was fishing ...
Post by: speewa158 on July 15, 2014, 07:41:34 AM
Steve  That's an magic pic of the gourge , its hard to tell where the water starts & finishes  :cheers:
Post by: Mandrake on July 15, 2014, 08:00:47 AM
Cheers Jamie !! Here's another view with part of the Vertical Response Team who just rescued a bloke with a severely fractured ankle.. He was trying to avoid the water crossing to get into the back of the gorge..
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/15/yjy5ytuj.jpg)
Post by: Mandrake on July 17, 2014, 04:33:20 PM
Made it into Port Augusta after an overnighter at Glendambo..
Went to Arrid Lands again ..
Lunch at the RSL tomorrow ..
Here's the shower cloud on its way Northish...
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/17/qy9y2uhu.jpg)
Flying has been cancelled due to wind so no copter photos for a while.
Post by: Mandrake on July 19, 2014, 07:38:12 AM
Got up this morning to pack for the drive to Renmark.  Still in the C.P... Then this happened !!!
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/19/6ytytejy.jpg)
Don't seem to be in the right places at the right time with dawn shots.
Post by: Mandrake on July 19, 2014, 06:04:33 PM
At the Big 4 in Renmark looking for a good sunset .. Didn't happen ..
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/19/7uby4uta.jpg)
Post by: Mandrake on July 23, 2014, 06:02:21 PM
Home now .. Just spent 2 nights at the Pink Lakes.. first night -5 centigrade...
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/23/nugy6y6e.jpg)
Second night way better at +1 centigrade....

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/23/e8a6uju9.jpg)
All the lakes had water and all were pink..
Its been a great adventure ... now to clean up .. get the Penguin back to Jayco for some fixing .. then plan the next weeks away....Mandrake.
From the thing that is also a pjhone
Post by: GeoffA on July 23, 2014, 06:04:05 PM
Home now .. Just spent 2 nights at the Pink Lakes.. first night -5 centigrade...

Second night way better at +1 centigrade....

Not much better here either. :(

Welcome home Steve and Nadia.

Post by: speewa158 on July 23, 2014, 07:39:26 PM
Cold   Cold    Geez   ,    Welcome Home  & it not Warm . You would want to have a really good believable excuse to come back now . Should have been in 40 to 60 days or so when its warmer  . Though not by much  :cheers:
Post by: Mandrake on July 25, 2014, 09:38:54 PM
For those into facts and figures -- We left 14/6 and returned 23/7 that's 39 days ... Did 6660 Kms which cost $1685.18 - cheapest was Alice Springs at $1.789 and worst Oodnadatta at $2.33 !! .. Average consumption DMax style 11.9L/100 Kms mostly towing the 1500 Kg Penguin .. With accomodation it cost us $2500 approx ...
Gotta be happy with that ... All I have to do now is fit new tyres and 4 gas shocks to soften the ride a bit the
Foam ones are a bit too harsh for us oldies !! LOL
Mandrake
Post by: lindamc on July 25, 2014, 09:53:35 PM
Welcome back Steve and Nadia. We have been back a week and it already feels like a lifetime ago!

sent from the small black thing