Author Topic: Introducing bergersau  (Read 3856 times)

Offline bergersau

Introducing bergersau
« on: January 01, 2015, 03:09:56 PM »
I've been lurking for several months now and finally gotten around  to signing up.

I've just purchased my first camper trailer back in Nov '14 and will be heading off with the wife and 2 x boys on 3rd Jan for it's first run.

We'll be primarily in caravan parks - at least initially, as we tend to go away with my scuba club to Victorian coastal sites.

Going on advice from my brother and after extensive forum browsing I avoided new Chinese campers and bought a local (though unfortunately now extinct) brand - XTrail. 
Namely their entry level soft floor, Xtrail Xplorer DLX model with the 12 foot tent.

This one is 2010 vintage and looks to have done only around 5000km going by the condition of the undercarriage, wheels and tyres.

So far I've added a kit of 4 knock off 'korr' style LED light strips from ebay, a Hayman Reece tongue and ball to mount for the kids bike rack and a decent 240v charger.

Re: Introducing bergersau
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2015, 04:35:17 PM »
G'day mate and welcome to myswag.  Glad you could join our happy, little group.

Congrats on the CT  :cup:  Looks like a good setup

« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2015, 07:00:04 PM »
G'day and welcome. ;D Top looking camper you have there mate :cup:

« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2015, 08:23:19 PM »
Welcome aboard mate about time you come out of the bushes ;D

You will have to try and come along to one of our Vic meets, don't let the wagon hold you back some of them are 2wd friendly. Good luck on the first outing and don't forget to take the camera :cheers:

Introducing bergersau
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2015, 08:31:55 PM »
Welcome bergersau, great to have you on board and congrats on the new camper.  Definitely try and come to one of our myswag soirĂ©es. With your scuba diving skill, you'll fit in really well.  We have many fine swaggers who dive (usually forward off their camp chairs).
Tends to be late at night.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2015, 08:34:09 PM by scarpsD40 »

« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2015, 08:46:10 PM »
We have many fine swaggers who dive (usually forward off their camp chairs).
:cup: :cup: :cup:   Yep and that said one I reckon is about to post ;D

Offline bergersau

« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2015, 09:38:09 PM »
We have many fine swaggers who dive (usually forward off their camp chairs).

I resemble that comment!  :cheers:

This CT is the answer to a trashed ripstop tent during Melbourne Cup weekend at Wilsons Prom. 
Packing up in rain and wind gusting to 120Km/h was not fun, nor was the drive home that night.
I'd prefer not to subject the wife and kids to that again.
I'm hoping that this should withstand coastal conditions better...

Online GGV8Cruza

« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2015, 06:55:54 PM »
Welcome to the forum, a great step up from the tent, I am sure the wife and kids will enjoy the camper as much as you. Which dive club are you with?

« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2015, 07:24:51 PM »
Welcome mate :cheers:

Offline bergersau

« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2015, 10:24:41 AM »
Welcome to the forum, a great step up from the tent, I am sure the wife and kids will enjoy the camper as much as you. Which dive club are you with?

Thanks Cruza, we gave it a good shakedown run down to Warrnambool just after new years and had no real problems.  Just a couple of minor teething niggles.
I needed 3 more annex poles and some better pegs..

I dive with  BRUDG - Black Rock Underwater Dive Group
www.brudg.org.au
The website is not updated all that regularly but the last edition of the magazine that has been uploaded to the site shows what we get up to.  Most of our member communication is via private email lists rather the the website and the mag is being put out on a bi-monthly basis at the moment by yours truly.

Offline michael56

« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2015, 07:27:34 AM »
Welcome bergersau like you CT you will find it a big step up from the tent.
Cheers  :cheers:
Michael
Bushranger Off Road camper hauled by a Landrover Defender TD5 Wagon