Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 507515 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #2025 on: November 18, 2019, 08:05:58 PM »
That would have to be one of the coolest cars Ive seen. Those Thunderbirds had the best lines. Never seen that model before.

me to but apparently they love rust :( more pics
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1966-ford-Thunderbird-convertible/113959316185

« Reply #2026 on: November 19, 2019, 01:40:26 PM »
 8) 8)

« Reply #2027 on: November 19, 2019, 02:16:04 PM »

« Reply #2028 on: November 19, 2019, 02:31:30 PM »
Soon as I saw the pic,  I thought you would like it ..   ;D ;D
Guess I would have it " If I must " ...  8)

« Reply #2029 on: November 19, 2019, 02:42:16 PM »
Soon as I saw the pic,  I thought you would like it ..   ;D ;D
Guess I would have it " If I must " ...  8)
you can have that one

I'd be happy with the Tbird up top too!

« Reply #2030 on: November 20, 2019, 06:05:35 PM »
That would have to be one of the coolest cars Ive seen. Those Thunderbirds had the best lines. Never seen that model before.

Would you rather it in white?

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/133196153142

« Reply #2031 on: November 22, 2019, 10:44:36 AM »
When was the last time you saw one of these in this condition - round 86?? LOL

Offline geopaj

« Reply #2032 on: November 22, 2019, 10:50:33 AM »
When was the last time you saw one of these in this condition - round 86?? LOL

I noticed that on eBay a couple of days ago
NT Pajero VRX (My build - https://www2.pajeroclub.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=47893 )

Sar Major Camper Trailer (My Build - http://www.myswag )

« Reply #2033 on: November 22, 2019, 11:58:35 AM »
Earlier this year, I sold this one.

« Reply #2034 on: November 23, 2019, 06:01:12 AM »
Here's one of the few pics of mine. An early shot, taken in Goondiwindi about '79.
Started out as a 302 4 speed, GS pack and 30 gal of fuel (twin tanks). Ended up rebuilding it as a 351.
Final version had chrome 12 slotters, 9" lsd disc brake rear, extractors, Holley etc.
Had it for 13 years. Lots of great memories, but not many pics unfortunately...

« Reply #2035 on: November 23, 2019, 08:56:58 AM »
Not going to beat Geoff's XB, but I've got a soft spot for XF panos.  First one was an 89 ex divvy van.  Factory column auto with bucket seats, no ashtray or ciggy lighter. Under the dash was a hidden ciggy socket and a little switch that would turn the dash lights on without parkers or headlights.

Only had it for 6 months before a run away car T boned me. Paid $10K, kept the suspension, wheels and stereo and got paid out $12K

2nd one was 1990 clapped out plumbers van with a blown head gasket, bum sag and 2 broken door handles....  Paid $900, spent another 2K to clean and straightened up, new donk and put in lifted springs, with interceptors.  Used it as a work car for 2.5 years and sold it for 5 grand.

I've got to be the only person to make money on XF's..........

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #2036 on: November 23, 2019, 11:08:01 AM »
We have something in common.

I bought the XF up  a few posts for $500 with rego back in 2011.
Used it as mowing contractors van for nearly 8 years.
Sold it early this year for $1,700 unreg.

« Reply #2037 on: November 25, 2019, 12:12:35 PM »
My son has suggested I buy him this as his first car. I laughed, a bloody Valliant.

I also told him he’s going to be getting a more modern car with at least some basic safety kit for his first car.

« Reply #2038 on: November 25, 2019, 12:14:25 PM »
My son has suggested I buy him this as his first car. I laughed, a bloody Valliant.

I also told him he’s going to be getting a more modern car with at least some basic safety kit for his first car.

If hes interested in it why not.... would be a good car to get your hands dirty on without losing too much $ if it goes tits up or gets doored at the shops.

« Reply #2039 on: November 25, 2019, 12:29:28 PM »

Spend $500 on an advanced training course and buy the Valiant.
Once he knows how to drive, rather than how to pass the test the rest is easy.

« Reply #2040 on: November 25, 2019, 12:35:16 PM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Once he knows how to drive, rather than how to pass the test the rest is easy.

Agree totally.. The system is ****ed up. I loved the stories on Current Affair of people failing their license 10-15 times, but eventually they 'passed'... No.. You fail that often, your too Shit to share the road.

Some of the people you see driving around here is really scary (also see the youtube thread LOL)

« Reply #2041 on: November 25, 2019, 09:58:59 PM »
Put him into the Val .. He will learn to " Drive " not just steer, like he would in a noiseless vibrationless characterless electronicaly overloaded  neutral handling insulated bubble car  .. 
In the Val He will get real time feed back from the car, he will feel it through the seat of his pants, feel it through the steering, will hear it, he will have to learn to lead into a turn when cornering, learn to think ahead when braking / steering , wont go too fast as the not so sharp  steering and body roll will magnify his imputs,  not to mention him moving around sitting ON  rather than cocooned IN  a seat ..  ;D

Offline peter2904

« Reply #2042 on: November 26, 2019, 12:34:29 PM »
At least get a car without leaf springs & drum brakes so he has a chance of pulling up in a straight line.  He can learn to brake properly in an old car with practice and even out brake anti lock brakes.

« Reply #2043 on: November 29, 2019, 11:25:04 AM »
Interesting engine conversion

Honda Vtec B18 into 1980 Mini Moke

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ww_dGurlxls

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #2044 on: November 29, 2019, 12:36:10 PM »
Go ahead, moke my day >:D

Great job!

Edit: bloody spell check
« Last Edit: November 29, 2019, 06:11:23 PM by bmwfreak »
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #2045 on: November 30, 2019, 12:55:43 PM »
« Last Edit: November 30, 2019, 01:12:33 PM by edz »

« Reply #2046 on: December 04, 2019, 04:12:51 PM »
hmmm, it nearly went in what made me smile.

I dropped off the old sideplate grey camshaft today at Ivan Tighe Camshafts to have a slightly "hotted up"  grind done.
Nothing too radical, as want the car driveable, but we gave it a little extra duration, which will give us a nice rumpity bumpity idle and not pig root around in traffic.

Then it was over to my old boss, Mal Ditchmen for some carbs.

A set of twin strombergs, linkages and a manifold that has been ported.

Mal had no idea on price.

I said, as is, its worth $300 to $350 every day and between $500 and $800 fully done.

He offered it to me at $200 and I had 2 x $100 notes out in a flash.
He was happy, I was happy, and my client is thrilled.

Footy Shorts Shane, has the cyl head at present and will port, polish and shave the head, 186 valves, a decent set of springs etc.

In early Jan 2020, I get to button it up and tie the shoe laces on the ol girl..... can't wait.

We did get offered a billitt crank for it, but at $5,800 for a crank, poor ol Dougie passed out.
The old grey is out 40thou.
Crank is now 20/20.
Shooting for a 8.75:1 compression ratio.
With only 4 main bearings holding the crank in, we can't go too high or it will run over its own crank
New jam tins.
A JP Performance allow cam gear set.
Should spin happily to around 6,000 rpm and be pretty snappy to drive.
And all going in this FB wagon, on the street, with the current paint or lack thereof.
Brakes, suspension, everything that needs to be done to be safe, will be.... but just running the crusty finish.

Ya reckon this won't turn heads at a Cars n Coffee night.

« Last Edit: December 04, 2019, 04:26:37 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #2047 on: December 04, 2019, 05:32:51 PM »
Up at Craigs Hut today a Blitz blitz
Gee, those seats would have been comfortable ;)

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #2048 on: December 04, 2019, 11:53:46 PM »
Something a bit different popped up on FB today

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

« Reply #2049 on: December 05, 2019, 11:05:19 AM »
confusing