Author Topic: 1980 Datsun Stanza 4 door  (Read 7399 times)

1980 Datsun Stanza 4 door
« on: July 29, 2014, 03:46:53 PM »
Ok I'll put it out there .. Is there anyone into collecting or part of a datsun  historic rally / race club .. A co worker has her mothers one owner 88.000 klm 5 speed Stanza in very good original condition [ Garaged and serviced all its life ] to part with ..
What would it be worth ... yes I know " how longs a piece of string " , but  Ideas of a price ?

Re: 1980 Datsun Stanza 4 door
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2014, 04:08:44 PM »
Great cars. I had one on LPG! Used to get the price equivalent of 88mpg at the time (1990). A bright yellow one.

An unmolested low km car of that age should be worth between $2k up to $4k to the right person. It's just a matter of finding them!

Then you never know, someone might pay more.  Check out somewhere like here:

http://datnet.org/topic/14732-stanza-club-car/

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2014, 04:12:49 PM »
Geez bringing back memories Edz. I got one given to me when I was 16 and drove it to school with mates for 2 weeks until it had no fuel left and we had no money so then gave it to the wreckers for $100. We bought 3 slabs on VB!!!

« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2014, 04:15:28 PM »
Geez bringing back memories Edz. I got one given to me when I was 16 and drove it to school with mates for 2 weeks until it had no fuel left and we had no money so then gave it to the wreckers for $100. We bought 3 slabs on VB!!!

You should be ashamed of yourself wasting car money on Green Death!

« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2014, 08:56:52 PM »
My second car was a yellow and black SSS Stanza. Had some fun in that car until cancer took hold. I blew up the original motor and box at different times and slipped in a 180B SSS motor with twin SU's which went a little better.

« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2014, 10:07:24 PM »
judging on what rusty unrego'ed and non complete datto 1600's are going for you should get 5k piss easy.

« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2014, 10:56:34 PM »
Yeah but 1600's are that much more appealing to people ...

« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2014, 04:08:22 AM »

Go Wash your mouth out with XXXX ( that's supposed to be Beer )    :o :P  :cheers:

« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2014, 06:56:24 AM »

Go Wash your mouth out with XXXX ( that's supposed to be Beer )    :o :P  :cheers:

Green death, xxxx. Same crap

« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2014, 07:00:28 AM »
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Pity it dosent work for you  :cheers:

« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2014, 05:16:27 PM »
My second car was a yellow and black SSS Stanza. Had some fun in that car until cancer took hold. I blew up the original motor and box at different times and slipped in a 180B SSS motor with twin SU's which went a little better.

Exactly what I had, the SSS model, I fitted twin delorto's on mine, ported it, doweled the manifold and grit blasted it, bigger valves, taller diff ration with lower 1st 2nd 3rd. Raced a BMW JPS from syd nth suburbs to QLD boarder 1 night, lots of fun, under 8 hours to. Has 4 x spotties on the front, melted the - terminal 1 night when I turned them all on at once.
How did I live to tell the tale I don't know.

How much is it worth?
Sorry, don't ask me, but thanks for the memories....

« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2014, 05:46:12 PM »
Ahh back in the days when cars had character /  style and had to be driven ..
Not like the neutral silenced cocooned cushioned sterile jellybeans they call cars of today ..

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2014, 05:51:03 PM »
LOL Used to flog those dattos with me RS2000
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2014, 06:29:03 PM »
You MD must be a mind reader .. I actualy had typed up .. AAhhh you blokes and your Dattos, are almost as bad as those holden blokes in their Jengineyes ... Now if you wanted a car with real racing credibility / pedigree and performance you wouldve had an ESCORT.. ;D ..
But I thought it might stir the pot a bit ..

« Reply #14 on: July 30, 2014, 06:37:15 PM »
LOL Used to flog those dattos with me RS2000

Me too  ;D

« Reply #15 on: July 30, 2014, 09:10:57 PM »
I wanted to put a Z18 twin plug Turbo in the Stanza at one stage and was looking at half cuts being imported. Always wanted a RS2000 as well and wanted to put a V6 Capri motor in. Ah dreaming.

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #16 on: July 30, 2014, 10:11:34 PM »
Me and my mate drove my Datto 1600 from Victoria to Hervey Bay when we were 19 after his Range Rover lunched an exhaust valve just before leaving, ruining our Fraser Island trip.

We did a tour of the island anyway and I returned the next year to the island in my FJ40.

My Datto was a one owner and from a deceased when I bought it.

As for the Stanza, have you looked on any car sale web sites for a price?
2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA

« Reply #17 on: July 30, 2014, 10:15:24 PM »
Well MD I can tell you an RS2000 with the Capri 3ltr Essex V6 goes pretty good, though at only 30 lbs or so lighter than a 302 Windsor V8 ... I should have stuck the eight in it ..
Ended up destroking it to a 2.7 ltr long rod motor.. due to new rego laws in NSW, big SS valve heads, Forged pistons, steel timing gears, 4 brl holley custom ally inlet ,custom stainless extractors, custom billet bisaloy flywheel,  celica 5 sp, rear discs, holden lsd banjo diff center into escort housing ..LJ Torana axles, turreted and linked .. etc etc .. 210 kmh flat stick on Yokohama A008 shod Rebel race rims .... Dam I miss driving / racing this car .. Might have to pull it out of mothballs and rebuild it .
« Last Edit: July 30, 2014, 10:32:12 PM by edz »

« Reply #18 on: July 30, 2014, 10:17:06 PM »
A mate of mine races his and has it set up well for the track. Absolute beast :cheers:

« Reply #19 on: July 30, 2014, 10:49:36 PM »
As for my co workers mums Stanza, Reckon if I had the space and time I'd be giving it a spot to call home .. loads of potential to start with a good base and easily turn out an old skool car with attitude ...
Its looking like they range from a $1000  up to around $3000 + for a very tidy one .. But then if you found the right collector you could get more, can only give her the sites and she can make up her own mind ..
Thanks all ..for the memories.. ;D
The stuff of dreams this car and the driver is absolutely fantastic .. crazy but fantastic .
Simon McKinley The White Escort 2 Small | Large

PS Turn the sound Wayyyyy Uppp . enjoy . :cup:
« Last Edit: July 30, 2014, 11:01:13 PM by edz »

« Reply #20 on: July 31, 2014, 06:40:31 AM »
When we were 18, a mate had a stove hot SSS Stanza.  Body kit, cage, trick suspension, etc and he loved it. 
So much so that when a bog stock, mint, poo brown, auto, 1 owner, base model Stanza came up for sale last year he ran out and grabbed it for $2,500.  Now he has no time to do it up and is trying to offload it.  I think he's had it advertised for $2,500ono for a few months now without a single call...

« Reply #21 on: July 31, 2014, 07:22:44 AM »
And there in lies the problem, trying to find that one person thats looking to rebuild a memory from the past or a person that needs to rebuild a wrecked / worn out comp car ...
Otherwise a 30 year younger car can be had for the same price.

« Reply #22 on: July 31, 2014, 04:48:53 PM »
Well MD I can tell you an RS2000 with the Capri 3ltr Essex V6 goes pretty good, though at only 30 lbs or so lighter than a 302 Windsor V8 ... I should have stuck the eight in it ..
Ended up destroking it to a 2.7 ltr long rod motor.. due to new rego laws in NSW, big SS valve heads, Forged pistons, steel timing gears, 4 brl holley custom ally inlet ,custom stainless extractors, custom billet bisaloy flywheel,  celica 5 sp, rear discs, holden lsd banjo diff center into escort housing ..LJ Torana axles, turreted and linked .. etc etc .. 210 kmh flat stick on Yokohama A008 shod Rebel race rims .... Dam I miss driving / racing this car .. Might have to pull it out of mothballs and rebuild it .

Yeah, ya should of....

If I can get one in a Datsun 1200, you could stick a Windsor in anything.  ;D
Oh, and they loooooove nitrous oxide too and lots of it.  8)

« Reply #23 on: July 31, 2014, 08:47:55 PM »
  Might have to pull it out of mothballs and rebuild it .

Pics pics pics

« Reply #24 on: July 31, 2014, 10:14:16 PM »
I have a photo digital scanner tucked away somewhere that hasnt been used yet and a couple of boxes the size of 80 ltr waeco's full of old photos to dig through in the spare room . Might have to go digging and see what I can find, when I can get the chance ..