Author Topic: Today's 4wd Travellers, are we pussies or what?????????????????  (Read 7093 times)

Offline cruiser 91

Today's 4wd Travellers, are we pussies or what?????????????????
« on: November 21, 2016, 06:32:06 PM »
Stuck on the Birdsville Track

Enjoy what we think today is the impossible.................... :cheers:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJI0pHi3OnI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RsZCVEGBae0

« Last Edit: November 21, 2016, 06:34:00 PM by cruiser 91 »
Hell's Gate, Worlds End, South Australia.

Offline feisty

Re: Today's 4wd Travellers, are we pussies or what?????????????????
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2016, 06:45:52 PM »
Nice find! And I thought the gopro was a recent invention.
Feisty
Sahara 100TD & Pioneer Argyle
The following users thanked this post: Gandalf the White

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2016, 07:09:49 PM »
Amazing scenes. ...   any more please?....

At the end of the video above - it says 2/3..

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2016, 10:33:44 AM »
Yes we are
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2016, 11:39:21 AM »
Ahhh Ye Olde spirit of adventure, off into the never never with a bit of a clue and the Olde She'll be right mate, I know what I'm doin, can do attitude ...
Funny thing is I dont recall  too many of these adventurous types ever  to die doing it .

« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2016, 11:55:40 AM »
Yes we are
yep...especially after seeing Norms Cape trip from back in 1975 that we watched the other weekend hey...that was a real adventure  8)

« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2016, 12:01:58 PM »
shame you cant ask this bloke

« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2016, 12:20:10 PM »
Yep...I guess we're a bit soft to-day.....But i dare say the youngies will be a bit softer...Thats progress..

Just saying ....    Cheers Tracker.

« Last Edit: November 22, 2016, 12:31:11 PM by edz »

Offline Joff

« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2016, 01:42:05 PM »
yep...especially after seeing Norms Cape trip from back in 1975 that we watched the other weekend hey...that was a real adventure  8)

Well that is what was in my mind when I replied  :-[

« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2016, 01:55:17 PM »
My grandfather was working for a car dealership in Sydney in 1912.

A grazier on holiday to the Big Smoke bought a new car, asked for it to be delivered to his place & Pop got the job of delivering it - to Charleville!!!  :o

Can you imagine what sort of trip that would have been back then  ???

Offline Joff

« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2016, 02:02:06 PM »
My grandfather was working for a car dealership in Sydney in 1912.

A grazier on holiday to the Big Smoke bought a new car, asked for it to be delivered to his place & Pop got the job of delivering it - to Charleville!!!  :o

Can you imagine what sort of trip that would have been back then  ???

Did he drive it or truck it? If he drove it the bloody thing would have been buggered by the time the cocky got the key (assuming they had keys for cars in 1912 lol)

« Reply #12 on: November 22, 2016, 02:14:58 PM »
Drove it the whole way Joff - I've often thought the same thing!

Offline Joff

« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2016, 02:18:33 PM »
Drove it the whole way Joff - I've often thought the same thing!

Wow, driving a new car from Sydney to Charleville today would take the edge off the newness of a car. Back then it'd be just about ready for or scrapping, or at very least, a rebuild.

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #14 on: November 22, 2016, 03:16:50 PM »
From the Unsealed 4x4 Facebook page:

35 years ago in 1981, Vic Widman decided to take a trip to the Cape... in a Subaru L-Wagon

« Last Edit: November 22, 2016, 03:26:59 PM by tk421 »
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

« Reply #15 on: November 22, 2016, 03:27:19 PM »
15 years ago there was a group that recreated a cape trip that was completed in the early 1900s. They did it in restored to original spec identical vehicles, single leaf springs with timber wheels and all.

It just so happened I was pulled over on the side of the track changing my $400 latest technology off road tyre that had just been staked through the side wall when they stopped to make sure I was OK.

We had a quick chat, I asked if they'd had many troubles so far, nothing mechanical apparently, the only issues where from the drivers eating dust for days on end... ;)

« Reply #16 on: November 22, 2016, 03:34:53 PM »

35 years ago in 1981, Vic Widman decided to take a trip to the Cape... in a Subaru L-Wagon

Took my MY82 Touring Wagon into and out of Wonnangatta via Zeka spur when it was 6 months old.  They were a great vehicle.  The L series (84 onwards?) and every Subie since IMO didnt like the rough stuff as much.  :cheers:

« Reply #17 on: November 22, 2016, 03:41:49 PM »
Wow, driving a new car from Sydney to Charleville today would take the edge off the newness of a car. Back then it'd be just about ready for or scrapping, or at very least, a rebuild.

Yeah, I agree - guess they made 'em tougher back then?  :D

I don't even know how you'd get there ??? Pretty damn certain that the Pacific Hwy as it we now it now didn't exist - not even sure if there was a coastal road from Sydney - Brisbane ??? Would the "main highway" have been through Cunningham's Gap  ???

Edit: doing some searching & just found this , which looks like it's dated 1901 & seems to show something similar to the current New England Hwy  ???

I know he took "some" months to make the trip, then the grazier kept him on to teach him how to drive his new car  :D He then stayed round Charleville area for a couple of years, including doing a mail run - go out on this leg of triangular trip, camp overnight, across the top of the triangle, camp, come home down the other leg! Then travelled to Brisbane to join  the AIF late 1914 / early 1915, in time to make it to Gallipoli, then later France.

Yep, & we complain about doing things tough!  :o ::)

« Reply #18 on: November 22, 2016, 06:24:02 PM »

a good 15 - 20 years ago we took a pile of 2wd vehicles to the Cape on an Endevour Car Rally...one vehicle never made it back though, dragged into the bush and stripped of anything of value and the rest just left there in the middle of nowhere

Offline Champin

« Reply #19 on: November 22, 2016, 06:27:13 PM »
shame you cant ask this bloke

Tom Kruse. Knew what a days work was all about. Read his biography. Well worth the read.

« Reply #20 on: November 23, 2016, 12:51:48 PM »
Carrying from my post above, also found this little snippet:

"The first east-to-west car crossing of the Australian continent in 1912 by Francis Birtles (pictured in black and white above)"

Sydney to Perth in 1912  :o - don't want to hear anybody whinging about how boring it is driving across the Nullabor!  :D

Bit more about him http://theoldmotor.com/?p=60907

« Reply #21 on: November 23, 2016, 04:52:28 PM »
That artical gives a little insight as to the travel times in 1928, the tracks / roads must have been fairly crook  ... Darwin to Brisbane took 28 days .... Brisbane to Sydney took 9 days

« Reply #22 on: November 23, 2016, 06:17:13 PM »
Yep...I guess we're a bit soft to-day.....But i dare say the youngies will be a bit softer...Thats progress..

Just saying ....    Cheers Tracker.

A little blue tablet will fix that "softness"

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #23 on: November 23, 2016, 07:47:01 PM »
Tom Kruse crossing the Cooper Creek in flood. 2 Punts, 6 trips, 24 hours...

http://aso.gov.au/titles/documentaries/back-of-beyond/clip2/
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

« Reply #24 on: November 23, 2016, 10:01:46 PM »
A bit more recent than some of those , but as a kid my Dad took us into places on the Edwards River ( I think) near Meulamein in a "Hillman Minx" pulling a trailer with all our camping gear in it that now blokes in a 4wd wouldn't touch. All we had was a shovel , bit of carpet or wire mesh and off we went.No high lift jacks or winches, just a bit of nouse