Author Topic: Newby from the redlands  (Read 4772 times)

Offline benben86

Newby from the redlands
« on: September 07, 2015, 09:53:06 AM »
Hi everyone. Mrs and I and the 2 kids have done a lot of camping, but with the tent and camp beds due for replacement, we have decided the time has come to upgrade to something a little bit more comfy. We are currently leaning towards a camper trailer, mainly due to our fairly small budget ($4000 at this stage) but need to do some more research. I have learnt a lot from this forum already and hope to learn even more.
Cheers!
Ben

Re: Newby from the redlands
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2015, 10:00:02 AM »
Hey Ben - welcome aboard!

Your right - lots of friendly and helpful myswaggers on this forum...

So it looks like you are in for some good times being able to now put your mind towards CT research...

As I am sure you know already - the shows at the RNA; (and I think one is coming up in the Redlands?) - are about the best resources for research and price comparisons; etc...

How good will that be?   When you finally have your CT - and you and family are off on a trip just a short distance from home - say to Moreton or Straddie......     noice!!

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2015, 11:27:10 AM »
G'day Ben and welcome to myswag.  Good luck in your CT search

Offline benben86

« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2015, 05:40:06 PM »
Thanks for the welcome. I will definitely be attending the show at the rna, but can't find anymore info on the one in the redlands.  You don't happen to know the dates?

Both beautiful spots Moreton and straddie, and hopefully many more comfortable trips to both in the future.

Now i just need to convince the Mrs we need a bigger boat as well.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2015, 06:06:11 PM »
Welcome to myswag Ben an family go luck with your search
For a new camper

CHEERS  GRC   :cheers:

Offline Mangrovematt

« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2015, 06:28:57 PM »
Hi Ben and welcome
We too are a family of x4, picked up a great preloved camper in that price range off Gumtree, gets us out there to both Moreton and Straddie etc, kicking ourselves we didn't invest earlier,
 Basecamp may have been referring to the Expo that was just on at Cleveland recently,
Good luck  with the research ,it's part of the fun
LC 79 Dual cab ,  Camel beachcomber x4 humps

Offline Mangrovematt

« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2015, 06:34:07 PM »
Sorry my bad,
Cleveland outdoor expo is Sept 25 to 27
www.clevelandexpo.com.au
LC 79 Dual cab ,  Camel beachcomber x4 humps

Offline benben86

« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2015, 07:18:03 PM »
Yeah nice one, thanks mate. I'll be sure to check it out. We definitely need to go and climb in a few to work out what suits our needs.

That's great matt. Exactly what we plan to do. I have looked at a lot on Gumtree, but need to get stuck into that research to work out what we need/want/desire.

We thought about hiring a few trailers but they seem to cost a bloody fortune. Money that's better spent on our own camper.

« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2015, 08:48:54 PM »
Welcome to the show mate, good to see another member in the Redlands  :cup: , hope you enjoy your time with us   :cheers:

John K

Offline Trailer Bloke

• You never know what's around the corner
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2015, 10:51:39 AM »
G'day mate good luck on your C T search enjoy the forum.

« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2015, 06:21:18 AM »
Welcome to the forum Ben, good luck on the search for a camper

Offline mjharps

« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2015, 06:37:18 AM »
Welcome Ben! Enjoy myswag.
mjharps

« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2015, 08:36:04 AM »

« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2015, 03:32:02 PM »
Welcome Ben and good luck with the CT search.  I'm sure you will get more than enough good advise on this site.

Offline benben86

« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2015, 04:05:42 PM »
Thanks everyone for the welcome. After heaps of research and time spent looking at, and trying different trailers and vans we have decided to increase our budget and go for a jayco dove. Heaps of room for us all, fairly easy setup and suits our lifestyle perfectly. There are some fantastic threads and posters on here that have helped us make our decision.

« Reply #15 on: October 12, 2015, 04:32:15 PM »
Well done...................looking forward to some photos when it arrives  :cup: