Author Topic: Would you allow your school to do this  (Read 7439 times)

Would you allow your school to do this
« on: October 23, 2014, 09:45:11 AM »
What a great idea, letting modern kids do what we did as kids ...learn from experience http://www.sbs.com.au/news/dateline/story/no-rules-school
Edit : meant to say wonder how hard it would be to get our kids school to this too.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2014, 04:02:11 PM by edz »

Re: Would you alloy your school to do this
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2014, 09:58:12 AM »
Sounds like what we used to do when I was at primary school!

Building cubby houses out of timber and bark at the rear of the school block which was forested, and walking out onto the ice on the next door neighbours dam when it froze over, all under the supervision of the teacher at the time.

All seemed perfectly safe at the time!

« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2014, 10:04:49 AM »
FFS let kids be kids...
maybe if at a young age they were allowed to be kids and face murderous danger like building cubby houses, billy carts, ride pushbikes to school without having to get a "SCHOOL BIKE LICENSE", climbing trees, farting they would grow up to enjoy things more than electronics.

« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2014, 12:04:32 PM »
There was a song once that had a line

" you gotta get a little dirt on your hands boy"

very, very true :cup:

Sorry Bird you probably haven't heard it, it's a bit c&w  >:D >:D

Offline Bullant4x4

« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2014, 12:18:41 PM »
« Last Edit: October 31, 2014, 08:01:19 AM by Bullant4x4 »

Offline smartyingreen

« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2014, 12:31:38 PM »
More or less how I run it at home. As the principal said, they hurt themselves, they get up and usually get on with it!

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Smartyingreen - HZJ105 Land Cruiser + Cameron HD Off Road Unlimited Concept Camper.

« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2014, 12:46:41 PM »
Our kids school has a similar policy but not quite as open. Kids have been there two weeks after the move and they love it. My 7 year old son comes home buggered every day after making cubbies and bases out on the oval with what ever they like.

Funny though our kids generally ride to school everyday and theirs are normally the only bikes in the bike cage each day. Thinking I may ask if we can get our own key cut to save 10 minutes each day collecting it from the office. Surely the hills are not that bad, Harkaway, a small country town in suburbia Melbourne, happy days

« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2014, 04:01:14 PM »
FFS let kids be kids...
maybe if at a young age they were allowed to be kids and face murderous danger like building cubby houses, billy carts, ride pushbikes to school without having to get a "SCHOOL BIKE LICENSE", climbing trees, farting they would grow up to enjoy things more than electronics.

and probably less chance of them shooting people i the middle of a shopping centre or school yard

Re: Would you allow your school to do this
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2014, 04:08:00 PM »
I know you might find this hard to believe, but I was right proper turd at school and spent most of my time getting the cane, being threatened with the cane, watching my best mate get the cane while I waited my turn and stuff like that.

Yeah, we had a few rules, but stuff me, we tested 'em pretty good.  >:D

Offline DarWen

« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2014, 05:06:52 PM »
 Jeepers, I fine it hard to believe you even went to school. ;D

« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2014, 05:12:21 PM »
You in trouble as as youngster ....Nahhhh no wayyy, wouldnt believe it . ;D 

« Reply #11 on: October 23, 2014, 06:17:00 PM »
Our kids school has a similar policy but not quite as open. Kids have been there two weeks after the move and they love it. My 7 year old son comes home buggered every day after making cubbies and bases out on the oval with what ever they like.

Funny though our kids generally ride to school everyday and theirs are normally the only bikes in the bike cage each day. Thinking I may ask if we can get our own key cut to save 10 minutes each day collecting it from the office. Surely the hills are not that bad, Harkaway, a small country town in suburbia Melbourne, happy days

GG we used to go to the ringing of the bell at Harkaway every new years eve, don't know if they still do it but it was always great fun and a good way meet the locals

« Reply #12 on: October 23, 2014, 06:35:34 PM »
I know you might find this hard to believe, but I was right proper turd at school and spent most of my time getting the cane, being threatened with the cane, watching my best mate get the cane while I waited my turn and stuff like that.

Yeah, we had a few rules, but stuff me, we tested 'em pretty good.  >:D

So what's changed  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

UIZ733

« Reply #13 on: October 23, 2014, 09:11:27 PM »
NO!

Offline rossbarb

« Reply #14 on: October 24, 2014, 06:04:09 AM »
Sorry to tell you the answer is no!!!! it isn't going to happen anytime soon as some parents complain if their children get anything like a paper cut, and if some other child says anything to their child and they can't believe their child would do any thing. Even to the point of calling the police if they get pushed lining up, and no it wasn't a continuing thing
barb

« Reply #15 on: October 24, 2014, 08:27:35 AM »
"Would you allow your school to do this"

Personally I'd make it mandatory but only in the playground as stipulated. Step inside the classroom and it's back down to business with 3Rs and if it doesn't go in the ear it goes in the rear munchkins and as for most participated and every munchkin gets a prize, dream on losers and welcome to life wasn't meant to be breezy
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

Offline Andreweasty90

« Reply #16 on: October 25, 2014, 09:08:20 PM »
I think it's great even just the 10 year gap between myself and my little brother show the major differences now with schools. They are not allowed on the oval during lunch breaks to kick a footy so they all just sit around on their phones and when they get home they are so lazy because they haven't done anything all day but sit around

« Reply #17 on: October 25, 2014, 10:44:02 PM »
FFS let kids be kids...
I Agree. Sick of the Nannys - no really absolutely F-Ing over it

« Reply #18 on: October 25, 2014, 11:30:15 PM »
Hands up all of us that survived the cubby house/tree house ,push bikes , go carts , & all the other stuff we did . l even survived Crackers , though l don't really know how    >:D    :cheers:

Offline avotrol

« Reply #19 on: October 26, 2014, 10:07:35 AM »
We have / are creating a generation that doesn't know what real work is, that has no drive or goals (other than to win the next computer game and move up to the next level) has little to no respect for others / elders and who think the world owes them a living! Nothing is their fault or responsibility as someone else must be to blame. And yes, a lot of that is because of what / how they are taught / restricted at school.

It can be hard to get ideas out of their heads when it gets drummed in there 6 hrs a day  >:(  It seems we can only blame ourselves for letting this happen right under our noses. But just try and do something about it and you get labeled old fashioned, out of touch, radical, even an abuser because "how dare you enforce boundaries".

Try and employ todays kids and you will get a VERY big dose of just how lazy and precious so many are today. Makes a bloke want to chuck it all in and go on a permanent camping trip................"Hey honey, what are you doing for the next 10 years. Want to go for a little holiday?"

:cheers: avo
GU Patrol with home away from home.

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #20 on: October 29, 2014, 08:42:42 AM »
I went to school in Broadmeadows through the 80's.

Not only did I survive everything Speewa mentioned but also school sports where there were winners and losers and most matches ended in a brawl, gang fights between Aussies and Wogs, The Lebanese tigers, going too and from school in a bright blue blazer, Broadmeadows train station, food fights on the bus, school busses without air-conditioning and seatbelts, teachers with the leather strap, Mrs Smart and the wrong end of her feather duster on my arse (several times), late onset puberty and all the ribbing that went along with it, playing British Bulldog, spitballing the art teacher, thumb tacks on seats, non air-conditioned classrooms during 1983, the dust storm, and did I mention Broady train station....the list goes on.

Now I'm off to my appointment with my therapist.....! 

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

« Reply #21 on: October 29, 2014, 11:26:25 AM »
See who ever said Reform school never works, turned out to be a well rounded edumacated member of the population  ;D

« Reply #22 on: October 29, 2014, 02:55:19 PM »
I went to sunshine tech & my aim was the following

1. Get through the gates without getting into an all in brawl with a different nationality group
2. Get through woodwork class without getting hit with flying woodwork that's been varnished, set alight and thrown around
3. Get through cooking class without a food fight
4. Get through metal class without the teacher making you hold a large heavy piece of metal above your head and if you lowered it you got metal blue texta on your face and hit on the calves with a metal pole
5. Get down to the local milkbar/pool room and try and win a game for a few smokes
6. get home without having to do detention or homework

Offline Bullant4x4

« Reply #23 on: October 29, 2014, 03:02:22 PM »
A game of our street was dodge arrows.

One kid would be on one side of the fence and all the other kids were in the empty block next door.

The kid fired the arrow up into the air and the kids on the other side had to dodge it as it came down.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2014, 03:33:01 PM by Bullant4x4 »

« Reply #24 on: October 29, 2014, 03:02:53 PM »
If you watch the video you realise that it's all good fun till someone loses an eye, breaks their neck or gets brain damage. Then the WHS takes over.……