Author Topic: Your camping chair  (Read 17678 times)

Your camping chair
« on: March 05, 2012, 07:11:18 PM »
Hope everyone is managing to keep dry. The Sunny Coast is bloody wet and I only just escaped from Gympie this morning......those poor bugger are going under again.

Anyway I have been looking at camping chairs BCF, Evilbay wherever I can find them.

I would like to buy some decent chairs for the CT. A couple of years ago we couldn't get hire chairs for a staff party so I bought 25 or so of those sh!tty $5 that you can get from Bunnings / Supercrap etc.

As luck has it I have gone through a fair few / given a few away and now its time to buy something decent / comfortable.

I am about 6"1 and 80kgs and the misses hits the scales at about 54kgs. So we definatley don't need those monster ones that you can get from BCF. But I would like something decent that is comfortable, quality, doesn't weigh to much and folds up pretty compact.

Also, we carry one of those poly tables with the fold out legs, again Bunnings $40 to $50. We like the table because of it size, but its too high to sit at with a camping chair, particularly the kids, so I guess will cut the legs down, when I get some new chairs.

Would love to hear about what you take to sit on camping.

Nomad.

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
Re: Your camping chair
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2012, 07:13:58 PM »
Oztent 'King Kokoda'

Very very comfortable, only problem is everyone wants to sit in my chair now and the moment I get up someone else is in it.
2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2012, 07:20:02 PM »
Dune.!

Offline KevinD4D

« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2012, 07:20:48 PM »
Oz Tent King Goanna. Very nice but a little on the heave side due to the steel legs. 5 yr warranty.
Also have a sheepkin overlayed on it as I am getting older... :'(
Someone also sits in it when I get up also...
2011 Goldstream Wing III (SWMBO's choice) With quite a few mods towed by 2009 GXL D4D 120 Prado with many extras...

Offline NewcastleKnight

Your camping chair
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2012, 07:24:30 PM »

Now This a chair

« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2012, 07:28:14 PM »
Oz Tent King Goanna. Very nice but a little on the heave side due to the steel legs. 5 yr warranty.
Also have a sheepkin overlayed on it as I am getting older... :'(
Someone also sits in it when I get up also...

X2 the best camping chair I have ever sat on

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2012, 07:39:35 PM »
What about one of these ... great idea for lying on your front to read !!!

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Offline Campfire

« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2012, 08:04:00 PM »
X2 the best camping chair I have ever sat on

X 3 ( King Goanna Chairs)

And also have 2 x Oztent big stretchers, RV5 Oztent ( including extra walls, fly, floor).

Campfire

Offline Bennlexx

« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2012, 08:06:23 PM »
Also have a sheepkin overlayed on it as I am getting older...
Someone also sits in it when I get up also..

x3  We're very happy with ours as well.  My wife has a bad back and loves the lumber support strap.

2003 Aussie Swag Rover Ultra & 2012 Prado GXL D4D

« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2012, 08:10:52 PM »
Another vote for the goanna, if i got out of mine at xmas it was always a fight to get it back, I might just have to buy one for the boss when the new camper comes along

Offline McAbouts

« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2012, 08:22:56 PM »
I have a goanna too. Got it at the Queanbeyan 4wd Spectacular this year after my over well loved chair broke on the last morning of our last camping trip (thankfully). Sat in this one and it's brilliant. Good back support and so comfortable.
Louise :D
2002 Prado
2010 Trackabout Deluxe Tourer

Offline MarkandLea

« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2012, 08:30:28 PM »
We have a OZ Tent King Kokoda Chair and love it. I found this one just a little better for sitting at a table. But did really like the King Goanna.
I also found a near exact copy at Anaconda. It was half the price and the only real differences are colour, bag and it only has one drink holder.  :'(

Offline bobwhale

« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2012, 08:31:57 PM »
X4 the goanna great chair +lumbar support bought two so no fights!! :cup: :cup:
cheers B whale.

Offline staghornflat

« Reply #13 on: March 05, 2012, 08:36:58 PM »
Another vote for the goanna, if i got out of mine at xmas it was always a fight to get it back, I might just have to buy one for the boss when the new camper comes along

King goanna, we bought two at once for the that reason, but still have to kick kids out of them when we want to sit down!!!
2017 200 Cruiser
2010 KK limited edition

« Reply #14 on: March 05, 2012, 08:39:10 PM »
Wild Country Derwent.

Purchased at Rays for about $65 on special.

good aluminium armrests.

http://www.dwights.co.nz/product/108/WildCountryDerwentChair.html?page=68

« Reply #15 on: March 05, 2012, 08:39:29 PM »
Thought I'd add a photo oh the Oz tent King goanna

Offline KevinD4D

« Reply #16 on: March 05, 2012, 08:39:53 PM »
I got 2 so SWMBO would not go without and constantly kicking kids out of mine, cos I can...make metal note...move beer fridge next to chair... 8)
2011 Goldstream Wing III (SWMBO's choice) With quite a few mods towed by 2009 GXL D4D 120 Prado with many extras...

Offline Doug.b

• Dislike keyboard Heroes
« Reply #17 on: March 05, 2012, 08:43:11 PM »
I have two of these, http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Coleman-Foxy-Lady-Relaxer-Chair-Black-Gold.aspx?pid=167583&menuFrom=511102#Description
Pack up compact and very comfortable, I prefer chairs with solid arms
2012 PAJERO VRX  - Adventure offroad camper  - Cape York 
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35363.0

« Reply #18 on: March 05, 2012, 08:59:57 PM »

We have these for lounging in ... they allow you to lie back ... I'll admit that they don't fold up to the smallest size, but the comfort outweights the storage difficulties you may experience ...

And these for either sitting at the table ... or resting your drink on beside your comfy chair.  These fold up flat and about 30cm long and 15 wide ... about 5cm high.  Our table is thicker.

Offline GMac

« Reply #19 on: March 05, 2012, 09:05:46 PM »
Gee, based on all the comments, I think I gotta get me a couple of those Goanna chairs now!!

Offline SUPA105

• Saw it....wanted it....chucked a fit....got it
« Reply #20 on: March 05, 2012, 09:22:50 PM »
Got the goanna chairs here as well......hard to ignore the amount of comments on the oztent chairs.....me thinks we have made your mind up for you.

2000 GXL Landcruiser with toy's
2004 Wallaby camper
& bugger all time to get the two together.....

« Reply #21 on: March 05, 2012, 09:25:25 PM »
We use to buy new chairs every year until we got these ...... you can't go past the Coleman Big Foot

« Last Edit: March 05, 2012, 09:28:08 PM by yogi »

« Reply #22 on: March 05, 2012, 10:03:00 PM »
We've got one of the ARB hard-arm chairs, and a Coleman Big Foot chair. The ARB chair is fantastic, and I'm not allowed in it during the day. However, once the sun goes down the aluminium arms get cold, so I get turfed out of the other chair at that point.

I would recommend either of them. Also, when I grow up, I want a King Goanna chair. The adjustability on them is excellent.

Good luck!

« Reply #23 on: March 06, 2012, 08:42:43 AM »
Oztent 'King Kokoda'

Very very comfortable, only problem is everyone wants to sit in my chair now and the moment I get up someone else is in it.
x eleventy.. had to buy another and 2 more for mate of mine and his missu

Offline Jaashjr

« Reply #24 on: March 06, 2012, 09:14:42 AM »
And yet another vote for the Goanna,  I have one and it is by far the best chair I have ever sat in.  I found when I stuffed the bag inside the headrest it was too large and when I took it out the headrest was too far back, I have cut a piece of 2" thick foam that I place in the headrest (it fits in the bag when packed up) and it is absolutely perfect now!!