General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Smithy2 on August 16, 2011, 11:57:33 PM

Title: $30,000 budget what 4WD would you buy?
Post by: Smithy2 on August 16, 2011, 11:57:33 PM
Howdy,

Just received our new camper trailer ( 1st which weighs weighs 800kg before we load up ) and it is time to upgrade to a 4WD.  Happy to take any advice as I am unsure which way to go? Currently thinking a 2004 or 05 Prado GXL or a Pajero 2005-06, as they seems a good reliable vehicle from what I have read.  Basically the vehicle will be a family car around town through the week and weekends & holidays the escape vehicle to take us away from the rat race.  Like the idea of having 7 seats through the week which we can pull out for extra room when we go camping.

Any info or thoughts would be great on which way you would go.  Cheers 
Title: Re: $30,000 budget what 4WD would you buy?
Post by: jwb on August 17, 2011, 04:35:26 AM
Pajero diesel would be my choice.
Post by: Diesel Power on August 17, 2011, 06:21:10 AM
Factory fitted 180L fuel tanks.........Prado.
Post by: Heiny on August 17, 2011, 06:25:05 AM
Pajero diesel would be my choice.
Post by: Malcur on August 17, 2011, 07:19:47 AM

Post by: dazzler on August 17, 2011, 07:26:58 AM
Prado or Pajero TD.

If you need to use the rear rear seats and have little ones then prado.  Pajero rear seats are not as safe as Prado due to the fold away design (causes the top of the seatbelt to be too high on their shoulders and they slip under it a bit.

Pajero will be a good bit cheaper.
Post by: Prado BB on August 17, 2011, 07:31:14 AM
Prado or Pajero

Post by: Red Emperor on August 17, 2011, 07:57:16 AM
We have a 2010 Prado - its a brilliant bus but to be honest too small for our family of 5.

By the time you add prams, sporting gear it gets a tad small - we have now bought a 2005 standard 100 series for $32K with over 17K of "bling".

This will be our camping car and the Prado the "town car"

If I had to choose one the 100 series would win for all round functionality.

Go Toyota all the way - best reliability and resale value bar none.

My 0.02

Red
Post by: Benny78 on August 17, 2011, 08:46:55 AM
I had the same decision to make recently for a trip around OZ towing a camper- however the 4x4 had to be used for me to drive around for work for a year before we went away. I looked around for a while at all options (i was looking at $40K) and drove every 4x4 in that range from new to second hand and bought a 2007 D4D prado for its 180Lfuel tanks, reliability-and resale and just a nice 4x4 if you have to drive it day to day.
The D$D is worth the extra $ if you can but if not they are still a good all rounder.
Im sure most 4x4's are as capable offroad as the next one so just get a 4x4 that suits your needs onroad.
Post by: Prado BB on August 17, 2011, 09:07:07 AM
where you from Smithy? My brother is thinking of selling his 2005 Prado if you are interetsed, low km and one owner.  PM me if you are interested.
Post by: meimarocu on August 17, 2011, 10:00:15 AM

Ian
Post by: WilSurf on August 17, 2011, 10:04:24 AM
For offroading andtowing?
GU Patrol or 100 series.

For around town?
Prado.
Post by: Bird on August 17, 2011, 10:04:56 AM
GU patrol. 4.2 only.
Post by: barraboy on August 17, 2011, 12:47:57 PM
I am into my 2nd Pathfinder Diesel. Went to the cape this year on the my swag trip and didnt miss a beat.Had to be towed accross Nolans by Yogi but this was after both the Pajero and Prado on the trip had got stuck in the middle (both taking on water). They also got towed by the big fella.Fantastic on fuel and plenty of go on the highway. Also a 7 seater and seats fold flat to floor. For a spend of $30k you can get one with less than 80ks.
Post by: WilSurf on August 17, 2011, 12:54:53 PM
GU patrol. 4.2 only.

If the diesel only came with automatic.....
Post by: Bird on August 17, 2011, 12:55:24 PM
Quote from: WilSurf
If the diesel only came with automatic.....
the conversion its been done ;)
Post by: rodsswag on August 17, 2011, 01:42:47 PM
Can not go wrong with a Toyota
Post by: WilSurf on August 17, 2011, 01:57:10 PM
the conversion its been done ;)

Will cost a lot
Post by: Bird on August 17, 2011, 02:15:40 PM
Quote from: WilSurf
Will cost a lot

That depends on what you use..
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/8.jpg)
Post by: Smithy2 on August 17, 2011, 02:45:00 PM
Thanks all, by the looks of your comments we're heading in the right direction tossing up between Prado & Pajero.
Leaning towards Toyota for now as we've had a great run with them in the past. Have driven a few Prados, seem to be in good condition but higher km's than we would like but maybe this is just reinforcing the reliability of them??????
Post by: deepop on August 17, 2011, 02:49:39 PM
Consider a petrol.   Better for the engine around town on those short hops and tons of power without needing a turbo (read extra potential problems) to get to the same level.

Including the conversion costs to gas and some bling to make your touring more comfortable you will still be ahead of the game (your budget) by the time you buy a good second hand 100 series or 4.8 GU Patrol.   To go slightly smaller I'd pick the Prado as a first option.

If your towing heavy and touring remote go diesel for the better economy under load.
Post by: Redback on August 17, 2011, 03:26:23 PM
We have a 2010 Prado - its a brilliant bus but to be honest too small for our family of 5.

By the time you add prams, sporting gear it gets a tad small - we have now bought a 2005 standard 100 series for $32K with over 17K of "bling".

This will be our camping car and the Prado the "town car"

Go Toyota all the way - best reliability and resale value bar none.

My 0.02

Red

I don't understand this, why would you have a 4WD as a town car ???
Post by: Alan Loy on August 17, 2011, 03:36:39 PM
I know its unfashionable but the 3.0 Patrol diesels are great value for money.  There are heaps of autos arround and because of the bad press they are a good price.  I bought a 2 year old CRD DX for $26000 and am very happy with it.  Plenty of cash for mods  ;D
Post by: D4D on August 17, 2011, 03:37:02 PM

Have you ever tried to cart around a tribe of kids and their gear in a sedan?
Post by: TheOtherLeft on August 17, 2011, 03:41:30 PM
Plus not everyone can afford to register and feed two cars.
Post by: @fnq4now on August 17, 2011, 04:22:32 PM
Prado. With a pig head on the roof. :cheers:
Post by: britts on August 17, 2011, 07:29:31 PM
100 series plenty of room and tow's well
Post by: Smithy2 on August 17, 2011, 07:54:25 PM
Alan Loy, will do a little research, thanks.
@fnq4now......could help you out there if you'd like to cover postage!
Post by: discoteddy on August 17, 2011, 07:58:44 PM
diesel Pajero's are good value with some $$$left over for accessories.
Post by: jaycamrie on August 17, 2011, 08:05:54 PM

[/quote] we have 4wd ute and 4wd drive wagon drive them both to town , does that mean i have to buy another hyundi or something to drive to town ??? ???
Post by: Smithy2 on August 18, 2011, 10:02:30 PM
Okay thanks again for all the info!

& Yes $ is the reason you would use a 4WD as a family car around town thru the week and a weekend traveller/holiday unit !

Would luv to have the $ for a small run about as well as a weekend truck done up but yes it comes down to my lotto numbers haven't came up yet ! & nothing in life is getting cheaper Grrrrr.

Cheers again to you all for your thoughts even FNQ for your Pig idea hmmm haha.
Post by: Redback on August 23, 2011, 01:48:02 PM
Have you ever tried to cart around a tribe of kids and their gear in a sedan?

That's why they make station wagons ???
Post by: Bird on August 23, 2011, 02:02:48 PM
Have a read of the hell this bloke is being put thru..  I believe he is on here too. Then read the service one of this boards members (who swore by his grenade) got from Toyota - compare the 2... something worth thinking about

this reply
http://www.exploroz.com/Forum/Topic/88629/Nissan_Aust_in_breach_of_VCAT_order_-_04_Patrol_engine_failed__approx_100k_km.aspx?ky=&sn=&p=%2fForum%2fDefault.aspx%3fpn%3d1
to
http://www.exploroz.com/Forum/Topic/88630/Nissan_Patrol.aspx?ky=&sn=&p=%2fForum%2fDefault.aspx%3fpn%3d1

Post by: Smithy2 on August 31, 2011, 12:39:14 AM
Just an update folks, I have decided to stick the majority of your idea's and thoughts :)

Yes a Prado was our decision, and we pick it up later this week can't wait, and the bonus is it all ready has trailer brakes installed woohoo, just 1 less add on I will have to do.  Thanks again for everyone 2 cents worth,

Cheers!

Post by: Black Diamond on August 31, 2011, 08:46:12 AM
Just an update folks, I have decided to stick the majority of your idea's and thoughts :)

Yes a Prado was our decision, and we pick it up later this week can't wait, and the bonus is it all ready has trailer brakes installed woohoo, just 1 less add on I will have to do.  Thanks again for everyone 2 cents worth,

Cheers!
Well done mate you will love it. Look forward to some pics when you get it :cheers:
Post by: Bird on August 31, 2011, 10:04:32 AM

what yr, model, spec etc?? mate of mine is shopping for one at moment
Post by: Alchemist on September 04, 2011, 10:48:49 AM
Congrats,they're a great bus.  I'm sure you'll have many years of reliable motoring ahead of you.  Now get out there and enjoy it!!! ;D

Alchemist
Post by: Smithy2 on September 06, 2011, 08:42:33 PM
Picked up the new wheels today and here is a pic. Actually no I won't file is too big, will soon

I will post some more when I Get out and use the camper very soon.

Ended up getting a 2005 Grande 5 speed auto, lowish kms, added extra's bullbar, roof racks, tow bar, Electric brakes and even game/dvd screens in back of the seats for the kids.

Just need to organise a dual battery system now so I can be camping for days on end hopefully very soon!
Guessing I will research more on here in Electricial but if anyone has idea's on which way I should go, more than happy to take on any advice.

Cheers Smithy2
Post by: Jason B on September 06, 2011, 09:01:15 PM
Would be a nice car mate, they came with all the bells and whistles. Did you go with petrol or Diesel? (All Grande's were auto wern't they?)

Post by: Smithy2 on September 07, 2011, 08:01:28 PM
Would love to have gone diesel, but not much out there...maybe next time. Picked it up midday Tues (yesterday) have now covered approx 900km.....nothing like a trial run...pity that darn ct wasn't hitched on with a few days off work available! What that old saying???? Good things come to those who wait.....and wait ......and wait......
Post by: Jason B on September 07, 2011, 09:16:02 PM
Would love to have gone diesel, but not much out there...maybe next time. Picked it up midday Tues (yesterday) have now covered approx 900km.....nothing like a trial run...pity that darn ct wasn't hitched on with a few days off work available! What that old saying???? Good things come to those who wait.....and wait ......and wait......

Great news mate. To be honest I don't think you are missing much by having the petrol model. I have had 2 new 120 series (Only GXL's) Prado's 2003 and 2005 and my mate bought his and upgraded them at the same time with the Petrol models. When we compared apples with apples their wasn't much in it. The cost of fuel was pretty much evened out by the fact my Diesel needed servicing every 5000k. Towing his, used 3 or 4 litres per 100k more than mine so his range was reduced a bit, but with 180lt of fuel that was hardly an issue.

Second hand the Diesels are significantly dearer to buy than petrols and this gives you a massive fuel budget advantage to start with. The Diesel towed well, so did his petrol, his was quieter and had so much more poke for every day driving around in the traffic than my diesels did.

If I was in the market today (even though I am diesel biased) I would seriously consider the petrol as a more cost efective option than the Diesel.

And the fact you got yourself a Grande means you have all those flash toys to play with, not to mention the plush ride.

Post by: D4D on September 07, 2011, 09:21:12 PM
Well done, I still have nfi what I would replace my Prado with.
Post by: Jason B on September 07, 2011, 09:22:07 PM
Well done, I still have nfi what I would replace my Prado with.

Another Prado mate.  :cup:
Post by: D4D on September 07, 2011, 09:25:58 PM
Nah the 150 has smaller fuel tanks, less storage space and the dash looks like something the work experience kid came up with...
Post by: Jason B on September 07, 2011, 10:00:17 PM
Nah the 150 has smaller fuel tanks, less storage space and the dash looks like something the work experience kid came up with...

Agree with all of that mate. I can't get my head aroung the way the new ones look. I also prefer the plastic cladding around the out side of the 120 also, easier to replace a few clips and a bit of plastic than to get panel damage.

But when its all said and done what other alternatives are out there. Wait for the standard model 200 series to come out.

Post by: D4D on September 08, 2011, 09:38:01 AM
But when its all said and done what other alternatives are out there. Wait for the standard model 200 series to come out.

I am going to have a serious look at this but without climate it is probably a no go for me.