Author Topic: 200 Series and 76 Series  (Read 7881 times)

Offline Paul (SA)

200 Series and 76 Series
« on: October 08, 2014, 10:19:04 AM »
Just a quick question. Do they use the same engine?
2014 NW Pajero
2012 Jayco Swift OB

Re: 200 Series and 76 Series
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2014, 11:08:11 AM »
I am lead to believe Yes but the 76 is detuned and only 1 turbo

« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2014, 12:03:52 PM »
I am lead to believe Yes but the 76 is detuned and only 1 turbo
Yeah. The 200 has a huge jump in performance compared to the 76.

« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2014, 02:41:48 PM »
Yeah i think the 76 series is a bit of a dog

76 series is like 150kw and 450nm of torque
200 series is like 195kw and 650nm of torque

If you bring power to weight into the equasion most of the current duel cab offerings eclipse the 76 series

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2014, 07:34:54 PM »

If you bring power to weight into the equasion most of the current duel cab offerings eclipse the 76 series

Almost exactly the same as a hilux.  Probably better than Amarok and Triton???  But worse than a Colorado, Ranger, BT50.  Not exactly sure ... only checked the hilux really.

Offline staghornflat

« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2014, 08:26:28 PM »
Almost exactly the same as a hilux.  Probably better than Amarok and Triton???  But worse than a Colorado, Ranger, BT50.  Not exactly sure ... only checked the hilux really.
Yep, but none of them sound as good as a V8. >:D >:D :cheers:
2017 200 Cruiser
2010 KK limited edition

Offline Diesel Power

« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2014, 08:52:52 PM »
Same engine to a degree.
Single turbo and diffent intake system, smaller airbox, different oil cooler and oil filter location and orientation.
Angus.
Work - dedicated or medicated?

1999 HZJ105 GXL Auto Fully kitted. SOLD.
2008 VDJ200 GXL Auto.
2007 Custom built soft floor. SOLD.
2015 Kimberley Karavan Classic. SOLD.
2012 Kimberley Kamper Limited Edition.

Offline ATC

« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2014, 09:36:48 PM »

2 litres with 2 turbos to deliver enough power, or a nice big 4.2 litre that doesn't have to work hard.

Love my 3.2 litre BT50, but would swap it for a dual cab 76 series in a shot!

Offline Homer_Jay

« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2014, 06:26:26 AM »
I have a 76 and the low down torque is a winner. The engine is not highly strung, just chugs along.

I also have a hilux, and while I love driving it, the two are chalk and cheese with a bit of weight on the back.

Landcruiser 76 wagon V8 T/D

Supreme Getaway pop top 12 ft

« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2014, 06:44:43 AM »

same-same, but differant. As mentioned earlier, it's basicly the same block with different attachments.

We had one of those duel-cab turbo datsuns, but wanted some more grunt.

Whilst the 200 is bigger, better, stronger and more luxurious, it was about $50g more expensive than the 76, so we went pauper pack. When we were looking (second hand) the 200's that were on the market were all twice the price, with twice the k's, and I didn't want an auto.

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2014, 07:24:27 AM »
what everyone has said however, if you're over 180cm tall, you'll find the 76 a tight fit...!

The 76 is a great 4wd but the 200 is epic...!

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

Offline Elky

« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2014, 01:51:30 PM »

Bloody spot on! My 200 encourages me to sink the boot, whilst my dmax sounds like it wants to explode,fair dinkum no point trying to make a 4 cylinder diesel sound good!

As stated the 76 is pretty average compared to the bt/ranger or the others, but give me a lazy 8 anyway
2010 TTD Landcruiser, i have added stuff but can't remember what! Slowly gettin quicker at setting up the brumby but breaking camp is another matter....

Offline komaterpillar

« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2014, 02:10:32 PM »
righto, getting my flame suit on now, i don't see how you can compare a 76 series to any of the new dual cabs or even the 200, live axle front end all the way, otherwise you are kidding yourself.
and power to weight means ****all when your in low range crawling through the sticky stuff.

to the OP, if given the choice i would take the 7* series over the 200, purely for the live axle front end
« Last Edit: October 11, 2014, 02:15:32 PM by komaterpillar »
ALL THE GEAR, NO IDEA  ;D

The British Tug

The Chinese Trailer

« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2014, 02:32:01 PM »
to the original post as already stated same motor extra turbo and tuning for 200.

As per komaterpillar's comments.  Flame suit not required, you can not compare a 70 Series with other new dual cabs.  While the dual cabs may have comparable figures on paper, a lazy V8 to a 4 or V6 stressed to the max is no comparison. 

Give me a 70 anytime

Offline Coiled

« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2014, 10:54:19 PM »
or given it has just been acknowledged that power is not the most important thing. If considering a 70series, I don't think you can go past the Y61 Patrols with their live axles but coils for comfort and articulation. You also save $15k which can be invested on exhausts & tune if the power really bothers you (it doesn't bother me) or decking it out with good aftermarket gear.
2013 Nissan Patrol Y61
2015 Kimberley Karavan Eco Suite

« Reply #15 on: October 12, 2014, 09:42:21 AM »

The previous comments have pretty much nailed it.  It is much the same as the 6 cylinder TD 79 and the 100 series.  Both use the 1HD-FTE engine but the 100 series has a better tune and a intercooler.

Reason for it is that the 7* series isn't really designed for the highway, it's a farm vehicle, rides and handles like a brick.  Reliability is king so the engine isn't really working that hard even when you try to flog it.

The 100/200 series are touring vehicles, they are designed mostly for the black top to pull your overloaded caravan up a hill, hence the more power and torque.

« Reply #16 on: October 12, 2014, 09:52:08 AM »
The previous comments have pretty much nailed it.  It is much the same as the 6 cylinder TD 79 and the 100 series.  Both use the 1HD-FTE engine but the 100 series has a better tune and a intercooler.

Reason for it is that the 7* series isn't really designed for the highway, it's a farm vehicle, rides and handles like a brick.  Reliability is king so the engine isn't really working that hard even when you try to flog it.

The 100/200 series are touring vehicles, they are designed mostly for the black top to pull your overloaded caravan up a hill, hence the more power and torque.
probably the best description I've ever read on the 2 differences...  :cup:

nbd73

« Reply #17 on: October 12, 2014, 02:24:33 PM »
Some of the earlier responses hilight a typical misconception with regard to power & torque figures, that being that these gigures are "peak" and mean very little without the dyno graph and real world test dependant upon gearing and transmission. The engine performance of the 76 IMO (based on my father having had one for the last 3 years) is more akin to a non turbo diesel in that it gets very breathless above 3000rpm but has mountains of torque from about 1000rpm. The 200 has the modern TD turbo lag until both turbos kick in and then you disappear until the tacho reaches about 3500-3600 at which point the auto does its thing and away you go again on your way to a nasty govt letter in the mail.
By the way, neither of us have had oil consumption issues, my 200 is 1 of the first batch sold here being a Dec 2007 model, & the old man's 76 is an 08.
Nigel

« Reply #18 on: October 13, 2014, 10:48:36 AM »
righto, getting my flame suit on now, i don't see how you can compare a 76 series to any of the new dual cabs or even the 200, live axle front end all the way, otherwise you are kidding yourself.
and power to weight means ****all when your in low range crawling through the sticky stuff.

to the OP, if given the choice i would take the 7* series over the 200, purely for the live axle front end

Yep and you will use that live axle and crawling low range for about 0.5% of the vehicles working life and the rest of the time you have a pig of a truck that handles like crap revs its guts out cause the gearing is to short and makes my old 1995 suzuki sierra look like a luxury vehicle

I campare it with what the average punter and yes even a myswag user will do with it and 85% of that will be on road

Offline komaterpillar

« Reply #19 on: October 13, 2014, 11:15:17 AM »
Yep and you will use that live axle and crawling low range for about 0.5% of the vehicles working life and the rest of the time you have a pig of a truck that handles like crap revs its guts out cause the gearing is to short and makes my old 1995 suzuki sierra look like a luxury vehicle

I campare it with what the average punter and yes even a myswag user will do with it and 85% of that will be on road

i can asure you i use mine far more than 0.5% and its in no way a pig to drive, coils front and rear make for a very comfy ride.
Where did you get the "revs its guts out cause the gearing is to short" from? you realise thats what hi range/lo range is for? (we can all be condescending and drag this thread into the gutter, not just you)
IMO IFS is more of a compromise when you get offroad than a live axle front end is onroad.
ALL THE GEAR, NO IDEA  ;D

The British Tug

The Chinese Trailer

« Reply #20 on: October 13, 2014, 12:23:46 PM »
i can asure you i use mine far more than 0.5% and its in no way a pig to drive, coils front and rear make for a very comfy ride.
Where did you get the "revs its guts out cause the gearing is to short" from? you realise thats what hi range/lo range is for? (we can all be condescending and drag this thread into the gutter, not just you)
IMO IFS is more of a compromise when you get offroad than a live axle front end is onroad.

Drove one on a mine site for 2 years anything above 90kph in 5th gear and it felt like it was revving to high felt like it needed a taller 5th or a 6th gear even

It is only a personal opinion but after 2 years in the thing i could not wait to give it the flick it was the most agricultural unconfortable POS i ever had the misfortune of being handed down by the boss

Offline Diesel Power

« Reply #21 on: October 13, 2014, 02:16:25 PM »
After going from a D40 Navara to a Cruiser 105 series, you can keep your 4 pot over strung screamers. The D40 was a pain in the rear having to go down to low range to keep up with a 4.2 Turbo patrol when we went to the Cape.
Work - dedicated or medicated?

1999 HZJ105 GXL Auto Fully kitted. SOLD.
2008 VDJ200 GXL Auto.
2007 Custom built soft floor. SOLD.
2015 Kimberley Karavan Classic. SOLD.
2012 Kimberley Kamper Limited Edition.

nbd73

« Reply #22 on: October 13, 2014, 03:02:16 PM »
Drove one on a mine site for 2 years anything above 90kph in 5th gear and it felt like it was revving to high felt like it needed a taller 5th or a 6th gear even

It is only a personal opinion but after 2 years in the thing i could not wait to give it the flick it was the most agricultural unconfortable POS i ever had the misfortune of being handed down by the boss
I will second that opinion. 

« Reply #23 on: October 13, 2014, 06:42:07 PM »
Drove one on a mine site for 2 years anything above 90kph in 5th gear and it felt like it was revving to high felt like it needed a taller 5th or a 6th gear even.....

I wonder if anyone has tried changing diff ratios to address this.....

Offline Andrew_C

« Reply #24 on: October 13, 2014, 07:01:09 PM »
One is a work truck, one is a big twin turbo couch.
After driving heaps of different 4x4s regularly in rugged conditions,  I would say the 76 ute and wagon are the toughest 4x4s on the market by far, and although are not the most comfortable or cheapest, will outlast any others on the market in arduous conditions.

It's a big call but nothing compares off the dealer floor. (Except a Gwagon which is even more $$$)