Author Topic: Hello from Roleystone (WA)  (Read 4567 times)

Offline Greydemon

Hello from Roleystone (WA)
« on: January 05, 2011, 07:13:52 PM »
Greetings everyone, I found this site a couple of days ago and registered straight away. I have already picked up some useful tips about using heat beads for camp cookers and an enormous amount of information about electricity and camper trailers.  For example I had no idea that the reason people fit lights over their vehicle cabs is because gravity pulls down the light beams so they go further if you start higher - who would have thought it !   ;D

We (Mrs Greydemon and I) currently have a soft floor off-road Cavalier which has served us well for quite a few years. I have just added a battery and sockets for lighting, charged from solar panels. The plan was to change to a hardfloor in 5 years or so.  Of course doing some work on the Cavalier was the trigger for us to visit the recent 4WD show in Perth to get some ideas........... anyone want to buy a Cavalier? We are now awaiting delivery of a fully optioned Travelander.  I knew that we shouldn't have gone to the bloody show.

Ah well, at least we will now get out into the red dust a bit more often - we have to justify the expenditure somehow!

I look forward to learning and contributing on this site, though I think I'll stop before I get labelled as a Winnebago driver, bit of an insult that to a camper.

Greydemon   
Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so.

Douglas Adams

Re: Hello from Roleystone (WA)
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2011, 07:39:05 PM »
Greydemon  Welcome to Myswag  after reading your post re the Lecky thing  I know you will fit in here . Somewhereoranother  ;D . I have lived in hope there is somebody out there more out there than some . Not me , just ask me I will tell you  :cheers:

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2011, 07:57:18 PM »
Welcome Greydemon.  I see you have already met the forum guru.  Have fun.
The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2011, 08:06:54 PM »
Welcome, good to see more locals joining up ;D

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2011, 08:41:41 PM »
Welcome ..the more the merry from WA
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2011, 10:16:48 PM »

Hello and Welcome to the best CT forum this side of the ... web.

It's great to see yet more humour added to the mix in the hopes of curling up all those straight members.  As for the Winnebago membership level, I too was a bit iffy about reaching it, but I've come to the conclusion that if you imagine you have the Winnebago of CT's, then it just kinda suits.  Besides after all the mods and learning how to get the whole setup 'just so' ... it will be.

I know what you mean about those 4X4 shows ... they truely are money removing evil things.  ;D  I can't understand why we keep going to them either.

« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2011, 10:44:00 AM »
G'day & Welcome Grey

« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2011, 07:10:26 PM »
Gday Greydemon, Welcome to My Swag

Offline Alchemist

« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2011, 10:28:25 PM »
Welcome Greydemon - good to see another Sandgroper  ;D

I'm not sure why you (or Burnsy for that matter) have Camper Trailers - if I were living in the glorious hills of Perth,  I'd seriously lack the inclination to ever leave home  ;D

Alchemist.

Offline Greydemon

« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2011, 12:28:47 AM »
Hi Alchemist,  I think that I leave home so that I appreciate it more when I get back.  I am off for a quick (3 week) trip to the UK next week - I can't wait to get back already!

Greydemon
Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so.

Douglas Adams

Offline Alchemist

« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2011, 05:04:57 AM »
I am off for a quick (3 week) trip to the UK next week - I can't wait to get back already!

Greydemon

Mate, with the "balmy" winter weather they've been having lately, you're going to enjoy returning simply to thaw out!  ;D

Happy & safe travels  :cheers:

Alchemist

Offline Ruffstuff

« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2011, 09:16:44 AM »
Welcome to Myswag.. theres a few of us sandgropers around...
Warning: This Post May Contain Traces of Nuts!!! :)

80 series Landcruiser, DTS Turbo, Cross Country Intercooler,  3"exhaust, 33" BFG MT, locked, Lifted & gadgetised
2005 Trak Shak

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2011, 10:25:19 AM »
theres a few of us sandgropers around...

it's all part of the world domination plan...
Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

Offline DX grunt

« Reply #13 on: January 14, 2011, 02:40:32 PM »

Great to see another Sandgroper onboard.

Take care out there.

DX grunt
Nissan Patrol ute - ex Telstra - pod has heaps of 'glamping equipment', but not enough to be overloaded.

Offline skmaint

« Reply #14 on: January 16, 2011, 07:28:35 AM »
 Hi Greydemon,

Welcome aboard......Good to see there are a few of us sandgropers joining the site...
Plenty of great people and info on here....Enjoy

Simon.
Your not bogged until you cant move an inch.

Offline BUDDS

« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2011, 12:18:53 PM »
WOOHOO,

The Mighty West has risen again. Seriously welcome to the site and at this rate we might have to organise a WA get together?

Hope you enjoy as much as we all do.

Budds
Work Hard, Play Hard.

It is easier to ask for forgiveness than to ask for permssion.