Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1785451 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #2650 on: January 31, 2016, 08:06:29 PM »
next job work out why the generator wont start :-[,guesing a small amount of fuel gone bad in carby or stuck jet,never been used brand new.
I thought I left fuel tank empty  ???
Grizzly

My Ol' Man bought a working - but very ratty genny many moon ago, and handed it to me to freshen up. Full strip down and paint, with some much needed new replacement parts.
All back together and ready for 1st 'fire up'....no go  ???  Long story short, spent the next day checking and rechecking....nothing. Eventually put the old spark plug back in, and away she went   ;D  new plug was cactus!!!  lol

Offline stabicraft

« Reply #2651 on: February 01, 2016, 07:27:08 PM »
Worked on my latest Cosplay weapon for my daughter.
Its called a Sky Hook and if you see the game its a very violent weapon.

Oh and its a way to travel.

It spins and is about 400mm long.
quite complicated to make, but I cant say no to my daughter.

« Reply #2652 on: February 01, 2016, 07:36:53 PM »
Very very nice...
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #2653 on: February 06, 2016, 07:25:26 AM »
I spent Sat in a mates shed while he started building me a fridge slide/swing for the CT which got to about 80% done
Pics will follow! ;D

Finished at last.

Started with this

« Reply #2654 on: February 06, 2016, 07:29:23 AM »
&

opps

Just click on the photos to get them up correctly :(

« Last Edit: February 06, 2016, 07:49:53 AM by jwb »

« Reply #2655 on: February 06, 2016, 07:38:18 AM »

« Reply #2656 on: February 06, 2016, 07:48:13 AM »
Now to get to use it!

Many thanks to my mate Bruce!
Your a champ!

« Reply #2657 on: February 06, 2016, 12:20:36 PM »
I re-organised so The toys could co-exist.  :D

« Reply #2658 on: February 07, 2016, 12:35:21 PM »
Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today? 

... ****ing melted.

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #2659 on: February 07, 2016, 02:18:29 PM »

... ****ing melted.
Yeah too ****ing hot in there  , i had to come in and have a nanna nap   , now time to jump in the pool.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline bruce93

« Reply #2660 on: February 07, 2016, 02:39:05 PM »

... ****ing melted.

Not exactly in the shed but had to mow the lawns today... Made sure I started at 9... was finished at 11am...
But still was feeling the heat!

Offline Snapman007

• Beer
« Reply #2661 on: February 07, 2016, 04:31:10 PM »

« Last Edit: February 08, 2016, 07:53:40 AM by Snapman007 »

2003 V8 Sahara
2010 Lifestyle Extenda Elite
Great haircut

« Reply #2662 on: February 07, 2016, 05:53:01 PM »
Not exactly in the shed but had to mow the lawns today... Made sure I started at 9... was finished at 11am...
But still was feeling the heat!
Was a beaut day for lawn mowing here in Brissy today...even got the chainsaw out and cut a few tree branches down and took a load of rubbish to the tip. I didn't even start until 11 a.m either  ;D

Offline stabicraft

« Reply #2663 on: February 07, 2016, 06:07:29 PM »
Im not game to go near the shed at the moment.

On tuesday I caught a 57cm groper while fishing.
We had some nice fillets, but the head and frame were tossed into the bin.
The bin resides next to the shed.
The bin, after several days of hot weather, is getting rather pungent, very on the nose you might say.

QED, stay away from the shed or suffer stomach churning stench from the bin.

Ill be glad when the bis is emptied tomorrow, otherwise it may walk off on its own.

Offline gnomeo

« Reply #2664 on: February 07, 2016, 06:16:25 PM »
Picked up a 2.5 tonne trolley jack at Supercheap for $99. Will be used for changing between the road tyres/rims(daily drive HT's) and the touring tyres/rims(Toyo AT's) should be a 15-20 minute turnover. Same tyre will go on the same corner each time.

Offline Metters

« Reply #2665 on: February 07, 2016, 10:13:13 PM »
I finally finished my wood shed today which is located behind the car/workshop shed.   I started building it three weeks ago after thinking about it for thirty years.  Well you can't rush things, that is how mistakes are made.  At last there are no more heaps of wood all over the place.

Offline Raym

« Reply #2666 on: February 13, 2016, 08:33:38 PM »
Preparing some timber to demonstrate rocking horse carving next weekend at the Have a go festival Cobb + Co Museum. Not an experienced carver so should be interesting will carving using only hand tools but I recon I will be that nervous my hands will shake that much it will look like I am using an electric carving tool  ;D.

For the head I have prepared some jacaranda & right in line with murphy's law there are some narly bits right in the middle of the face area.

Added photos of prepared stuff, finished horse & 1 ready to finish.

As I work there better throw in some shameless touting

http://www.cobbandco.qm.qld.gov.au/Events+and+Exhibitions/Events/2016/02/Have+A+Go+Festival#.Vr8FMMtunIU

Ray
« Last Edit: February 14, 2016, 08:35:00 AM by Raym »

Offline Snapman007

• Beer
« Reply #2667 on: February 13, 2016, 09:03:39 PM »
You'll need to start a new thread for it. 👍

2003 V8 Sahara
Great haircut

Offline Snapman007

• Beer
« Reply #2668 on: February 13, 2016, 10:17:12 PM »
Got a good start on my fabrication bench today. I'm using 75x75x5.0 SHS for the frame base. I went with the thicker section for weight and it will also allow some 65shs to telescope out ( with massaging) for support tables.
I was constantly adjusting the welder settings as I wasn't getting consistent weld beads. A few beers later and I worked out it was the very short wind gusts blowing the shielding gas away. I know, I'm a freakin genius.
No critique of the welding as I'm still self teaching but smartarse comments are welcome. ;D

Upside down view of the base, castor isn't fixed.

Actually I'm happy for constructive and helpful welding suggestions. :cheers:

Sorry but I forgot the token stubble placement in the pic. ;D

2003 V8 Sahara
Great haircut

« Reply #2669 on: February 14, 2016, 09:31:47 AM »
Got a good start on my fabrication bench today. I'm using 75x75x5.0 SHS for the frame base. I went with the thicker section for weight and it will also allow some 65shs to telescope out ( with massaging) for support tables.
I was constantly adjusting the welder settings as I wasn't getting consistent weld beads. A few beers later and I worked out it was the very short wind gusts blowing the shielding gas away. I know, I'm a freakin genius.
No critique of the welding as I'm still self teaching but smartarse comments are welcome. ;D

the only liquid i can see in the pic is a bottle of water.............smarten your act up Mr !

« Reply #2670 on: February 14, 2016, 10:16:02 AM »
Preparing some timber to demonstrate rocking horse carving next weekend at the Have a go festival Cobb + Co Museum. Not an experienced carver so should be interesting will carving using only hand tools but I recon I will be that nervous my hands will shake that much it will look like I am using an electric carving tool  ;D.

For the head I have prepared some jacaranda & right in line with murphy's law there are some narly bits right in the middle of the face area.

Added photos of prepared stuff, finished horse & 1 ready to finish.

As I work there better throw in some shameless touting

http://www.cobbandco.qm.qld.gov.au/Events+and+Exhibitions/Events/2016/02/Have+A+Go+Festival#.Vr8FMMtunIU

Ray

Awesome work there mate.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #2671 on: February 14, 2016, 10:21:24 AM »

A good tip is to lock the cocky in his cage before you start welding or he'll crap all over your work...  ;D
haha, yeah the breeze can be a bugger too can't it. About the only advice I can give is practice...practice...practice...practice...
Self taught here as well with a few pointers from someone who could actually weld properly. But it helped that I spent over a year repairing welding equipment (TIG, MIG and Stick) and got to use them every day at work.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #2672 on: February 14, 2016, 04:06:28 PM »
Gasless MIG that's the answer           :cheers:

« Reply #2673 on: February 14, 2016, 04:35:30 PM »
Making up doors and drawer faces for my outdoor area.
Natural edged River Red Gum.
Gonna have 0.9mm stainless sheet inserts to go with BBQ and have bit of an industrial look about it.

First time Ive done natural edge style, very fiddly and time consuming, but its only work if you dont like doing it.

Offline Snapman007

• Beer
« Reply #2674 on: February 14, 2016, 08:42:47 PM »
@Ray. Your posted pics didn't load up last night but mate that is some sensational work there.👍👍
 Is the white one for sale?

@Glen. Interesting idea mate. Love the rustic industrial look, right up my alley.
Would going to a lighter guage stainless with a ply backing save some dollars or have you already got the sheet?

@Snapman. Awesome progress today on your fabrication bench getting the base frame and castors finished and primed.👍👍 😁
Welds improved today. Turned the settings on the welder down a bit and slowed my speed plus the wind was a bit more friendly.
Token beer shot;

Current weight as seen in the pic is 95.1kg plus the welds. Seemed a lot heavier when I rolled it down the drive a bit to get it on the lawn for painting.😱

2003 V8 Sahara
Great haircut