Author Topic: Greetings.  (Read 5377 times)

Offline dunebuggy

• Yakass Coastal Kayak Fishing
Greetings.
« on: September 22, 2011, 01:43:08 PM »
Hello everyone.
Just here to introduce myself. I haven't got my profile sorted yet but I will. My name is Stuart and I am happily married to an awesome wife and we live in Caloundra on the Sunshine Coast in sometimes sunny Queensland. Finances forced us into cheap crap cars and a holiday was being able to have a cappuccino on the beach but now, things are on the improve and we are looking at replacing both our vehicles. More on that in another thread perhaps.

I am looking into buying an offroad camper but I have no clue what to look for. More on that in another thread too I guess as this is the intro area. On another note, I have owned boats of many sizes but these days I fish from a kayak both in estuary and offshore and am having loads more fun and success that I ever did in boats. I am a member of various forums and I think they are an awesome way to meet new people and are a source of a vast array of knowledge. I look forward to chatting with some of you and perhaps meeting some of you that live close by.

That's all from me.
Bye for now.
Stuart W.

P.S. Love the spell check option.
"Life is a Journey - NOT a Guided Tour"

Re: Greetings.
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2011, 01:52:32 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Stuart, I am sure you will fit in easy and there are a couple of fisherman floating around. Ask away about campers, give us a budget and check out the classifieds section. Enjoy your stay and join in the crazy banter

GC19WA

« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2011, 02:03:40 PM »
Welcome Stuart!

Offline dunebuggy

« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2011, 11:59:07 AM »
Hello and thanks for the welcome.

Crazy banter? Well..... I am crazy so that shouldn't be a problem.  ;D

« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2011, 05:15:32 PM »
G'day Stuart and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2011, 05:25:20 PM »
Welcome to myswag Stuart, check out the classifieds section as there are some great campers for sale.

« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2011, 05:39:02 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Stuart.

« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2011, 08:31:11 AM »
Hi Stuart Welcom to My Swag

Offline dunebuggy

« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2011, 10:22:55 AM »
Thanks for the welcome everyone.

@Cracka - "Reality is only an illusion created by a lack of alcohol!!!!" Very good. I love it. It explains some of my problems. lol.

« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2011, 10:42:23 AM »
G'day & Welcome Stuart.

You can talk about the camper you're looking for there, no worries.

« Reply #10 on: October 03, 2011, 06:40:05 PM »
Hi Stuart and welcome to the forum

Offline dunebuggy

« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2011, 09:47:23 PM »
Thanks for all the welcomes folks.   :cheers:

Offline maurerless

• Don't take life seriously; no one gets out alive
« Reply #12 on: October 14, 2011, 04:50:15 PM »
I've often thought that the only difference between being "crazy" and "eccentric" is how much money you have.

That puts me firmly in the crazy side of things...  8)

Tony
2010 Isuzu D-Max; Hard walled mobile swag, but still getting out there. :)

Offline richneet

« Reply #13 on: October 14, 2011, 06:58:42 PM »
Welcome Stuart. This is certainly the place for camper trailer advice and the spell check is great.  Will be interested in what your camper thoughts are.

Cheers rich :cheers:

« Reply #14 on: October 14, 2011, 09:21:53 PM »
Greetings Stuart :cheers:

Offline dunebuggy

« Reply #15 on: October 18, 2011, 08:53:06 PM »
Still researching campers..... My brain hurts!   ;D

Offline michael h

« Reply #16 on: October 18, 2011, 09:27:14 PM »
Hey Stuart only fairly new on here and lurk on other forums as well (mikerosenkids-Yakass)
You are spoilt for choices I reckon for a couple.
A little bit about our full cycle of camping- started off with a cabin tent and no kids then three kids and Trak Shak now Jayco Expanda with onsuite but also tow a Car trailer loaded with quad and motor bikes and back to tents again.
The kids love it and a happy wife well you know the rest.
If your wife is anything like mine she likes a few comforts not over the the top but not too primal either let her help in the decisions and all is good.
The type of camping will also help decide for you eg Bush/Beach with 12v and gas cooking,Porta Potty, Caravan Park 240v with ammenities
I have friends with a Cub Camper (Hardfloor) and that maybe worth looking at quick to set up fair amount of space for two.
Anyway researching is half the fun

Goodluck Michael

Offline dunebuggy

« Reply #17 on: October 19, 2011, 06:52:52 AM »
Cheers Mike, and fancy meeting you here.  ;D
I was thinking about the subject of 240v the other day and I thought, what the hell is wrong with just running and extension cord to a good quality power board. (kept hight & dry) I have one I made years ago with a built in combination RCD circuit breaker that I used for the 9 aquariums I used to run on the patio. Still nice to have everything built in but I think some extras are ludicrously over priced, 240v/battery systems etc...

I have already extended my budget after seeing what I can buy new and for how little. Definitely get what you pay for though for sure. You mentioned TrakShak, There is a 2nd hand model for sale just down the road but he wants 14k for it. I don't want to spend that much. If I were going to travel around oz and spend a year in the thing, I would spend 30k or more for sure but, that's very unlikely to happen.  :(  Anyway, i'm off, c u on yakass.  ;D

Offline dunebuggy

Market Direct Campers
« Reply #18 on: October 19, 2011, 07:36:36 PM »
I mentioned this link in another thread but go no input/feedback. Of all the campers I have seen in the flesh so far, this one seems like good value for money;
http://www.marketdirectcampertrailers.com.au/off-road-extreme-explorer/products/camper-trailers/off-road-extreme-explorer-camper-trailer
There are a couple of minor concerns I have like, the gas bottle racks only seem to be held on with pop rivets, and although the trailer is aussie built they use an imported tent made from 15oz ripstop canvas. The salesman said it was 18oz in the roof but the brochure says it's all 15oz.  Some people turn their nose up at ripstop canvas and I am not sure why.

Can I get some general feedback on this CT please. Is there any reason why I should steer clear of ripstop canvas, or this brand of CT in general. I would like your thoughts please, positive or negative. The vidoe on the site shows two men erecting the main tent section in just under 1min 30 secs but then there is the annex and walls and, if windy, guy ropes & pegs which I would put up anyway. The whole thing set up with a storm cover takes 30 minutes when done by 2 experienced people. The show special for this package includes 10" electric brakes, stone guard, large 2 door alloy box, and a couple of other things I think.

Anyway, I would appreciate it if people in the know could take a good look at the website link I posted above and anything pertaining to this model and provide me with some feedback.
Many thanks in advance and  :cheers:

Offline rodsswag

• Always dreamed it, now living it!!!!!!!
« Reply #19 on: October 21, 2011, 10:51:11 PM »
G'day Stuart and welcome, and yes might see you out on the tracks one day or even at a Myswag meet.
Rod.... :cheers:
Swag
Coramal Caravan

« Reply #20 on: October 22, 2011, 06:21:47 AM »
Welcome Stuart,
I hope you enjoy your time here,

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
« Reply #21 on: October 23, 2011, 05:21:06 AM »
Welcome to MySwag Stuart.  I am sure there are plenty here who will offer advice on CT's.
The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

« Reply #22 on: October 23, 2011, 09:29:23 AM »
Hi Stuart and welcome to My Swag

bubba :cheers:

Offline dunebuggy

« Reply #23 on: October 23, 2011, 10:15:49 AM »
Thanks for all the welcome note guys n gals. Thanks for all the useful info too. Circumstances made it logistically impractical to attend the big caravan & camping show in Brisbane this week end, bit bummed out about that but... Shite happens! and with astonishing regularity. lol.

I am sure there will be another show somewhere in the new year.

Bye for now,
Stuart W.

« Reply #24 on: October 23, 2011, 11:05:30 AM »
Hi Stuart and welcome to MySwag,
Happy and safe travels.