Author Topic: Howdy from Mudgee  (Read 5875 times)

Offline Sloory

Howdy from Mudgee
« on: May 29, 2012, 02:12:04 PM »
G'day

My names Darren and i stumbled across MySwag just last weekend.
Really stoked to have found it as I'm about to buy my first camper trailer in the coming month.

I drive an 05 dual-cab tray back hilux with a 2" ome lift and arb bar work.

I'm starting with a GIC extreme off road because I'm not exactly sure what i want in a camper yet and i figure its a cheaper way to mod it and figure it out.

Also going to take my first Cape York trip in August and can't wait!

Favorite part of the forum so far is the build section. Very inspirational!

Darren.
Darren.

Howdy from Mudgee
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2012, 04:44:34 PM »
G'day & Welcome Darren.

Hey, can you set your CT up in your yard, I'm looking for field day accommodation in July ;).

Offline Big Nath

• "hows ya bum for grubs"
Re: Howdy from Mudgee
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2012, 04:50:19 PM »
Gday and welcome Darren, we are across the way in Gilgandra, we visit Mudgee often, infact we will be in town thursday.

There are now a few of us CW members, we will need to organise a do in the near future.

Cheers!!
NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2012, 04:53:01 PM »
Welcome to the show Darren, great part of the country is Mudgee...spent many weekends there sampling the local wines when we lived in Lithgow.

You will find lots of info about the Cape here..happy reading.

« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2012, 06:09:14 PM »
Welcome to myswag Darren

Offline Daawl

• Always trying to get out & about
    • Lightning Ridge Police Bush Safari
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2012, 06:34:13 PM »
G'day Darren

Welcome to Myswag, good to have you here.
Im from Dubbo myself and as Campingwithkids has said, good to see a few out this way. I travel to and through Mudgee a fair bit for work as well.

Sounds like an awesome idea about having a meet up out this way.   :cup: :cheers:

Looking forward to seeing you out there.  :cheers:

Daawl

« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2012, 07:56:08 PM »
G'day Darren and welcome.
Enjoy the chat mate. Top place to be  :cup:

Offline Sloory

Howdy from Mudgee
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2012, 10:00:24 PM »
Cheers for the welcome fellas!

Yeah all the western members should get together at some stage for sure.
Darren.

« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2012, 10:08:00 PM »
Welcome to the forum Darren

« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2012, 10:23:14 PM »
Welcome to the Jungle Daz and crew :cheers:

« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2012, 09:59:24 AM »
Hi Darren and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #11 on: June 01, 2012, 08:44:50 PM »
G'day Darren and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Offline blackie66

• a wise man learns from other peoples mistakes
« Reply #12 on: June 01, 2012, 10:34:02 PM »
a ct is a great way to go camping Darren, i lived up the road Coolah (black stump) live in Sydney now.
do your reseach before u buy. :worthles:

Offline johnyd

« Reply #13 on: June 02, 2012, 03:42:15 AM »
G'day Darren,

Welcome to the forums.

I'm about halfway between you and Dubbo, rarely head Mudgee way though.

I wouldn't be against a CW meet, but I'd either need to hitch a ride or we go somewhere I can get a lowered Commodore with stupid low profile tyres (long and boring story full of bad decisions).

Offline Big Nath

« Reply #14 on: June 02, 2012, 10:21:01 AM »
Maybe a lake burrendong meet at sometime?

Ideas??
NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

Offline Sloory

Howdy from Mudgee
« Reply #15 on: June 02, 2012, 11:10:51 AM »
Burrendong sounds good.
It would have to be a bit later on in the year for me as I haven't got my ct just yet and have a Cape trip in august (will have it before then).
Not that it stops you guys getting together before hand of coarse.
Darren.

Offline Big Nath

« Reply #16 on: June 02, 2012, 12:00:34 PM »
i was thinking once it warms abit.

Offline Sloory

Howdy from Mudgee
« Reply #17 on: June 02, 2012, 05:15:11 PM »
Sounds good mate!
Darren.

Offline johnyd

« Reply #18 on: June 02, 2012, 06:51:50 PM »
Burrendong sounds good.
It would have to be a bit later on in the year for me as I haven't got my ct just yet and have a Cape trip in august (will have it before then).
Not that it stops you guys getting together before hand of coarse.

Burrendong sounds good. 

I'm off to Central QLD for 4 weeks sometime around August as well a fishing trip in July so later in the year works for me.  Although I have no idea what I'll be up to by then, I've been putting off seeking a more permanent working situation due to the 5-6 weeks of holidays I have planned, but that goes into full gear once I get back from QLD.  So I can't make plans past the end of that with any certainty as I won't know what my working situation will be.

If someone sets one up I'll do my best to get there.  Despite living so close I've never actually camped at the Dam :S  I've been there in the cabins a fair few times for school and youth events but that's all.

Offline Big Nath

« Reply #19 on: June 02, 2012, 07:02:05 PM »
Burrendong sounds good. 

Despite living so close I've never actually camped at the Dam :S  I've been there in the cabins a fair few times for school and youth events but that's all.

X2, my olds have an onsite van there. eagle beagle looks pretty good to me?

Offline johnyd

« Reply #20 on: June 02, 2012, 07:25:06 PM »
Yeah, I think that's where most of my mates used to go.  I've been a bit out of touch for the last year or so unfortunately so don't know the current state of things out there.

Strange how you don't get to the close places all that often.  I've spent more time fishing and camping 500km+ away than I have at the places within 100km and there are plenty of nice places around here.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2012, 07:28:42 PM by johnyd »

Offline becboo

• take nothing but pics leave nothing but footprints
Howdy from Mudgee
« Reply #21 on: June 02, 2012, 07:34:57 PM »
G'day

My names Darren and i stumbled across MySwag just last weekend.
Really stoked to have found it as I'm about to buy my first camper trailer in the coming month.

I drive an 05 dual-cab tray back hilux with a 2" ome lift and arb bar work.

I'm starting with a GIC extreme off road because I'm not exactly sure what i want in a camper yet and i figure its a cheaper way to mod it and figure it out.

Also going to take my first Cape York trip in August and can't wait!

Favorite part of the forum so far is the build section. Very inspirational!

Darren.

Welcome Darren

Might see you in August!

Cheers becboo
Aussie Swag Camper towed by an awesome 100 series with goodies!!

Education & Intelligence accomplish nothing without action....

Offline Daawl

• Always trying to get out & about
    • Lightning Ridge Police Bush Safari
Howdy from Mudgee
« Reply #22 on: June 06, 2012, 04:55:11 PM »
I would be up for a Burrendong trip. Same same travel 4-5 hrs to go camping and haven't used the stuff at our doorstep.

But yes once it warms up a touch it would be great.

Somehow sent from my iPhone using that Tapatalk thingy

Offline Sloory

« Reply #23 on: June 07, 2012, 04:47:55 PM »
I've just moved to Mudgee at the start of the year from Melbourne. My mate here call me a wet back (because i snuck across the Murray :P).
Have managed to fish burrendong a couple of times and love it out there.
I haven't camped out there though as its so close to home. I've been on trips to the Dubbo side and I've got to say i reckon the Mudgee side's nicer.

On another note, I'VE ORDERED MY CAMPER!!!!!
Can't WAIT to get it!! :laugh:
Darren.

Offline Big Nath

« Reply #24 on: June 07, 2012, 04:54:39 PM »
Nice work mate. what did you end up with?