Author Topic: 12v ovens  (Read 38715 times)

Offline feisty

Re: 12v ovens
« Reply #100 on: June 15, 2015, 11:12:17 PM »

Grabbed mine today from feisty, thanks again mate!  :cup:

Will give it a run on Wednesday.
My pleasure mate.
If you're after a Coleman  gas powered coffee maker Rays in nunawading have them at 39 down from 139.  Let me know if you want one.....

Feisty
Sahara 100TD & Pioneer Argyle
The following users thanked this post: peter01

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #101 on: June 16, 2015, 07:22:14 AM »
My pleasure mate.
If you're after a Coleman  gas powered coffee maker Rays in nunawading have them at 39 down from 139.  Let me know if you want one.....

Thanks for the offer, but Nay-DMAX has her eye on a 12v machine that takes pods. We are lazy like that!
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)
The following users thanked this post: peter01

Offline ATC

« Reply #102 on: June 16, 2015, 08:42:48 AM »
Looks like they are back on sale again (16-Jun-2015).

Dick Smith 12V DC Portable Stove

Offline feisty

« Reply #103 on: June 16, 2015, 10:51:23 AM »
Have been on sale for the last week. Seem to be running out at most stores
Feisty

Offline Trots

« Reply #104 on: June 16, 2015, 11:04:00 AM »
Grabbed one of these a few weeks ago when they were on special, fairly impressed so far. Did some mini jam doughnuts no probs one trip & was running late for work this morning so cooked a couple bits of toast, whacked some ham & cheese in between & wrapped in foil. Perfect ham & cheese toastie after the 20 min drive to work. :cheers:

Offline jr

« Reply #105 on: June 16, 2015, 08:00:06 PM »
Thanks just ordered one
Guy at work fitted an adjustable thermostst, stopped it over cooking things
Forgetting it of being delayed at work causd a few drid up meals apparrantly
« Last Edit: June 16, 2015, 08:01:50 PM by jr »

Offline KeithB

« Reply #106 on: June 17, 2015, 05:15:44 AM »
Ordered!
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

Offline su888

« Reply #107 on: June 19, 2015, 10:28:21 PM »
Picked mine up, and seems great value for $20.

Out of interest, did anyone find the cable undersized for the amount of power the thing uses?

I only left it on for 5 minutes outside, and the cable was quite warm (very cold night though).

Offline feisty

« Reply #108 on: June 20, 2015, 01:41:02 AM »
Never had a problem with a warm cable. I gather that would be normal as there is a bit of current going through it.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2015, 01:43:25 AM by feisty »
Feisty

Offline denidoug

« Reply #109 on: June 20, 2015, 04:59:31 PM »
Prawn&vegie dumplings

Offline su888

« Reply #110 on: June 20, 2015, 06:29:13 PM »
yummo - what is the thing that you are cooking it on?

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #111 on: June 20, 2015, 07:03:50 PM »
yummo - what is the thing that you are cooking it on?

Piece of stainless mesh so the dumplings can steam i reckon.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #112 on: June 20, 2015, 07:05:50 PM »
Thanks just ordered one
Guy at work fitted an adjustable thermostst, stopped it over cooking things
Forgetting it of being delayed at work causd a few drid up meals apparrantly

Great idea, i was thinking of adding an inline power switch but a rotary POT would be better.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline ATC

« Reply #113 on: June 20, 2015, 07:47:38 PM »
Great idea, i was thinking of adding an inline power switch but a rotary POT would be better.

Got some more details of the adjustable thermostat?

Great idea!

Offline denidoug

« Reply #114 on: June 20, 2015, 09:18:51 PM »
Prawn&vegie dumplings

It's a piece of powder coated aluminium gutter guard I've got a 50 m roll in the shed,does the job

Offline feisty

« Reply #115 on: June 21, 2015, 09:35:30 AM »
It's a piece of powder coated aluminium gutter guard I've got a 50 m roll in the shed,does the job
Looks good! Does it slow the heating process down much? I find that they seem to work best when the item is in contact with the oven's surface.  If I put 4 pies in the top two are still cold while the bottom two are good and hot....  even with two pies I turn them over half way through the heating process
Feisty

Offline jr

« Reply #116 on: June 21, 2015, 08:15:08 PM »
I think he ised one like this
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/2-x-NC-SPST-Temperature-Temp-Switch-Thermostat-70-Degree-Celsius-/301191371210
Forgotten how it was mounted but recall he pulled oven apart and fitted through wall in lower section
70 is pretty hot and you can get heaps of temp units
For $15 you could use one of these?
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/DC12V-Aquarium-Temperature-Temp-Controller-Thermostat-Switch-40-f-120-Sensor-/151457310733
......hang on last one need to hanle more current, others similar are capable of 10A
« Last Edit: June 21, 2015, 08:24:22 PM by jr »

Offline graham

• I used to cruise, now i just PATROL
  • nrnr62
« Reply #117 on: July 13, 2015, 06:54:37 PM »
Ran the 12v Dick Smith job is on the weekend MMMMM tasty  ,bit of a juggle cracking it open for crisp pies and  sauso rolls ,but got closer
They are like a camp oven ,the more use/practise ,the better you may be
nrnr62

« Reply #118 on: July 13, 2015, 07:38:43 PM »
They did get a work out yesterday Graham, christened my one with pies for lunch and jam donuts for arvo tea. Kids we're happy to be munching on something warm. And Oi, the black lab was cleaning up all the scraps under BD's awning

Gag

Offline white wheels

« Reply #119 on: July 19, 2015, 09:04:26 PM »
Used our 12v oven today on the summit of Mt Matlock
Even though we were cool the pies and sausage rolls were HOT
Worked a treat

Offline jr

« Reply #120 on: July 21, 2015, 09:52:53 AM »
Got mine
Pulled it apart, fitted a heap more insulation and digital thermostat
Set at around 70 deg, defrosted pie hot in around 30 min
On around 20-30% of the time
Awesome for cold worksites and travelling last few weeks

Offline staghornflat

« Reply #121 on: July 21, 2015, 11:23:28 AM »
Got mine
jr, what sort of insulation did you use, what thermostat did you fit and where did you find it?
2017 200 Cruiser
2010 KK limited edition

« Reply #122 on: July 21, 2015, 03:59:16 PM »
Got mine

Am interested as well

Offline jr

« Reply #123 on: July 23, 2015, 11:00:53 AM »
Insulation I used rockwool -had a spare broken slab from hydroponics, had to cut it up and fit up sides etc. Looks identical to stuff fitted.
Because its on thermostat and will max temp be ~ 80 deg, plenty of things could be used.
Without temp control could go to over 100 deg so I claim its way safer too
Pic - Looks like standard with 50mm x20mm square box on side
Thermo control - I used this one
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Digital-Temperature-Control-Switch-DC12V-Heat-Cool-Thermostat-Thermometer-Temp-/151670986578?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item23504b9752

rereading my post, it was an already defrosted pies put in, wasnt clear.

« Reply #124 on: July 23, 2015, 11:05:27 AM »
Thanks for the link, have made a purchase to have a bit of a play.