Author Topic: 18v Cordless Powertools - Opinions  (Read 11105 times)

Offline peanut2

18v Cordless Powertools - Opinions
« on: May 26, 2016, 01:31:35 PM »
Hoping for a bit of help here.  Just about to purchase some 18v cordless powertools for general use around the farm and camping before end of financial year.  Currently we are leaning towards either the Milwaukee or Hitachi brands.  Would like to get some opinions on these 2 brands.  Milwaukee sport 5.0ah batteries and Hitachi are 6.0ah batteries.  Milwaukee 5yrs warranty on tool and 2yr on battery - Hitachi 3 yr warranty.

Looking forward to your comments and helpful advise.

Peanut

Re: 18v Cordless Powertools - Opinions
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2016, 01:51:33 PM »
Most popular brand for tradesman up here is Hitachi or Makita.  between the family, we  have a fair selection of cordless Hitachi gear. Excellent quality. Can't comment on Milwaukee.

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2016, 01:52:47 PM »
I'm a tradie and I only use Milwaukee.

The following users thanked this post: peanut2

Offline green troll

18v Cordless Powertools - Opinions
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2016, 02:03:44 PM »
X2. I have used dewalt and Makita and by far Milwaukee has stood up to the punishment much better. Always spent a few grand on the complete kits so have used most of the tools they offer. Other brands sometimes will have a feature a prefer but on the whole Milwaukee are by far superior
« Last Edit: May 26, 2016, 02:05:31 PM by green troll »
Using Tapatalk
The following users thanked this post: peanut2, Mitch92

Offline b1

« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2016, 02:25:29 PM »
No experience with Milwalkee. Makita are great brand but premium price and not as easy as others dealing with warranty. Hitachi and Bosch Blue better value IMHO and Bosch have been the best dealing with warranty. Bosch often do great value kits around now for EOFY. Hitachi while excellent maybe don't have as big a range and not as easy to get hold of.
The first 50 years of my childhood have been the hardest

Offline avotrol

« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2016, 02:50:54 PM »
Milwaukee. Our 18v tools are worked VERY hard and when the switch played up on the rattle gun (no surprise as it cops an absolute flogging), there was no problems at all in getting it fixed, with the 5year warranty you are well covered. In the US, they have a lifetime warranty  :o
GU Patrol with home away from home.

« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2016, 03:25:18 PM »
Have just replaced my Makita set which I was very happy with, with a full Milwaukee kit, great bit of gear with what I think is a bit more power and a better make

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2016, 03:33:29 PM »
Extensive discussion a few months ago....

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=45990.0
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline
The following users thanked this post: Hairs, peanut2, Goose

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2016, 03:45:20 PM »
All my cordless stuff is Makita and I've been very happy with it.
Seems to be a shift in brands on site though, I'd say the majority of stuff is now Milwaukee. Used to be all you'd see is DeWalt or Makita.
Having said that, if you are only intending to use them at home or camping, and not flogging them every day at work, then any of the brands will do. Find the best price for what you want and get those ones.

P.S- The Milwaukee radios kick arse! ;D 8)

« Reply #9 on: May 26, 2016, 03:45:47 PM »
I am a tradie who no longer works on the tools but project managing and all we buy is 18V Milwaukee. I was wearing my heated jacket last night actually.
The following users thanked this post: peanut2, pank

Offline MadMarv

« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2016, 03:59:54 PM »
My son uses and is really happy with Makita ....

Marv

Offline peanut2

« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2016, 04:05:39 PM »
As expected from this wonderful site, I have received very helpful posts.  Thanks very much for the prompt responses.

Peanut

Offline mrdenn1s

• Dennis Does Cricket
« Reply #12 on: May 26, 2016, 04:10:51 PM »
I've got makita stuff. Can't fault it
2014 Blue Water Tanami Soft floor Camper
2000 Landcruiser 105 GXL Inline 6
2011 Kia Sorento
The following users thanked this post: peanut2, thommo19

« Reply #13 on: May 26, 2016, 04:33:39 PM »
IMO, best bang for your buck is the 18V Makita.  There range of skins is massive compared to others.  I’ve got about a dozen tools accumulated over the last 8 years.  Other than the original batteries dying in the last few years and a dicky trigger on the impact driver, everything still works great.  The brushless ½” impact wrench is a beast.

I’m on building sites almost daily and up until recently Makita dominated every other brand 5 to 1, but Milwaukee is pretty popular these days due to a price drop a few years ago and long warranty.  I invested in a Milwaukee 12V subcompact set last year and the stuff is brilliant and packs a punch for its size.  Hitachi got quite a few people offside with their stuff when they changed the battery a few years ago, rendering their previous Li-Ion stuff obsolete.

Is I was starting from scratch today, it would be a tough choice between Makita and Milwaukee 18V.  Look at their range of skins for other stuff you might buy in the future, might help sway your decision.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: peanut2, b1

Offline melba

« Reply #14 on: May 26, 2016, 06:43:04 PM »
Depending on your budget, milwaukee is on par to the others mentioned if not a tad better these days but my choice is always hilti. If your dropping tools at 3m+ (im clumsy) and want perfection that last Hilti is the go but pricey.... imho.

Offline me217

• datebest.net - visit website and win smartphone!
« Reply #15 on: May 26, 2016, 07:13:39 PM »
in my opinion, Milwaukee or nothing, I've only got the brushed version couldn't afford the fuel. and even the baby drill can't be stalled and will snap 13mm drill bits if not careful.

i also modified the missus's vacuum cleaner to use the batteries, as its battery was dead.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2016, 07:21:15 PM by me217 »
https://t.me/pump_upp

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #16 on: May 26, 2016, 07:42:14 PM »
I use AEG 5 yrs on still going strong on 2A/h batts

drill
driver
impact driver (had highest Nm of all i checked) these units

Was recommended by a builder mate and went with it very happy and would buy AEG again based on the performance and reliability.

New stuff is brush less mine are not

jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline listo

« Reply #17 on: May 26, 2016, 08:19:33 PM »
I like Hitachi for myself but at work we started off with Dewalt & moved onto Milwaukee. No idea why Milwaukee is preferred down this way but the only reason they changed from Dewalt up north was if anything were to happen, no one fixed them under warranty in Australia, so they had to be sent overseas. It's a shame, as my opinion was that Dewalt was the far better brand.

Offline b1

« Reply #18 on: May 26, 2016, 09:21:30 PM »
IMO, best bang for your buck is the 18V Makita.  There range of skins is massive compared to others.  I’ve got about a dozen tools accumulated over the last 8 years.

Range is outrageous, not to many people need an 18v cordless concrete vibrator thou  ;D ;D ;D
The first 50 years of my childhood have been the hardest

Offline me217

• datebest.net - visit website and win smartphone!
« Reply #19 on: May 26, 2016, 09:27:13 PM »
Range is outrageous, not to many people need an 18v cordless concrete vibrator thou  ;D ;D ;D

or a 18v cordless coffee machine lol
https://t.me/pump_upp
The following users thanked this post: b1

Offline dan.batto

« Reply #20 on: May 26, 2016, 11:26:39 PM »
I personally like the Bosch Blue. We use them at work and they cop a hard time. All still going strong! Bosch will quite often do good deals too and throw in extra batteries etc or if you purchase 'x' amount of tools in a $$ value they chuck in something.
Makita for range of skins available
Haven't had much else to do with other brands other than Panasonic cordless drills which come very highly recommended except you pay a premium price for them.

Offline green troll

« Reply #21 on: May 26, 2016, 11:58:11 PM »
I think there's also a difference of opinions regarding tradies. Ie a cupboard maker isn't going to be hard on them as say a sparky or plumber.
Using Tapatalk

« Reply #22 on: May 27, 2016, 05:38:04 AM »

I flog mine everyday. I have a mix of Hitachi and makita and hilti.  Hitachi with has been great although my batteries are crap again, but the tools are easy 8 years old. Makita is not what it used to be years ago. Hilti is awesome, but you a pay a premium plus price also.
Can't comment on the Milwaukie but it is popular and seems good.

« Reply #23 on: May 27, 2016, 05:40:23 AM »

What about the better half? 

Oops sorry, didn't see the word concrete. :D ;D

« Reply #24 on: May 27, 2016, 07:02:25 AM »

I still crack up over the 'cordless' pushbike...

A tradie on a job last year rode his to and from work everyday.  Throw in 2 fresh batteries for each trip and with a few down hill runs and a bit of leisurely peddling.  He could do the 10km trip easy.

or a 18v cordless coffee machine lol

Guys at the tool shop we use weren't overly complimentary of it.  It will suck dry a 3ah battery to create a lukewarm cup of coffee...

I think there's also a difference of opinions regarding tradies. Ie a cupboard maker isn't going to be hard on them as say a sparky or plumber.

The Panasonic 14.4V stuff used to be pretty popular with joiners.  Most these days seem to have gone 2 ways.  All 18V gear with planers and circ saws for doing scribbers, kickers, etc.  Or stick with the corded tools and use the subcompact (9.6v, 10.8v, 12v) drills and drivers.  Unless they're Festool fans, then they just bark and snarl at anyone who comes near them...