Author Topic: withdraw from super fund  (Read 3582 times)

Offline me217

• Soft Floor Camper User
    • datebest.net - visit website and win smartphone!
withdraw from super fund
« on: July 18, 2016, 06:07:32 PM »
hey all. the wife is trying to work out how to withdraw her super. since she has stopped work for baby number two. she has been off work for over a year now and in that time her super fund has taken about half of her saved super. so we would like to withdraw what we can instead of letting it run out and line someone else's pocket.

any help would be appreciated.
https://t.me/pump_upp

Offline Swannie

• Are we there yet
  • Hard Top Camper User
Re: withdraw from super fund
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2016, 06:19:44 PM »
I'm not sure you can do that mate, but I'm not an expert in this field. I think you may be able to transfer to a fund with less fees etc but not withdraw it
Swannie
1994 80 series RV Land Cruiser  (Frank the Tank)
2015 200 series gxl TTD (Bruiser The Cruiser)
2015 Jayco Starcraft 17:58-3 OB (Starsky)

Offline gronk

• KKK... Kwik Kool Kamping
  • Hard Top Camper User
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2016, 06:22:58 PM »
Unless under special circumstances ( disability, hardship ), you can't withdraw it.  If the fund is taking too much in fees, see if you can swap funds.

If the fund has taken 1/2 the savings, I can only guess there wasn't a lot in it ( a couple of grand ?? )
2009 200 series Yota
2019 Lifestyle Ultra

UIZ733

« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2016, 06:23:42 PM »
Cannot be done under normal circumstances (from your post it would appear that your wife's age would prevent it).
Virtually ANY/EVERY super fund has been in growth in recent times. The fact her balance appears to be going backwards suggests something is very wrong. Seek urgent reliable financial advice.

Offline Nomad

• Hard Top Camper User
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2016, 06:30:20 PM »