Author Topic: Zombie Apocalypse - Where would you go?  (Read 16713 times)

Offline Brucer

Zombie Apocalypse - Where would you go?
« on: November 05, 2013, 07:52:18 PM »
Just for fun, and for all the Walking Dead fans...
As a camping and 4WDing family we often contemplate the potential advantages and disadvantages of various remote locations as refuge in the zombie apocalypse.
Some of those high country huts have got to be contenders. I mean have you ever seen a zombie negotiate a steep hillside? Not a chance.. they can barely stay upright on flat ground.
What about Bendethera, or McIntyre's Hut? It'd have to be a very determined zombie hoard to make its way into one of those places.
Outback Campers Birdsville, Nissan Pathfinder R51

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
Re: Zombie Apocalypse - Where would you go?
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2013, 07:57:38 PM »
you cant stay up on the maintain forever, eventually u will have to come down to the flats to restock..

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.3 using Tapatalk HD
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline Redcherokee

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2013, 08:01:15 PM »
I see your point. But imagine them taking over the greenies in Parliament House and then heading out to MacIntyres. 

How about somewhere harder to get to, and with a challenging environment where you know more about surviving than they do.  Arkaroola sounds good to me. 

Jeep Rubicon SWB 2013. Outback Campers Sturt 2011
4.2L Patrol and Billabong Grove 16 hard roofed camper.

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2013, 08:26:09 PM »
I dont know anything about the walking dead show..

but have often thought about skilling up, bunkers or a hide out etc, stocking up on supplies and building an awesome vehicle thats useful for either escaping or just living in those times..

But no matter how strong you are, how well equipped or where ever you hide, someone will be stronger, have a bigger vehicle or trick you somehow or over power you somehow and you end up loosing what you had.

Just look at the this new revolution show, the dad had built a nice little community, then within a few minutes was dead.

All to their own.

Peter,

« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2013, 08:35:03 PM »
Wonnangatta Station
But i reckin it would be a tuffffffff winter lol

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2013, 08:56:09 PM »
Do you think you will have it all alone??

you will have to fight for it, and then continue to fight for it for survival.

so I guess it wont hurt to skill up, learn to grow and catch food, build shelter etc. SO basic survival skills always useful.

Peter,

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2013, 09:08:51 PM »
You may fear the dead but you will fight the living ;D ;D ;D

Ammo
Food
water

( oh and a hair straightener if I wanna keep the Mrs with me LOL)

anything else is a bonus but not essential to survive.

I'm excited ;D ;D ;D

Jet
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline Ozsnowman

• "Missus wants an Avan"
  • Travelling with Shirley the van!
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2013, 09:11:03 PM »
Dubbo - nobody ever seems to want to go there  >:D >:D >:D
We've swapped from the camper to a van yay! :)

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2013, 09:33:32 PM »
what will you use to power the hair straightener?? especially when the fuel runs out for the generator..

best to learn how to straighten hair the old fashioned way.

when is the shower brush hair straight
after towel drying (dont fiz the hair just dry in the same direction as (down) you brushed it.
brush hair again using a fine haired brush
keep doing this till hair is dry.

it should be straight ish..

doesnt work too well in humid climates.

Peter,

« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2013, 10:12:42 PM »
what will you use to power the hair straightener?? especially when the fuel runs out for the generator..

best to learn how to straighten hair the old fashioned way.

when is the shower brush hair straight
after towel drying (dont fiz the hair just dry in the same direction as (down) you brushed it.
brush hair again using a fine haired brush
keep doing this till hair is dry.

it should be straight ish..

doesnt work too well in humid climates.

Peter,

You know this but worry about having enough skills to grow food/survive.......funny shyte ;D

Heaps of forums full of survivalist wierdo's, I google and read sometimes for a laugh.  There are some clever people, some freaks and some scarey individuals, most don't rate.  It is especially funny when you consider they are gearing up for dooms day but natural selction is survival of the fittest.  Fittest is clever, good genes, healthy, strong and a bag full of luck.  Some of the clowns are fat armchair bandits with the same amount of common sense as a gnat.

Yeah I think about it would need temperate climate with decent rainfall, fresh water, probably in a valley, decent soil, natural shelter.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2013, 10:19:16 PM by Burnsy »

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2013, 10:16:00 PM »
I've thought about this too.  I would head to Fraser Island. Chances of zombies catching a ferry over are slim to none!  Plenty of fish to catch and eat...
Contact me for special MySwag prices on 4x4 accessories!
http://scenicrim4x4.com.au

« Reply #11 on: November 06, 2013, 05:41:25 AM »
You should also watch Dooms Day Prepers  ,, & what do you mean , where would you go . ???
There is only 1 place to go  " The Pub " , plenty of zombies there to blend in with  already  :cheers:.
Though the conversation is a bit dull all they do is groan & moan so I might as well be at home  >:D

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #12 on: November 06, 2013, 07:10:15 AM »
Definitely the best place would have to be Tracy Island... for the weather and all the cool machines there.

maybe also the alien base in Antarctica if we can find it again....... would be good to find that Stargate too
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

« Reply #13 on: November 06, 2013, 08:01:19 AM »
I think the most important question is "who would you go with".  Good groups will always out survive a collection of individuals.

The lone survivor is typical American bullsh*t

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #14 on: November 06, 2013, 08:05:42 AM »
I've thought about this too.  I would head to Fraser Island. Chances of zombies catching a ferry over are slim to none!  Plenty of fish to catch and eat...

we have the same plan.....I will be coming, looks like ours will be the first fight  ;D

god I love the walking dead
Cheers, Craig

« Reply #15 on: November 06, 2013, 08:15:22 AM »
Probably stay where we are now! Hobart has got to be one of the last places on earth under threat!

Or, head for the hills around Tolmie in the heart of Kelly country. if Ned could hide out there for two years, so could I.  Plenty of deer to provide sustenance.

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #16 on: November 06, 2013, 08:17:14 AM »
The best thing to go is to go where there is no food for zombies. Somewhere where all the residents have no brains to eat, so I'm thinking Frankston? Or Port Adelaide? Or Shabangabang?
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #17 on: November 06, 2013, 09:21:24 AM »
there is a lot of nice ppl in Frankston these days.. atleast thats the rumour..

why hide in hobart, wont there be tassie zombies there too.
same with Fraser Island.

hmmm, might have to make a bunker for my cruiser... ahahhaha dont need one for the family.

Peter,

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #18 on: November 06, 2013, 09:29:50 AM »

why hide in hobart, wont there be tassie zombies there too.
same with Fraser Island.

Plan on the local dingos taking out the first round of locals......for some reason zombiitis does not transfer to dogs  8)
Cheers, Craig

« Reply #19 on: November 06, 2013, 10:03:38 AM »
The best thing to go is to go where there is no food for zombies. Somewhere where all the residents have no brains to eat, so I'm thinking Frankston? Or Port Adelaide? Or Shabangabang?

Mmmm would be more "Brainless" in the A.C.T. I reckon!

« Reply #20 on: November 06, 2013, 10:19:21 AM »

« Reply #21 on: November 06, 2013, 10:24:45 AM »
I"d go to my home brew cupboard and get some full strength alcohol and make a flame thrower out of the Ethanol from the first part of the process.  >:D

Offline Brucer

« Reply #22 on: November 06, 2013, 11:01:45 AM »
Islands would be risky IMO. If you've seen the 2004 version of Dawn of the Dead you will know what I'm talking about!
I think a remote location would be good for a small group i.e a family that has some bushcraft/survival skills. This wouldn't work long term but assuming the zombie curse is eventually defeated (e.g. World War Z) they may be able to sit it out.
Outback Campers Birdsville, Nissan Pathfinder R51

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #23 on: November 06, 2013, 11:40:11 AM »
sitting it out with the family in the outback, then where would you choose??

need water and food supplies, plenty of rabbits and roos if you can catch them.. also plenty of food according to the aboriginies.?

Peter,

Offline Trackaprado

« Reply #24 on: November 06, 2013, 12:38:57 PM »
Pinch a nice 80 foot sailboat, with wind generator and water desalinator, plenty of fishing gear and sail off into the sunset.

On a side note with all the vehicles to pick from in The Walking Dead why do they putt around in a Hyundai