Author Topic: Hi from Melbourne  (Read 4745 times)

Offline Dunk66

Hi from Melbourne
« on: January 19, 2011, 09:14:23 PM »
Hey all names Dunk new to this site am currently looking to buy a camper trailer within the coming months looking at pinnacle campers, gic ,vic getaway campers also outback campers from carrum downs hoping to get some reviews suggestions though they must have enough room for 4 kids as well thanks

Offline chrisroche

Re: Hi from Melbourne
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2011, 09:29:45 PM »
Hi Dunk,

Welcome.  Also from Melbourne and with nearly four kids we did the same excercise less than a year ago so happy if you want to PM me and have a chat.  Top Vic Campers = Tru Blue / O'briens / Tambo. Did not go the oOutback as did not have a 12ft tent.

Chris
Are we there yet?

2011 Pathfinder...Lifestyle Camper

« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2011, 09:30:56 PM »
Welcome aboard mate, great forum great people and lots of info  :cheers:
Make your decision carefully when shopping for a CT.
Pinnacle campers? check this thread http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=10746.0
although you get your good and bad with everything.
Jump in the My Camper Trailer forum. You are sure to find something you like there.
The Camel's are very popular on here, great set up there is a dealer in Cranbourne if you wanna check them out. http://www.camelgroup.com.au/

« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2011, 09:32:04 PM »
G'day Dunk and welcome to Myswag. :cheers:

Offline NandK

« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2011, 09:42:08 PM »
Hi Dunk,

New member here as well.

We picked up our new camper from Tru Blu only last month.
Don't have any kids so can't help if a Tru Blu will be the best for you.
Take your time and checkout all the manufacturers.

Nigel and Kathleen

Offline outback jack

« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2011, 06:00:51 AM »
gday dunk

welcome to the forum

a few years ago i had a dingo camper, they were based in dandenong.

good camper and the price was good

cheers - jack

« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2011, 06:16:39 AM »
Welcome to the Forum Dunk, dont forget the second hand market as well, there are a heap of good campers out there that have been pre-loved and already set up with all the good bits

« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2011, 06:35:11 AM »
G'day & Welcome Dunk.

I have an Outback Birdsville, they're a trifle old fashioned, but well made, especially the tent, which is very easy to open.

« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2011, 06:35:25 AM »
Welcome Dunk,

« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2011, 06:49:21 AM »
Hi Dunk & welcome to Myswag.

Offline tonyw

• Tonys Travel Blogs
« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2011, 09:26:45 AM »
Hey mate welcome!!

i was down at Outbackcampers last Saturday they seem pretty well made
and the staff were very helpful.

« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2011, 08:07:48 PM »
Gday Dunk and welcome to the forum

Offline holycrapola

• Owner of a camper trailer - a tent on a trailer
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2011, 04:13:36 PM »
Hi ya Dunk

Goodluck on your CT shopping :) We have three kids and have just been away a couple of times in our new CT, starting to think we bought a lemon. :cheers:

There should be a Caravan and Camping show coming up before Easter. They generally have a huge range of CT's to look at and if you get in early can pick up some good show specials.

Looking forward to hearing about your purchase. :cheers:
New 2010 BT CT - semi off road towed by an Aurion

Leaking tent...arghhh
Not enough to dampen the camping spirit

« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2011, 04:52:11 PM »
Dunk66  Welcome to Myswag . In your CT quest dont be afraid to ask questions , they may sound silly , more so if not asked . If you need to know ask  ;D Also check out the Newbee Weekend coming up . Could well be worth a wizz in to see what going on  :cheers:

Offline Dunk66

« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2011, 05:54:27 PM »
looking at all the different makes and models is doing my head in However have pretty much settled on the Southern cross bush mate quality canvas quality trailer and fittings 5 year warranty on tent 2 year on trailer includes in price hitch master hitch, rego, 12v system, 240 system, 2 burner stove and griller kids room which they will alter to suit my brats  full annexe with canvas fly over 100% aussie built 100% aussie canvas gas all plumbed and wire up 4"innerspring queen matteress good size tool box gerry can holders gas bottle holders  awesome slide out kitchen automotive pinch seals on all doors and tail gate total cost $24,700.00

Southern cross is probably the best suited camper for my family next to complete campsite and Tambo campers geez l hope l got it right :cheers: ???
« Last Edit: January 21, 2011, 05:56:25 PM by Dunk66 »

Offline tonyw

• Tonys Travel Blogs
« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2011, 06:39:03 PM »
I have added their Bushman to my list of to see CT's

and yes your right it does do the head in looking t all these models.

You should be right with your selection, i had a tent of theirs years ago and the canvas was superb.
Another guy i was speaking to recently has had his Sthn X CT for about 6 yrs and loves it, hes the reason i was prompted to have a look.

« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2011, 10:45:05 PM »
Hi Dunk66 and welcome to Myswag from the far north.
Good luck on your researching and checking out cts.  Can be very confusing at times but very exciting as well.
We settled on a Trackabout Safari as we had seen it in action first hand a couple of years ago when we did a trip to the tip of Cape York with our son who owned a Trackabout.  That thing was put through its paces well and truly and survived everything thrown at it.  Tough as old boots, as the saying goes.  haha  It was awesome.
So consequently, hubby and I have one on order now.  Can't wait - a few more weeks to go.  WooHoo!!
Sharyn