Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730204 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4975 on: September 13, 2019, 12:41:48 PM »
Not today but over the weekend..  Prepping for three weeks on the road.
Organising all the camping stuff
Fill the water tanks..
Fill the gas tank..
Charge the battery..
etc etc etc........

Did I read somewhere that the Nation's Capital was mentioned? Why, Noel, Why?"

« Reply #4976 on: September 13, 2019, 01:36:21 PM »
Did I read somewhere that the Nation's Capital was mentioned? Why, Noel, Why?"
Yeah I know it's all kinds of stupid  :laugh: :laugh:

My mates better half is turning the big 60 so thought we would spend it camping at Wee Jasper. Have known them since the 70's when we were young and silly riding Motorbikes. Gaz accompanied me to the Big Red Bash a couple of years ago. Might venture up through Lithgow and revisit Newnes again on the way back.
And congrats on getting the 200th page in this thread.

« Reply #4977 on: September 15, 2019, 07:29:57 PM »
Serviced the ride on with some new blades and a grease and oil change, now cutting like new again. Only has 150 Hrs on it so should be good for a few more years yet

Also knocked up a mini skate board ramp for Declan for his finger skates

« Reply #4978 on: September 15, 2019, 07:31:52 PM »
Quote from: noel_w
Yeah I know it's all kinds of stupid  :laugh: :laugh:

My mates better half is turning the big 60 so thought we would spend it camping at Wee Jasper. Have known them since the 70's when we were young and silly riding Motorbikes. Gaz accompanied me to the Big Red Bash a couple of years ago. Might venture up through Lithgow and revisit Newnes again on the way back.
And congrats on getting the 200th page in this thread.
or via Hcountry

« Reply #4979 on: September 15, 2019, 08:19:10 PM »
Loaded trailer and Ute with a few tools for a small job. Swag is packed . It'll see me out for the rest of the year and maybe into the next year.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Offline Gandalf the White

• Wise Wandering Wizard
  • Feelin great with a 2.8
« Reply #4980 on: September 15, 2019, 09:12:35 PM »
Loaded trailer and Ute with a few tools for a small job. Swag is packed . It'll see me out for the rest of the year and maybe into the next year.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Talking of tool boxes, I’ve heard tales of your massive soldering iron. True or just B&S?
How to fall asleep in a chair
1 - sit in a chair
2 - be old

« Reply #4981 on: September 17, 2019, 05:29:30 PM »
made up a couple of pop-up sprinklers...

and also replaced all the crap springs on my guy ropes with Supapeg springs...  hopefully these will last longer...  >:(

« Reply #4982 on: September 17, 2019, 08:57:59 PM »
made up a couple of pop-up sprinklers...

and also replaced all the crap springs on my guy ropes with Supapeg springs...  hopefully these will last longer...  >:(

What would we do without “Parramatta “ rope otherwise known as telecom rope?

« Reply #4983 on: September 18, 2019, 07:10:26 AM »

not wrong... they've been perfect as guy ropes...

« Reply #4984 on: September 18, 2019, 07:19:10 AM »
I think they're called "person ropes" these days.

Get with the times, you'll upset the girls.

« Reply #4985 on: September 18, 2019, 12:55:26 PM »
I think they're called "person ropes" these days.

Get with the times, you'll upset the girls.

Only if they identify as ropes 😂😂😂

Offline Palmer

« Reply #4986 on: September 21, 2019, 08:49:20 PM »
Had a lesson in how to butcher some freshly harvested, organic, free range product. From a bloke who has been both professionally experience and self taught from when he was a kid.

« Reply #4987 on: September 22, 2019, 05:56:31 PM »

About 9 mths back I was doing tip runs for the local Vinnies, NBN cable was being spread around the town at the same time.
My offsider and me would often get a couple of kilometers of the stuff just about each time we went. Apparently it was used to pull the cable through the piping ONCE, then they'd use new lengths.....score for us, helps to blow out the $$$ wiring a town for NBN  lol

« Reply #4988 on: September 22, 2019, 06:28:26 PM »
Finished off my "Altar" today. Adorned with gatherings from our trips over the years.
Needed to cover the shed after the hedge died.

« Reply #4989 on: September 22, 2019, 08:25:49 PM »
Finished off my "Altar" today. Adorned with gatherings from our trips over the years.

I like it, I like it a lot! ;D

Offline Palmer

« Reply #4990 on: September 23, 2019, 07:41:29 AM »

Much better than mine, that are just scattered through the garden.

Offline richo9923

What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4991 on: October 04, 2019, 09:00:48 PM »
Made a knife, well today and the last two days to be honest, it’s a present for a friend and pretty happy with it if I’m honest

« Reply #4992 on: October 04, 2019, 11:33:10 PM »
Nice work
What does your mate do for a hobby, a serial killer?

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #4993 on: October 10, 2019, 10:35:30 AM »
Not in the shed, but associated with it.
Installed two 5000 litre slimline rainwater tanks and plumbed them into the existing stormwater lines.

Funny story (not), a plumber was hired by the previous owners to do some remedial work prior to our purchase of the property being finalised two years ago. The shed roof was originally plumbed into two 6000 gal concrete tanks under the shed, with an overflow exiting straight onto the ground near to the inlet from the shed roof. Somehow the plumber managed to connect the roof downpipes to the overflow, and proceeded to run a line from this to the street, so there was no water from the four bay shed contributing to our rainwater capture. We didn’t find this out for almost 12 months, and after we had added a concrete apron to the front of the shed.
Anyway, just hope to get some rain to fill the new tanks, and alleviate the drought conditions.
Bruce

« Last Edit: October 10, 2019, 10:38:19 AM by bmwfreak »
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #4994 on: October 10, 2019, 11:38:54 AM »
We're supposed to get wet stuff tomorrow with any luck.

20mm should have us full again.

The reports vary from a light shower to a biblical event.  ???

Offline DandyD

« Reply #4995 on: October 10, 2019, 04:23:42 PM »
I need a decent self cleaning filter to stop all the crap off the roof ending up in the tank. At the moment I use a diverted in the downpipe that gets clogged even in the summer. With the leaves dropping soon, it's probably not going to last a couple of days before it needs cleaning.

« Reply #4996 on: October 11, 2019, 09:08:15 AM »
We're supposed to get wet stuff tomorrow with any luck.

20mm should have us full again.

The reports vary from a light shower to a biblical event.  ???

The guess I've seen shows maybe 20-30 mm out your way ???

Hopefully the Onion Man was right! ;D

« Reply #4997 on: October 12, 2019, 06:44:01 AM »
We've had 28mm so far.

Main tank (30,000 litres) is at 3/4 full.
2nd tank (10,000 litres) is over flowing to the back dam.
3rd tank (10,000 litres) is over flowing to the front dam.
4th tank (1,600 litres) only a baby emergency tank and is over flowing into the main tank.

I would expect we'll be at full capacity by the end of the day.

Hey, i was telling old Al and Wazza (locals) the other day what the onion man said.

Both reckon he couldn't find his own arse to wipe it.  :D
Seems, he might not be right yet about the main dams filling, but at least it friggin rained.

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #4998 on: October 12, 2019, 06:54:22 AM »
We got 10mm overnight, while Kingaroy, 20 km west of us had either 17mm or 28mm, depending on which BOM app you believe. Not a lot, but the first decent rain we have had for at least 8 months. :cup:
Edit: the BOM has been corrected. Both now show 17mm🙂
« Last Edit: October 12, 2019, 07:03:30 AM by bmwfreak »
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #4999 on: October 12, 2019, 07:10:28 AM »
our bom thing is Gatton.... ours it what came out of the gauge.