Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 319800 times)

Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #450 on: July 11, 2019, 07:07:25 AM »
ha ha ha, yeah, you could have a point there

« Reply #451 on: July 11, 2019, 09:56:59 AM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Been dead as doornail for years now..... time to kill it and put it out of its misery.
actually watching the game last night i got bored.. No biff... and just too  much of the same thing.. 1 out charge.. 2 passes charge... 1 out charge... etc etc Was more like watching a normal round of NRL than the flagship game.

« Reply #452 on: July 11, 2019, 11:04:20 AM »
Can't expect a SoO game to be too different to a normal NRL game as far as how they play the game as that is what is flogged into them week in and week out. The key difference is the intensity and efforts that some of the players were putting in.

After watching Ethan Lowes effort last night I will be astounded if Wayne Bennet doesn't give him a go at Souths. He was everywhere along with DCE. The commentators were raving about Munster but if it wasn't for Lowe and DCE they were shot.

Even though it pains me to say it NSW did a Qld to Qld in the last minute. I was devastated as I thought the shield was coming home  :'(

« Reply #453 on: July 11, 2019, 11:28:28 AM »
T'was the 1st time I've watched something else while SoO was on and that was the cricket.
So good to see the Kiwis get up against the Indians in a close game.
I noticed a couple of Indian fans wearing "Stars and Stripes" baseball caps. Would they be regarded as "American Indians"?

« Reply #454 on: July 11, 2019, 11:55:38 AM »
Quote from: Rodt
Can't expect a SoO game to be too different to a normal NRL game as far as how they play the game as that is what is flogged into them week in and week out. The key difference is the intensity and efforts that some of the players were putting in.
but it used to be different... maybe rose coloured again, SOO back in the 80s was mad something you'd look forward to watching.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ghKVoDp1ltk
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOReQkHWhLdDTJsXljLRdug/featured

« Reply #455 on: July 12, 2019, 05:18:23 AM »
I know mate and I agree and I am also a self-confessed 80s tragic and I reckon the rose coloured glasses are fine  :cup:

Would love to see the backline of Alfie Langer, Wally Lewis, Mal Meninga, Gene Miles, Kerry Boustead running around again  8)

As I referred to in my earlier post seeing the efforts of someone like Ethan Lowe (who can't even get a start in Souths top side) rip in like he did gives me hope though that it is not all lost. Everyone raves about the flashy backs but good hard play from the forwards gives me great pleasure to watch

« Reply #456 on: August 05, 2019, 03:02:11 PM »
Is it legal to pick up fallen timber at the side of the road, or not ???

BiL & his Mrs have just come home from a weeks trip at https://www.bushcamping.com.au/ (which they reckon is a pretty awesome spot, by the way! :D).

While there, each day they had their usual morning walk out along the road, & picked up wood for the fire.

One day, the lady running the Park mentioned to them that it's actually illegal to do that, & that the :police: in the area have booked people for doing so :o

NB Not in a National Park, or over a fence into private property, just sticks & branches that have fallen & are lying on the roadside.

« Reply #457 on: August 05, 2019, 03:27:56 PM »
Is it legal to pick up fallen timber at the side of the road, or not ???

Not allowed on major highways in Vic, and many local government areas do not allow roadside collection.

« Reply #458 on: August 09, 2019, 09:10:40 AM »
Sitting next to Brian Brown in the Virgin lounge this morning wondering, how do they relax with all the eyes following them around the room?

« Reply #459 on: August 09, 2019, 03:31:51 PM »
Just looking at something on FleaBay & noticed an ad for these:
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/68kg-Locking-Drawer-Slides-Runners-350-800mm-Trailer-4WD-4X4-Fridge-/253991313458

Thinking of putting a fridge slide in the back of the Territory so had a look.

Please have a look at the photo of the Engel on these slides part way down the page.

Aren't they fastened the wrong way around / inside out ???

Shouldn't the draw base be fastened to the extension part of the runner that we can see ???

Offline corndog

« Reply #460 on: August 09, 2019, 03:57:00 PM »
Doesnt look like that slide is actually fixed down to anything as I dont see any fixing screws, but it could be fixed in another way. If you look to the far right of the pic there is another slide you can see that it could pair with. The fridge slide on the far left looks like it is smaller than the middle one. I can't  see how it would work that way if part of the fridge slide. Maybe just sat there for a picture. That's  how it looks to me and I have my glasses on.
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #461 on: August 09, 2019, 08:37:26 PM »
Should the mods just shut down the electrical thread and be done with it?

« Reply #462 on: August 09, 2019, 08:43:04 PM »

:cup: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #463 on: August 10, 2019, 12:33:12 PM »
why is LPG for cars so expensive in perth... servo up the road from the office was 99.9!

« Reply #464 on: August 10, 2019, 12:41:01 PM »

Nope. It's the best entertainment on the forum.....

« Reply #465 on: August 10, 2019, 01:01:48 PM »

and every other camping/4wd/caravanning forum as well....

« Reply #466 on: August 10, 2019, 01:57:03 PM »
Just looking at something on FleaBay & noticed an ad for these:
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/68kg-Locking-Drawer-Slides-Runners-350-800mm-Trailer-4WD-4X4-Fridge-/253991313458

Thinking of putting a fridge slide in the back of the Territory so had a look.

Please have a look at the photo of the Engel on these slides part way down the page.

Aren't they fastened the wrong way around / inside out ???

Shouldn't the draw base be fastened to the extension part of the runner that we can see ???

This one?

You're right. You'd have a tough time sliding that back in.
Unless it just looks that way because there are 2 sets of tracks side by side and they have also slid out the one with no draw for demonstration purposes.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2019, 02:00:58 PM by Hoyks »

« Reply #467 on: August 10, 2019, 05:27:51 PM »
"The what's making news" (USA gun debate) thread isn't far behind it. 

Offline bkim

« Reply #468 on: August 10, 2019, 10:47:09 PM »
This one?

You're right. You'd have a tough time sliding that back in.
Unless it just looks that way because there are 2 sets of tracks side by side and they have also slid out the one with no draw for demonstration purposes.

I'm probably wrong! but the Engel almost looks like it could be on a modified genuine Engel slide, on them, the tray the fridge is on, slides out, not racks on the side.
As Hoyks said the empty rack is not giving you a proper view of the slide the fridge is on, so it is very hard to see if they have somehow fitted the engel tray section to different slides

http://www.engelaustralia.com.au/2products_details_pid_13_productid_21400.html
« Last Edit: August 10, 2019, 11:05:02 PM by bkim »

« Reply #469 on: August 13, 2019, 12:34:18 PM »
when will people learn drink driving is ****ed

Police called to this one on the weekend on Mickleham Road. Car crashed through a fence and occupants did a runner. Said occupants located soon after at a bus stop waiting for a bus.

Driver told police he lost control while sculling beer. Learner driver subsequently blew .107.

Driver was refused bail and remanded in custody on 17 charges including handle stolen goods, drink driving, dangerous driving, committing indictable offences on bail, breaching bail conditions, leave scene of collision ....

« Reply #470 on: August 13, 2019, 06:53:46 PM »
Because drinking is part of the Australian Culture, apparently

« Reply #471 on: August 16, 2019, 11:29:11 AM »
While watching the  Sydney stabbing frenzy, did you notice all of the strong, independent, fearless, females stepping up and putting their lives on the line to help stop the knife wielding maniac?

this style

No. Me neither.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2019, 11:31:05 AM by Bird »

« Reply #472 on: August 16, 2019, 11:38:36 AM »
What’s the weather like in Brisbane?
After a few days in southern NZ for work I am ready for some nice warm sunshine.

« Reply #473 on: August 16, 2019, 12:01:57 PM »
About 40 ks North-West of Brissie. Not too sure about the rain forecast!

« Reply #474 on: August 16, 2019, 12:02:49 PM »
What’s the weather like in Brisbane?
After a few days in southern NZ for work I am ready for some nice warm sunshine.

It’s bloody terrible....

Oh wait, you’re not one of those fare weather friends coming to annoy us.
It’s just as you’d expect it to be around here.... ;)