General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2012 Cape York Members Trip => Topic started by: McGirr on July 11, 2011, 03:33:12 PM

Title: The Itineray
Post by: McGirr on July 11, 2011, 03:33:12 PM
23rd June / 8th July 2012 holidays

Day 1 Sat: Cairns to Lions Den via coast Rd.
We start our great adventure leaving Cairns, time to be advised, and travel along the coast road to the Daintree River. Here we cross the Daintree via the ferry and continue along the coast, through Bloomfield and emerge from the rainforest at the Lions Den Hotel. Overnight Lions Den

Day 2 Sunday:Lions Den Hotel
Spend the day exploring Cooktown, the history and museum. Also the opportunity to meet fellow travellers and go over the trip ahead.

Day 3 Monday:Lions Den via Battlecamp Rd to Archer River.
We leave Cooktown and head via the Battle Camp rd. We will travel to Laura and head up the main rd to Musgrave. From here we travel along the development rd and stop at Coen for fuel and refreshments then continue onto Archer River.
Option. Some members may wish to travel via Lakefield National Park and then join up at Musgrave.   

Day 4 Tuesday: Archer River Roadhouse to Dulhunty River
We head along the Developement Rd to Bramwell Junction. Stop for fuel / lunch and then the adventure begins as we tackle the southern part of the OTL stopping at Dulhunty River. A great camping area with croc free swimming.

Day5 Wednesday: Dulhunty to Twin Falls.
We leave Dulhunty cross Bertie Creek and head towards the mighty Gunshot Creek. After the fun of conquering Gunshot we head towards Cockatoo Creek which is nice and easy and arrive at Twin Falls.

Day 6 Thursday: Twin Falls   
This would have to be the best place at the Cape. There are a number of swimming areas which are croc free.This was the most popular spot from the last trip. 

Day 7 Friday: Twin Falls to Jardine River
We tackle the northern part of the OTL and camp on the Jardine River.

Day 8 Saturday: Jardine River to Seisa
We then head inland back to the Developement Rd across the ferry onto Seisa. 

Day 9-10-11-12 Sunday - Wednesday: Enjoy the Cape
Plenty of time to enjoy what the Cape can offer with bushwalking, fishing, tours and trips to the Islands.Oh and drinking.

Day 13-14-15-16  Wednesday to Sunday:
Options Stay another day at the Cape or explore Vrilya Point in the Gulf. The choice is yours as on the last trip everyone wanted to explore in different groups.

As per the last trip this intinerary can change depending on the road conditions.

Thats what makes the Cape such an adventure the uncertainty of what to expect and the challenge of taking it on.
Title: Re: The Itineray
Post by: Rod Camping on July 11, 2011, 05:20:07 PM
Have the dates changed? I thought it was going to be in the June/July school holidays?

If it was in the September school holidays it would much better for us.

The intinery looks great, depending on work I will be there minus the bells.

Cheers Rod.... 8) :cheers:
Post by: Symon on July 11, 2011, 05:30:28 PM
I reckon we should go in March.
Post by: Rod Camping on July 11, 2011, 05:55:56 PM
I reckon we should go in March.

A bit ealry for us and I reckon most vehicles unless they are Nissan badged will get through.

Cheers Rod.... ;D
Post by: dooguss on July 11, 2011, 07:56:04 PM
sounds good to us dates wont be an issue casue we.re  cancelling all holidays next year to do this trip.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 11, 2011, 07:58:42 PM
Dates loook good to me as well, just need to book my long service leave and then work out the way to go up and back, how many sleeps ;D

Post by: dooguss on July 11, 2011, 08:18:30 PM
447  sleeps GG but i;m not counting yet  ;D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 11, 2011, 08:28:42 PM
447  sleeps GG but i;m not counting yet  ;D

I might do a few all nighters, that means a few less to count >:D

Post by: McGirr on July 11, 2011, 08:39:20 PM
Sorry  guys it's the June / July holidays. I will have to start drinking again !!!

Post by: mystq on July 11, 2011, 08:41:39 PM
Just hope i can all the days off work I need, long way from Tassie :)
Post by: dooguss on July 11, 2011, 09:20:57 PM
just means less sleeps now   :D :D
Post by: idlegossip on July 11, 2011, 09:32:34 PM
For all travelling from Victoria you will need to allow 4-5 days of decent driving just to get to Cairns. And if you are planning on a stopover at Emerald prebook accomodation as it is very hard to get when you roll up due to the mine workers and motels are an absolute rip off.
Post by: Bird on July 11, 2011, 09:52:00 PM
Quote from: idlegossip
For all travelling from Victoria you will need to allow 4-5 days of decent driving just to get to Cairns. And if you are planning on a stopover at Emerald prebook accomodation as it is very hard to get when you roll up due to the mine workers and motels are an absolute rip off.
Im waitin till they sort out what month it is before I put in for holidays and shiz.  ;D
Post by: bert56 on July 12, 2011, 09:40:08 AM
I'm in.

Bert
Post by: WogsRus on July 12, 2011, 09:53:09 AM
You buggas, i will see you on the way back down, we will be there one month ahead of you guys
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2011, 10:12:14 AM
You buggas, i will see you on the way back down, we will be there one month ahead of you guys
Your our scout ;)
Post by: jaycamrie on July 13, 2011, 07:07:23 PM
no chance of throwing mellville on that itinery ???
Post by: McGirr on July 13, 2011, 08:34:24 PM
no chance of throwing mellville on that itinery ???

It's a very rough track to get there and can get very windy. But other members can add a trip on after the Cape.

Post by: WeLDIN on July 19, 2011, 09:14:27 AM
It's a very rough track to get there and can get very windy. But other members can add a trip on after the Cape.

has anyone done bathurst bay/ cape melville?? i'd love to see a bit of a report on the area to see if it's worth the extra effort on our trip next year.

AJ
Post by: jaycamrie on July 19, 2011, 02:47:56 PM
has anyone done bathurst bay/ cape melville?? i'd love to see a bit of a report on the area to see if it's worth the extra effort on our trip next year.

AJ
we will be doing it next year if all goes well, on the way up or down not sure yet
Post by: Diksta on October 31, 2011, 07:49:22 PM
i will look at putting in leave tomorrow
Post by: trekkn on November 28, 2011, 11:55:26 PM
oh yeah cant wait  ;D
Post by: bert56 on December 16, 2011, 05:45:31 AM
Hi Mark,

If you split us into 2 groups, what will the itineray be for the second group?

Any chance of driving through Lakefield next year? I wouldn't mind seeing crocs in the wild but from a safe distance.

I would like to be able to do a bit more fishing next year.

Is there anywhere the whole lot of us could camp together for a night before the OTL?

Bert
Post by: McGirr on December 16, 2011, 06:48:59 AM
Bert

I have yet to decide how I will do the groups. We will all be camping together before the otl at archer river .

You can do lake field next year as it meets up at Musgrave.

Mate you can fish as much as you like you decide

Post by: duggie on December 16, 2011, 06:52:47 AM
Hi Mark,
I would like to have a yarn with you about an idea I have for next years trip. RE the big numbers going. Could you pm me your phone noumber or call me on 0439962280.
cheers duggie.
Post by: jaycamrie on December 16, 2011, 08:36:39 AM
Hi Mark,

Any chance of driving through Lakefield next year? I wouldn't mind seeing crocs in the wild but from a safe distance.

Is there anywhere the whole lot of us could camp together for a night before the OTL?

Bert
I wanna do cape melville , I wanna do cape melville ,I wanna do cape melville
Post by: McGirr on December 16, 2011, 11:17:16 AM
I wanna do cape melville , I wanna do cape melville ,I wanna do cape melville

It's along rough drive in and gets very windy on the coast, but you are more than welcome to drive up and have a look. It's a 2 day drive from Cooktown to get there.

Post by: McGirr on December 16, 2011, 03:06:59 PM
Due to the large group going I may adjust the itineray. I have modified information below.

Day 1 Sat: Cairns to Lions Den via coast Rd.
We start our great adventure leaving Cairns, time to be advised, and travel along the coast road to the Daintree River. Here we cross the Daintree via the ferry and continue along the coast, through Bloomfield and emerge from the rainforest at the Lions Den Hotel. Overnight Lions Den  Plenty of room for everyone to camp

Day 2 Sunday:Lions Den Hotel
Spend the day exploring Cooktown, the history and museum. Also the opportunity to meet fellow travellers and go over the trip ahead.

Day 3 Monday:Lions Den via Battlecamp Rd to Archer River.
We leave Cooktown and head via the Battle Camp rd. We will travel to Laura and head up the main rd to Musgrave. From here we travel along the development rd and stop at Coen for fuel and refreshments then continue onto Archer River. Plenty of room for everyone to camp
Option. Some members may wish to travel via Lakefield National Park and then join up at Musgrave.   

Day 4 Tuesday: Archer River Roadhouse to Dulhunty River
We head along the Developement Rd to Bramwell Junction. Stop for fuel / lunch and then the adventure begins as we tackle the southern part of the OTL stopping at Dulhunty River. A great camping area with croc free swimming. This will be tricky as it depends on who else is there. we could be lucky and all fit in as there are numerous camps on both sides. 

Day5 Wednesday: Dulhunty to Twin Falls.
We leave Dulhunty cross Bertie Creek and head towards the mighty Gunshot Creek. After the fun of conquering Gunshot we head towards Cockatoo Creek which is nice and easy and arrive at Twin Falls.
This will also depend on who else is there camping but there also is camping spots across the creek.

Day 6 Thursday: Twin Falls   
This would have to be the best place at the Cape. There are a number of swimming areas which are croc free.This was the most popular spot from the last trip. 

No problem here as there are plenty of spots.

Day 8 Saturday: Jardine River to Seisa
We then head inland back to the Developement Rd across the ferry onto Seisa. 

Day 9-10-11-Sunday - Tuesday: Enjoy the Cape
Plenty of time to enjoy what the Cape can offer with bushwalking, fishing, tours and trips to the Islands.Oh and drinking.

Day 12-13-14-15-16  Wednesday to Sunday:
Options Stay another day at the Cape or explore Vrilya Point in the Gulf. The choice is yours as on the last trip everyone wanted to explore in different groups.

As mentioned finding places will depend on what other campers are there but we only have 2 places that we will be in this position. All other places are fine. Also if members wish to camp in other places or go ahead that is ok as its your holiday. We may break up into small groups as when doing the OTL i normally send peole forward so we dont bunch up.

I will be discussing options with J.K, Symon and Duggie further down the track.

Post by: jaycamrie on December 20, 2011, 09:48:39 AM
Hi Mark,

Bert
Bert i am a  pretty keen fisho might be able to split up a bit  on the way up or back head to the coast , see what happens
Post by: bert56 on December 20, 2011, 11:24:40 AM
Bert i am a  pretty keen fisho might be able to split up a bit  on the way up or back head to the coast , see what happens
I'm pretty sure there will be a few others keen to do some fishing out of 30 odd vehicles.

Maybe someone will take a tinny or we can hire one at Seisa if need be.

Bert
Post by: hen on December 20, 2011, 05:27:46 PM
Pete and I are mad on fishing and will be taking our Tinny
Jayne
Post by: Symon on December 20, 2011, 07:39:34 PM
Unfortunately the reality is that we really don't know how many will be coming along until we all meet up in Cairns, so it is too early to lock in the plans as yet.
Post by: cewilson on January 04, 2012, 12:00:58 AM
Looking at that itinerary I will be lucky enough to catch up with you all at the Lions Den, Twin Falls and up at the Tip.  We are combining a work trip (Weipa, Scheger, Thursday Is) with a family holiday (4 kids under 10), so if you see a Landrover Defender towing a Trak Shak please come and say g'day to us.

Our itinerary is below if anyone is interested in the return leg.

Chris

Day             Date              Origin                               via                      Destination                     Km's
Friday           22-Jun-12         Townsville                     Cardwell                 Cairns                            350
Saturday       23-Jun-12         Cairns                           Black Mountain Rd   Lions Den Hotel              360
Sunday         24-Jun-12         Lions Den Hotel             Cooktown                Laura River                     170
Monday         25-Jun-12         Laura River                   Lakefield N.P           Musgrave Roadhouse       162
Tuesday        26-Jun-12         Musgrave Roadhouse     Coen                       Scherger                         370
Wednesday   27-Jun-12          Scherger                      Weipa                      Scherger                         50
Thursday       28-Jun-12         Scherger                      Batavia Downs         Twin Falls                        260
Friday           29-Jun-12         Twin Falls                                                     Twin Falls                       50
Saturday       30-Jun-12         Twin Falls                     Jardine River             Loyalty Beach                 130
Sunday         1-Jul-12            Loyalty Beach                Tip                         Loyalty Beach                  100
Monday         2-Jul-12            Loyalty Beach               Thursday Island        Loyalty Beach                  40
Tuesday        3-Jul-12            Loyalty Beach               Jardine River           Captain Billy Landing        200
Wednesday    4-Jul-12           Captain Billy Landing     Frenchmans Track   Chilli Beach                      300
Thursday       5-Jul-12           Chilli Beach                   Lockhart River         Archer River Roadhouse   180
Friday            6-Jul-12           Archer River Roadhouse Coen                      Laura                              320
Saturday        7-Jul-12           Laura                           Mareeba                 Lake Tinaroo                    270
Sunday          8-Jul-12           Atherton                       Innisfail                  Townsville                       350
Post by: Diksta on January 15, 2012, 08:16:28 PM

Hey Mark,

have been going over the map, on the above day, do we veer left at Fruit bat Falls to the ferry or is there a access track from the southern side of the river to the ferry, my map doesn't show it if there is, so does that mean we will be taking the bamaga access road to the ferry?

thanks

Diksta
Post by: jaycamrie on January 15, 2012, 08:43:21 PM
I'm pretty sure there will be a few others keen to do some fishing out of 30 odd vehicles.

Maybe someone will take a tinny or we can hire one at Seisa if need be.

Bert
just bought a 3.7quintrex a fishing we will go  ;D
Post by: Diksta on January 15, 2012, 08:46:03 PM
just bought a 3.7quintrex a fishing we will go  ;D

dibs on Jaycamrie as a fishing buddy.....

just watching some you tube clips

http://youtu.be/NY0p0rYMCAQ (http://youtu.be/NY0p0rYMCAQ)

he has his porta bote on, still don't think i will be taking mine, well i know i won't be
Post by: Symon on January 16, 2012, 06:21:47 AM
have been going over the map, on the above day, do we veer left at Fruit bat Falls to the ferry or is there a access track from the southern side of the river to the ferry, my map doesn't show it if there is, so does that mean we will be taking the bamaga access road to the ferry?

From memory after you do Nolan's Brook you can turn left to meet up with the development road which will take you to the ferry, or you can continue straight ahead and it will take you to the Jardine a bit south of the old crossing.
Post by: McGirr on January 16, 2012, 08:24:31 AM
From memory after you do Nolan's Brook you can turn left to meet up with the development road which will take you to the ferry, or you can continue straight ahead and it will take you to the Jardine a bit south of the old crossing.

There are 2 bypass tracks to the development rd off the otl. One after Sams Creek and one after Nolans Creek.

The last night on the otl we camp at the Jardine and backtrack to the bypass rd.

Post by: Malcur on February 21, 2012, 10:21:56 PM
Mark,

The itinerary has us getting to the tip. What are your thoughts on the return trip?

Mal
Post by: jaycamrie on February 22, 2012, 05:19:11 AM
We will be going to Vrilya point and the wife wants to have a look at Wiepa i would not mind looking at Elim beach aswell
Post by: McGirr on February 22, 2012, 07:03:00 AM
Mark,

The itinerary has us getting to the tip. What are your thoughts on the return trip?

Mal

On the return trip members can do whatever they like. Most trips people head off in small groups with new friends.

Post by: bert56 on February 22, 2012, 11:00:46 AM
I have similar thoughts as you Jaycamrie.

We will have to see if there are any others wishing to go to Vrilya Point, etc.

Bert
Post by: dooguss on February 22, 2012, 02:50:01 PM
we'll be keen to see which way everyone is going back... but we will be of to weipa then home through Richmond and inland back to brisbane.
Post by: McGirr on February 22, 2012, 06:29:22 PM

There is a short cut to Weipa through Batavia downs. You can travel from Seisia to Weipa in a day. There is a woolworths and the only caravan park is just a short walk from there. Good fishing in the rivers and they hire boats at the van park.

Post by: jaycamrie on February 22, 2012, 07:25:22 PM
weipa also has mine tours if thats your thing and pennefarther river is only a day trip from weipa well worth a look at
Post by: Victim on February 22, 2012, 07:30:56 PM
Yep im keen, we were planning to go at around that time anyway and we were going without any other vehicles so it will be good to know there will be help if we need it!!

Cant wait!!!!!!

Bring on the Cape  ;D
Post by: dooguss on February 22, 2012, 08:09:26 PM
Leanne has family there do dropping into see him and also go and check out his favorite fishing spots
Post by: gclan on March 04, 2012, 09:43:52 PM
Just a heads up for those wanting to go out to Cape Melville, the DERM website says that it's not likely to re-open until August. You may want to cross fingers and hope for a short wet season.
Post by: jclures on March 05, 2012, 08:09:50 AM
So far I would have to say, what wet season.
Post by: gclan on March 05, 2012, 09:42:14 AM
jclures - lets hope you're still saying that come June/July.

I think your wet season has been diverted south.
Post by: disco1 on March 07, 2012, 02:36:06 PM

You can count me in re trips to Vrilya point, Weipa, Elim beach, and anywhere else if you want some company.

Mauri.
Post by: McGirr on March 07, 2012, 05:26:47 PM

You can count me in re trips to Vrilya point, Weipa, Elim beach, and anywhere else if you want some company.

Mauri.

Mauri

Bert's gets lonely at night and would love some company  ;D

On a serious note a lot of members will look at different spots on the way back and the more the merrier.

Post by: hen on March 07, 2012, 08:40:53 PM
We have never been this fair up north and would also love to go to Vrilya point, Weipa and Elim beach so would also love travel with others.  It will be terrific to meet so many other people who are keen on camping, 4 wheel driving, fishing, hiking and photography.  For us it will be ONE whole month without work and that is fantastic. 
Jayne & Peter
Post by: McGirr on March 07, 2012, 08:49:16 PM

After I take every one along the tough OTL track you will want a holiday to get over it !!  ;D

Post by: disco1 on March 08, 2012, 08:03:48 AM

Do we roll up and take a chance for a site or have to book in asap.

Mauri   
Post by: McGirr on March 08, 2012, 10:51:21 AM

Do we roll up and take a chance for a site or have to book in asap.

Mauri

For what areas !!

Post by: MrCruza on March 09, 2012, 10:56:44 PM
Wednesday 4th July is State of Origin night..  Might have to stay another night   :cup:
Post by: McGirr on March 10, 2012, 08:14:24 AM
Wednesday 4th July is State of Origin night..  Might have to stay another night   :cup:

Last year we drove to archer river roadhouse and watched it on a big tv at the bar. Gee we drank !!

Post by: barraboy on March 12, 2012, 12:30:34 PM
I remember being a bit wobbly on the way back to the Tent. Yogis and Tims fault for leading me astray. Where was the revovery team when I needed them.
Post by: bert56 on March 12, 2012, 05:22:51 PM
I thought I'd just grab my stretcher and visit you Mark when I was lonely.

Bert