Author Topic: G'Day from Alice Springs  (Read 6175 times)

Offline Jim.

G'Day from Alice Springs
« on: November 27, 2010, 06:57:55 AM »

I've been lurking for a while taking in all the great info this site and its members freely offer. My name is Jim and I'm a long time resident of Alice Springs.
My wife and I love camping, and have decided we would like to purchase a C/T, we havent found one yet but I'm sure the right one will come along. We are after a used Aussie Swag (am I allowed to say that here) I will post a thread in the wanted section later today :laugh:
From what I've read so far this site contains a wealth of great information, and hopefully I can offer something worthwhile from time to time.

Regards to all Jim.

Re: G'Day from Alice Springs
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2010, 07:11:14 AM »
Welcome Jim and what a great place to live. We loved our trip to central Aus but it takes so long for us to get there. You have it on your back step.

« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2010, 08:25:11 AM »
G'day there jim, welcome to myswag it's a great place lot's of info, never made it out as far as you, the centre but do plan to..enjoy

Offline Yoda42

• Beagle kisses don't grow hair
    • Travels With Beagles Blog
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2010, 08:35:22 AM »
G'day Jim, good to see another Territorian :cup:

Good luck in your search for a used Aussie Swag ;D We looked for a little while and came to the conclusion that there are no Aussie Swags available second hand as people hang on to them! Which spoke volumes as to their quality to us.

So we splashed out to get new, and the only thing we are disappointed about so far is that it's a bloody long time until March when it arrives ;D
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, 2 beagles & an Lifestyle Reconn
http://travelswithbeagles.blogspot.com

« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2010, 08:38:47 AM »
G'day Jim and welcome to Myswag. Good luck sourcing your Aussie Swag.  :cheers:

« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2010, 09:20:22 AM »
RVPOINT.COM    2003 mod aussie swag in QLD $20,500

« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2010, 12:33:49 PM »
Welcome Jim, I used to live in the Alice and loved it, will be back there early next year to catch up with the family again and have a look around.

Wil

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2010, 03:08:22 PM »
Gday Jim, great spot you live in.ive been there 7 times now(nearly a local) and enjoy every trip.Will be back through next year too.
Enjoy a great site.
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2010, 06:04:06 PM »
Welcome to the Forum

« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2010, 07:26:31 PM »

Hi Jim,

Welcome to The Swag.  Buying a Swag means you can't go wrong.  Excellent choice.  I was out your way in '96 and I intend to return again.  Is it as green as everywhere else of late?

« Last Edit: November 27, 2010, 07:31:09 PM by Kit_e_kat9 »

Offline outback jack

« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2010, 08:20:01 PM »
gday jim, i have  had an aussie swag camper for 10 years, fantastic camper. if you look at the top left of this screen you will my model
cheers, jack

Offline Jim.

« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2010, 05:45:23 AM »

Thanks all for your warm welcome to Myswag,
Kit_e Central Australia has had monumental rain this year and everything is green and lush. All the waterholes are full, most creeks are still flowing, and the bird life is unbelievable :laugh:
Moto Tech, seven times is almost a local.....................have you seen the Todd running? if you see it running three times they say, you will never leave.
D4D, I'm lucky to have one of the most under rated, magnificent, ancient, rugged yet fragile and beautiful back yards in the land.............I'm keeping it quiet, otherwise we will have every man and his dog up here :laugh:......with a tag like D4D you must be, are you one of those mad Disco drivers?

Regards to all Jim.

« Reply #12 on: November 28, 2010, 06:43:50 AM »
......with a tag like D4D you must be, are you one of those mad Disco drivers?

Nah, I have a D4D motor in my Prado, pretty original  ;D

« Reply #13 on: November 28, 2010, 07:41:31 AM »
G'day & Welcome Jim.

The AS is a good choice, top of my wish list.

Offline spike45

• Adventure before Dementia!
    • Spike's MySwag Gallery
« Reply #14 on: November 28, 2010, 08:36:29 PM »
Hi Jim
Welcome to the Forum , hpoe that you have luck in your search for a ct
Spike45
Mitzy Challenger and Goldstream Storm RV
http://www.myswag.org/gallery/v/spike45/

Offline McAbouts

« Reply #15 on: November 28, 2010, 09:08:45 PM »
Welcome Jim,

Planning on a trip up your way next year. Will be the first time for us into the Territory and we can't wait. Any tips and hints on what to visit etc would be great.

Louise :D
2002 Prado
2010 Trackabout Deluxe Tourer

Offline Jim.

« Reply #16 on: November 29, 2010, 05:40:47 AM »

Louise, make sure you allow at least a week in Alice, you would be surprised how many people come here and only stay for a day or two, do a town tour and leave, never venturing out and seeing the great country Central Australia has to offer.

Do a day tour and visit the, Royal Flying Docter, The Alice Springs Telegraph Station, The School Of The Air, The Desert Park and The Transport Hall Of Fame, all of these places are all fantastic and interesting in their own right and not to be missed, it will give you an understanding/feel for some of Alice's history before heading out bush.

Hook your camper up and take off west to Redbank Gorge (180km) camp at the Woodlands Campground for a night or two, it's a truly breathtaking place, (I always take my visitors there and no-one goes away unaffected by Redbanks ancient beauty) when your over Redbank hook up and head east back to Alice, make sure you visit Ormiston Gorge (about 50km east of Redbank) there's a campground there, it's very popular with visitors you could easily spend a couple of nights there to! there's a water hole if you like a swim. After leaving Ormiston heading east back to Alice (120km) you can visit all of the Gorges and sites of interest that take your fancy. Stop and camp at Ellery Creek Bighole (80km) east of Ormiston, have a swim in the waterhole, take in the ranges, the birdlife and the peace and quiet that only the bush can offer. If you can drag yourself away from Ellery head back to Alice, and spend a night at Lassitors Casino have a shower and a feed and reflect on the great experience you have had and start planning your next trip!

That’s only the touristy West Macs, easily a week could be eight days. There’s always the East Macs (personal favourites) the South West (Watarrka) and the Davenport Ranges (The Old Policemans Waterhole)…………………that could easily be another month, perhaps longer?

Regards to all Jim.

« Reply #17 on: November 29, 2010, 06:34:43 AM »
I think you described the reason that much of the population of Alice went up there for a few weeks holiday and are still there 10 years later, its that type of place.  I went up for two weeks and a couple of months later went back for 10 years, been away for 15 years but still want to go back.

Wil

Offline eacham

« Reply #18 on: January 27, 2011, 07:49:11 PM »
Ellery creek big hole mentioned by Jim is certainly a beautiful spot, but the camping sites are very limited with space, shade etc - just your standard tent sites really. We went there in early January looking for bush camping partly on the strength of the description above, but in my view it's not really a place where you'd set your camper up properly, particularly in hot weather and with crowds of people around.
Luckily we had a chat to a bloke who was there guiding a tour, and his hot tip was to go about 40 k further west to the Finke, just 100 m after the Glen Helen resort turnoff, follow the track along the river to the right over a bit of sand and we'd find what we were after.
It was great advice, found a top spot with lots of shade, a stone's throw from the river - spot on. Stayed 3 nights but could have easily gone more - a nice flow of water in the creek, couldn't have been more relaxing apart from having to help the couple of blokes who bogged themselves in the sand nearby... :-[

Offline grizzly

« Reply #19 on: January 27, 2011, 09:04:31 PM »
G'Day welcome Jim
I made the blue of not allowing enough time to see the Alice properly and have it on the list to go back as soon as possible as we saw it 3yrs back before they had any of the rain, would love to redo most of the trip and see the country at is best not it dryest.
Grizzly

« Reply #20 on: January 27, 2011, 09:09:28 PM »
Gday Jim welcome to My Swag

Offline Jim.

« Reply #21 on: January 28, 2011, 07:36:25 PM »

Eacham, I'm feel terrible that on the strength of my description of Ellery you went there and didn't enjoy it!........................It sounds like you ended up at Two Mile, hopefully there wasn't to many mossies around.

Perhaps I need to be a bit more careful recommending places to see and visit in the Centre.

Regards to all Jim & Kerrie.

Offline 9775Andrew

« Reply #22 on: January 28, 2011, 07:45:32 PM »
Welcome Jim,

As a recent member I can say there are no questions left unanswered here for too long (or opinions given anyway)  ;D

Love to hear about life in Alice

We're Grey Nomads in Training

Offline eacham

« Reply #23 on: January 30, 2011, 03:25:26 PM »
Hey Jim, no worries at all - the Big Hole was great to see and have a swim at anyhow, but we just had the 'away from it all' bush camping idea in our heads...yep, it was Two Mile where we camped, and that was fantastic for what we wanted. No mossies to speak of, a few dingoes, nesting budgies, nice cool water to get out of the heat, and a bit of sand driving to get into the spot - bloody beautiful!
This was all part of a big trip from SE Vic up to FNQ, so we were in the neighbourhood anyway so to speak!

Timbo

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #24 on: February 02, 2011, 02:43:03 PM »
G'day Jim welcome to My Swag mate

2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA