Author Topic: Long time lurker, first time poster  (Read 4899 times)

Offline biggles1024

Long time lurker, first time poster
« on: December 17, 2011, 06:18:58 PM »
Hi swaggers,

I've lurking here for some time and have learned a lot. I don't own a ct but hope to in the near future.
I won't be going on any camping holidays, at least not in the short term. My sport is target shooting and each year several clubs hold Open competitions which members of other clubs throughout the state, Victoria in my case as well as interstate are invited to compete. They are a lot of fun and are one step up the competition hierarchy than club level competitions. All but one of the country clubs that hold opens allow camping at their respective ranges and I've found that camping suits me much more than staying in some flea pit of a motel. Ultimately camping also works out cheaper. :D

I'm using a dome tent purchased from K-Mart for the princely sum of $35.00. It withstood 14mm at Yackandandah last weekend with only a small amount of water seeping past the very lightweight zip. I expected that as that happened when I had the tent in my backyard for a week about three months ago. It has already saved me around $400.00 in motel bills so I'm well in front.

A ct I think, would be much more suitable than a tent even if only because it would allow me to take a bit more 'stuff' with me and allow me to pack on say the Thursday night before I leave for the following weekend which would sensational.

Looking forward to picking everyone's brains even more than I already have by lurking.

Mark.

Re: Long time lurker, first time poster
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2011, 06:25:50 PM »
G'day Mark
Heh mate it does'nt matter how you get out there!!!!!!!!!!!
You're getting out there.Enjoy the forum.

« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2011, 07:49:43 PM »
Welcome biggles.

Good to see another firearms fraternity member.

mace.

« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2011, 08:17:16 PM »
Welcome to myswag  biggles

« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2011, 08:55:24 PM »
G'day Mark and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2011, 09:15:11 PM »
Welcome to the Swag :D

Offline Newsman

« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2011, 11:40:04 PM »

Mark, I'd suggest that most all of us started in tents... after all, that's all there was 'back then'! ;D

« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2011, 05:55:42 AM »
Welcome

« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2011, 06:01:58 AM »
Welcome to myswag, mmm guns 8)

« Reply #9 on: December 18, 2011, 08:45:29 AM »
Hi Mark to My Swag

« Reply #10 on: December 18, 2011, 08:04:25 PM »
Hi Mark and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #11 on: December 19, 2011, 06:08:06 PM »
What type of camper are you looking at getting later on?

Offline biggles1024

« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2011, 01:34:55 PM »
Hi guys,

Thanks for the warm welcome.  :cheers:

So much has changed since I bought my original camping equipment so I have much to re-learn. This time last year, I'd never even heard the term "dome tent".  ::) Camping lighting has changed markedly from gas lanterns and I've spotted portable gas stoves with piezo ignition.  8)

And now there is much to learn about camper trailers and all that goes with them, but its all good and I'm enjoying this learning experience. :D

b.

Offline biggles1024

« Reply #13 on: December 20, 2011, 01:41:08 PM »
What type of camper are you looking at getting later on?

What I need, as opposed to what I'd like is a basic on-road ct. I don't need a kitchen or a water tank, just a bed, somewhere to stand to change clothes and somewhere to sit under cover in the evenings. I need to keep the weight of the trailer down so that I can move it around at home without aggravating an old back injury. Pushing the trailer between the carport posts into my backyard so the tent may be erected to dry out for when I'm forced to break camp with wet canvas is an important consideration.

I've reached the capacity of my Fairmont sedan and can't even contemplate a new and bigger canvas tent without either  a trailer to cart all in the gear in, something like Jeep did in the beginning if you've read his ct thread or change over my car to a station wagon, ute or tray. My car is due to be changed next year so I have much to consider... would be nice to get back into a 4x4. I've had a Landcruiser and a Hilux in the past..  8)

b

Offline Tracey family

« Reply #14 on: December 20, 2011, 02:24:54 PM »
Hi and welcome to my swag!  :D

:cheers: Glenyse

Offline toad

« Reply #15 on: December 20, 2011, 02:46:57 PM »
What I need, as opposed to what I'd like is a basic on-road ct. I don't need a kitchen or a water tank, just a bed, somewhere to stand to change clothes and somewhere to sit under cover in the evenings. I need to keep the weight of the trailer down so that I can move it around at home without aggravating an old back injury. Pushing the trailer between the carport posts into my backyard so the tent may be erected to dry out for when I'm forced to break camp with wet canvas is an important consideration.
b
Welcome b1024. I've resisted saying "go ahead, make my day"
 Have a look at the smaller Cub trailers.
They're light, well built and have good resale.
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

Offline aussieducker

Long time lurker, first time poster
« Reply #16 on: December 20, 2011, 02:56:20 PM »
I too am a lurker and have decided to get more involved. Good luck choosing a camper
2013 Ford Ranger
Lifestyle Reconn Hypercamper