Author Topic: Hi All New to the forum.  (Read 6681 times)

Hi All New to the forum.
« on: January 11, 2012, 07:45:52 PM »
I have just ordered the latest Swan OB and have so much too learn!!!!!
I'm sure I will be driving plenty of you nuts with all my questions.

Re: Hi All New to the forum.
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2012, 07:48:52 PM »
Welcome and bring it on........  Love reading peoples questions and what answers they get. Always leaning. This such a fantastic web site and best of all, it is free!  :cheers:
Kev and Kris

« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2012, 07:49:45 PM »
Hi Greg and welcome to My Swag

Congrats on the Swan, plenty to learn on here about jayco mods while you wait for the big day

« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2012, 07:51:07 PM »
Cheers guys. I have alot to learn and also so many ideas for the Jayco already. Looking forward to having plenty of chats.

« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2012, 08:38:21 PM »
Hi Greg & welcome to MySwag. Congrats on the forthcoming new toy..... so what will you be towing it with?

« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2012, 08:58:49 PM »
G"day Pete. Mate I'll be towing the swan with a 2011 Toyota kluger 2WD.... Mate its a company car so that was what they were willing to give me from a 7 seat point of view. It was that or a toyota aurion!!!

When I upgrade the lovely wifes vehicle I'm hoping to grab a second hand diesel Prado.

« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2012, 09:01:27 PM »
Gday Swannie,

We're all learning here all the time!

Mace

« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2012, 09:02:34 PM »
Hi Greg and welcome!

We too are awaiting on the arrival of our camper - ours is due in May/June.

Exciting isn't it!

Offline Stozz

• The Driver, The Nav and The Dog
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2012, 09:43:09 PM »
G'day Swannie
Welcome. We have a 2011 Swan Outback and happy to help with any queries you might have (if we can).
If you click on the line in the signature that says 2011 Swan Outback, it will take you to the thread with details of our camper and some basic mods we have done.
Cheers :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2012, 03:36:49 AM »
Hi Greg and welcome to the forum.
How long is the wait?

« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2012, 05:09:13 AM »
Welcome to the Forum Greg, there are enough Swans around so you should get heaps of inspiration for some extras

Offline hargs

« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2012, 06:24:52 AM »
Congrats. Greg............we have learned so much from the o-wise-ones here................... :angel: :angel: :angel:
Life is to short not to...............

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2012, 06:39:41 AM »
Mate I'll be towing the swan with a 2011 Toyota kluger 2WD.... Mate its a company car so that was what they were willing to give me from a 7 seat point of view. It was that or a toyota aurion!!!

Downer?
Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

Offline Tracey family

« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2012, 07:16:39 AM »
Welcome to myswag Greg! We'll look forward to hearing about your adventures  :D

:cheers: Scott and Glenyse

« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2012, 12:28:46 PM »
Hi all thanks for the kind words... I'm still negotiating with a couple of dealers in Melbourne.

Currently the best quote I have recieved is 27k flat for Swan Outback with
- Bag end flys, awning and annex
-Dual gas cylinders
- 100ah Battery
- External Gas bayonet
- Innerspring mattress

Is that a reasonable price??
Has anyone bought of prestige jayco?? Good Bad

Offline Stozz

« Reply #15 on: January 12, 2012, 08:06:44 PM »
Sounds great to me. Better deal than what we got, but ours had to be delivered to WA.

:D

« Reply #16 on: January 12, 2012, 09:00:18 PM »
I guys, I'm starting to stress now!!! Just measured the garage and I have a length of just over 5700mm........ Going to finalise witha dealer tomorrow does anyone know how much mm taking the spare off will give me? Is it possible to request the spare on the draw bar?? Wife is set on Swan and doesnt really want to get the smaller eagle....

What to do ...What to do

Offline Stozz

« Reply #17 on: January 12, 2012, 10:48:11 PM »
I guys, I'm starting to stress now!!! Just measured the garage and I have a length of just over 5700mm........ Going to finalise witha dealer tomorrow does anyone know how much mm taking the spare off will give me? Is it possible to request the spare on the draw bar?? Wife is set on Swan and doesnt really want to get the smaller eagle....

What to do ...What to do

Just went and measured our garage for you.  Allowing for the space for the sectional door to come down, we have 5400mm internal length plus an extra 200mm recess where the spare tyre fits in (see my photos).  So, if we can fit ours in 5600mm, you should just make it with 5700mm.

Phew!

By the way, we used to have an Eagle and 'upgraded' to a Swan. That extra cupboard and drawers near the door plus the slightly longer corner section of the bench seat/lounge is great.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2012, 10:51:04 PM by Stozz »

Offline hillbilly

« Reply #18 on: January 13, 2012, 06:07:29 AM »
G'day Greg, welcome to myswag. I don't envy you having to wait for delivery. I guess that is the biggest plus when buying 2nd hand. Not having to wait...

Hillbilly
2008 VDJ78R Troopy

http://hillbilliesinthekimberley.blogspot.com.au
hillbillyholidays.wordpress.com

« Reply #19 on: January 13, 2012, 07:08:59 AM »
Hi greg, welcome to myswag, we have a swan ob 2011, mate you will love it, especially at that price...

Offline V8 Grunt

« Reply #20 on: January 13, 2012, 11:37:15 AM »
Welcome to the Swag Greg,  :cheers:
2011 LC76 Land Cruiser towing a Tvan

« Reply #21 on: January 13, 2012, 01:58:38 PM »
Hi Guys, just came back form laying down some hard earned for the Swan OB. A couple of questions:
- Has anyone had any experience with the new air con that jayco are putting on the latest campers?
- The broucher states the the fridge is a dometic but the dealer says he uses thetford firdges | Which is better??

« Reply #22 on: January 13, 2012, 02:08:11 PM »
G'day Greg
Welcome and congrats on the new Swan.

« Reply #23 on: January 13, 2012, 02:25:20 PM »
Hi Guys, just came back form laying down some hard earned for the Swan OB. A couple of questions:
- Has anyone had any experience with the new air con that jayco are putting on the latest campers?
- The broucher states the the fridge is a dometic but the dealer says he uses thetford firdges | Which is better??

HI Greg, we were going to put AC in ours until they picked me up off the floor when I heard the price.... I thought that the dometic/waeco were the options, anyway, we have the dometic (RM2350) in ours as we like the gas option (waeco doesn't) and have in previous campers and they are fine, just need to make sure the camper is level for the gas to work properly. Draw heaps of power on 12volt and 240v though...

Scott

« Reply #24 on: January 13, 2012, 03:35:48 PM »
G'day Jenko... Mate for  a reference what did they quote you for the air con??

Wife really keen.. me not so  ;D