Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 515029 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #2400 on: August 29, 2020, 07:34:09 AM »
I have been pondering if I should share a few of the Beauties I have carted around or not.
I decided time I should.
Please do not be asking me about the pick up or destination of these cars.

To kick of, a 63 Impala, full Airbag Suspension

A 53 Ute, it drove as good as any new car does, could easily send the Mrs on a School run with it.....

71 Coupe, with a weapon up front, half the town came out of hiding when we started her up

A 57 in very good nic

This Lincoln was a delight to drive, it was like levitating on a water bed.

Now a 48 Ute, drove perfectly

Next a 61 Australian sold Fairlane, she'd big, a dual cab tray back 4wd fits in the well normally.

Now my Favourite, I wish I took home for ME!!!!

There have been heaps more, Today, I am picking up a 67 Falcon 500, the same as what I tried to buy back before the Wifes Cancer when I had money......
Anyway, I hope the old car lovers enjoy.....
The following users thanked this post: Chappie, NZMarkb

« Reply #2401 on: August 29, 2020, 11:09:20 AM »
Thanks Dave ..Good to hear from you again .. very cool cars you get to play with .
A mate has a Landau based 1974 Ford concept show car [ in pieces ] .. It was fitted  with the 1977  LTD front panels and rear end shape, 4 x  bucket seats, LTD dash, FMX auto and 400 ci cleveland V8,  and a 9" disc braked diff.
Pic to show the style of the front end .

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #2402 on: September 01, 2020, 10:01:14 PM »
The wife went walking today. Sent me these pics.
Reckon she's just teasing me. She'd never let me buy one.......

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

« Reply #2403 on: September 02, 2020, 04:13:04 AM »
The wagon was most likely an ex hearse too.

I tried to buy one when i was 17..... Dad said NO to a V8 at 17.
Bought an XY 250, which would've been faster anyway.

« Reply #2404 on: September 02, 2020, 08:19:06 AM »
Funny how dads used to say NO to a kid of 17 buying a V8 .. Dad knocked me back on a HB torana with a 253 in it .

« Reply #2405 on: September 02, 2020, 10:23:33 AM »
Quote from: MattNQ
I'll take the hearse!! One still in use
https://www.gregsonweight.com.au/services-we-offer/hearses/hearse_1959-ford-ranch-wagon-02/
interesting collection they have
https://www.gregsonweight.com.au/services-we-offer/hearses/

OR this one I followed on Monday
« Last Edit: September 02, 2020, 10:44:06 AM by Bird »

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #2406 on: September 02, 2020, 11:48:29 AM »
Funny how dads used to say NO to a kid of 17 buying a V8 .. Dad knocked me back on a HB torana with a 253 in it .
My dad surprisingly helped my buy my first car- LX Torana sedan with factory 253. 
They were not particularly fast bog stock though I guess.

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

« Reply #2407 on: September 03, 2020, 10:18:56 AM »
 :'( :'( :'( :'(

Not sure how true, but mate just sent me this

Brand new owner of a 1937 Rolls Royce lost control of his Range Rover and trailer.
As a result the Rolls Royce should be regarded as a total-loss.

The sad owner just took delivery of the RR from a Historic Vehicle dealer a few kilometre away from the location of the accident.

« Reply #2409 on: September 03, 2020, 01:30:32 PM »
Given a talented metal worker / time and  money ... It  could be back with most of its original panels and be  better than new ..
Someone like GoJeep  http://willyshotrod.com/   .

« Reply #2410 on: September 04, 2020, 09:39:38 AM »

« Reply #2411 on: September 06, 2020, 05:35:46 PM »
Spotted in my driveway

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #2412 on: September 06, 2020, 06:00:46 PM »
Nice 👍
Put the headlight surround the right way up
Sorry this always bugs me because I put mine on the wrong way once so it one thing I always look at
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #2413 on: September 06, 2020, 06:30:24 PM »
Nice 👍
Sorry this always bugs me because I put mine on the wrong way once so it one thing I always look at

Did not even realise, something else to keep me busy  ;D

« Reply #2414 on: September 06, 2020, 08:01:56 PM »
Very very nice GG, Keep the mechanicals alive and leave her as is " A survivor ' ..  :cup:

« Reply #2415 on: September 11, 2020, 11:55:06 AM »
Another day - another barn find

Dust-covered Holden Torana GTR from 1973 is expected to sell for as much as $100,000 at auction

A classic Australian muscle car from 1973 is expected to sell for over $100,000 
    The 1973 Holden LJ Torana GTR was left sitting in a NSW barn for over 35 years
    Its original owner said he paid just $900 dollars for it when he traded it in 1985

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8688589/Dust-covered-Holden-Torana-GTR-1973-expected-sell-100-000-auction.html

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #2416 on: September 11, 2020, 06:06:39 PM »
Just to even the scales, after GG posted the LC. This one is parked in Burketown CP with a period Viscount van. Also has a boat loader on top of the wagon

We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #2417 on: September 12, 2020, 05:29:57 PM »
Nice
Turned it around today

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #2418 on: September 12, 2020, 05:34:01 PM »
Turned it around today

Haha
When I realised mine was wrong it bugged me until I fixed it
Up the right way it covers the bonnet safety catch up too :D :D
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #2419 on: September 13, 2020, 03:23:09 PM »
Older resto on a mk2 I spotted yesterday..........
« Last Edit: September 13, 2020, 03:25:16 PM by doc evil »

« Reply #2420 on: September 13, 2020, 03:47:38 PM »
Pretty tidy ol Z car.  :cup:

« Reply #2421 on: September 15, 2020, 01:29:07 PM »
one for the ford fans.
What a ****in awesome MANCAVE collection of old fords.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GOjUDSyx4dU

We drive this insane 1967 Ford Falcon XR GT powered by an ex Dick Johnson Racing V8 Supercar engine and check out the mind-blowing mancave where it's housed. 

The 1967 Ford Falcon XR GT was a game changer for Australia and started our whole muscle car war with the big three, Ford, Chrysler and General Motors Holden.
The XR GT won Bathurst and awoke a sleeping giant in the automotive world here for Australian Muscle Car

« Reply #2422 on: September 15, 2020, 01:47:01 PM »
Ol Glen Everitt..... worse TV presenter ever.

He got onto a car forum a few years back and asked for an opinion of his shows, without saying who he was.

About 99.9% of the comments, were..... good show, goofy presenter.

Then he revealed himself.... nothing changed.  :D

« Reply #2423 on: September 15, 2020, 01:50:21 PM »
Ol Glen Everitt..... worse TV presenter ever.

He got onto a car forum a few years back and asked for an opinion of his shows, without saying who he was.

About 99.9% of the comments, were..... good show, goofy presenter.

Then he revealed himself.... nothing changed.  :D
agree... but **** him, some amazing cars.

« Reply #2424 on: September 15, 2020, 03:28:03 PM »
You do know, one of these days, ya gunna have to pry ya wallet open and buy something old.... don't ya?

I had the Fleetwood out today, grabbed some groceries and went to the hardware store.
I always feel good, driving something old.