General => General Discussion => Topic started by: CorzaDry on February 04, 2019, 08:32:09 AM

Title: Advice on caravan ensuite vs external only shower
Post by: CorzaDry on February 04, 2019, 08:32:09 AM
Hi Everyone,

There is a heap of knowledge on here so hoping I can pick people's brains. The wife and I are seriously looking at buying a van with an external shower and no toilet. We have portaloo already and are quite familiar with it. My dad thinks we are crazy for getting a van with no internal sh/toilet since we have kids (one 2YO and one due in May). Is it really that bad not having an internal ensuite? This van has a queen bed and two bunks. We have done a fair bit of travelling with the camper and have never found the shower/toilet thing an issue.  My dad thinks its an issue in some free camps and also just having kids going too and fro from the shower block etc. For the next few years, I see small trips away to bush camps/national parks/van parks and maybe one week away trips with some overnight stops to get a bit further away but most of us know what its like with small kids!

The van we are looking at is a Tango Family Diamond (pictured). I like it because it has a 6" chassis, single axle, good storage, its full height and also only weighs 1750kg unloaded. My 2012 lux can only tow 2500kg, so buying anything too big will mean more money spent in the not too distant future on a new car. I am hoping we can get another 5-10 years out of the lux before needing to move it on. This van is $39990 on road. Any advice appreciated!
Title: Re: Advice on caravan ensuite vs external only shower
Post by: BBull on February 04, 2019, 08:41:33 AM
Hi Everyone,

There is a heap of knowledge on here so hoping I can pick people's brains. The wife and I are seriously looking at buying a van with an external shower and no toilet. We have portaloo already and are quite familiar with it. My dad thinks we are crazy for getting a van with no internal sh/toilet since we have kids (one 2YO and one due in May). Is it really that bad not having an internal ensuite? This van has a queen bed and two bunks. We have done a fair bit of travelling with the camper and have never found the shower/toilet thing an issue.  My dad thinks its an issue in some free camps and also just having kids going too and fro from the shower block etc. For the next few years, I see small trips away to bush camps/national parks/van parks and maybe one week away trips with some overnight stops to get a bit further away but most of us know what its like with small kids!

The van we are looking at is a Tango Family Diamond (pictured). I like it because it has a 6" chassis, single axle, good storage, its full height and also only weighs 1750kg unloaded. My 2012 lux can only tow 2500kg, so buying anything too big will mean more money spent in the not too distant future on a new car. I am hoping we can get another 5-10 years out of the lux before needing to move it on. This van is $39990 on road. Any advice appreciated!
Biggest issue these days is grey water in a outside shower for public and private camping areas. The water just goes onto the ground. With more and more places requiring a grey water tank to capture this waste you may run into a problem at certain places eg Big Red Bash.
We still have a camper with a outside shower but we do a lot of of the beat camping so it is not to much of a issue for us at present.
Post by: CorzaDry on February 04, 2019, 08:47:51 AM
Are there any devices that can capture and hold for an external shower? Or maybe I could make something up.
Post by: Fizzie on February 04, 2019, 08:53:42 AM
You could stand in a tub or similar, like a kids wading pool, then pump the water into a tank. Bit of mucking around but should work ???

The other thing with internal via external is having to do a toilet run at 3am while it's absolutely pelting down outside! ::)
Post by: BBull on February 04, 2019, 08:55:32 AM
Are there any devices that can capture and hold for an external shower? Or maybe I could make something up.
Honestly I haven't even looked at it. If we go to a van park you just use amenities, otherwise we are out bush away form everyone.
For the amount of times it would be a issue you would be able to work around it.
Post by: rags on February 04, 2019, 09:38:34 AM
Drifta makes this shower tray
https://www.drifta.com.au/product/shower-tray-and-accessories/ (https://www.drifta.com.au/product/shower-tray-and-accessories/)
Post by: glenm64 on February 04, 2019, 09:46:50 AM

Hi Everyone,

We (wife and I) have a van with toilet and shower, it was a must on the tick off list when looking for one. We tend to avoid caravan parks, crowds and the likes. After 5 years heres my thoughts.
Firstly, everything is a compromise when it comes to van selection.
Want everything in a van? Its gonna be bigger and heavier. Then the extra size and weight causes problems when you want to get into some bush camps.
If you have been camping using portaloo and bush shower, having the van will be miles in front of the camper in terms of ease of set up/packing away, storage etc.
We have travelled heaps, and the grey water issue is bit overblown.
Even though we have ensuite in van, we take bush dunny to most places where we can, or use long drop dunnies if provided.
We try to avoid camping in rainy weather, we head where its good, so getting up and going to dunny in rain is not really an issue. It may have happened once. The Mrs will use the dunny for #1 at night sometimes, so yes she loves that feature if its needed.
The inside shower is great. Im lazy, so the no set up and ease of use if fantastic.

In the end you have to be happy with your selection, not anyone else.
Yes after a few years maybe you will wish you had internal ensuite.
Now to confuse you, why buy a new van? Look for a good used one. You will save heaps, then if you do want to upgrade as the kids get bigger and you get older, then your not out of pocket too much. Let someone else take the hit on depreciation. I saved about 40k on mine compared to what I was about to buy, and couldnt be happier with it.

Post by: CorzaDry on February 04, 2019, 10:45:12 AM
Thanks for that Glen,

Size is important to me, this van is 7.5m long total length so based on where we have been previously I believe we would get it in there. I've been looking for second-hand vans, wife doesn't want a pop top or expander, which a lot of them are in our price range but isn't too phased on the outside shower or toilet. Buying band new means we will get a long period out of it also with vans around this price around already close to 6 years old. Perhaps in 15 years we can pull out the bunks at the back and put an ensuite in is what we are thinking (we would be 45 by then).

Good to hear grey water isn't a huge issue, we certainly have never had a problem showering anywhere.
Post by: CorzaDry on February 04, 2019, 10:46:09 AM
Drifta makes this shower tray
https://www.drifta.com.au/product/shower-tray-and-accessories/ (https://www.drifta.com.au/product/shower-tray-and-accessories/)

I did see this and I do like the ensuite pull out cover they make, I reckon that would be a must for an external shower.
Post by: KingBilly on February 04, 2019, 10:54:21 AM
For your outdoor shower

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Foldable-PVC-Pet-Pool-Swimming-Cooling-Cat-Dog-Puppy-Bathtub-Indoor-Outdoor-M-L-/223139215852 (https://www.ebay.com/itm/Foldable-PVC-Pet-Pool-Swimming-Cooling-Cat-Dog-Puppy-Bathtub-Indoor-Outdoor-M-L-/223139215852)

Post by: rags on February 04, 2019, 11:23:30 AM
For your outdoor shower

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Foldable-PVC-Pet-Pool-Swimming-Cooling-Cat-Dog-Puppy-Bathtub-Indoor-Outdoor-M-L-/223139215852 (https://www.ebay.com/itm/Foldable-PVC-Pet-Pool-Swimming-Cooling-Cat-Dog-Puppy-Bathtub-Indoor-Outdoor-M-L-/223139215852)

KB the only problem with that option is that in QLD you would need to have a complying pool safety fence, and get a pool safety certificate every time it is set up. I think the rules kick in at 300mm deep.
Post by: Rodt on February 04, 2019, 11:31:52 AM
wife doesn't want a pop top or expander, which a lot of them are in our price range but isn't too phased on the outside shower or toilet.

Good to hear grey water isn't a huge issue, we certainly have never had a problem showering anywhere.
You have said the key point I think in this whole discussion. We have only just recently bought a 2nd hand van and the wife was extremely adamant that it had to have an ensuite so that is what we got. ;D She was over going outside in the middle of the night. As we know it is a little bit harder for the fairer sex in this regard so I deferred to her wishes.

IMO the issue of containing grey water is a bit hard to know 100%. More and more people on various forums and groups are saying that they are seeing signs etc that are pretty specific on containing grey water. My van doesn't have a grey water tank but when we decide to start doing free camping we will be buying one of those little (40ltrs) portable tank on wheels to have just in case. Potentially could be a bigger issue in the eastern states than the west based on what I have been reading but who really knows

While I 100% agree with the 2nd hand point of view it comes down to a personal choice so good luck with it
Post by: Rumpig on February 04, 2019, 11:33:32 AM
Got 3 mates that bought vans the past 2 years with shower and toilet inside, several didn’t really care to much about it but wanted to keep thier partners happy, all 3 now say once you have one there’s no wanting to go back to the other way. Resale of your van will be a big issue also, I know you likely plan to keep it for a long time and say that’s not gunna be a big deal, but non ensuited vans aren’t as desirable to buy for many these days, so could be hard to sell down the track.
Post by: krisandkev on February 04, 2019, 01:07:28 PM
After lots of travel around this great country, don't let the old grey water issue cloud your judgment. Any camp ground that has a grey water limitation just move on and find another camping spot.  But really, they are few and far between.  We have a caravan and a camper trailer and after 3 years and 43,000 kilometres towing our van we would not go without a ensuite.  They make your travels so much easier and camping options so much better. We mainly free or low cost camp (i.e. show grounds).  Having said that, the more comforts you have in your van the more you tend to spend time in the van. In bad weather this is a good thing but once you get spoiled you are in there in good weather. But having a ensuite does add to the weight and size of your van, and cost. We have an outdoor shower also on our van but have never used it. But as I said, we would never go without a ensuite in a van, or a diesel heater ;D.  Kevin
Post by: Bird on February 04, 2019, 01:44:57 PM
Quote from: CorzaDry
Is it really that bad not having an internal ensuite?
No.
Post by: Kangaron on February 04, 2019, 02:51:36 PM
  Having said that, the more comforts you have in your van the more you tend to spend time in the van. In bad weather this is a good thing but once you get spoiled you are in there in good weather

In my very limited stays in van parks it always amazed me, even in great weather, come 6pm, daylight savings, and most places are deserted.
Post by: laurie_lewis on February 04, 2019, 05:08:20 PM
Complete Campsite have a system for their drop down shower module that is basically a fabric shower tray with corner drainage point and a pump to a grey water tank.  Sorry can’t remember where I saw it.

Post by: gronk on February 04, 2019, 05:26:17 PM

The other thing with internal via external is having to do a toilet run at 3am while it's absolutely pelting down outside! ::)

A lot of campers have a porta potti somewhere inside. Same as you can have in a van.  That saves going outside in the night. ( I use a hospital bottle ).  Seeing as most vanners don't use the dunny for no2's, there are times someone is going for a walk of a night !!
Post by: weeds on February 04, 2019, 06:03:22 PM
If you stick with an external shower than one of these are the best, we have one hanging off the side of our car....(camper van)

https://www.drifta.com.au/product/drifta-shower-ensuite/

I haven’t worried about collecting grey water....and no option for us

We have a portable toilet in our car, use it for No 1’s and No2’s.......I struggle understand why those with caravans with en-suite including toilets ban No 2.

Post by: Rumpig on February 04, 2019, 06:36:55 PM
Seeing as most vanners don't use the dunny for no2's, there are times someone is going for a walk of a night !!
not sure I agree with the "most vanners" theory....out of the 6 people i know with an ensuited van, all of them use the toilets for thier intended purpose.
Post by: rags on February 04, 2019, 06:40:33 PM
A lot of campers have a porta potti somewhere inside. Same as you can have in a van.  That saves going outside in the night. ( I use a hospital bottle ).  Seeing as most vanners don't use the dunny for no2's, there are times someone is going for a walk of a night !!

My solution for our expanda. (Just hard pissing upside down( buggered if I know why a photo rotates and how you correct it)
Post by: Kangaron on February 04, 2019, 06:49:55 PM
Post by: gronk on February 04, 2019, 07:04:34 PM
not sure I agree with the "most vanners" theory....out of the 6 people i know with an ensuited van, all of them use the toilets for thier intended purpose.

Well there you go ??
I only know a couple of non crapping van owners !!
Post by: Alan Loy on February 05, 2019, 07:02:53 AM
I seem to be seeing a trend towards some areas that will only accept "fully self contained" camping.  How far this trend goes remains to be seen but when you look at American RVs it may become more common.  I saw a caravan park that doesn't have a toilet block and only catered for 'self contained"

If I was buying a caravan without an ensuite I would go 2nd hand as the prices are quite good (they're less fashionable)  if buying new I would think about resale and consider an ensuite (which I don't want)
Post by: speewa158 on February 05, 2019, 07:23:26 AM
The Grey water collectors are easy to track as they usually open the tank to drain as they drive away in the morning . Don't try to pass a van for the 1st 5Ks of the day , but they do store their Grey water .

Good little Dippers arnt they       ???                      :cheers:
Post by: Rodt on February 05, 2019, 07:48:44 AM
Well there you go ??
I only know a couple of non crapping van owners !!
The people we bought our van off were very adamant that they did No 2s in the toilet however always lined with a plastic bag first and then went and dug a hole and buried it. It was an interesting conversation as it was being portrayed as a selling point. Other than the smell in the van issues if you have the correct chemicals then it shouldn't be a problem. I haven't used this one in anger yet but had the previous porta potty under pressure so to speak and it worked fine.
Post by: Paddler Ed on February 05, 2019, 07:55:23 AM
I suspect in time that there will be a move towards the NZ style of self-contained where they are clearly marked externally if they are self-contained or not.
https://www.nzmca.org.nz/certified-self-containment/ (https://www.nzmca.org.nz/certified-self-containment/)

If they're not self-contained then they won't be allowed to camp "anywhere", they can only use designated campsites.

Why? Well, look at the food scraps that get washed down the drain at washing up time, look a the shower water that comes out with the soapy water (have you ever seen what happens to worms when you put washing up water (clean) on the ground?)

So, given you are looking at 10yrs down the line with the van purchase, I'd be future proofing yourself by getting a van with an ensuite.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on February 05, 2019, 07:57:16 AM
If you are not going to have an internal toilet and shower my question for you is why then are you going for a van and not a camper trailer???
Post by: KeithB on February 05, 2019, 08:06:35 AM
Emptying a smelly toilet cassette every few days can't be a pleasant job at the best of times. So it might be worth considering a composting toilet which are becoming more popular on boats. No 1's go into a separate container which is easy to empty and No2's compost away.

You can apparently go for many weeks without the need to empty the solids container. When you do, it can be buried, put down a composting or long drop toilet or bagged up and disposed of as rubbish. These toilets use no water, require no chemicals and are odourless.

http://www.abetterwaytogo.com.au/airhead (http://www.abetterwaytogo.com.au/airhead)
https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/editorial/details/tested-natures-head-compost-toilet-50620/ (https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/editorial/details/tested-natures-head-compost-toilet-50620/)

Keith
Post by: Rodt on February 05, 2019, 08:21:10 AM
The Grey water collectors are easy to track as they usually open the tank to drain as they drive away in the morning . Don't try to pass a van for the 1st 5Ks of the day , but they do store their Grey water .

Good little Dippers arnt they       ???                      :cheers:

Driving between Kilkivan and Gympie (Qld) just after Christmas and came over the hill to find two monster vans exiting from a side road with exactly this occurring. Nowhere to pass and had to endure for a few kms. Sat back a reasonable way but still copped it
Post by: 2010banditsa on February 05, 2019, 08:54:11 AM
we have a porta poti spot in the van under the bed to hold the toilet and I find its great mainly for kids as unreasonable to ask them to hold on for long periods. Also handy at cramped locations where you sometimes pull up in afternoon just for overnighter Didn't bother with the shower as water is often the limiting factor and I find even being careful, the 160l we have gets pretty low after 1.5 weeks, let alone having enough for a shower. That being said I have a tap on the drawbar with a hose and an 8 spray pattern selector for washing sand/ cleaning salt off/ washing cracks and sacks etc.
Post by: CorzaDry on February 05, 2019, 08:58:34 AM
Some really good advice on here! Drifta ensuite tent looks like a good bit of kit. I understand resale could be an issue, but in 15 years time, most things are worth stuff all anyway. After talking with my wife last night she is still keen so I think we will go ahead with it and enjoy it.

I see the point with being self-contained, and I still plan on putting a grey water tank on for the sink.  In 10-15 years if I fit an ensuite in this van I reckon I would still be ahead an easy 10-15k from less fuel towing and less money on a new car.
Post by: CorzaDry on February 05, 2019, 09:53:08 AM
If you are not going to have an internal toilet and shower my question for you is why then are you going for a van and not a camper trailer???

Want to get away from canvas primarily. If we wanted another camper trailer I would not bother selling the soft floor, I would just keep it.
Post by: tryagain on February 05, 2019, 10:32:05 AM
Sounds like you might have made up your mind but I would keep an eye out for used one without ensuite as someone else mentioned, I think you will find it can greatly affect resale. Best to be on the side that takes advantage of the price drop opposed too if due to unforeseen circumstances you need to sell a lot earlier than your current intended 15yrs. How long did you originally intend to keep your current camper that you bought that you are now superseding?
Post by: Rumpig on February 05, 2019, 11:39:34 AM
Emptying a smelly toilet cassette every few days can't be a pleasant job at the best of times. .....
i doubt you’ll ever find anyone that calls the job pleasant, but it really is a mind over matter thing IMO. I was reluctant to get a chemical toilet for camping years ago, but these days I personally prefer emptying it over digging holes in the ground for my kids to crap in.
Post by: macca on February 05, 2019, 11:47:45 AM
When we're camped on the river bank, water skiing with all the young ladies along we can empty the Porta Potties three times a day running two toilets. Its great coming in from two hours driving the boat in hot weather and before you can even get out of the boat one of the darlings will come and tell you its full again, sure doesn't bother us anymore apart from digging holes above the high water line in 35  degree heat

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: Alan Loy on February 05, 2019, 04:44:28 PM
How long till some CPs have full connections like the Yanks?  For the usual haunts for grey nomads its the next logical step.  (do any local manufacturers make them yet?)

I might use one in 20 years.
Post by: rags on February 05, 2019, 04:58:53 PM
i doubt you’ll ever find anyone that calls the job pleasant, but it really is a mind over matter thing IMO.
[/quote)

How bad could it be?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hb35eIcusb8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hb35eIcusb8)
Post by: macca on February 05, 2019, 05:23:00 PM
Must admitt for thr last three years we have been getting the local PortaLoo man to drop one out on the river bank for us, women love it and it is the best $100 we spend. Back in the old days, still skiing up the Murray our first toilet was an old dunny can (the older swaggers will know them) and it took two blokes to carry it, anyway the handle broke, can hits the ground and up it comes and covers one of the guys, one of the funniest things I have ever seen.
Sorry OP better get back on track,  I personally wouldnt want a loo in the van but the wife would love it, so if i ever buy a van it will have a loo, shower is to me an essential item of camp gear, i try and start every day with a shower

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: Discoduck on February 05, 2019, 06:16:30 PM
Having had tent, caravan without facilities, Tvan, now Trakmaster with toilet/shower combo, wouldn't change now. Don't use the shower too often but just so you know I use 15lts for a 4min shower. Do use toilet for everything (even good on roadside stop if needed, even going through country town if no public loo).
Just remember that all of this will require carrying extra water to feed all this, in my case 3 x 82lts tanks.
Resale value down the track will be hugely affected if no facilities.
Also don't get too excited about 6" A-frame. Most vans stop 6" chassis before axle line, so in my opinion, not much above pointless. Real 6" chassis is like Trakmaster and other specialist  genuine off-road vans are 6" base front hitch to rear bumper.
Just some thoughts, Cheers
Post by: KeithB on February 05, 2019, 07:06:06 PM
Do use toilet for everything (even good on roadside stop if needed, even going through country town if no public loo).
Just remember that all of this will require carrying extra water to feed all this, in my case 3 x 82lts tanks.

Looks like we are back to the composting loo.
Keith
Post by: Rumpig on February 05, 2019, 07:16:56 PM
How bad could it be?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hb35eIcusb8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hb35eIcusb8)
i laugh every time I see that video...those guys must have the weakest stomachs in the world, can we get a video of them changing a babies dirty nappy next please...lol. Clouty that used to be on this forum was like them, I actually went for detour drive one day to a dump point in Gympie when we were both staying at my SIL’s property, just to have a laugh watching him empty his out
Post by: Bird on February 05, 2019, 07:37:06 PM
Quote from: rags
How bad could it be?
thats me 100% down to the ground... even the glugging sound of it spashing out ****ed me up...
Post by: rags on February 05, 2019, 07:57:52 PM
I don't have an issue at all emptying the can but then I'm a plumber with no scense of smell.
In my earlier days I use to drive the choke truck going around schools and other govt buildings of Sydney clearing sewer chokes, and then had the pleasure of pulling the girls sanitary pads of the electric eel cables before packing up and driving to the next blockage. Used to get payed an extra allowance on top of my wage for each choke I did, was a great top up to my pay.
Post by: Pottsy on February 05, 2019, 08:18:24 PM
Gotta love it, it's coming out of the Ol blokes nose. I reckon there's a fair chance they used there sunnies without the appropriate chemicals.
Post by: Moxley on February 05, 2019, 10:33:35 PM
thats me 100% down to the ground... even the glugging sound of it spashing out ****ed me up...

That’s piss funny.

Post by: Rodt on February 06, 2019, 06:06:12 AM
Gotta love it, it's coming out of the Ol blokes nose. I reckon there's a fair chance they used there sunnies without the appropriate chemicals.
Agree. I know when I first started using years ago we initially didn't worry about chemicals as I had helped the local plumber clean a few blocked drains in the past and thought she would be right. While I wasn't anywhere near the guys in the video the emptying wasn't the most pleasant of experiences. Move forward twenty years and now use the correct chemicals and it really is not a big deal. Still have to deal with the smell of the actual dump point tank but that is it.

I show this clip to my girls every now and then in an attempt to get some level of sympathy that I am the one that has to do 'the walk of shame' when in a CP. Doesn't work  :'(
Post by: chester ver2.0 on February 06, 2019, 08:07:48 AM
if you are going to go the NO ensuite option as above you may wish to look at second hand. Close friends of ours went the same way and were absolutely punished at resale time as one of the main reasons for going to a van is the toilet shower availability. it was not just the resale price it was also the 18 month timeframe it took for them to move it that caused issues as well
Post by: dogbox on February 06, 2019, 11:59:24 AM
if you want to be a happy camper get what the wife tells you she wants
Post by: krisandkev on February 06, 2019, 12:48:56 PM
I see you have asked the experts in ExplorOz.  Interesting to see replies there and how they differ to here.  But sometimes the more you ask the more confusing you will get.  Have fun.  Kevin
Post by: CorzaDry on February 06, 2019, 01:16:07 PM
I see you have asked the experts in ExplorOz.  Interesting to see replies there and how they differ to here.  But sometimes the more you ask the more confusing you will get.  Have fun.  Kevin

I asked on the travelling with kids facebook page and got mixed responses as well, but not on explorOz, is there a link to that thread? It has actually been my wife who has calmed me down and said let's get this van even without the onboard amenities. I will fit a grey water tank anyway and will be able to catch the sink water, but really we are quite experienced campers and the shower and toilet thing has never been an issue anyway.

Thanks for the advice regarding the toilet inside, I think getting a small portaloo for in the van at night will be a must! I certainly value everyone's opinions and can see all point of views. I believe this van will work well for us and should give us many geat adventures. 
Post by: glenm64 on February 06, 2019, 01:35:57 PM
I will fit a grey water tank anyway and will be able to catch the sink water, but really we are quite experienced campers and the shower and toilet thing has never been an issue anyway.

Dont worry about a grey water tank for just a sink.
Post by: Bird on February 06, 2019, 01:44:51 PM
agree.
Post by: krisandkev on February 06, 2019, 01:56:48 PM

Totally agree. Hate to think about it if every camper trailer had to have a grey water tank and had to collect shower water as well.  :'(

The whole grey water debate is crazy.  OK in New Zealand who have restrictions, but that is a totally different country, so different to our great and very large country.  But I suppose there are travellers who stick to populated areas and those of us who prefer the big wide open spaces.  But remember, grey water that has been contained for over 24 hrs must be treated as black water. So you can only dump it in waste disposal dump points. But the old grey water debate has been done to death over the years.  Just saddens me that it will happen one day.  Kevin
Post by: Fizzie on February 06, 2019, 03:17:26 PM
I believe this van will work well for us and should give us many geat adventures.

& that's the most important thing! :cup:
Post by: Spada on February 06, 2019, 05:22:51 PM
I believe this van will work well for us and should give us many great adventures.

and thats the clincher.............

If you and yours believe it is what you want, then you certainly don't need anyone else's stamp of approval. Good move to seek opinion and feedback, but ultimately the decision should be whatever you believe will best suit your circumstances.

Post by: CorzaDry on February 06, 2019, 05:39:42 PM
and thats the clincher.............

If you and yours believe it is what you want, then you certainly don't need anyone else's stamp of approval. Good move to seek opinion and feedback, but ultimately the decision should be whatever you believe will best suit your circumstances.

Exactly, before this thread, I was not aware a few things and there's been some good ideas so for that I am thankful!
Post by: chester ver2.0 on February 07, 2019, 07:39:15 AM
agree.

I actually dont know where this grey water collection thing came from, i have not been to a national park on the west coast yet where it was enforced let alone mentioned by caretakes / rangers
Post by: glenm64 on February 07, 2019, 08:08:50 AM
Even in the few places Ive ever been to where it was compulsory, no one has ever checked.

Post by: Rodt on February 07, 2019, 08:11:35 AM
I actually dont know where this grey water collection thing came from, i have not been to a national park on the west coast yet where it was enforced let alone mentioned by caretakes / rangers
X2. No denying though that it is getting more airtime nowadays and more and more people are reporting having to collect. God knows why however I would say it has something to do with (as it always does) people making a mess of areas by not moving their hoses, letting it go through other camp sites, discharging into waterways etc etc.
Post by: austastar on February 07, 2019, 08:30:51 AM
    It may be that the big rigs with washing machines would cause a mess on hard stand.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Post by: Alan Loy on February 07, 2019, 08:38:37 AM
I guess if you have 2 showers, a couple of loads of washing and 3 or more sinks of water you are talking about an entirely different issue to what used to be normal.
Post by: CorzaDry on February 07, 2019, 12:55:05 PM
I guess if you have 2 showers, a couple of loads of washing and 3 or more sinks of water you are talking about an entirely different issue to what used to be normal.

Imagine the size tank needed to carry all that!
Post by: austastar on February 07, 2019, 01:13:36 PM
    I guess some think that plugged into mains power, water and sullage is camping with convenience.
If it keeps them out of the bush I'm happy.

Post by: CorzaDry on February 07, 2019, 02:10:31 PM
    I guess some think that plugged into mains power, water and sullage is camping with convenience.
If it keeps them out of the bush I'm happy.

You will still see me out in the bush! Not buying this to turn into one of those sort of caravaners.
Post by: McGirr on February 07, 2019, 02:20:14 PM
In all my trips all over Australia the only place that asked that we collect any greywater was at Elquestro in the Kimberley. We only had a camp kitchen with a sink and had a bucket for the hose. It was not really policed.

Post by: austastar on February 07, 2019, 03:08:34 PM
   Fresh grey water on a deserving bush seems the best of both worlds.

Post by: Rumpig on February 07, 2019, 06:03:35 PM
   Fresh grey water on a deserving bush seems the best of both worlds.

it's what we have always done...collect in a bucket and empty on base of nearby trees or shrubs.
Post by: Fizzie on February 09, 2019, 12:59:47 PM
it's what we have always done...collect in a bucket and empty on base of nearby trees or shrubs.

But you've collected it first, rather than just letting it run out on the ground, so that makes it OK! ::)
Post by: Rumpig on February 09, 2019, 01:51:33 PM
But you've collected it first, rather than just letting it run out on the ground, so that makes it OK! ::)
I have no issue collecting some washing up water and putting it on the plants, if you have an issue with that then I guess that's your problem.
Post by: Bird on February 09, 2019, 04:46:37 PM
yep, hose into bucket from sink, and empty it straight away, no waiting around.
Post by: speewa158 on February 09, 2019, 05:59:44 PM
Lucky    ,    Lucky    thirsty trees/shrubs  . Waiting for more Swaggers to help them grow  .
 Sadly those trees/shrubs  can sit & watch as swaggers drive away venting Grey water tanks down the road . ln 5KM its safe to pass them as the tank is empty  .                        :cheers:
Post by: aussie9 on February 09, 2019, 07:02:32 PM
All the hoo Har about grey water must come from people who have never had a grey water system on their house.
We have never been on a sewerage system ànd have always pumped our grey water around the lawn and gardens.
With only 2 of us home now our sullage pump sometimes only kicks in once a week when my wife does the washing and the sullage tànk holds 1000 lts.
That's all that has kept the gardens going the past few years.
On the farm all our waste water ran into the side paddock and it the greenest patch around.
I agree with not creating a swamp at camp but a bucket full on a thirsty tree can only bee good

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk

Post by: gronk on February 09, 2019, 07:14:04 PM
yep, hose into bucket from sink, and empty it straight away, no waiting around.

From my outside kitchen all the sink water goes straight on the ground.....even 2 or 3 peas.....and if a total of 4 ltrs over a long weekend is going to harm a campground, then I need banning !!

I reckon twice that comes out of me behind the nearest tree after a night drinking beer !!   :cheers: