Author Topic: Advice sought re hybrid campers/caravans  (Read 5331 times)

Offline Bigpickle

Advice sought re hybrid campers/caravans
« on: October 12, 2021, 09:16:34 PM »
I am currently looking to buy a hybrid caravan. The bones wont allow bush squatting for the wife or myself much longer and a bit of comfort via diesel heater and aircon would be most welcome.
I am considering a 13' van similar to an MDC Forbes 13 or the Austrak Tanami 13, without those vans being a final choice.
I would be interested to hear from any owner as to their pros and/or cons.
I am in WA.

Re: Advice sought re hybrid campers/caravans
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2021, 07:33:33 PM »
I know 2 who bought 13ft hybrids. They have/are selling as they now want somewhere to sit inside when the weather turns.
Most older ones tend to be able to get away longer than a few days, and discover the odd rainy or cold windy day finds them wanting somewhere to sit inside.
Around the 15ft mark starts to give room enough for seating.

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2021, 09:42:30 PM »
These caught our eye and I stole a few ideas ..  ;D  .https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-6VeQQwZvW4 
The following users thanked this post: NZMarkb

« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2021, 08:41:34 AM »
they now want somewhere to sit inside when the weather turns. Most older ones tend to be able to get away longer than a few days, and discover the odd rainy or cold windy day finds them wanting somewhere to sit inside.

Yep!

We've had ~65mm of rain over the last 3 days & it's been very nice to be able to just shut the door & windows & sit inside, warm, snug & cosy ;D

As has been said before, outside kitchens, showers etc are all OK when it's great weather (apart from the flies, mossies & other bugs that you've got to fight while cooking ::)!), but they're no good at other times :'(

& a hard roof also has canvas well & truly beaten! ;D

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2021, 11:09:41 PM »
While away last month, I met 2 people who had 12 ft hybrid campers.
One had a Jawa for 4 years and finally gave up on trying to seal the dust where the bed slides out of the rear. However they were very happy with Jawa and bought the 15ft 4 months ago and are very happy with it and the extra sealed space.
The other couple have had the almost identical guardian version for 2 years and are having the same dust sealing issues from the rear. They are now trying to push for a refund, but will be getting a larger model.
Sorry not firsthand experience, but they were very adamant that their 12 ft hybrids were a mistake.
Lloyd

Sent from me

Offline Bigpickle

« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2021, 09:26:18 AM »
Thanks for the replies. I went and looked at a Fantasy Caravans 13 footer yesterday and the wife was not able to spend too much time in it. Too claustrophobic, she says.
The 15 footer they had was a bit better but the weights and prices were completely out of whack.
I'll keep looking.

« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2021, 09:31:23 AM »
Quote from: Bigpickle
The 15 footer they had was a bit better but the weights and prices were completely out of whack.
I'll keep looking.
I guess used units these days are nearly as $ as new ones :(

What sort of prices were 13 / 15 fters?

Offline Bigpickle

« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2021, 12:22:06 PM »
In Perth, $54k for 13 and close to $60k for the 15.

« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2021, 01:00:36 PM »
Get in touch with a mob that does fibreglass foam composites and build your own .. sub out a trailer build then assemble on that ..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zS2gG7tmMTs   .Send a design they put it into CAD / cut the panels / flat packed to you .

Offline KeithB

« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2021, 09:16:56 PM »
Maybe wait a year till all of the borders open and the market might well be flooded with cheap second hand units.
Keith
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

Offline McTavish

« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2021, 06:55:23 PM »
These young guys have an Austrack - 11ft'r but gives you an idea.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R2kZbcry-4w
Vacation Camper & McTavish surfboard - what more does a guy need??

« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2021, 07:07:47 PM »
Maybe wait a year till all of the borders open and the market might well be flooded with cheap second hand units.
Keith
I think you’re probably right there.

« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2021, 10:40:58 PM »
Keith
yes and no.

If the country opens up again this lifetime, 1000's will be hitting the road taking on every caravan park and sq ft of campground there is in family./ friend heards..   maybe 12 mths after that when having to move it for the 5th time to mow around them they will sell em

« Reply #13 on: October 19, 2021, 12:10:52 PM »
Had a mate who was in the gulf recently and he reckons the amount of first timers running around who said that they will never do this sort of tripping (with a van) again astounded him.

I reckon once international borders open up and things start moving there will be a number that flog them off and go back to their preferred manner of holidays (hope so as I want my Flight Centre shares to go up). There will then be the others who after having purchased and done their one or two trips will look at these in their driveways and add the $s up that are just sitting there doing nothing who will want to liquidate also

Bring on the bargains  ;D

« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2021, 12:13:26 PM »
They have/are selling as they now want somewhere to sit inside when the weather turns.

Yep. Will happily keep my 20' van for basically this reason. Will probably get a longer one in the next few years so that I have comfort as I drive around the country at 70k/hr blissfully unaware of those around me
The following users thanked this post: davey s

Offline moeite

« Reply #15 on: October 19, 2021, 01:32:40 PM »
Had a mate who was in the gulf recently and he reckons the amount of first timers running around who said that they will never do this sort of tripping (with a van) again astounded him.

We've just got back from a couple of months in SA, NT and WA and the number of times we heard that was astounding. We have a forward fold camper and were asked a number of times "how can you live like that for weeks at a time ?". Usually the people asking the question were in a new looking caravan or camper. I reckon that when the dust settles a bit they'll have them on the market quick smart.
Mark F...
VK3KW
2002 Discovery 2 Td5 auto
2004 Outback Sturt rear fold soft floor
Http://jandmf.com
The following users thanked this post: Rodt

Offline Bigpickle

« Reply #16 on: October 30, 2021, 09:54:55 AM »
Advice no longer required. Thanks to those that replied.
I bought a Jayco Journey Outback 17 footer and pick it up tomorrow.
Lookout bush.

« Reply #17 on: October 30, 2021, 10:54:56 AM »
Advice no longer required. Thanks to those that replied.
I bought a Jayco Journey Outback 17 footer and pick it up tomorrow.
Lookout bush.

Offline Bigpickle

« Reply #18 on: October 30, 2021, 12:56:43 PM »
https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/566411414593689/

Pictures here.

« Reply #19 on: October 30, 2021, 02:35:37 PM »
Lookin good

Offline baz1

« Reply #20 on: November 19, 2021, 11:54:10 AM »
Thanks for the replies. I went and looked at a Fantasy Caravans 13 footer yesterday and the wife was not able to spend too much time in it. Too claustrophobic, she says.
I'll keep looking.

Have a look at SWAG Campers, their caravans are lighter, they have pop tops and full height, no rear beds to be made up, and a fairly unique design. We have just ordered the four berth ST16 full height, TARE is 2140kgm ball weight 150kg. Thats not as light as an Ozzie made van, but it also doesn't carry the price tag, but bear in mind its also full height with internal shower / toilet. Had a good look at them, quality is pretty good www.https://www.swagcampertrailers.com.au/