Author Topic: SEQ trip THIS week end ?  (Read 5633 times)

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
SEQ trip THIS week end ?
« on: January 15, 2011, 08:14:34 PM »
Weather looks good for next weekend anyone in SEQ keen to get away and blow some coobwebbs off thier camper  ;D

Jetcrew :D
« Last Edit: January 18, 2011, 10:03:32 AM by jetcrew »
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

60series_family

Re: SEQ trip next week end ?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2011, 08:17:31 PM »
Hey ya JetCrew,

Was only thinking about u the other day. We went camping to Woodgate last week and when we told Em we were going camping she asked if "Ditri" was going to be there. Funny little bugger.  Where u thinking of going?

Megan

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2011, 08:28:29 PM »
Open to sugestions , were thinking of landcrusier park / peach trees/ or we could do the redo on sandy creek if its open ?

Or anywhere else ,I am just keen to get out there after all this rain .Hope it holds I checked the weather report and next weekend looks like the only dry one for the next few.

Theo  :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2011, 03:42:25 PM »
We might be interested, but the wife has a girls night on the Saturday and I would need to drop here at BP at Morayfield Saturday lunch. So what about Neurum Creek.

Were you going Friday? I'm RDO, but it depends on the clean up at work!

Daz

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2011, 06:37:42 PM »
Dazza ,

I would be going Friday , and if your keen we are happy to stay close in order for you to drop the MRS off at the BP.

If so we might do sandy creek ,it is IMHO a far better place to stay and it's spread out alot more. Also 60 series family and us have a free night out there, cause we had to leave last time .

It is about an extra 15 mins from nerum.

Be great if the weather holds and you could make it .

Jetcrew :D :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2011, 07:27:19 PM »
Hey Theo, is this thing a goer?

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2011, 10:25:52 PM »
Dazza,

We are going away this weekend for sure , If you are keen we will do the stay close to morayfield thing for you drop the MRS off at the BP servo on sat. And go to Sandy creek if its open after all the water through there.

If not then Ketsi is going away south for the weekend and has extended an invite location to be confirmed . so we will go there if no-one else is keen to do the Northside thing.

So we are going somewhere ,

Let me know if your keen and we can sort out the finner details then.

Any other takers ?

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2011, 06:14:11 AM »
Might be going to Neurum Ck for Fri/Sat night (21st/22nd), and do a day trip through Mt Mee/D'Aguilar National Park on Sat. Return to Bne Sunday morning for Mrs S to go to work..

[edit - should have added, we haven't booked yet. it'll be a last minute thing on say wednesday. cheers!]
« Last Edit: January 18, 2011, 06:47:41 AM by spargo »

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2011, 07:27:28 AM »
Theo, I'm in so lets make the booking!

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2011, 10:02:34 AM »
SANDY CREEK -        CLOSED TILL FURTHER NOTICE

NCBR-   - OPENING ON FRIDAY HOPEFULLY - australia day rates appy pay for 3 nights get 6 prety heavily booked but might score a good spot (NOT)LOL but they will fit us in and maybe only charge for 2 nights .

LANDCRUSIER PARK    - CLOSED BUT opening friday hopefully Jimmna range is washed away plenty of space if open. awaiting road repairs.

SOMMERSET DAM      - CLOSED

So it's looking touch and go ,most places are awaiting road repairs , NCBR although my least favourite spot looks like our best bet if we want to stay around woodford area. need to call back tonight to book if we want it.and they will give us what sites are avalible.

Landcrusier was pretty confidant that they will be open but thats a bit far for you to drop the MRS off.(Dazza)

OR we could do NINGI campground aka my back yard and get the fire pit out LOL but seriousley it's an option and it even has a pool ,green grass, BBQ and it's level.and will fit 5 campers no worries.

I have camped in my kamper in the backyard before .Kids love it . I like the shower block LOL

« Last Edit: January 18, 2011, 10:30:49 AM by jetcrew »
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
Re: SEQ trip THIS week end ?
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2011, 10:56:23 AM »
Thanks for that Jetcrew - we were going to call them tonight as it is only a last minute thing for us.

Another option might be Gordon Country, as they may not have received the rain that the Dam catchment did.

I'm now not sure what we'll do. Not keen on going to NCBR if they're filling the place & charging Aust Day rates and a min booking period. It can wait.

Might go to Boulooomba Ck/Conondales, but not sure on access and availability. One to look into tonight..

Another we might consider is the Kenilworth homestead site. Again, no idea on availability or open/shut.

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2011, 11:00:51 AM »
DERM has this page running with updates on park closures etc: http://derm.qld.gov.au/parks_and_forests/park_alerts/index.php#aroundbrisbane

Doesn't look good for going anywhere in January!!  :(

60series_family

« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2011, 11:45:15 AM »
Hello All,

We can prob do Friday night/Saturday then head off Sat arvo. We have to go into Brisbane on Sunday to a kids festival thing. (lucky us!!! :laugh: )
Justin is working over at Ipswich at the moment so he won't be back till later on Friday or I maybe able to convince him to knock off early, but might be a good trip to christen the rooftop tent.

Let me know what the plan is

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2011, 02:39:36 PM »
ok I managed to get onto the ranger out at kenilworth and she said that the parks arn't to bad but the acess roads in are all washed out so access is the problem and no timings on fixing the acces roads.

she confirmed that a landslide had occoured on the kilcoy - murgon road which feeds peach trees and landcrusier park.

She was unaware that this would be fixed by friday though.

So things are looking bleak for us in this region so down south might be the only option. Although I am sure landcrusier park will be open as they will miss the revenue they will put the skids under council to get that main road in fixed . And the main road will be first priority  for the council.

All thier roads are fine because its a 4x4 park anyway I suppose . So if I was a betting man I would say crusier park will be open ,the rest I would scratch.

So do we aim for crusier park or give it away untill another time .

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

60series_family

« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2011, 02:56:26 PM »
Maybe aim for one of the first 2 weekends in Feb?

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #15 on: January 18, 2011, 03:05:31 PM »
Given all of that, if we do anything this weekend it'll likely be a short surfing trip down to Far-Nth NSW on Friday arvo after work, try and get into a C'van pk, and come back Sunday.

SEQ just looks stuffed! I think I underestimated the extent of flooding in the smaller creeks and catchments.

[edit: one late option i've just thought of is the Bunya Mtns NP - seems all-clear on the DERM site, and would be a helluva lot cooler than here in brisbane.. bit of a drive might mean we wait and go for a long weekend next weekend instead]
« Last Edit: January 18, 2011, 05:54:37 PM by spargo »

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
« Reply #16 on: January 18, 2011, 05:17:49 PM »
By all means guys head south if need be, I will just have to catch you guys on the next one. :'(

Offline Slipus

• Slip
« Reply #17 on: January 18, 2011, 06:26:11 PM »
I would love to go but missus is working both days  :'(

next time

regards

Slip

« Reply #18 on: January 18, 2011, 10:35:38 PM »

Derm didn't say Coochin Creek was closed (is it off Roys Rd?) ... just a thought.  And it's handy to y'all up thadda way.  Alternates would be Andrew Dryan (maybe but Running Cr is probably running), Flanagans or Bigriggen, maybe Darlington, Sharp or Stinson (creeks permitting).  Perhaps PM Peanut 2 for a status check on roads Kingaroy way if you are going to Bunya ... I know the Olds couln't get to Kingaroy from Proston through the week. 

Or find out what Ketsi is up to ...

I'll probably be trying out Mt May as our next destination (fingers crossed for this weekend or next).  The others on my list all appear to have been flooded recently alas.

Offline Ketsi

• Going Nowhere - and can't wait to get there!!!
« Reply #19 on: January 19, 2011, 12:15:31 PM »

Or find out what Ketsi is up to ...

Ketsi is up to Mt Tamborine Caravan and Camping thanks to camping with dogs reference from fellow swaggers (thanks - cause we don't have a thank you button  ;D ). Will be in there from Saturday to Tuesday if anyone wants to drop in for a gday or join in for as little or long as you like (so far it seems there are quite a few camp sites still available although they are worried about fitting camper trailers on their unpowered sites so have expressed willingness to allow setup on powered sites (so long as you don't use power) and still pay unpowered rate. Jetcrew may be heading in Friday also and staying for the weekend.

Cheers,  :cheers:
Ketsi

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #20 on: January 19, 2011, 04:42:01 PM »
I will be there with bells on from FRIDAY 12pm -SUNDAY 12pm.

So no excuses you lot .

It's well priced and has missed the damage other places have had.

So thanks to Kestsi we have a venue so giddy up and hook up.

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

60series_family

« Reply #21 on: January 19, 2011, 05:24:17 PM »
Hello All,

Won't make it this weekend but start brainstorming for mid Feb for a get together   :cheers:

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #22 on: January 19, 2011, 06:53:13 PM »
Hello All,

Won't make it this weekend but start brainstorming for mid Feb for a get together   :cheers:

Well It,s me BIRFDEY on the 7th so I am planing a bit of a weekend away on the 4,5,6 Feb Prob at crusier park cause theres room to move , but I'll start a trip on that next week.

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline grizzly

« Reply #23 on: January 20, 2011, 06:28:06 PM »
Hey Guys just a suggestion but have you tried out Blackrocks in Bundjalung NP about half way between Evans Head and Iluka you access from the Pacific highway about 5kms south of Woodburn then about 26kms along The Gap Rd, it has been basically deserted due to the bad weather it has a group site in the middle suitable for about 6 CT's or more if you are friendly.Think about purchasing an annual vehicle pass first before you go the $7 per day for your car is stuff that Ned Kelly would be proud off and the pass is available in various forms and is a real money saver if you go to NSW parks with a vehicle entry fee. unfortunately the 4wd access onto the beach is now looking like it will be permanently closed( only one letter of complaint from the public evidently was received ) Take your firewood, Gas BBQ's free hybrid toilets Jerusalem Ck is a good spot for a swim if the beach is a bit unruly, I would like to join you if I am not working .This site is not 4wd but considering the recent weather it is accessable.
Grizzly